DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims status: amended claims 1-6; the rest is unchanged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/31/2026, with respect to claims 1-5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-5 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6, 9-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new primary reference is currently being used for the rejection of claims 6, 9-20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 1, Earney et al. disclose: An imaging apparatus comprising: a light source configured to emit light (fig.8 LEDG); a light reflector (fig.8 items M1 & F5) configured to reflect the light incident from the light source; a first filter (fig.8 F2) configured to filter the light reflected from the light reflector; a light transmission reflector (fig.8 F4) configured to reflect the light passing through the first filter toward an object (fig.8 FC) and transmit light incident from the object; a second filter (fig.8 F1) configured to filter the light that has passed through the light transmission reflector after being incident from the object; and a camera (fig.8 Si) configured to capture the light passing through the second filter, wherein the light transmission reflector, the second filter, and the camera are aligned on a same optical axis (fig.8 shows that F4, F1 & Si are aligned on the same optical axis), wherein a direction of light transmitted from the light source to the light reflector is parallel to the optical axis of the light transmission reflector, the second filter, and the camera (fig.8 shows that the light from LEDG passing from M1 to F5 is parallel to the optical axis of F4, F1 & Si).
Shan et al. disclose: A line-illuminating light source comprising: a light source configured to emit linear light (pg.39 L11-25), a light emitter (pg.9 L33-34 – pg.10 L1-4; UV light source); a first lens provided at a position where light emitted from the light emitter is incident (pg.18 L34 – pg.19 L1-10); a slit (pg.18 L32 – pg.19 L1-10) comprising a opening through which the light incident from the first lens passes; and a second lens provided at a position where the light passing through (pg.18 L32 – pg.19 L1-10), and configured to direct the light toward an object (pg.47 L13-16 & pg.47 L25-32).
Ridder et al. disclose: a slit comprising a linear opening (para. [0074], [0088], [0065]) motivated by the benefits for a uniform illumination (Ridder et al. para. [0021]).
A Combination of the teachings of Earney et al., Shan et al. & Ridder et al. would not be without impermissible hindsight.
Claims 2-5 are allowed on the same basis as independent claim 1 for dependency reasons.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, the combined references are silent about: the light source comprises: a light emitter; a first lens provided at a position where the light emitted from the light emitter is incident; a slit comprising a linear opening through which the light incident from the first lens passes; and a second lens provided at a position where the light passing through the linear opening is incident.
Shan et al. disclose: a first lens & a second lens (pg.18 L32 – pg.19 L1-10) motivated by the benefits for reduced aberration.
Ridder et al. disclose: a linear opening (para. [0074], [0088], [0065]) motivated by the benefits for a uniform illumination (Ridder et al. para. [0021]).
A Combination of the teachings of Earney et al., Obszanski et al., Shan et al. & Ridder et al. would not be without impermissible hindsight.
Claim 8 would be allowable on the same basis as claim 7 for dependency reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 11-13, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Earney et al. (US 2021/0055224 A1; pub. Feb. 25, 2021) in view of Obszanski et al. (US 2024/0275208 A1; pub. Aug. 15, 2024).
Regarding claim 6, Earney et al. disclose: An imaging apparatus comprising: a light source (fig.8 LEDG) configured to emit light; a light reflector (fig.8 M1 & F5) configured to reflect the light incident from the light source; a first filter (fig.8 F2) configured to filter the light reflected from the light reflector; a light transmission reflector (fig.8 F4) configured to reflect the light passing through the first filter toward an object and transmit light incident from the object, the light transmission reflector being separate from the light reflector; a second filter (fig.8 F1) configured to filter the light that has passed through the light transmission reflector after being incident from the object (fig.8 FC); and a camera (fig.8 S1) configured to capture the light passing through the second filter, wherein the light transmission reflector, the second filter, and the camera are aligned on a same optical axis (fig.8 shows that F4, F1 & Si are aligned on the same optical axis).
Earney et al. are silent about: a light source configured to emit linear light.
In a similar field of endeavor Obszanski et al. disclose: a light source configured to emit linear light (para. [0172]) motivated by the benefits for a uniform illumination (Obszanski et al. para. [0172]).
In light of the benefits for a uniform illumination as taught by Obszanski et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the linear light source of Obszanski et al. in the device of Earney et al.
Regarding claim 11, Earney et al. and Obszanski et al. disclose: the light transmission reflector is configured to reflect ultraviolet rays and transmit visible light (the claim does not recite any additional structure that further limits claim 6, therefore the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 6).
Regarding claim 12, Earney et al. disclose: the light source, the light reflector, the first filter, and the light transmission reflector are aligned on a same optical axis (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, Earney et al. and Obszanski et al. disclose: the light source, the light reflector, the first filter, the light transmission reflector, the second filter, and the camera are aligned so that light reflected from the light transmission reflector and radiated to the object and light incident from the object to the light transmission reflector due to the radiated light are parallel to each other (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 6, additionally, fig.8 of Earney et al. shows that the light from LEDG passing from M1 to F5 is parallel to the optical axis of F4, F1 & Si).
Regarding claim 15, Earney et al. disclose: the light reflector comprises a dichroic mirror (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 6).
Regarding claim 16, Earney et al. disclose: the first filter comprises an excitation filter (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 6).
Regarding claim 17, Earney et al. disclose: the second filter comprises an emission filter (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 6).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Earney et al. (US 2021/0055224 A1; pub. Feb. 25, 2021) in view of Obszanski et al. (US 2024/0275208 A1; pub. Aug. 15, 2024) and further in view of Palero et al. (US 2024/0346643 A1; pub. Oct. 17, 2024).
Regarding claim 9, the combined references are silent about: the camera comprises a hyperspectral image sensor.
In a similar field of endeavor Palero et al. disclose: the camera comprises a hyperspectral image sensor (para. [0039]) motivated by the benefits for generating images with high spectral resolution.
In light of the benefits for generating images with high spectral resolution, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the hyperspectral camera of Palero et al. in the combined device of Earney et al. and Obszanski et al.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Earney et al. (US 2021/0055224 A1; pub. Feb. 25, 2021) in view of Obszanski et al. (US 2024/0275208 A1; pub. Aug. 15, 2024) and further in view of Amblard et al. (US 2004/0004194 A1; pub. Jan. 8, 2004).
Regarding claim 10, the combined references are silent about: the light reflector is configured to rotate about two axes perpendicular to each other so that the linear light incident from the light source moves toward the object in two different perpendicular directions.
In a similar field of endeavor Amblard et al. disclose: the light reflector is configured to rotate about two axes perpendicular to each other so that the light incident from the light source moves toward the object in two different perpendicular directions (para. [0062]) motivated by the benefits for an adaptable illumination.
In light of the benefits for an adaptable illumination, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the light reflector of Amblard et al. in the combined device of Earney et al. and Obszanski et al.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Earney et al. (US 2021/0055224 A1; pub. Feb. 25, 2021) in view of Obszanski et al. (US 2024/0275208 A1; pub. Aug. 15, 2024) and further in view of Sangu (US 2020/0033576 A1; pub. Jan. 30, 2020).
Regarding claim 14, the combined references are silent about: the light reflector comprises a folding mirror.
In a similar field of endeavor Sangu discloses: the light reflector comprises a folding mirror (para. [0063]) motivated by the benefits for a compact device that allows complex beam paths without requiring long straight-through optics.
In light of the benefits for a compact device that allows complex beam paths without requiring long straight-through optics, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the folding mirror of Yoshida et al. in the combined device of Earney et al. and Obszanski et al.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Earney et al. (US 2021/0055224 A1; pub. Feb. 25, 2021) in view of Obszanski et al. (US 2024/0275208 A1; pub. Aug. 15, 2024) and further in view of Yoshida et al. (US 2022/0167852 A1; pub. Jun. 2, 2022).
Regarding claim 18, the combined references are silent about: a mask structure configured to cover a surface of an object; and the imaging apparatus of claim 6 provided in an region of the mask structure facing the surface of the object.
In a similar field of endeavor Yoshida et al. disclose: a mask structure configured to cover a surface of an object; and the imaging apparatus of claim 6 provided in an region of the mask structure facing the surface of the object (para. [0069], fig.1B item 72) motivated by the benefits to reduce diffusion of light on the object (Yoshida et al. para. [0069]).
In light of the benefits to reduce diffusion of light on the object as taught by Yoshida et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mask of Yoshida et al. in the combined device of Earney et al. and Obszanski et al.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Earney et al., Obszanski et al. and Yoshida et al. disclose: the imaging apparatus is mounted in the mask structure (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 18).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Earney et al., Obszanski et al. and Yoshida et al. disclose: the imaging apparatus is attachable to and detachable from the mask structure (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 18).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884