DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a reading unit” in claim 1, “a reference member” in claim 1, “a moving mechanism” in claim 1, “an image forming unit” in claim 9, “a reading unit” in claim 9, “a reference member” in claim 9 and “a moving mechanism” in claim 9.
“a reading unit” in claim 1 is read as the phone sensor 309 shown in Fig.5, “a reference member” in claim 1 is read as the white reference plate 305 shown in Fig.3C, “a moving mechanism” in claim 1 is read as the motor 308 shown in Fig.5, “an image forming unit” in claim 9 is read the print module 2000 shown in Fig. 5, “a reading unit” in claim 9 read as the phone sensor 309 shown in Fig.5, “a reference member” in claim 9 is read as the white reference plate 305 shown in Fig.3C, and “a moving mechanism” in claim 9 is read as the motor 308 shown in Fig.5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fumiyuki’815 (US 2022/0094815), and further in view of Hideki’875 (JP 2011124875).
With respect to claim 1, Fumiyuki’815 teaches an image reading apparatus (Fig.1) comprising:
a reading unit (Fig.1, item 4) for reading an image formed on a sheet (abstract and paragraph 25);
a reference member for performing shading correction (abstract); and
a moving mechanism comprising a drive source, a cam to be rotated by the drive source, and a moving member that abuts against the cam (paragraph 100),
wherein, with a conveying direction of the sheet being a first direction, a width direction of the sheet intersecting the first direction being a second direction, and a direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction being a third direction, the moving mechanism is configured to be operable to move the reading unit to a first position and a second position that is different from the first position in position in the third direction (Fig.8A, Fig.8B, Fig.12 and paragraph 137), and
wherein the moving mechanism is configured to be moved by rotation of the cam, and the reading unit is moved by movement of the moving mechanism (paragraph 100),
wherein the moving mechanism is configured to move the reading unit to the first position at a time of reading the sheet, and move the reading unit to the second position at a time of performing the shading correction (paragraph 134), and
Fumiyuki’815 does not teach wherein the moving mechanism is configured to adjust a first distance in the third direction from the reading unit to the sheet and a second distance in the third direction from the reading unit to the reference member by moving the reading unit to the first position and the second position.
Hideki’875 teaches wherein the moving mechanism is configured to adjust a first distance in the third direction from the reading unit to the sheet and a second distance in the third direction from the reading unit to the reference member by moving the reading unit to the first position and the second position [the image reading means moves between the reading position P1 of the reading guide plate and the shading position P2 of the density reference member (page 9). The image reading unit is moved to the reading position P1 to the reading position P3, the image reading unit 20 can be moved in parallel with the inclined reading surface 21a, so that the image reading unit 20 at the reading position P1 and the reading position P3 (page 19)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fumiyuki’815 according the teaching of Hideki’875 to moving the image reading unit to one location to another location to perform shading correction because this will allow the shading correction to be performed more effectively.
With respect to claim 2, which further limits claim 1, Fumiyuki’815 teaches wherein the moving mechanism is configured to move, at the time of performing the shading correction, the reference member to a reading position of the reading unit (Fig.8A, Fig.8B and paragraph 134).
With respect to claim 9, Fumiyuki’815 teaches an image forming apparatus (Fig.1) comprising:
an image forming unit configured to form an image on a sheet [The copier shown in Fig.1 is inherent disclosed with an image forming unit configured to form an image on a sheet];
a reading unit for reading the image formed on the sheet by the image forming unit (Fig.2);
a reference member for performing shading correction (abstract); and
a moving mechanism comprising a drive source, a cam to be rotated by the drive source, and a moving member that abuts against the cam (paragraph 100),
wherein, with a conveying direction of the sheet being a first direction, a width direction of the sheet intersecting the first direction being a second direction, and a direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction being a third direction, the moving mechanism is configured to be operable to move the reading unit to a first position and a second position that is different from the first position in position in the third direction (Fig.8A, Fig.8B, Fig.12 and paragraph 137),
wherein the moving mechanism is configured to be moved by rotation of the cam, and the reading unit is moved by movement of the moving mechanism (paragraph 100),
wherein the moving mechanism is configured to move the reading unit to the first position at a time of reading the sheet, and move the reading unit to the second position at a time of performing the shading correction (paragraph 134),
Fumiyuki’815 does not teaches wherein the moving mechanism is configured to adjust a first distance in the third direction from the reading unit to the sheet and a second distance in the third direction from the reading unit to the reference member by moving the reading unit to the first position and the second position.
Hideki’875 teaches wherein the moving mechanism is configured to adjust a first distance in the third direction from the reading unit to the sheet and a second distance in the third direction from the reading unit to the reference member by moving the reading unit to the first position and the second position [the image reading means moves between the reading position P1 of the reading guide plate and the shading position P2 of the density reference member (page 9). The image reading unit is moved to the reading position P1 to the reading position P3, the image reading unit 20 can be moved in parallel with the inclined reading surface 21a, so that the image reading unit 20 at the reading position P1 and the reading position P3 (page 19)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fumiyuki’815 according the teaching of Hideki’875 to moving the image reading unit to one location to another location to perform shading correction because this will allow the shading correction to be performed more effectively.
With respect to claim 10, which further limits claim 9, Fumiyuki’815 teaches wherein the image forming unit is configured to correct the image to be formed on the sheet based on a reading result of the image obtained by the reading unit [regarding to the shading correction (paragraph 55)].
With respect to claim 11, which further limits claim 9, Fumiyuki’815 teaches a control unit (Fig.3, item 100) configured to generate shading correction data based on a reading result of the reference member obtained by the reading unit (paragraph 126), wherein the control unit is configured to correct, based on the shading correction data, an operating condition of the reading unit at a time of reading the sheet (paragraph 126).
With respect to claim 12, which further limits claim 9, Fumiyuki’815 teaches a control unit (Fig.3, item 100) configured to generate shading correction data based on a reading result of the reference member obtained by the reading unit (paragraph 126), wherein the control unit is configured to correct, based on the shading correction data, a reading result of the sheet obtained by the reading unit (paragraph 126).
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fumiyuki’815 (US 2022/0094815), Hideki’875 (JP 2011124875) and further in view of
Hatayama’073 (US 2016/0360073).
With respect to claim 3, which further limits claim 2, the combination of Fumiyuki’815 and Hideki’875 does not teach wherein the moving mechanism is configured to perform, at the time of performing the shading correction, movement of the reference member and movement of the reading unit in conjunction with each other.
Hatayama’073 teaches wherein the moving mechanism is configured to perform, at the time of performing the shading correction, movement of the reference member and movement of the reading unit in conjunction with each other (paragraph 78).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Fumiyuki’815 and Hideki’875 according to the teaching of Hatayama’073 to move the image reading module and the white reference to a desired position for shading correction because this will allow the shading correction to be performed more effectively.
With respect to claim 4, which further claim 3, Fumiyuki’815 teaches wherein the reference member (Fig.5b, item 96) is attached to the moving member (Fig.5B, item 121), and wherein the moving member is configured to move the reference member by having the moving member moved by the rotation of the cam (Fig.5B, item 134 and paragraph 100).
With respect to claim 5, which further limits claim 1, the combination of Fumiyuki’815 and Hideki’875 does not teach wherein the moving mechanism is configured to perform, at the time of performing the shading correction, the adjustment so as to control the first distance and the second distance to become the same.
Hatayama’073 teaches wherein the moving mechanism is configured to perform, at the time of performing the shading correction, the adjustment so as to control the first distance and the second distance to become the same [The moving assembly relatively moves the back image reading module and the white reference face of the white-color guide to an arbitrary one of a first relative position used for the shading correction and a second relative position other than the first relative direction (paragraph 78)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Fumiyuki’815 and Hideki’875 according to the teaching of Hatayama’073 to move the image reading module and the white reference to a desired position for shading correction because this will allow the shading correction to be performed more effectively.
With respect to claim 6, which further limits claim 1, Fumiyuki’815 teaches wherein the reading unit is configured to read the sheet being conveyed by being attracted onto a predetermined surface (paragraph 5), and
The combination of Fumiyuki’815 and Hideki’875 does not teach wherein the moving mechanism is configured to move, at the time of performing the shading correction, the reference member in the first direction, and move the reading unit in the third direction.
Hatayama’073 teaches wherein the moving mechanism is configured to move, at the time of performing the shading correction, the reference member in the first direction, and move the reading unit in the third direction [The moving assembly relatively moves the back image reading module and the white reference face of the white-color guide to an arbitrary one of a first relative position used for the shading correction and a second relative position other than the first relative direction (paragraph 78). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the white reference face of the white-color guide to a direction (a first direction) and the back image reading module to a second direction (the third direction) to the desired potions to perform shading correction because this will allow the shading correction to be performed more effectively].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Fumiyuki’815 and Hideki’875 according to the teaching of Hatayama’073 to move the image reading module and the white reference to a desired position for shading correction because this will allow the shading correction to be performed more effectively.
With respect to claim 7, which further limits claim 6, the combination of Fumiyuki’815 and Hideki’875 does not teach wherein the moving mechanism is configured to move, in a case where the reading of the reference member by the reading unit is ended, the reference member in a direction opposite to the first direction, and move the reading unit in a direction opposite to the third direction.
Hatayama’073 teaches wherein the moving mechanism is configured to move, in a case where the reading of the reference member by the reading unit is ended, the reference member in a direction opposite to the first direction [as shown in Fig.2, the white-color guide 33 is considered being moved to a direction opposite to the direction (the first direction) which enable the white reference face to be read to perform shading correction], and move the reading unit in a direction opposite to the third direction [The moving assembly relatively moves the back image reading module and the white reference face of the white-color guide to an arbitrary one of a first relative position used for the shading correction and a second relative position other than the first relative direction (paragraph 78). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to move the back image reading module to back to its home position from a direction (the direction opposite to the third direction) after the shading correction has been done because this will allow the shading correction to be finished more effectively].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Fumiyuki’815 and Hideki’875 according to the teaching of Hatayama’073 to move the image reading module and the white reference to a desired position for shading correction because this will allow the shading correction to be performed more effectively.
With respect to claim 8, which further limits claim 6, the combination of Fumiyuki’815 and Hideki’875 does not teach wherein the moving mechanism is configured to control the reading unit to read two positions on the reference member that differ from each other in the first direction.
Hatayama’073 teaches wherein the moving mechanism is configured to control the reading unit to read two positions on the reference member that differ from each other in the first direction [The moving assembly relatively moves the back image reading module and the white reference face of the white-color guide to an arbitrary one of a first relative position used for the shading correction and a second relative position other than the first relative direction (paragraph 78)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Fumiyuki’815 and Hideki’875 according to the teaching of Hatayama’073 to move the image reading module and the white reference to a desired position for shading correction because this will allow the shading correction to be performed more effectively.
Contact
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUO LONG CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3759. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9am - 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tieu, Benny can be reached on (571) 272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUO LONG CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682