DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species B (figs. 4B-4C) in the reply filed on 16 February 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “in said tightened condition, a first gap being present between said first stop surfaces” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim(s). It is noted that in the figures, a gap (80, 81, 90, 91) is only shown between the inner surfaces, not the stop surfaces. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 10-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim requires a gap to be present between the first stop surfaces in the tightened condition. However, claim 1 required that in the tightened condition that the first stop surfaces are engaged. It is unclear how the surfaces can be engaged if a gap is present. It appears that claim 3 should be reciting a gap is present between the inner surfaces to be consistent with what is shown in the figures and described in the specification.
Claim 10 recites the limitations “said first tooth surface" and “said first recess surface”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitations “said second tooth surface”, “said second recess surface”, and “said first plane”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 14, 15, and 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowman et al. (US 2022/0146022 hereinafter “Bowman”) in view of Fleck et al. (US 2021/0148494 hereinafter “Fleck”).
In regards to claim 1, Bowman discloses a coupling for joining pipe elements in end to end relation, said coupling comprising:
first and second segments (12, 14) attached to one another end to end surrounding a central space (16) for receiving said pipe elements, each said segment comprising a first lug (26) extending from a first end thereof and a second lug (30) extending from a second end thereof;
a first adjustable fastener (34) extending between said first lugs along a first longitudinal axis and a second adjustable fastener (36) extending between said second lugs along a second longitudinal axis; wherein
each said segment further comprises:
a first inner surface (42) positioned between said central space and said first lug,;
a first stop surface (44) positioned on said first lug, said first adjustable fastener being positioned between said first inner surface and said first stop surface;
a second inner surface (50) positioned between said central space and said second lug; and
a second stop surface (52) positioned on said second lug, said second adjustable fastener being positioned between said second inner surface and said second stop surface;
wherein said first and second segments are movable toward one another to a tightened condition (shown in fig. 4);
said first and second adjustable fasteners are configured to draw said first and second segments toward one another to said tightened condition (shown between figs. 3-4); and wherein
in said tightened condition:
said first stop surfaces at said first ends of said segments engage and said second stop surfaces at said second ends of said segments engage (shown in fig. 4).
Bowman does not disclose said first inner surface comprising a first tooth and a first recess, said second inner surface comprising a second tooth and a second recess, and said first tooth of said first segment is at least partially received within said first recess of said second segment and said first tooth of said second segment is at least partially received within said first recess of said first segment.
However, Fleck teaches a similar coupling (see figs. 5-9) with a first inner surface comprising a first tooth (174, 178) and a first recess (176, 180), a second inner surface comprising a second tooth (182, 186) and a second recess (184, 188), and in a tightened condition, said first tooth of said first segment is at least partially received within said first recess of said second segment and said first tooth of said second segment is at least partially received within said first recess of said first segment (shown in fig. 9).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the inner surfaces of Bowman each with a tooth and recess in order to strengthen the joint formed by the coupling, as taught by Fleck at least at paragraph [0031].
In regards to claim 2, Bowman further discloses in said tightened condition, said second tooth of said first segment mates with said second recess of said second segment and said second recess of said first segment mates with said second tooth of said second segment (shown in fig. 9).
In regards to claim 3, Bowman further discloses in said tightened condition, a first gap is present between said first stop surfaces (shown in fig. 12).
In regards to claim 4, Bowman further discloses in said tightened condition, a second gap is present between said second inner surfaces (shown in fig. 15).
In regards to claim 5, Bowman further discloses said first lugs define a first opening (27) surrounding a first axis oriented perpendicularly to said first longitudinal axis of said first adjustable fastener and positioned between said first inner surfaces and said first stop surfaces (shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claim 6, Bowman further discloses said first opening extends through said first lugs (shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claim 7, Bowman further discloses said second lugs define a second opening (31) surrounding a second axis oriented perpendicularly to said second longitudinal axis of said second adjustable fastener and positioned between said second inner surfaces and said second stop surfaces (shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claim 8, Bowman further discloses said second opening extends through said second lugs (shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claim 9, Fleck further teaches said first tooth of said first segment aligns with said first recess of said second segment, and said first recess of said first segment aligns with said first tooth of said second segment (shown in fig. 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the inner surfaces of Bowman each with a tooth and recess in order to strengthen the joint formed by the coupling, as taught by Fleck at least at paragraph [0031].
In regards to claim 10, Fleck further teaches wherein said first tooth surface is oriented at a first angle to a first plane, said first plane containing a transverse axis and said first and second axes, said transverse axis oriented perpendicularly to said first and second longitudinal axes and said first and second axes, and wherein said first recess surface is oriented at a second angle (0 degrees) to said first plane.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the inner surfaces of Bowman each with a tooth and recess in order to strengthen the joint formed by the coupling, as taught by Fleck at least at paragraph [0031].
In regards to claim 14, Fleck further teaches said second tooth of said first segment aligns with said second recess of said second segment, and said second recess of said first segment aligns with said second tooth of said second segment (shown in fig. 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the inner surfaces of Bowman each with a tooth and recess in order to strengthen the joint formed by the coupling, as taught by Fleck at least at paragraph [0031].
In regards to claim 15, Fleck further teaches said second tooth surface is oriented at a third angle to said first plane, and said second recess surface is oriented at a fourth angle to said first plane (shown in fig. 7).
In regards to claims 19 and 20, Bowman further discloses said first stop surface comprises a first portion (44) oriented at a fifth angle (46) to a second plane, said second plane containing said first and second longitudinal axes and said transverse axis, wherein said second stop surface comprises a first portion (52) oriented at a sixth angle (54) to said second plane, said sixth angle has an equal and opposite slope from said fifth angle (see paragraph [0033]).
In regards to claims 21 and 22, Bowman further discloses said first stop surface further comprises at least one second portion (52) oriented at a seventh angle (54) to said second plane, and said second stop surface comprises at least one second portion (44) oriented at an eighth angle (46) to said second plane, wherein said eighth angle has an equal and opposite slope from said seventh angle (see paragraph [0033]).
In regards to claim 23, Bowman further discloses said seventh angle has an opposite slope from said fifth angle, and said eighth angle has an opposite slope from said sixth angle (see paragraph [0033]).
In regards to claim 24, Bowman further discloses each one of said first and second adjustable fasteners comprises a nut (38) and bolt (40).
In regards to claim 25, Bowman further discloses each of said segments comprises first and second arcuate projections (18a, 18b) positioned on opposite sides of said segments, each of said first and second arcuate projections facing said central space, each of said first and second arcuate projections being engageable within circumferential grooves in said pipe elements when said segments are drawn toward one another by said first and second adjustable fasteners (shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claim 26, Bowman further discloses a seal (24) positioned within said central space, said seal supporting said segments in spaced apart relation sufficient to permit insertion of said pipe elements into said central space without disassembling said coupling.
In regards to claim 27, Bowman discloses a method of using said coupling according to claim 1 (see above), said method comprising:
adjusting said first adjustable fastener to draw said first and second segments toward one another (see between figs. 3-4);
engaging said first stop surfaces at said first end of said segments (shown in fig. 4);
adjusting said second adjustable fastener to draw said first and second segments toward one another (shown between figs. 3-4); and
engaging said second stop surfaces of said second end of said segments (shown in fig. 4).
In regards to claim 28, Bowman further discloses said first stop surfaces at said first end of said segments engage before adjusting said second adjustable fastener (this is inherent if only one side fasteners are tightened fully).
In regards to claim 29, Bowman further discloses said coupling is in said tightened condition after said second stop surfaces engage (shown in fig. 4).
In regards to claim 30, Bowman further discloses said first segment and said second segment are in an alignment with respect to an axis parallel to and centered between said first longitudinal axis and said second longitudinal axis and remain in said alignment in said tightened condition (shown in fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 and 16-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art shows a similar coupling.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
02/26/2026