DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,122,584 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim a tubular, spiral wound paperboard container with a sealed top rim and bottom closure; said container formed from a composite having a barrier layer with an oxygen transmission rate of about 0.5 cubic centimeters/meter squared/day or less, a water vapor transmission rate of about 0.5 g/meter squared/day or less, and can withstand at least 10 inHG of pressure for at least 10 minutes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guzzi et al. (US 2013/0092697 A1; hereinafter Guzzi) in view of Nomula (EP 1595802 A2) and Dregger et al. (US 2020/0189791 A1; hereinafter Dregger).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-7, 12, 15, and 17-19, Guzzi discloses a composite container comprising at least one sidewall (10) defining a container interior (see Fig. 1), a top rim circumscribing a top end (20) of the at least one sidewall, and a bottom peripheral edge (22) circumscribing a bottom end (18) of the at least one sidewall a top closure (72) affixed to the top rim; and a bottom closure (40) recessed into the bottom end and forming a seal with an interior surface of the container body (see Fig. 2); wherein at least one of the container body and bottom closure comprise a plurality of layers including one or more barrier layers and one or more paper-based layers (see Par. 0023 and 0031). Examiner considers the one or more paper-based layers of the container body, top closure, and bottom closure to comprise at least about 95% of the mass of the overall construction.
Guzzi lacks teaching of an oxygen transmission rate, a water vapor transmission rate, and the amount of pressure the composite material can withstand.
Nomula teaches a high-barrier liner for paperboard composite cans wherein the paper-based container assembly has an oxygen transmission rate of about 0.5 cm3/m2/day or less and a water vapor transmission rate of about 0.5 g/m2/day or less (see Par. 0014). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to use materials having the oxygen transmission rate and vapor transmission rate taught by Nomula in order to have a container safe for foods that is shelf stable for a long duration of time (Nomula; Par. 0003).
Dregger teaches a paper based pressure-resistant container made to withstand at least 10 inHG for at least 10 minutes, or however long it is intended to be shelved (Par. 0092-0093). It would have been obvious to further modify Guzzi’s composite to be formed in the manner taught by Dregger in order to allow the container to withstand certain amounts of pressure during storage and transport (Dregger; see Par. 0003-0005).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Guzzi, as modified above, teaches a composite container wherein the plurality of layers includes one or more ionomer layers within at least one of the container body and the bottom closure; and the one or more ionomer layers are of the same grade and, when heated, form a seal between the bottom closure and the interior surface of the container body (Guzzi; Par. 0036).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 16, Guzzi, as modified above, teaches a composite container wherein the one or more barrier layers of at least one of the container body, top closure, and bottom closure comprise metalized polyethylene terephthalate (Guzzi; Par. 0031).
Regarding claim 13, Guzzi, as modified above, teaches a composite container wherein the bottom closure is recessed into the bottom end of the container body at a recessed distance within a range of about 0.2 to 2 cm (Guzzi; Par. 0033).
7. Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guzzi in view of Nomula and Dregger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fatica et al. (US 2003/0215587 A1; hereinafter Fatica).
Regarding claims 10-11, Guzzi, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the composite including metalized polybutylene terephthalate. Fatica teaches a metallized high barrier lap-sealable liner for spiral wound containers wherein the one or more barrier layers of at least one of the container body, top closure, and bottom closure comprise metalized polybutylene terephthalate (see Par. 0020-0021 and 0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to further modify Guzzi’s composite to include MPBT in order to create a tubular container that seals at a lower, more ideal temperature (Fatica; Par. 0009-0010).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734