DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2018207323 A1 (Nakaya et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Nakaya et al. disclose:
A distance sensor device (32) for monitoring a lock clearance (gap with width w1, figure 5) of an elevator door locking device (13) of an elevator car door operator (figure 2), the distance sensor device being arranged to one of the following:
a static structure of the elevator door operator or a hanger plate (32 is arranged to hanger plate 34, figure 2) of the elevator car door operator,
wherein the distance sensor device (34) is configured to obtain distance data in a direction parallel to the lock clearance of the elevator door locking device (horizontal direction), when the elevator door is locked by the elevator door locking device, and
wherein the obtained distance data represents the lock clearance of the elevator door locking device (between 23 and 25).
Regarding claim 2, Nakaya et al. further disclose:
wherein the lock clearance of the elevator door locking device is defined by a distance between a lock latch (25) of the elevator door locking device (13) attached to the hanger plate (34, figure 2) of the elevator door operator and a lock counterpart (23) of the elevator door locking device (108) attached to the static structure (24) of the elevator door operator.
Regarding claim 7, Nakaya et al. further disclose:
further configured to obtain close end signal data indicating that the elevator door is closed (page 6 of the attached machine translation, paragraph 5, lines 2-6).
Regarding claim 8, Nakaya et al. further disclose:
An elevator car door operator comprising:
an electric motor (29),
a door control unit (7),
at least one hanger plate (16) for carrying at least one elevator door panel (15);
an elevator door locking device (13); and
the distance sensor device (32) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Nakaya et al. disclose:
A method for monitoring a lock clearance (w1) of an elevator door locking device (13) of an elevator car door operator (figure 2) with a distance sensor device (32) arranged to one of the following:
a static structure (24) of the elevator car door operator or a hanger plate (34) of the elevator car door operator,
wherein the method comprises obtaining distance data in a direction parallel (horizontal direction) to the lock clearance of the elevator door locking device, when the elevator door is locked by the elevator door locking device (figure 4), wherein the obtained distance data represents the lock clearance of the elevator door locking device (lock clearance between 23 and 25).
Regarding claim 10, Nakaya et al. further disclose:
wherein the lock clearance of the elevator door locking device is defined by a distance between a lock latch (25) of the elevator door locking device attached to a hanger plate (16) of the elevator door operator and a lock counterpart (23) of the elevator door locking device attached to the static structure (24) of the elevator door operator.
Regarding claim 15, Nakaya et al. further disclose:
further comprising obtaining close end signal data indicating that the elevator door is closed (page 6 of the attached machine translation, paragraph 5, lines 2-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018207323 A1 (Nakaya et al.) in view of JP 2010137956 A (Yukio).
Regarding claim 6, Nakaya et al. teach:
The distance sensor device according to claim 1.
Nakaya et al. are silent to the sensor device obtaining installation data during an installation phase of the elevator car door operator.
However, Yukio teaches:
A distance sensor device for an elevator door,
further configured to obtain installation data during an installation phase of the elevator car door operator, wherein the installation data comprises direction data indicating the closing side of the elevator door (page 9, paragraph 7 of the attached machine translation, “The sensor 48 is installed on the side of the car door, which is a moving body, and holes 45-47 are formed at positions where detection is desired on the base member 17C side of the car door. The sensor output value from the sensor 48 is input to the door opening/closing control unit 16 connected to the sensor 48… The door opening/closing control unit 16 determines the door position of the door panels 9 and 10 based on the position information held in advance.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain installation data during an installation phase, as taught by Yukio, with the distance sensor device of Nakaya et al. to provide baseline data for comparison to the operating data collected by the distance sensor.
Regarding claim 14, Nakaya et al. teach:
The method according to according to claim 9.
Nakaya et al. are silent to the sensor device obtaining installation data during an installation phase of the elevator car door operator.
However, Yukio teaches:
A method for monitoring a lock clearance of an elevator door locking device,
further comprising obtaining installation data during an installation phase of the elevator car door operator, wherein the installation data comprises direction data indicating the closing side of the elevator door (page 9, paragraph 7 of the attached machine translation, “The sensor 48 is installed on the side of the car door, which is a moving body, and holes 45-47 are formed at positions where detection is desired on the base member 17C side of the car door. The sensor output value from the sensor 48 is input to the door opening/closing control unit 16 connected to the sensor 48… The door opening/closing control unit 16 determines the door position of the door panels 9 and 10 based on the position information held in advance.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain installation data during an installation phase, as taught by Yukio, with the distance sensor device of Nakaya et al. to provide baseline data for comparison to the operating data collected by the distance sensor.
Regarding claim 18, Nakaya et al. teach:
The distance sensor device according to claim 2.
Nakaya et al. are silent to the sensor device obtaining installation data during an installation phase of the elevator car door operator.
However, Yukio teaches:
A distance sensor device for an elevator door,
further configured to obtain installation data during an installation phase of the elevator car door operator, wherein the installation data comprises direction data indicating the closing side of the elevator door (page 9, paragraph 7 of the attached machine translation, “The sensor 48 is installed on the side of the car door, which is a moving body, and holes 45-47 are formed at positions where detection is desired on the base member 17C side of the car door. The sensor output value from the sensor 48 is input to the door opening/closing control unit 16 connected to the sensor 48… The door opening/closing control unit 16 determines the door position of the door panels 9 and 10 based on the position information held in advance.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain installation data during an installation phase, as taught by Yukio, with the distance sensor device of Nakaya et al. to provide baseline data for comparison to the operating data collected by the distance sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 11-13, 16-17, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claims 3, 11, and 16, the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious all of the limitations of these claims. The prior art does not teach a distance sensor device for an elevator door that is configured to be calibrated, or a comparable method of calibration, that involves arranging the hanger plate against a buffer that is arranged to the static structure of the elevator door operator to define a change of the locking clearance. Claims 4-5, 12-13, and 19-20 depend from claims 3 and 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 6 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Nakaya et al. teach a sensor 32 that measures distance to parts of the door moving horizontally and the measurement direction is perpendicular to the direction the doors are moving. Applicant further includes figures from Nakaya et al. on pages 7-8 showing the measurement process of the sensor 32 and concludes on page 9 that Nakaya senses a direction perpendicular to the lock clearance, not parallel to the lock clearance. Applicant argues that Nakaya et al. does not meet the limitation, “wherein the distance sensor device is configured to obtain distance data in a direction parallel to the lock clearance of the elevator door locking device, when the elevator door is locked by the elevator door locking device,” recited in claim 1, and similar limitations in claim 9. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s argument that Nakaya senses a direction perpendicular to the lock clearance, not parallel to the lock clearance is not commensurate with the scope of the claims. The sensor of Nakaya, as shown in figured 10 and 12 reproduced by Applicant in the Remarks, moves in a direction parallel to the lock clearance W1 and uses the data sensed in the perpendicular direction to obtain distance data in a direction parallel to the lock clearance of the elevator door locking device as recited in claim 1. Sensor 32 uses a detection light to determine where the lock components are located in the direction parallel to the lock clearance. The detection light is projected in the perpendicular direction; however, the claim does not require that the sensor projects in the parallel direction. The sensor moves in the parallel direction to obtain the distance data, and the resulting data provides the lock clearance between components 23 and 25 in the parallel direction. The sensor of Nakaya et al. meets all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 based on broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619