DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are subject to examination and rejected.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu (US PGPub 2022/0210816).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Wu teaches a user equipment (UE) (Wu, see paragraph 0048, a method for contention-based uplink data transmission, which is applied to a UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Wu, see figure 6, a UE); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE (Wu, see figure 6, a UE) to:
transmit, based at least in part on an idle mode of the UE (Wu, see paragraph 0067, the contention-based PUSCH resource dynamically scheduled by the base station are shared by all RRC idle mode UEs supporting contention-based PUSCH transmission, or shared by a group of RRC idle mode UEs supporting contention-based PUSCH transmission), an uplink message that contains user data at the UE, the uplink message comprising, via a set of bits, a first identifier associated with the UE (Wu, see paragraph 0054, transmitting data on the contention-based PUSCH resource, and reporting a first contention resolution UE identity (ID)); and
receive a downlink control information message responsive to the uplink message, at least a portion of the downlink control information message scrambled according to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), wherein the RNTI is one of a plurality of RNTIs, the plurality of RNTIs including a first RNTI that is associated with contention resolution and the first identifier (Wu, see paragraph 0055, monitoring a second DCI scrambled with a second RNTI in a second physical downlink control channel search space based on the high layer configuration information, wherein the second DCI indicates the second contention resolution UE ID or schedules a retransmission of the PUSCH; or the second DCI schedules a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the PDSCH indicates the second contention resolution UE ID or schedules a retransmission of the PUSCH through media access control (MAC) layer signaling).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
decode the downlink control information message based at least in part on the RNTI, wherein the RNTI is the first RNTI, and wherein the first RNTI is a UE-specific RNTI that comprises a first subset of the set of bits associated with the first identifier (Wu, see paragraph 0056, transmitting the retransmission of PUSCH, when a resource for retransmission of the PUSCH is detected; or transmitting an acknowledgement (ACK) when the second contention resolution UE ID is detected and it is the same as the first contention resolution UE ID, wherein the ACK is used to indicate that the UE contention is successful).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches wherein a payload of the downlink control information message includes a second subset of the set of bits associated with the first identifier (Wu, see paragraph 0054, transmitting data on the contention-based PUSCH resource, and reporting a first contention resolution UE identity (ID)).
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches wherein resolving a contention between the UE and at least a second UE is based at least in part on at least one of the first RNTI and the payload of the downlink control information message (Wu, see paragraph 0055, monitoring a second DCI scrambled with a second RNTI in a second physical downlink control channel search space based on the high layer configuration information, wherein the second DCI indicates the second contention resolution UE ID or schedules a retransmission of the PUSCH; or the second DCI schedules a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the PDSCH indicates the second contention resolution UE ID or schedules a retransmission of the PUSCH through media access control (MAC) layer signaling).
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches wherein the uplink message is a contention-based shared preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) request message or an early data transmission (EDT) request message, and wherein the downlink control information message is at least in part for contention resolution (Wu, see paragraph 0115, if the contention resolution UE ID detected by the UE is different from the reported contention resolution UE ID, or no contention resolution UE ID is detected, the contention is unsuccessful and the UE may attempt to monitor the next DCI dynamically indicating contention-based PUSCH resource, or fall back to use other ways to transmit data. Optionally, the data is transmitted through the RACH process or Early Data Transmission (EDT) process).
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
decode the downlink control information message based at least in part on the RNTI, wherein the RNTI is a second RNTI of the plurality of RNTIs different from the first RNTI, wherein the downlink control information message is associated with an uplink transmission, a downlink data message, an indication for the UE to perform a random access procedure for transmission of the user data, or a combination thereof (Wu, see paragraph 0056, transmitting the retransmission of PUSCH, when a resource for retransmission of the PUSCH is detected; or transmitting an acknowledgement (ACK) when the second contention resolution UE ID is detected and it is the same as the first contention resolution UE ID, wherein the ACK is used to indicate that the UE contention is successful).
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
decode the downlink control information message by evaluating, in a search space, a first scrambling hypothesis associated with the first identifier and by evaluating, in the search space, a second scrambling hypothesis associated with the second RNTI (Wu, see paragraph 0056, transmitting the retransmission of PUSCH, when a resource for retransmission of the PUSCH is detected; or transmitting an acknowledgement (ACK) when the second contention resolution UE ID is detected and it is the same as the first contention resolution UE ID, wherein the ACK is used to indicate that the UE contention is successful).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches wherein when the uplink message is a contention-based shared PUR request message, and wherein the second RNTI is based at least in part on time and frequency resources associated with the uplink message, a multiplexing signature associated with the UE, a demodulation reference signal sequence, or a combination thereof (Wu, see paragraph 0278, the high layer configuration information comprises at least one of the followings: the first physical downlink control channel search space for transmitting the first DCI, the second physical downlink control channel search space for transmitting the second DCI, the first RNTI for transmitting the first DCI, the second RNTI for transmitting the second DCI, a first control resource set (CORESET) for transmitting the first DCI, a second CORESET for transmitting the second DCI, power control parameters of the PUSCH, demodulation reference signal (DMRS) parameters of the PUSCH, a contention resolution window of the PUSCH, maximum times of retransmission of PUSCH, a transmission block size (TBS) or a maximum TBS of PUSCH, a first downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) for transmitting the first DCI, and a second DL BWP for transmitting the second DCI, and the uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) where the PUSCH is located).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches wherein when the uplink message is an early data transmission (EDT) request message, and wherein the second RNTI is a temporary cell radio network temporary identifier associated with the UE (Wu, see paragraph 0115, if the contention resolution UE ID detected by the UE is different from the reported contention resolution UE ID, or no contention resolution UE ID is detected, the contention is unsuccessful and the UE may attempt to monitor the next DCI dynamically indicating contention-based PUSCH resource, or fall back to use other ways to transmit data. Optionally, the data is transmitted through the RACH process or Early Data Transmission (EDT) process).
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches wherein a size of the downlink control information message is different from a size of a second downlink control information message, wherein the downlink control information message is associated with a first downlink control information format that is different from a second downlink control information format associated with the second downlink control information message (Wu, see paragraph 0278, the high layer configuration information comprises at least one of the followings: the first physical downlink control channel search space for transmitting the first DCI, the second physical downlink control channel search space for transmitting the second DCI, the first RNTI for transmitting the first DCI, the second RNTI for transmitting the second DCI, a first control resource set (CORESET) for transmitting the first DCI, a second CORESET for transmitting the second DCI, power control parameters of the PUSCH, demodulation reference signal (DMRS) parameters of the PUSCH, a contention resolution window of the PUSCH, maximum times of retransmission of PUSCH, a transmission block size (TBS) or a maximum TBS of PUSCH, a first downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) for transmitting the first DCI, and a second DL BWP for transmitting the second DCI, and the uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) where the PUSCH is located).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches wherein a scrambling procedure associated with coded bits of the downlink control information message is different from a scrambling procedure of a second downlink control information message, wherein the downlink control information message is associated with a first downlink control information format that is different from a second downlink control information format associated with the second downlink control information message (Wu, see paragraph 0278, the high layer configuration information comprises at least one of the followings: the first physical downlink control channel search space for transmitting the first DCI, the second physical downlink control channel search space for transmitting the second DCI, the first RNTI for transmitting the first DCI, the second RNTI for transmitting the second DCI, a first control resource set (CORESET) for transmitting the first DCI, a second CORESET for transmitting the second DCI, power control parameters of the PUSCH, demodulation reference signal (DMRS) parameters of the PUSCH, a contention resolution window of the PUSCH, maximum times of retransmission of PUSCH, a transmission block size (TBS) or a maximum TBS of PUSCH, a first downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) for transmitting the first DCI, and a second DL BWP for transmitting the second DCI, and the uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) where the PUSCH is located).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches wherein the downlink control information message comprises one or more flag bits that indicate whether the downlink control information message is associated with a contention resolution procedure, whether the downlink control information message is scheduling an uplink message, whether the downlink control information message is scheduling a downlink data message, or a combination thereof (Wu, see paragraph 0055, monitoring a second DCI scrambled with a second RNTI in a second physical downlink control channel search space based on the high layer configuration information, wherein the second DCI indicates the second contention resolution UE ID or schedules a retransmission of the PUSCH; or the second DCI schedules a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein the PDSCH indicates the second contention resolution UE ID or schedules a retransmission of the PUSCH through media access control (MAC) layer signaling).
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a system information block message indicating a downlink control configuration, the downlink control configuration indicating at least one of a start occasion for a search space associated with the downlink control information message, a start offset for a search space associated with the downlink control information message, or a quantity of repetitions associated with the downlink control information message (Wu, see paragraph 0145, it reuses the existing cell common search space of the system, such as a cell common search space for scheduling system information block (SIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), and random access response (RAR) or Paging Occasion (PO)).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a system information block message indicating an uplink control configuration, the uplink control configuration indicating the UE to transmit an acknowledgment message in response to the downlink control information message or in response to a downlink data message scheduled by the downlink control information message (Wu, see paragraph 0145, it reuses the existing cell common search space of the system, such as a cell common search space for scheduling system information block (SIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), and random access response (RAR) or Paging Occasion (PO)).
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a system information block message indicating a downlink data message configuration associated with a data message, wherein the downlink control information message schedules the data message (Wu, see paragraph 0145, it reuses the existing cell common search space of the system, such as a cell common search space for scheduling system information block (SIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), and random access response (RAR) or Paging Occasion (PO)).
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
determine a quantity of repetitions for transmission of the uplink message based at least in part on a downlink signal strength, a transmit power limit associated with the UE, or both (Wu, see paragraph 0047, All the embodiments related to contention-based PUSCH transmission proposed in this application may be applied to the LTE MTC and LTE NB-IOT systems, and may also be appropriately extended and applied to the 5G New Radio (NR) system. 5G concepts such as beam and carrier Bandwidth Part (BWP) may be used in all the embodiments).
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a system information block message indicating a configuration associated with the downlink control information message, wherein the configuration is active for a first NB-IoT carrier associated with the UE (Wu, see paragraph 0145, it reuses the existing cell common search space of the system, such as a cell common search space for scheduling system information block (SIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), and random access response (RAR) or Paging Occasion (PO)).
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a group-common downlink control information message comprising an indication of a backoff period, wherein the uplink message is transmitted via a time occasion selected from a set of time occasions in accordance with the backoff period (Wu, see paragraph 0065, the contention-based PUSCH resource are shared by all or a group of UEs supporting contention-based PUSCH transmission, wherein the contention-based PUSCH resource are shared by all or a group of UEs supporting contention-based PUSCH transmission including at least one of the followings).
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a configuration indicating a limit transport block size (Wu, see paragraph 0274, A first processing module 401 is configured to receive high layer configuration information for a contention-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission); and
select a transport block size from a set of candidate transport block sizes for transmission of the uplink message in accordance with the limit transport block size (Wu, see paragraph 0278, the high layer configuration information comprises at least one of the followings: .. a transmission block size (TBS) or a maximum TBS of PUSCH …).
Conclusion
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443