DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the filing of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/887,432, on September 17, 2024. Claims 1-18 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) for U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/671,434, on July 15, 2024, is acknowledged and accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 12, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFT 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-5 and 11-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 11 are objected to for including the term “it” as it fails to positively reference a previously introduced feature/element. Claims 3-5 and 12-14 are also objected to for including the same feature as they are dependent upon either claim 2 or 11.
Claims 2-5 and 11-14 are further objected to for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “automatic target recognition (ATR) functionality” in claims 2 and 11.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In looking at the Specification, an “automatic target recognition (ATR) functionality” comprises algorithms to search and acquired prescribed targets (e.g. see para 0015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PCT Publication No. WO2023/234873. For the purpose of examination, the Office utilizes corresponding U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0341385, to Knezevic et al. (hereinafter Knezevic).
As per claim 1, and similarly with respect to claim 10, Knezevic discloses an air-based counter-countermeasure system (e.g. see Fig. 7, Abstract and paras 0026, wherein a counter countermeasure device 1 is provided), comprising: an autonomous or semi-autonomous unmanned aircraft (e.g. see paras 0077, 0096 and 0142, wherein the counter countermeasure device is mounted on an arial vehicle which can be autonomously operated) capable of deployment to an area of a countermeasure system (e.g. see Fig. 7 and paras 0003, 0030 wherein the counter countermeasure device is deployed proximate an aircraft 10 having an anti-aircraft missile launch warning and detection system MLWDS 11 to release countermeasures 12 (i.e. countermeasure system)) having (1) a laser detector to receive and identify an incident laser signal as a target designator signal and (2) one or more countermeasure subsystems operative in response to an output of the laser detector to deploy corresponding countermeasures against a laser target designator (e.g. see Fig. 7 and paras 0029-0030, wherein the counter countermeasure device includes an EM source unit 3 that emits laser light to cause deployment of countermeasures (i.e. receive and identify an incident laser signal as a target designator signal)); and a laser-based counter-countermeasure (CCM) subsystem carried by the aircraft, the CCM subsystem being configured and operative, during the deployment of the aircraft (e.g. see Fig. 7, Abstract and paras 0026, wherein a counter countermeasure device 1 is provided; and e.g. see paras 0077, 0096 and 0142, wherein the counter countermeasure device is mounted on an arial vehicle which can be autonomously operated), to direct a simulated target designator laser signal to the laser detector of the countermeasure system to trigger one or more of the countermeasures and thereby reduce protective ability of the countermeasure system against subsequent laser-guided attack (e.g. see Fig. 7 and paras 0029-0030, wherein the counter countermeasure device includes an EM source unit 3 that emits laser light to cause deployment of countermeasures (i.e. receive and identify an incident laser signal as a target designator signal); the Office notes that at a minimum, the deployment of at least one countermeasure device would reduce the total number of countermeasure devices available thereby reducing protective ability (e.g. see para 0079)).
As per claim 6, and similarly with respect to claim 15, Knezevic discloses the features of claims 1 and 10, respectively, and further discloses wherein the simulated target designator laser signal has a signature being a unique combination of features including intensity, pulse width, laser frequency, and pulse repetition rate (e.g. the Office notes that all lasers, such as that generated by Knezevic, include a particular intensity, pulse width, frequency and rate of application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knezevic, in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,753,160, to Reddy et al. (hereinafter Reddy).
.
As per claim 7, and similarly with respect to claim 16, Knezevic discloses the features of claims 1 and 10, respectively, but fails to disclose wherein the aircraft is a multi-rotor aircraft having a plurality of electrical rotors providing lift and maneuvering. However, Reddy teaches an unmanned arial vehicle (UAV) 100, 200, 300 and 400 having a plurality of electrically powered rotors 220, 225, 230, 235 extending from rotor arms 120, 125, 130 and 135 for providing lift, and wherein the UAV includes a cylindrical body defining payload voids 305 and 310 which may include a device for generating electromagnetic pulse (EMP) which would have an effect of countering a countermeasure device; finally, the Office notes that based upon the cylindrical body shown, the battery would be disposed within a compartment thereof (e.g. see Figs. 1-4, Abstract, col. 6, line 64, to col. 7, line 21, col. 14, lines 32-46, and claim 3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the UAV of Knezevic to include outwardly extending rotors and a cylindrical body as a matter of designer’s choice for encasing components thereof.
As per claim 8, and similarly with respect to claim 17, Knezevic, as modified by Reddy, teaches the features of claims 7 and 16, respectively, and Reddy further teaches wherein the multi-rotor aircraft has a copter configuration having the rotors disposed at ends of respective arms extending from a body of the aircraft (e.g. see Figs. 1-4, Abstract, col. 6, line 64, to col. 7, line 21, col. 14, lines 32-46, and claim 3, wherein Reddy teaches an unmanned arial vehicle (UAV) 100, 200, 300 and 400 having a plurality of electrically powered rotors 220, 225, 230, 235 extending from rotor arms 120, 125, 130 and 135 for providing lift, and wherein the UAV includes a cylindrical body defining payload voids 305 and 310 which may include a device for generating electromagnetic pulse (EMP) which would have an effect of countering a countermeasure device; finally, the Office notes that based upon the cylindrical body shown, the battery would be disposed within a compartment thereof). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the UAV of Knezevic to include outwardly extending rotors and a cylindrical body as a matter of designer’s choice for encasing components thereof.
As per claim 9, and similarly with respect to claim 18, Knezevic, as modified by Reddy, teaches the features of claims 8 and 17, respectively, and Reddy further teaches wherein the body is a generally cylindrical body having a central compartment housing batteries and an end compartment housing the CCM subsystem as a payload (e.g. see Figs. 1-4, Abstract, col. 6, line 64, to col. 7, line 21, col. 14, lines 32-46, and claim 3, wherein Reddy teaches an unmanned arial vehicle (UAV) 100, 200, 300 and 400 having a plurality of electrically powered rotors 220, 225, 230, 235 extending from rotor arms 120, 125, 130 and 135 for providing lift, and wherein the UAV includes a cylindrical body defining payload voids 305 and 310 which may include a device for generating electromagnetic pulse (EMP) which would have an effect of countering a countermeasure device; finally, the Office notes that based upon the cylindrical body shown, the battery would be disposed within a compartment thereof). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the UAV of Knezevic to include outwardly extending rotors and a cylindrical body as a matter of designer’s choice for encasing components thereof.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims:
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowability:
With respect to claims 2 and 11, the features of a counter countermeasure device including an automatic target recognition functionality to identify a countermeasure system including a laser detector, at a minimum, renders the claim novel and non-obvious over the prior art of record. With respect to the closest prior art, U.S. Patent Publication Nos. 2021/0383506 and 2012/0059829 teach automatic target aimpoint recognition systems, but system that are not configured to target a laser receiver of a countermeasure device. Claims 3-5 and 12-14 are dependent, directly or indirectly, upon either claim 2 or 11 and are therefore held to include the same allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to James M. McPherson whose telephone number is (313) 446-6543. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30 AM - 5PM Mon-Fri Eastern Alt Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abby Flynn can be reached on 571 272-9855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663B