DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending of which claims 1, 8 and 15 are in independent form.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, abstract idea.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding 35 USC 101 (Abstract Idea)
Regarding independent claims: The claims do not improve the operation of a database engine itself. Rather, the claims analyze information relating to a data model, compare hashes, determine whether prior optimizations exist, and select or generate optimizations based on predicted data volume and entity type. The claims database engines, hash functions, and data stores merely serves as tools for implementing these determinations. The claims therefore recite the abstract idea evaluating information and selecting actions based on the evaluation, implemented using generic computer components.
Although applicant alleges an improvement in database processing, the claims do not recite and specific improvement to database engine architecture, query execution mechanisms, hashing technology, or computer functionality itself. The claims merely use conventional computing components to apply optimization decisions generated from the abstract analysis.
The ordered combination amounts to receiving information, analyzing information, determining whether a condition exists, and generating corresponding optimizations. Applicant has not identified any claimed technological mechanism that departs from conventional hashing, database storage, or database engine operation.
Regarding dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20: have been considered but are not persuasive.
The additional limitations recited in the dependent claims merely future define how the abstract optimization process in implemented. For example, transmitting messages that include a hash, stitching optimizations to queries, determining whether conflicts exist between optimization levels, utilizing an ML model, retrieving previously stored optimizations, and performing the claimed operations within an in-memory database constitute additional data gathering, data analysis, communication, retrieval, and decision-making operations. These limitations do not recite an improvement to database engine architecture, query execution technology, hashing technology, ML technology, or computer functionality itself.
The dependent claims likewise do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Rather, the use conventional computer components and techniques to carry out the underlaying abstract process of analyzing information and generating optimization decisions. Accordingly, the dependent claims do not render the claims patent eligible under step 2A, Prong Two.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) text/summary generation using LLM models enhanced by retrieval augmented generation (RAG) system.
With respect to step 1 of the patent subject matter eligibility analysis, the claims are directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Independent claim 1 is directed to a system which includes a memory and one or more processing device, which is directed to one of the four statutory subject matters.
Independent claim 8 is directed to a method, which is a process.
Independent claim 15 is directed to non-transitory machine-readable medium, which is directed to one of the four statutory subject matters.
Independent All other claims depend on claims 1, 8, and 15. As such, claims 1-20 are directed to a statutory category.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15:
With respect to step 2A, prong one (Judicial Exception), the claims recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. Specifically, the following limitations recite mathematical concepts and/or mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity.
The claim recites sequence of operations that amount to information organization, searching, evaluation, and ranking directed to an abstract idea:
Receiving a call to a database;
Identifying a data model, from plurality of the stored data models, including joins of data structure;
Generating a hash of the data model;
Determining whether the hash matches a stored hash;
Identifying database engine;
Generating engine level optimizations based on predicted data volume and entity type; and
Processing the call using the optimization.
These steps fall into recognized abstract idea:
Mental Process: identifying a data model; determining whether hashes match; selecting engines; generating optimizations;
Mathematical concept/algorithm: Hash functions.
These operations correspond to: hash function, evaluation, comparison, and decision making, performed on generic off the shelf technology.
There are no steps performed that provides a technical improvement to the computing system itself.
Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea (mental process/mathematical concepts/information organization).
With respect to step 2A, Prong Two (Particular Application), the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The following limitations are considered “additional elements” and explanation will be given as to why these “additional elements” do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The claims add:
A hardware processor;
Non-transitory machine readable medium;
a database.
The claims do not improve:
database engine architecture,
hashing technology,
query execution mechanism,
computer functionality itself.
Instead, the claims merely:
analyzing a data model,
compares hashes,
generates optimization decisions,
applies the results to database engine.
These components merely use conventional computer components as tools to execute the abstract idea.
This is simply using computers as tools to perform data analysis and optimization (which is abstract as explained above).
The limitations fail to transform the exception into a practical application. There is also no technical improvements such as: a new embedding technique; a new retrieval algorithm; an improved NN architecture; an improvement to computer processing.
Instead, the claims recite conventional and generic computer functions performed in a routine manner (optimizing queries and database queries), which does not amount to a practical application.
With respect to Step 2B. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The recited components are merely generic computer/database elements performing their routine, well-understood, and conventional functions. See Alive, MPEP 2016.05(d).
The steps mentioned in the independent claims merely constitutes: generic processors, generic database systems, generic data storage, generic hash functions. These components perform, well understood, routine, conventional functions, such as: hashing data, comparing values, selecting processing engines, executing database queries. There is no unconventional database architecture, hashing mechanism, or query processing improvements. Courts have consistently helped such high-level information management operations are conventional.
The claims provide no new algorithm, architecture, data structure, specialized hardware and/or technical improvements. All are routine, conventional operations business/ market place logic.
Considering claims as a whole, the ordered combination of elements also reflects nothing more than the typical workflow of distributed systems, and therefore DOES NOT add “significantly more” than the abstract idea.
Such generic, high‐level, and nominal involvement of a computer or computer‐based elements for carrying out the invention merely serves to tie the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which is not enough to render the claims patent‐eligible, as noted at pg.74624 of Federal Register/Vol. 79, No. 241, citing Alice, which in turn cites Mayo. Further, See, e.g., Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2359‐60, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1984 (2014). See also OIP Techs. v. Amazon.com, 788 F.3d 1359, 1364, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093‐94 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("Just as Diehr could not save the claims in Alice, which were directed to 'implement[ing] the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer', it cannot save O/P's claims directed to implementing the abstract idea of price optimization on a generic computer.") (citations omitted). See also, Affinity Labs of Texas LLC v. DirecTV LLC, 838 F.3d 1253, 1257‐1258 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (mere recitation of a GUI does not make a claimpatent‐eligible); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank, 792 F.3d 1363, 1370 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("the interactive interface limitation is a generic computer element".).
The additional elements are broadly applied to the abstract idea at a high level of generality ("similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claims in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer,") as explained in MPEP § 2106.05(f)) and they operate in a well‐understood, routine, and conventional manner.
MPEP § 2106.0S(d)(II) sets forth the following:
The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
• Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec ... ; TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC ... ; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc ... ; buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc ... ;
• Performing repetitive calculations, Flook ... ; Bancorp Services v. Sun Life ... ;
• Electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp ... ; Ultramercial ... ;
• Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc ... ;
• Electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank ... ; and
• A web browser's back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent
• Corp. v. Active Network, Inc. ...
. . . Courts have held computer-implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by a human analog (i.e., by hand or by merely thinking).
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that the ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
The dependent claims have been fully considered as well, however, similar to the findings for claims above, these claims are similarly directed to the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas set forth in the 2019 PEG, without integrating it into a practical application and with, at most, a general purpose computer that serves to tie the idea to a particular technological environment, which does not add significantly more to the claims. The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by the dependent claims fails to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Looking at the claim as a whole does not change this conclusion and the claim is ineligible.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16; (Messaging/Requesting Optimization),
The claim recites:
sending a message to the first entity requesting separate engine level optimization, where message includes the hash.
These limitations merely involve transmitting information between entities regarding the optimization parameters. Sending a request message containing a hash value is a data communication avidity that does not change how the database or processor operates (insignificant extra-solution activity).
These claims do not:
improve networking technology,
improve database engine structure,
improve hashing technique;
introduce a new protocol or communication mechanism.
The claims simply gather or transmits information used in the abstract optimization process. This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17; (Query Construction/Integration of Optimizations),
The claim recites:
stitching each engine-level optimization into an information access query sent to the database.
These limitations merely incorporate optimization parameters into a query structure before execution. Constructing or modifying a database query based on selected parameters is a routine data processing operation commonly performed by query optimizers (Data Manipulation/Data Processing).
These claims do not specify:
a new execution architecture,
a new query language,
an improve data structure;
a new database processing mechanism.
The claims simply insert optimization instructions into a query, which is a conventional database operation. This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18; (Prioritizing Optimization Types),
The claim recites:
determining whether a server level database optimization exists and prioritizing engine-level optimization when conflicts occur.
These limitations merely involve evaluating two sets of optimization rules and selecting which one should be prioritized. Such rule-based decision making corresponds to evaluating conditions and selecting between alternatives (Mental Process).
These claims do not specify:
how the conflict resolution improves database execution,
a specific resolution algorithm for resolving conflicts,
any new database architecture.
The claims simply apply prioritized rules, which is a common logical operation. This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19; (Particular Database Environment),
The claim recites:
the database is an in-memory database.
Simply limiting the environment to an in-memory database does not change the nature of the claim operation. Claims still perform the same abstract operations: hashing the data model, comparing hashes, generating an optimized decision (Field-of-use).
Specifying a particular computing environment is generally considered a field-of-use limitation and does not transform the abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter. This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 20; (ML Optimization Generation),
The claim recites:
passing the hash and entity indications to a machine learning model trained by a machine learning algorithm to generate optimizations.
These limitations merely apply a generic ML model. Using ML learning to perform data analysis or predictions does not itself confer eligibility when the model is used for abstract decision making (Mental Process Implemented Using ML Tools).
These claims do not specify:
the structure of the model,
the training technique,
the model architecture;
how the ML improves database engine operation.
Instead, the model is used as a clack-box decision tool for generating optimization recommendations. Thus, the claims merely used ML learning as a tool to perform the abstract optimization analysis. This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 7, and 14; (Reusing Previously Generated Optimization),
The claim recites:
retrieving previously used engine-level database optimizations associated with a stored hash and applying them.
These limitations merely involve retrieving store information and reusing previously determined optimization parameters. Storing and retrieving previously generated data corresponds to data storage and retrieve operations, which are functional computer functions (Data Receival and Reprocessing).
These claims do not describe:
a new caching architecture,
improved memory architecture,
improved database execution mechanism.
The claims simply use previously store optimization data. This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh; Jaeyun et al. (US 20180349404 A1) [Noh] in view of Chadha; Karan et al. (US 12277117 B1) [Chadha] in view of Beitchman; Marc Howard et al. (US 11055352 B1) [Beitchman] in view of John; Jerry (US 20140046936 A1) [John].
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Noh discloses, a system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations (See Fig. 11) comprising:
receiving a call to a database from a first entity (he queries provided by different users can include one or more same data entity identifiers, but the entity identifiers can resolve to different data entities that are associated with the different users. In some cases, the different database users may be associated with different numbers of data entity records for a data entity targeted by the query ¶ [0017]. n at least some embodiments, the query processor 122 can be configured to use the database query …. In such an embodiment, the query processor 122 can be configured to generate a hash of the database query 142 and to search the shared execution plan cache 110 for a hashed database query that matches the generated hash of the database query 142 ¶ [0025]);
determining whether the hash of the data model matches a hash stored in an optimization data store (In a particular embodiment, the one or more pre-compiled execution plans are associated with hashes of the one or more database queries. In such an embodiment, the query processor 122 can be configured to generate a hash of the database query 142 and to search the shared execution plan cache 110 for a hashed database query that matches the generated hash of the database query 142 ¶ [0025]. Also see ¶ [0060], [0061], and [0070]);
in response to a determination that the hash of the data model does not match a hash stored in the optimization data store (In at least some embodiments, the query processor 122 can be configured to use the database query 142 to retrieve the pre-compiled execution plan 112 from the shared execution plan cache 110. The shared execution plan cache 110 can comprise one or more pre-compiled execution plans. The one or more pre-compiled execution plans can be associated in the shared execution plan cache with one or more database queries that were previously used to generate the one or more pre-compiled execution plans. For example, the one or more database queries can be stored in the shared execution plan cache 110 as look-up keys that can be used to retrieve pre-compiled execution plans associated with the database queries. The query processor 122 can be configured to compare the database query 142 to the one or more database queries in the shared execution plan cache 110 and to retrieve one of the one or more pre-compiled execution plans associated with a query that matches the database query 142. In the example scenario depicted in FIG. 1, the query processor 122 matches the database query 142 with a database query (not shown) associated with the pre-compiled execution plan 112. In a particular embodiment, the one or more pre-compiled execution plans are associated with hashes of the one or more database queries. In such an embodiment, the query processor 122 can be configured to generate a hash of the database query 142 and to search the shared execution plan cache 110 for a hashed database query that matches the generated hash of the database query 142 ¶ [0025]. Also see ¶ [0060], [0061]. At 350, the multi-user execution plan cache is searched with the compiled execution plan. In at least some embodiments, a database server can comprise multiple query processors capable of processing separate database queries in parallel. For example, the multiple query processors can comprise one or more different processes and/or one or more different threads in a multithreaded execution environment. In such an embodiment, it is possible for one query processor to search the multi-user execution plan cache, not find an execution plan associated with a received query, and proceed to compile an execution plan for the received query. Meanwhile, a separate query processor may complete compilation of an execution plan for the same query (received as part of a separate database query request), and add the compiled execution plan to the multi-user execution plan cache ¶ [0074]-[0079]. Examiner specifies that “does not match a hash”, follows the same logic as compiling an execution plan for the query and storing the plan in the cache; thus, the system performs additional operations in response to determining that the generated hash does not match a stored hash).
However, Noh does not explicitly facilitates identifying a data model to handle the call, the data model identifying a joining of data structures in the database; using a hash function to generate a hash of the data model; processing the call using the data model by applying each different engine-level optimization to a corresponding database engine.
Chadha discloses, identifying a data model to handle the call, the data model identifying a joining of data structures in the database (relational join is a data processing operation in a relational data management system [col. 10, ll. 5-22]);
using a hash function to generate a hash of the data model (As discussed further below, stored plan cache 414 is a local in-memory cache (e.g., provided by a given compute service manager instance), which, in an embodiment, includes additional capabilities to improve latency, throughput and reduce cost for at least OLTP style workloads. In an example, query coordinator 250 compiles the query plan once for a certain query hash, stores the compiled plan in stored plan cache 414, and reuses the stored plan for subsequent executions. Thus, stored plan cache 414 is a performance sensitive feature [col. 25, ll. 60-col. 26, ll. 2]);
processing the call using the data model by applying each different engine-level optimization to a corresponding database engine (As discussed further below, stored plan cache 414 is a local in-memory cache (e.g., provided by a given compute service manager instance), which, in an embodiment, includes additional capabilities to improve latency, throughput and reduce cost for at least OLTP style workloads. In an example, query coordinator 250 compiles the query plan once for a certain query hash, stores the compiled plan in stored plan cache 414, and reuses the stored plan for subsequent executions. Thus, stored plan cache 414 is a performance sensitive feature [col., 25, ll. 60-col. 26, ll. 2]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Chadha's system would have allowed Noh to facilitate identifying a data model to handle the call, the data model identifying a joining of data structures in the database; using a hash function to generate a hash of the data model; processing the call using the data model by applying each different engine-level optimization to a corresponding database engine. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Noh’s reference, because there is a need to improve optimizing the performance of tasks with databases.
However neither Noh nor Chadha explicitly facilitates identifying a plurality of database engines for processing the data model; each of the plurality of database engines, generating a different engine-level optimization based on a predicted volume of data to be used to process the call using the data model and based on type of the first entity, each different engine-level optimization indicating a change in process flow for a corresponding database engine.
Beitchman discloses, identifying a plurality of database engines for processing the data model (To process queries 102, query engines 120 may submit requests, 104a, 104b, and 104c, to get an optimized query plan for the query 102 from engine independent query plan optimizer 140, in various embodiments. Engine independent query plan optimizer 140 may implement query engine identification 142 to detect or otherwise identify the type of query engine for which the query is to be performed. In some embodiments, query engine identification 142 may identify multiple query engines types for a query (e.g., if queries 102a, 102b, and 102c were sub queries of a single query) in order to perform federated query processing [col. 3, ll. 59, col. 4, ll. 2]); for
each of the plurality of database engines, generating a different engine-level optimization based on a predicted volume of data to be used to process the call using the data model and based on type of the first entity, each different engine-level optimization indicating a change in process flow for a corresponding database engine (FIG. 5 is a sequence diagram for managed execution of queries utilizing a resource planner, according to some embodiments. Query 530 may be received at managed query service control plane 320 which may submit the query 532 to query optimization service 292. Query optimization service 292 may generate an optimized query plant to process the query based on metadata requested 534 and received 536 from data catalog service 280. Query optimization service 292 may determine an optimized query and translate the optimized query into an engine-specific format for the engine implemented at provisioned cluster 510. Query optimization service 292 may then submit the query optimization plan 538 to query tracker 340. Query tracker 340 may obtain a lease 540 on a cluster 542 from resource manager service and then initiate initiate execution of the query 544 according to the optimized query plan at the provisioned cluster 510, sending a query execution instruction to a managed query agent 512 [col. 12, ll. 15-34]. Also see [col. 12, ll. 57-col. 12, ll. 2]. The number and size of the computing clusters 920 in the warm cluster pool 910 can be determined based upon a variety of factors including, but not limited to, historical and/or expected volumes of query requests, the price of the computing resources utilized to implement the computing clusters 920, and/or other factors or considerations, in some embodiments [col. 16, ll. 26-32]. Examiner specifies that optimized query represents: execution steps, join order, scan strategy, execution sequence, which implies change in process flow; additionally examiner specifies that maintaining data as part of data volumes and optimization based on the metadata from the data catalog; metadata is query optimization includes: table statistics, row counts, cardinality estimates, data size, which are all used by optimizer to estimate the volume of data processing by a query).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Beitchman's system would have allowed Noh and Chadha to facilitate identifying a plurality of database engines for processing the data model; each of the plurality of database engines, generating a different engine-level optimization based on a predicted volume of data to be used to process the call using the data model and based on type of the first entity, each different engine-level optimization indicating a change in process flow for a corresponding database engine. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Noh and Chadha’s reference, because there is a need for improving techniques that can optimize the performance of a query independent of the type of query engine processing the query.
However, neither one of Noh, Chadha or Beitchman explicitly facilitates from a plurality of data models in a data model repository.
John discloses, from a plurality of data models in a data model repository (The search request may be analyzed to identify one or more previously created data models ("pre-existing data models) from the database as candidate data models. The search request may also be used to create a new data model as a candidate, if pre-existing data models are deemed to be not adequate. A data model may be selected from among these candidate data models as a response to the search request and presented for consumption by the user ¶ [0013]. user's search request may be applied against a repository of previously defined data models…, results from processing in blocks 304 and 306 may be used to identify previously defined data models (pre-existing data models) stored in the database 20 as candidates that represent the user's search request. A data model may be defined by data tables from the database 20 and various views made on the referenced data tables. The query(ies) against that database 20 made in process block 306 may be made using fragments identified from the search request. Results from the queries may include references to data tables and views. In process block 314, those data tables and views may then be used to identify any pre-existing data models that reference those data tables and views. The identified pre-existing data models may serve as candidate data models for the search request ¶ [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because John's system would have allowed Noh, Chadha, and Beitchman to facilitate identifying a plurality of database engines for processing the data model; each of the plurality of database engines, generating a different engine-level optimization based on a predicted volume of data to be used to process the call using the data model and based on type of the first entity, each different engine-level optimization indicating a change in process flow for a corresponding database engine. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Noh, Chadha, and Beitchman’s reference, because there is a need for improving consistencies and cost managing large number for data models.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, the combination of Noh, Chadha, Beitchman, and John discloses, sending a message to the first entity requesting a separate engine-level database optimization for each of the plurality of database engines requesting, [the message including the hash] (Beitchman: FIG. 5 is a sequence diagram for managed execution of queries utilizing a resource planner, according to some embodiments. Query 530 may be received at managed query service control plane 320 which may submit the query 532 to query optimization service 292. Query optimization service 292 may generate an optimized query plant to process the query based on metadata requested 534 and received 536 from data catalog service 280. Query optimization service 292 may determine an optimized query and translate the optimized query into an engine-specific format for the engine implemented at provisioned cluster 510. Query optimization service 292 may then submit the query optimization plan 538 to query tracker 340. Query tracker 340 may obtain a lease 540 on a cluster 542 from resource manager service and then initiate execution of the query 544 according to the optimized query plan at the provisioned cluster 510, sending a query execution instruction to a managed query agent 512 [col. 12, ll. 15-34]. Also see [col. 12, ll. 57-col. 13, ll. 2]);
the message including the hash (Noh: In a particular embodiment, the one or more pre-compiled execution plans are associated with hashes of the one or more database queries. In such an embodiment, the query processor 122 can be configured to generate a hash of the database query 142 and to search the shared execution plan cache 110 for a hashed database query that matches the generated hash of the database query 142 ¶ [0025]. Also see ¶ [0060], [0061], and [0070]).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, the combination of Noh, Chadha, Beitchman, and John discloses, wherein the processing the call includes stitching each different engine-level database optimization to an information access query to be sent to the database (Beitchman: Generating optimized query plan translating the optimized query into engine-specific format [col. 12, ll. 15-34]. Also see [col. 12, ll. 57-col. 12, ll. 2]. Examiner specifies that, a query optimization services generates an optimized query plan and translates the optimized query into an engine-specific format).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, the combination of Noh, Chadha, Beitchman, and John discloses, determining whether a server level database optimization exists for the data model and prioritizing each different engine-level optimization over the server level database optimization if there are any conflicts (Chadha: Check if the plan requires re-compilation due to data dependent optimization [col. 17, ll. 38-47]; determining whether the particular query plan requires re-compilation based on the data dependent optimization comprises: …. determining whether the data property constraint still holds based on the set of data properties, wherein the data property constraint comprises a condition that is met based on a set of source tables or files associated with the particular query plan [col. 23, ll. 35-49]. Examiner specifies that these steps correspond to evaluating and prioritizing different optimization strategies).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, the combination of Noh, Chadha, Beitchman, and John discloses, wherein the database is an in-memory database (Chadha: Perform full compilation Generate a compiled query plan (e.g., a stored plan) and store it in stored plan cache 414 (e.g., local in-memory cache) [col. 17, ll. 51-54]. Also see [col. 22, ll. 4-10], [col., 25, ll. 60-col. 26, ll. 2]).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, the combination of Noh, Chadha, Beitchman, and John discloses, passing the hash and an indication of the first entity to a machine learning model trained by a machine learning algorithm to generate different engine-level optimization based on a predicted volume of data to be used to process the call using the data model and based on type of the first entity (Beitchman: adaptive query optimization and optimization based on metadata from a data catalog service [col. 12, ll. 15-34]. Also see [col. 12, ll. 57-col. 13, ll. 2]. Examiner specifies that the optimization service generates optimized query plans based on metadata received from a data catalog).
Regarding claims 7, and 14, the combination of Noh, Chadha, Beitchman, and John discloses, wherein in response to a determination that the hash of the data model matches a hash stored in the optimization data store: retrieving one or more previously used engine-level database optimizations corresponding to the hash stored in the optimization data store; and processing the call using the data model by applying each previously used different engine-level optimization to a corresponding database engine (Noh: execution plans are stored in shared execution plan cache ¶ [0025]; the cache may be searched using a hashed database query ¶ [0060]-[0061]; when matching execution plan is found, the query processor uses the cached execution plan ¶ [0074]; cache plans can be used for subsequent queries ¶ [0075]. Examiner specifies that these sections clearly teaches: hash match detection; retrieved stored optimizations; reusing cached execution plans).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
6/4/2026
/MOHAMMAD S ROSTAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154