DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed 31 October 2025 in which claims 1, 9-13, 15-19 are amended and claim 20 is new. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and an office action on the merits follows.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/613,261, filed on 22 November 2021.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No 2016/0299342 by Asai (“Asai”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0242248 by Kuzuhara et al. (“Kuzuhara”).
As to claim 1, Asai discloses a projection device mounted on a vehicle (Asai, head-up display equipped in a vehicle, Figure 1), comprising:
a plurality of light sources (Asai, illumination device 110 is configured with a plurality of light source elements 111, Figure 2, ¶ [0029]);
a lens (Asai, first lens 112, Figure 2) through which the light from the light sources enters (Asai, First lens 112 is disposed close to each of light source elements 111 to such an extent that the emitted light from each of light source elements 111 does not leak. Figure 2, ¶ [0031]); and
a first mirror (Asai, first mirror 131, Figure 2) which deflects the light emitted from the lens toward the display (Asai, First mirror 131 reflects the light emitted from liquid crystal panel 115 toward second mirror 132. Second mirror 132 reflects the light from first mirror 131 toward windshield 230. Figure 1, ¶ [0025]),
wherein the plurality of light sources (Asai, light source elements 111, Figure 2), the lens (Asai, first lens 112, Figure 2), the first mirror (Asai, first mirror 131, Figure 1) and the display are arranged in this order along the optical path. As shown in figures 1 and 2 of Asai, the light source elements 111 project light through the first lens 112, which is then reflected off the first mirror 131, and lastly displayed on the windshield 230 to present a virtual image 400.
Asai does not expressly teach
a display upon which light from the plurality of light sources is incident such that light transmitted through the display is displayed as image information on a windshield;
Kuzuhara teaches a head-up display system including a display (Kuzuhara, refractive optical system 160, Figure 2) upon which light from the plurality of light sources is incident such that light transmitted through the display is displayed as image information on a windshield (Kuzuhara, An image displayed on display surface 111 is reflected by first mirror 121, then reflected by second mirror 122, refracted through refractive optical system 160, and further reflected by windshield 220 to reach viewing area 300, and virtual image I is viewed by observer D. Figure 2, ¶ [0028]);
The combination of Asai and Kuzuhara teaches the refractive optical system 160, of Kuzuhara, provided in the opening 141 of Asai, In addition, the combination also teaches the arranged order of the light sources, lens, first mirror, and display as being the optical path.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Asai’s opening to include Kuzuhara’s refractive optical system because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kuzuhara’s refractive optical system is comparable to Asai’s opening because the refractive optical system provides a cover for the opening in a head-up display system housing which permits display images to pass through to the windshield. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Asai’s opening to include Kuzuhara’s refractive optical system with the predictable result of providing an optical component for image display.
Thus, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the refractive optical system covering the opening which provides a display image onto a windshield.
As to claim 2, Asai does not expressly disclose the projection device wherein the first mirror has a free-form surface shape.
Kuzuhara teaches a head-up display device wherein the first mirror has a free-form surface shape (Kuzuhara, first mirror 121 is a mirror whose reflective surface 121a has a concave shape and a free-form surface shape. Second mirror 122 is also a mirror whose reflective surface 122a has a concave shape and a free-form surface shape, Figure 2, ¶ [0036]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Asai’s mirrors to include Kuzuhara’s free-form surface shaped mirrors because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kuzuhara’s free-form surface shaped mirrors is comparable to Asai’s mirrors because both are directed to mirrors in a head-up display device. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Asai’s mirrors to include Kuzuhara’s free-form surface shaped mirrors with the predictable result of providing mirrors which reflect images from the display source to the windshield of a vehicle.
Thus, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the mirrors as having a free-form surface shape.
As to claim 3, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the projection device wherein the first mirror reflects the light emitted from the plurality of light sources (Asai, First mirror 131 reflects the light emitted from liquid crystal panel 115 toward second mirror 132. Figure 1, ¶ [0025]).
As to claim 4, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the projection device wherein the lens has a convex surface as at least a light emission surface (Asai, At least any one of incident surface 112a and emission surface 112b of first lens 112 has a convex shape so that first lens 112 has a positive refractive power. Figure 2, ¶ [0032]).
As to claim 6, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the projection device wherein the lens comprises a plurality of lenses (Asai, first lens 112 and second lens 113, Figure 2).
As to claim 7, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the projection device wherein the lens is made from resin (Asai, First lens 112 and second lens 113 are each made of a transparent material having a predetermined refractive index… As such a transparent material, it is possible to use resin such as an epoxy resin, a silicone resin, an acrylic resin, and a polycarbonate. Figure 2, ¶ [0035]).
As to claim 8, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches a head-up display (Asai, head-up display equipped in a vehicle, Figure 1) comprising:
the projection device according to claim 1 (Asai, head-up display equipped in a vehicle, Figure 1); and
a second mirror (Asai, second mirror 132, Figure 1) for projecting light emitted from the display onto a reflective element provided in the vehicle (Asai, First mirror 131 reflects the light emitted from liquid crystal panel 115 toward second mirror 132. Second mirror 132 reflects the light from first mirror 131 toward windshield 230. Figure 1, ¶ [0025]) (Kuzuhara, An image displayed on display surface 111 is reflected by first mirror 121, then reflected by second mirror 122, refracted through refractive optical system 160, and further reflected by windshield 220 to reach viewing area 300, and virtual image I is viewed by observer D. Figure 2, ¶ [0028]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 9, Asai discloses a projection device mounted on a vehicle (Asai, head-up display equipped in a vehicle, Figure 1), comprising:
a plurality of light sources arranged in a first direction (Asai, illumination device 110 is configured with a plurality of light source elements 111, Figure 2, ¶ [0029]);
a lens (Asai, first lens 112, Figure 2) which changes an optical path of light emitted from each light source of the plurality of light sources such that the light emitted from each said light source reaches generally the same region of an incident surface of the display (Asai, First lens 112 is disposed close to each of light source elements 111 to such an extent that the emitted light from each of light source elements 111 does not leak. Figure 2, ¶ [0031])(Asai, At least any one of incident surface 112a and emission surface 112b of first lens 112 has a convex shape so that first lens 112 has a positive refractive power. Figure 2, ¶ [0032]),
a mirror (Asai, first mirror 131, Figure 2) disposed between the lens and the display, the mirror directing light transmitted through the lens toward the display (Asai, First mirror 131 reflects the light emitted from liquid crystal panel 115 toward second mirror 132. Second mirror 132 reflects the light from first mirror 131 toward windshield 230. Figure 1, ¶ [0025]). As shown in figures 1 and 2 of Asai, the light source elements 111 project light through the first lens 112, which is then reflected off the first mirror 131, and lastly displayed on the windshield 230 to present a virtual image 400.
Asai does not expressly teach
a display upon which light from the plurality of light sources is incident such that light transmitted through the display is displayed as image information on a windshield;
Kuzuhara teaches a head-up display system including a display (Kuzuhara, refractive optical system 160, Figure 2) upon which light from the plurality of light sources is incident such that light transmitted through the display is displayed as image information on a windshield (Kuzuhara, An image displayed on display surface 111 is reflected by first mirror 121, then reflected by second mirror 122, refracted through refractive optical system 160, and further reflected by windshield 220 to reach viewing area 300, and virtual image I is viewed by observer D. Figure 2, ¶ [0028]);
The combination of Asai and Kuzuhara teaches the refractive optical system 160, of Kuzuhara, provided in the opening 141 of Asai, In addition, the combination also teaches the arranged order of the light sources, lens, first mirror, and display as being the optical path.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Asai’s opening to include Kuzuhara’s refractive optical system because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kuzuhara’s refractive optical system is comparable to Asai’s opening because the refractive optical system provides a cover for the opening in a head-up display system housing which permits display images to pass through to the windshield. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Asai’s opening to include Kuzuhara’s refractive optical system with the predictable result of providing an optical component for image display.
Thus, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the refractive optical system covering the opening which provides a display image onto a windshield.
As to claim 10, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the projection device wherein the lens has a convex surface as at least the emission surface (Asai, At least any one of incident surface 112a and emission surface 112b of first lens 112 has a convex shape so that first lens 112 has a positive refractive power. Figure 2, ¶ [0032]).
As to claim 12, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the projection device wherein the lens comprises a plurality of lenses (Asai, first lens 112 and second lens 113, Figure 2).
As to claim 13, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the projection device wherein the lens is made from resin (Asai, First lens 112 and second lens 113 are each made of a transparent material having a predetermined refractive index… As such a transparent material, it is possible to use resin such as an epoxy resin, a silicone resin, an acrylic resin, and a polycarbonate. Figure 2, ¶ [0035]).
As to claim 14, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches a head-up display (Asai, head-up display equipped in a vehicle, Figure 1) comprising:
the projection device according to claim 9 (Asai, head-up display equipped in a vehicle, Figure 1); and
a mirror (Asai, second mirror 132, Figure 1) for projecting light emitted from the display onto a reflective element provided in the vehicle (Asai, First mirror 131 reflects the light emitted from liquid crystal panel 115 toward second mirror 132. Second mirror 132 reflects the light from first mirror 131 toward windshield 230. Figure 1, ¶ [0025]) (Kuzuhara, An image displayed on display surface 111 is reflected by first mirror 121, then reflected by second mirror 122, refracted through refractive optical system 160, and further reflected by windshield 220 to reach viewing area 300, and virtual image I is viewed by observer D. Figure 2, ¶ [0028]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 9.
As to claim 15, Asai discloses a head-up display for visually recognizing a virtual image by projecting an image onto an optical element (Asai, windshield 230, Figure 1) of a vehicle (Asai, head-up display equipped in a vehicle, Figure 1), comprising;
a plurality of light sources arranged in a first direction (Asai, illumination device 110 is configured with a plurality of light source elements 111, Figure 2, ¶ [0029]);
a lens (Asai, first lens 112, Figure 2) which guides an optical path of light emitted from each light source of the plurality of light sources in a direction of the incident plane of the display (Asai, First lens 112 is disposed close to each of light source elements 111 to such an extent that the emitted light from each of light source elements 111 does not leak. Figure 2, ¶ [0031])(Asai, At least any one of incident surface 112a and emission surface 112b of first lens 112 has a convex shape so that first lens 112 has a positive refractive power. Figure 2, ¶ [0032]);
a mirror (Asai, first mirror 131, Figure 2) which deflects the light emitted from the lens toward the optical element (Asai, First mirror 131 reflects the light emitted from liquid crystal panel 115 toward second mirror 132. Second mirror 132 reflects the light from first mirror 131 toward windshield 230. Figure 1, ¶ [0025]); and
Asai does not expressly teach
a display upon which light from the plurality of light sources is incident such that light transmitted through the display is displayed as image information on the optical element;
wherein the display is located below a bottom of a casing.
Kuzuhara teaches a head-up display system including a display (Kuzuhara, refractive optical system 160, Figure 2) upon which light from the plurality of light sources is incident such that light transmitted through the display is displayed as image information on the optical element (Kuzuhara, An image displayed on display surface 111 is reflected by first mirror 121, then reflected by second mirror 122, refracted through refractive optical system 160, and further reflected by windshield 220 to reach viewing area 300, and virtual image I is viewed by observer D. Figure 2, ¶ [0028]);
wherein the display (Kuzuhara, refractive optical system 160, Figure 2) is located below a bottom of a casing (Kuzuhara, dashboard 210, Figure 2). As shown in figure 2 of Kuzuhara, a casing (dashboard) is positioned above the refractive optical system 160.
The combination of Asai and Kuzuhara teaches the refractive optical system 160, of Kuzuhara, provided in the opening 141 of Asai, In addition, the combination also teaches the arranged order of the light sources, lens, first mirror, and display as being the optical path.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Asai’s opening to include Kuzuhara’s refractive optical system because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kuzuhara’s refractive optical system is comparable to Asai’s opening because the refractive optical system provides a cover for the opening in a head-up display system housing which permits display images to pass through to the windshield. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Asai’s opening to include Kuzuhara’s refractive optical system with the predictable result of providing an optical component for image display.
Thus, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the refractive optical system covering the opening which provides a display image onto a windshield.
As to claim 16, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the head-up display wherein the lens has a convex surface as at least the emission surface (Asai, At least any one of incident surface 112a and emission surface 112b of first lens 112 has a convex shape so that first lens 112 has a positive refractive power. Figure 2, ¶ [0032]).
As to claim 18, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the head-up display wherein the lens comprises a plurality of lenses (Asai, first lens 112 and second lens 113, Figure 2).
As to claim 19, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the head-up display wherein the lens is made from resin (Asai, First lens 112 and second lens 113 are each made of a transparent material having a predetermined refractive index… As such a transparent material, it is possible to use resin such as an epoxy resin, a silicone resin, an acrylic resin, and a polycarbonate. Figure 2, ¶ [0035]).
As to claim 20, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, teaches the head-up display further comprising:
a second mirror (Asai, second mirror 132, Figure 1) which deflects the light emitting from the lens toward the display (Asai, First mirror 131 reflects the light emitted from liquid crystal panel 115 toward second mirror 132. Second mirror 132 reflects the light from first mirror 131 toward windshield 230. Figure 1, ¶ [0025]) (Kuzuhara, An image displayed on display surface 111 is reflected by first mirror 121, then reflected by second mirror 122, refracted through refractive optical system 160, and further reflected by windshield 220 to reach viewing area 300, and virtual image I is viewed by observer D. Figure 2, ¶ [0028]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 15.
Claims 5, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No 2016/0299342 by Asai (“Asai”), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0242248 by Kuzuhara et al. (“Kuzuhara”), and in further view of in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0027589 by Yamazoe et al. (“Yamazoe”).
As to claim 5, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, does not expressly disclose the projection device wherein the plurality of light sources is arranged in a matrix in a first direction and in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Yamazoe teaches a head-up display system wherein the plurality of light sources is arranged in a matrix in a first direction and in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Yamazoe, a circuit board 25 is provided which is mounted with a plurality of the first light-emitting elements 23 and a plurality of the second light-emitting elements 24, Figure 4, ¶ [0010]). As shown in figure 4 of Yamazoe, the light-emitting elements 23 and 24 are arranged in two directions creating a matrix of light-emitting elements.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Asai’s light source elements to include Yamazoe’s first and second light-emitting elements because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Asai’s light source elements and Yamazoe’s first and second light-emitting elements perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing light sources for the head-up display system. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Asai’s light source elements by replacing it with Yamazoe’s first and second light-emitting elements. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara and Yamazoe, teaches the matrix of light-emitting elements arranged in two directions orthogonal to each other.
As to claim 11, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, does not expressly disclose the projection device wherein the plurality of light sources is arranged in a matrix in a first direction and in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Yamazoe teaches a head-up display system wherein the plurality of light sources is arranged in a matrix in a first direction and in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Yamazoe, a circuit board 25 is provided which is mounted with a plurality of the first light-emitting elements 23 and a plurality of the second light-emitting elements 24, Figure 4, ¶ [0010]). As shown in figure 4 of Yamazoe, the light-emitting elements 23 and 24 are arranged in two directions creating a matrix of light-emitting elements.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Asai’s light source elements to include Yamazoe’s first and second light-emitting elements because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Asai’s light source elements and Yamazoe’s first and second light-emitting elements perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing light sources for the head-up display system. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Asai’s light source elements by replacing it with Yamazoe’s first and second light-emitting elements. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara and Yamazoe, teaches the matrix of light-emitting elements arranged in two directions orthogonal to each other.
As to claim 17, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara, does not expressly disclose the projection device wherein the plurality of light sources is arranged in a matrix in a first direction and in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Yamazoe teaches a head-up display system wherein the plurality of light sources is arranged in a matrix in a first direction and in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Yamazoe, a circuit board 25 is provided which is mounted with a plurality of the first light-emitting elements 23 and a plurality of the second light-emitting elements 24, Figure 4, ¶ [0010]). As shown in figure 4 of Yamazoe, the light-emitting elements 23 and 24 are arranged in two directions creating a matrix of light-emitting elements.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Asai’s light source elements to include Yamazoe’s first and second light-emitting elements because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Asai’s light source elements and Yamazoe’s first and second light-emitting elements perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing light sources for the head-up display system. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Asai’s light source elements by replacing it with Yamazoe’s first and second light-emitting elements. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Asai, as modified by Kuzuhara and Yamazoe, teaches the matrix of light-emitting elements arranged in two directions orthogonal to each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As to the claim objections due to informalities, these are withdrawn due to the correcting amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623