DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending in this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 1-4 do not include name/description of each of the elements. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Major (US 20120265856).
1, 11, 13. Major teaches:
A method for delivering a stream of segments of a content from a server by at least one agent to a plurality of terminals, the method comprising: – in paragraphs [0007]-[0060] (FIG. 1 also includes a cache server 14 interface with the endpoints 12a-c via an access network 20. Cache server 14 can also interface with origin servers 16, 18, 26 via a backbone network 22. Cache server 14 can be a dedicated network server, which can serve many origin servers, or other network elements that provide some content sought by endpoints 12a-c. A given endpoint could be systematically obtaining chunks of video data from a cache in contrast to receiving information directly from the point of origin. Cache server 14 includes a copy of the video file to be streamed to a requesting endpoint. Cache server 14 can store the most frequently requested video chunks (e.g., the popular content) at the preferred bit rates.)
at different moments during receipt of said content: – in paragraphs [0007]-[0060] (Initially, the video session may be established between a given endpoint and cache server 14. Once established, a streaming video transfer can occur between these two elements. When cache server 14 receives this request, it analyzes the current criteria affecting the file transfer. At 115, a decision is made whether a new rate would be beneficial for this particular endpoint.)
verifying a load criterion of said agent; and – in paragraphs [0007]-[0060] (Cache server 14 can understand its own inherent utilization, where it may already be taxed with a high utilization. The current cache status can be evaluated in order to ascertain utilization (e.g., load, CPU characteristics), the number of requests currently being serviced, the expected future traffic, etc. This includes the current conditions and/or capabilities of cache server 14. Cache server 14 is configured to send appropriate information about current load conditions for cache server 14.)
adapting, as a function of said verification, delivery of the content segments to the terminals. – in paragraphs [0007]-[0060] (At 110, cache server 14 evaluates various network conditions (e.g., criteria such as upstream hit information, current cache status information, upstream bandwidth information, load conditions, etc.) that can be used to form rate hint data for the endpoints. When a new bit rate is initiated, rate hint data can be sent from cache server 14 to the particular endpoint at 120. At 130, a determination is made whether a new stream should be communicated to the endpoint. The new bit rate would be reliably supported by cache server 14, as previously determined by suitably monitoring the appropriate criteria.)
4. The method according to claim 1, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Major teaches:
wherein the adapting comprises establishing a connection of at least one terminal of said plurality to said server in order to directly receive said content segments. – in paragraphs [0007]-[0060] (In the context of adaptive bit rate streaming, in common scenarios, appropriate bit rate selections can be executed by endpoints 12a-c, which simply request appropriate data streams from origin servers 16, 18, 26 directly.)
5. The method according to claim 4, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Major teaches:
wherein said establishing a connection comprises transmitting to said at least one terminal a message adapted to trigger a request from said at least one terminal to said server in order to receive said content segments. – in paragraphs [0007]-[0060] (In the context of adaptive bit rate streaming, in common scenarios, appropriate bit rate selections can be executed by endpoints 12a-c, which simply request appropriate data streams from origin servers 16, 18, 26 directly.)
8. The method according to claim 1, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Major teaches:
wherein said load criterion depends on a number of streams received by said agent and/or a number of resolutions and/or a number of terminals of said plurality. – in paragraphs [0007]-[0060] (Cache server 14 can understand its own inherent utilization, where it may already be taxed with a high utilization. The current cache status can be evaluated in order to ascertain utilization (e.g., load, CPU characteristics), the number of requests currently being serviced, the expected future traffic, etc. This includes the current conditions and/or capabilities of cache server 14. Cache server 14 is configured to send appropriate information about current load conditions for cache server 14.)
9. The method according to claim 1, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Major teaches:
wherein said multi-resolution transmission mode is a multicast adaptive bitrate, multicast adaptive bitrate (m-ABR), transmission mode. – in paragraphs [0007]-[0060] (The adaptive bit rate features discussed herein can readily be extended to include modifying the manifest file to indicate which resolutions are locally cached, as well as which resolutions are available via multicast.)
10. The method according to claim 1, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Major teaches:
wherein said agent is embedded in a gateway. – in paragraphs [0007]-[0060] (Cache server 14 can be a dedicated network server, which can serve many origin servers, or other network elements that provide some content sought by endpoints 12a-c. The network criteria in this example implementation include upstream hits 40a, current cache status 40b, upstream bandwidth 40c, and load conditions 40d.)
12. Major teaches:
A gateway including an agent device according to claim 11. – in paragraphs [0007]-[0060] (Cache server 14 can be a dedicated network server, which can serve many origin servers, or other network elements that provide some content sought by endpoints 12a-c. The network criteria in this example implementation include upstream hits 40a, current cache status 40b, upstream bandwidth 40c, and load conditions 40d.)
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Major (US 20120265856) in view of Eluvan (US 20200195995).
2. The method according to claim 1, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Major does not explicitly teach:
wherein the content comes from a server in a multi-resolution transmission mode in response to a request specifying a maximum resolution, and wherein said adapting comprises determining a new maximum resolution for transmission of a next request to said server.
However, Eluvan teaches:
wherein the content comes from a server in a multi-resolution transmission mode in response to a request specifying a maximum resolution, and – in paragraphs [0011]-[0050] (A client device (e.g., client media receiver 24 shown in FIG. 1), or multiple client devices engaged in a multiclient streaming session with server 22, will typically request streaming content at a maximum quality level (resolution and framerate) and therefore at a maximum bitrate. Streaming media server 22 may thus safely accommodate such requests in instances in which the load place don processor 44 is relatively lower.)
wherein said adapting comprises determining a new maximum resolution for transmission of a next request to said server. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0050] (If the current running average of the processor load (LOAD.sub.AVG) exceeds the critical processor load limit (LOAD.sub.MAX), processor 44 progresses to STEP 76 and decreases the value of the final bitrate (ABR.sub.FINAL) to reduce the undesirably high processor load.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Major with Eluvan to include wherein the content comes from a server in a multi-resolution transmission mode in response to a request specifying a maximum resolution, and wherein said adapting comprises determining a new maximum resolution for transmission of a next request to said server, as taught by Eluvan, in paragraphs [0001]-[0021], to provide a technique capable of optimizing streaming bitrate of video-containing media content in a more efficient manner, while decreasing the likelihood of undesirably high transient processor loads and other conditions reducing the stability of streaming video sessions.
3. The method according to claim 2, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Eluvan teaches:
wherein the receipt of the content transmitted in multi-resolution mode with the new maximum resolution is followed by a modification of the delivery of the content segments to the terminals taking into account the new maximum resolution. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0050] (A client device (e.g., client media receiver 24 shown in FIG. 1), or multiple client devices engaged in a multiclient streaming session with server 22, will typically request streaming content at a maximum quality level (resolution and framerate) and therefore at a maximum bitrate. Streaming media server 22 may thus safely accommodate such requests in instances in which the load place don processor 44 is relatively lower. If the current running average of the processor load (LOAD.sub.AVG) exceeds the critical processor load limit (LOAD.sub.MAX), processor 44 progresses to STEP 76 and decreases the value of the final bitrate (ABR.sub.FINAL) to reduce the undesirably high processor load.)
7. The method according to claim 1, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Major does not explicitly teach:
wherein said load criterion comprises a comparison with a given threshold of a measurement of activity of a processor of said agent and/or a measurement of filling of a memory of said agent.
However, Eluvan teaches:
wherein said load criterion comprises a comparison with a given threshold of a measurement of activity of a processor of said agent and/or a measurement of filling of a memory of said agent. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0050] (Advancing to STEP 74 of processor load-responsive ABR selection method 66, processor 44 of streaming media server 22 next compares the current running average of the processor load (LOAD.sub.AVG) to the predetermined critical processor load limit (LOAD.sub.MAX) recalled from memory 42. If the current running average of the processor load (LOAD.sub.AVG) exceeds the critical processor load limit (LOAD.sub.MAX), processor 44 progresses to STEP 76 and decreases the value of the final bitrate (ABR.sub.FINAL) to reduce the undesirably high processor load.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Major with Eluvan to include wherein said load criterion comprises a comparison with a given threshold of a measurement of activity of a processor of said agent and/or a measurement of filling of a memory of said agent, as taught by Eluvan, in paragraphs [0001]-[0021], to provide a technique capable of optimizing streaming bitrate of video-containing media content in a more efficient manner, while decreasing the likelihood of undesirably high transient processor loads and other conditions reducing the stability of streaming video sessions.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Major (US 20120265856) in view of Eluvan (US 20200195995), and further in view of Lyle (US 20150016283).
6. The method according to claim 1, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Major does not explicitly teach:
wherein said adapting is triggered only if a number of terminals among said plurality is smaller than a given threshold.
However, Lyle teaches:
wherein said adapting is triggered only if a number of terminals among said plurality is smaller than a given threshold. – in paragraphs [0043] (Quality of service process 10 may determine 102 that the plurality of electronic meetings are consuming a significant amount of system resources, such that a performance attribute (e.g., degree of CPU utilization and/or degree of memory utilization) of server computer 12 exceeds threshold, such that a potential decrease in quality of service for one or more of the electronic meetings may potentially result, and/or is actually being experience. Accordingly, quality of service process 10 may adjust 104 a characteristic of a communication activity of at least one of the electronic meetings. For example, quality of service process 10 may adjust 104 a characteristic of a communication activity including decreasing a video frame rate, video size, and/or video resolution of at least one of the electronic meetings. Decreasing the video frame rate, video size, and/or video resolution associated with at least one of the electronic meetings may result in more CPU capacity, more memory capacity, or the like, of server computer 12.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Major with Lyle to include wherein said adapting is triggered only if a number of terminals among said plurality is smaller than a given threshold, as taught by Lyle, in paragraphs [0001]-[0018], to provide a technique for managing quality of service for electronic communication sessions.
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD RAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449