DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/17/2024 and 9/30/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “said security device (30’)”, which should have been “said security device” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first coupling elements” and “second coupling elements” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a tool for rotating the cover… introduction of a tool for rotating the cover and removing it from the casing…”. It’s not clear whether the two tools recited are the same or different tool. It appears to be the same tool. Thus, examiner will consider the limitation as “a tool for rotating the cover… introduction of the tool for rotating the cover and removing it from the casing…”
Claims 2-10 depends on claim 1.
Claim 7 recites “notches”. However, this appear to be the same as “the second coupling elements” mentioned in claim 1. Thus, claim 7 is unclear and indefinite. Applicant should have recited that the second coupling elements are notches instead.
Claim 8 recites “…a small tool to pass into the indentation…”. It’s unclear if the “small tool” is the same as “the tool” mentioned in claim 1. Further clarification is required. In order to examine this application, examiner will assume it’s the same tool as claim 1.
Claim 8 recites “the main body”. There is a lack of antecedent basis. Should claim 8 depends on claims 2 or 5 instead?
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 4-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 14-16 of copending Application No. 18/886440 (reference application) in view of Hamamoto et al. (JP-H11189268; hereinafter “Hamamoto”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application No. 18/886440 teaches everything except different term usage, such as anti-rotation lugs are basically attachment clips (see claim 7 regarding prevent the cover from being rotated). Copending application No. 18/886440 does not teach using clipping. However, Hamamoto teaches secure means can be clips (same as 9a, 9b, 17a, 17b, 18a, 18b, Figs. 2-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the secure mean by clipping instead in Copending application No. 18/886440, as taught by Chen, in order to utilize different types of secure means to prevent access to battery.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (JP 2000-228792) in view of Hamamoto et al. (JP-H11189268; hereinafter “Hamamoto”).
Regarding claim 1 as best understood, Yamamoto teaches a portable electronic item (11, Figs. 2-4) comprising:
a casing (12, Figs. 2-4) having a compartment (14, Fig. 3) configured to receive and house at least one removable electrical power source (18, Fig. 3);
a compartment cover (15, Figs. 2-4) including first coupling elements (17, Fig. 3) configured to cooperate with second coupling elements (16, Fig. 3) provided on the casing so as to rigidly connect the cover to the casing by rotating said cover about a rotational axis formed by a central axis of the cover (see central axis cross 15, 18, 14 in Fig. 3; [0007]: “…rotary removable battery cover…”); said cover having an indentation (15a, Fig. 3) provided in an outer face, said indentation being configured to receive a tool for rotating the cover (using tool such as flathead screw drive or coin on 15a, Fig. 3); and
a security device (19, Figs. 2-3; or 32, Fig. 4) rigidly connected by a secure mean (22, Figs. 2-3; or 33, Fig. 4) to said portable electronic item, said security device being configured to at least partially cover the indentation of the cover of the compartment, so as to prevent the introduction of a tool for rotating the cover and removing it from the casing (as shown in Figs. 2-4).
Yamashita teaches the secure mean (22, Figs. 2-3; or 33, Fig. 4), but Yamashita does not explicitly teach clipping. However, Hamamoto teaches secure means can be clips (same as 9a, 9b, 17a, 17b, 18a, 18b, Figs. 2-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the secure mean by clipping instead in Yamashita, as taught by Hamamoto, in order to utilize different types of secure means to easily prevent access to removable battery / electrical power source.
Regarding claim 2, Yamashita in view of Hamamoto teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 1, and the modified Yamashita above further teaches wherein said security device is rigidly connected to the cover by clipping (as modified by Hamamoto in above claim 1 to Fig 4 of Yamashita).
Regarding claim 4, Yamashita in view of Hamamoto teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 1, and the modified Yamashita above further teaches wherein said security device is rigidly connected to the casing by clipping (as modified by Hamamoto in above claim 1 to Fig 4 of Yamashita).
Regarding claim 5 as best understood, Yamashita in view of Hamamoto teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 4, and Yamashita further teaches wherein said security device includes: a main body (19, Figs. 2-4 of Yamashita) having a flat surface (flat surface of 19).
Yamashita does not teach attachment clips extending from the flat surface of the main body, the attachment clips cooperating with hooking apertures made in the casing and configured to ensure that the security device is held on the casing above the cover by clipping. However, Hamamoto further teaches attachment clips (same as 9a, 9b, 17a, 17b, 18a, 18b, Figs. 2-7) extending from a flat surface of a main body (flat surface of 16, Figs. 3, 5), the attachment clips cooperating with hooking apertures (22, Fig. 5) made in a casing (C, Fig. 5) and configured to ensure that the security device is held on the casing above the cover by clipping (as shown in Figs. 6- 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have attachment clips extending from the flat surface of the main body, the attachment clips cooperating with hooking apertures made in the casing and configured to ensure that the security device is held on the casing above the cover by clipping in Yamashita in view of Hamamoto, as taught by Hamamoto, in order to easily clip onto a casing and prevent access to removable battery / electrical power source.
Regarding claim 8 as best understood, Yamashita in view of Hamamoto teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 1, and Yamashita further teaches wherein said main body has a cut-out (same as the opening below 19 in Figs. 2-3) allowing a small tool (using tool such as screw driver or coin on 15a, Fig. 3) to pass into the indentation to facilitate the unclipping of the security device clipped to the portable electronic item.
Regarding claim 9, Yamashita in view of Hamamoto teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 1. Yamashita does not teach wherein said security device is made of a metal or polymer material. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have said security device is made of a metal or polymer material in Yamashita in view of Hamamoto, since selecting a known compound to meet requirements is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (citing Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). In this case, select metal or polymer material for the security device provide good rigidity or low cost for the security device.
Regarding claim 10, Yamashita in view of Hamamoto teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 1. Yamashita does not teach wherein said portable electronic item is a timepiece. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the portable electronic item is a timepiece in Yamashita in view of Hamamoto, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, utilizing the security device to other types of portable electronic items that uses at least one removable electrical power source, i.e. timepiece, can prevent the compartment cover from being easily removed by accident.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841