DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su et al. (US 2008/0308285 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Su teaches a method of forming a gradient material frame for a corrosion resistant sprinkler (10) ([0017]-[0021], Fig. 1-2) comprising: providing a steel sprinkler frame (12) ([0031], Fig. 1-2) having a body (body of 12; Fig. 1-2) defining an inlet (through 14) ([0017]-[0021], Fig. 1-2), an outlet (through 16) ([0017]-[0021], Fig. 1-2), and a passageway extending between the inlet and the outlet along a longitudinal sprinkler axis (waterway through body of 12 for water passage) ([0017]-[0021], Fig. 1-2), the steel frame being made from an iron alloy such as 2205 alloy with 66% of iron (it reads on corrosion-prone iron alloy) (2205 alloy; TABLE B); and permanently bonding a polymer layer to the steel frame ([0027], [0029], [0031], table B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-15 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (US 2008/0308285 A1) as applied to claim 11, and further in view of Abu-Shanab et al. (US 2011/0003161 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Su teaches a method of coating a polymer coating on metal surface such as steel for a corrosion resistant as disclosed above. Su also teaches wherein providing the steel sprinkler frame includes fabricating the steel sprinkler frame from the iron alloy and permanently bounding the polymer to the metal surface ([0027], [0029], [0031], table B). Su does not explicitly teach dipping the metal substrate in an emulsion that includes polymer particles. However, an analogous art, Abu-Shanab teaches coating a metal surface such as steel with a polymer coating for corrosion resistant ([0002], [0003]) comprising immersing or dipping the metal surface the coating composition in an emulsion that includes polymer particles ([0055], [0059], [0076]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply dipping the metal surface to the polymer emulsion to the method of coating in Su, because Abu-Shanab disclosed immersing or dipping is usually preferred ([0055], [0059]). In addition, Su does not disclose dipping coating method, but teaches electrostatic powder spray (Su [0066]). Abu-Shanab discloses dipping and electrostatic deposition, powder spraying coating techniques are considered functionally equivalent and known to those of skill in the manufacturing arts conventional industrial painting methods ([0059]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute dipping coating method for the electrostatic powder spray disclosed by Su.
Regarding claim 13, Su teaches a method of coating a polymer coating on metal surface such as steel for a corrosion resistant as disclosed above. Su does not explicitly teach wherein the dipping includes reacting the iron alloy with iron fluoride contained in the emulsion to generate free iron ions from a surface of the steel substrate. However, an analogous art, Abu-Shanab teaches coating a metal surface such as steel with a polymer coating for corrosion resistant ([0002], [0003]) comprising immersing or dipping includes reacting the iron alloy with iron fluoride contained in the emulsion to generate free iron ions from a surface of the steel substrate ([0044], [0076]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply dipping the metal surface to the polymer emulsion to the method of coating in Su, because Abu-Shanab disclosed immersing or dipping is usually preferred and chemical bonding between the metal substate and paint layers that improves adhesion and corrosion resistant ([0002], [0055]).
Regarding claim 14, Su teaches a method of coating a polymer coating on metal surface such as steel for a corrosion resistant as disclosed above. Su does not explicitly teach wherein dipping include coagulating the polymer particles with the free iron ions and mechanically interlocking the coagulated polymer particles with the surface of the steel substrate. However, an analogous art, Abu-Shanab teaches coating a metal surface such as steel with a polymer coating for corrosion resistant ([0002], [0003]) comprising immersing or dipping include coagulating the polymer particles with the free iron ions and mechanically interlocking the coagulated polymer particles with the surface of the steel substrate ([0017], [0044], [0076], [0085]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply dipping the metal surface to the polymer emulsion to the method of coating in Su, because Abu-Shanab disclosed immersing or dipping is usually preferred and chemical bonding between the metal substate and paint layers that improves adhesion and corrosion resistant ([0002], [0055]).
Regarding claim 15, Su teaches a method of coating a polymer coating on metal surface such as steel for a corrosion resistant as disclosed above. Su does not explicitly teach wherein the permanently bonding includes forming an ionic bond between the polymer layer and the steel substrate. However, an analogous art, Abu-Shanab teaches coating a metal surface such as steel with a polymer coating for corrosion resistant ([0002], [0003]) comprising immersing or dipping include coagulating the polymer particles with the free iron ions and mechanically interlocking the coagulated polymer particles with the surface of the steel substrate and bonding includes forming an ionic bond between the polymer layer and the steel substrate ([0017], [0044], [0076], [0085]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply dipping the metal surface to the polymer emulsion to the method of coating in Su, because Abu-Shanab disclosed immersing or dipping is usually preferred and chemical bonding between the metal substate and paint layers that improves adhesion and corrosion resistant ([0002], [0055]).
Regarding claim 25, Su teaches a method of coating a polymer coating on metal surface such as steel for a corrosion resistant as disclosed above. Su does not explicitly teach wherein forming the ionic bond between the polymer layer and the steel frame forms a transition region containing a portion of the iron alloy and a portion of the polymer layer. However, an analogous art, Abu-Shanab teaches coating a metal surface such as steel with a polymer coating for corrosion resistant ([0002], [0003]) comprising wherein forming the ionic bond between the polymer layer and the steel frame forms a transition region containing a portion of the iron alloy and a portion of the polymer layer ([0017], [0044], [0076], [0085]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply forming the ionic bond between the polymer layer and the steel frame forms a transition region containing a portion of the iron alloy and a portion of the polymer layer to the method of coating in Su, because Abu-Shanab disclosed wherein forming the ionic bond between the polymer layer and the steel frame forms a transition region containing a portion of the iron alloy and a portion of the polymer layer that improves adhesion and corrosion resistant ([0002], [0055]).
Regarding claim 26, Su teaches wherein the polymer layer comprises a non-porous polymer layer ([0025], [0030]).
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 11-15 and 25-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of US Patent No. US12,115,400 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claim 1 of US Patent No. US12,115,400 B2. That is, claim 1 of US Patent No. US12,115,400 B2 falls entire within the scope of claim 1 or, in other words, claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of US Patent No. US12,115,400 B2.
This is an obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/HAI Y ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717