DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24, 31 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 21, 28 and 35 recite, provide an alert when a configurable number of ingress detections occur into the trigger zone.
Claims 24, 31 and 28 recite, provide an alert when:
the virtual object is detected within the trigger zone; or the virtual object enters the trigger zone.,
Claim 24 is already recited in claim 21. Claim 21 indicates a configuration number of ingress detections which means one or any number of virtual object enters in trigger zone. Claim 24 also recite the virtual object is detected in trigger zone
Therefore claims 24, 31, and 40 doesn’t limit claim 21, 28 and 35.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 24-29, 31-36 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Khalid et al. ( US patent publication: 20170316606, “Khalid”) in view of SCHLATTMANN et al. ( US Patent Publication: 20220277463, “SCHLATTMANN”) and Thiel et al. ( US patent publication: 20210056314, “Thiel”).
Regarding claim 21, Khalid teaches A system ( Fig. 12) comprising:
one or more memory units (storage device 1204) ; and
one or more computer processors (processor 1204) communicatively coupled to the one or more memory units and configured to:
access sensor data from multiple sensors in a physical environment; (“0120] In operation 1002, a virtual reality media provider system that includes a configuration of synchronous video and depth capture devices disposed at fixed positions in a vicinity of a first object may capture 2D video data and depth data for a surface of the first object. In some examples, the virtual reality media provider system may capture the 2D video data and depth data while the first object is located in a natural setting along with one or more additional objects. Operation 1002 may be performed in any of the ways described herein.”)
determine, by analyzing the sensor data from the multiple sensors, a physical object that is physically located within the physical environment;( [0121] In operation 1004, the virtual reality media provider system may distinguish the first object from a second object included in the one or more additional objects located in the natural setting along with the first object. For example, the virtual reality media provider system may distinguish the first object from the second object based on the captured depth data and captured 2D video data captured in operation 1002. Operation 1004 may be performed in any of the ways described herein.”)
display, on an electronic display, a three-dimensional (3D) model of the physical environment; ([0029]…..” Accordingly, the virtual reality media provider system may provide virtual reality media content representative of an immersive virtual reality world corresponding to the real-world event to media player devices in real time.”) and
provide real-time movement tracking of the physical object using a virtual object displayed in the 3D model of the physical environment. (“(104) Dynamic object depth modeling 708 and dynamic object image mapping 710 may perform similar respective functions as static object depth modeling 704 and static object image mapping 706 for dynamic objects (e.g., objects determined to be dynamically moving in real time). However, because the dynamic object may be continuously in flux (e.g., moving around within the natural setting), individually-manipulable volumetric models 718 of the dynamic objects may be updated much more regularly in order to keep the volumetric data stream up-to-date with what is occurring within the natural setting.”)
Khalid doesn’t expressly teach, provide one or more options in the graphical user interface to create a trigger zone within the virtual 3D environment, the trigger zone comprising an area that is monitored for movement or presence of virtual objects.
However, SCHLATTMANN teaches, one or more computer processors are further configured to provide one or more options in the graphical user interface to create a trigger zone within the virtual 3D environment, the trigger zone comprising an area that is monitored for movement or presence of virtual objects. ( [0038] viii. wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate an activity world as a virtual environment that corresponds to the real world physical environment, the activity world defining an area where object's dynamics are being monitored. [0039] ix. wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to define an activity area having specific boundaries within the activity world, the activity area being assigned with one or more attributes defining constraints on the manner in which an activity of the user should be performed from within the activity area.” Here the activity area is the claimed trigger zone.)
Khalid and SCHLATTMANN area analogous as they are from the field extended reality.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khalid to have the one or more computer processors further configured to provide one or more options in the graphical user interface to create a trigger zone within the virtual 3D environment, the trigger zone comprising an area that is monitored for movement or presence of virtual objects as taught by SCHLATTMANN.
The motivation to include the modification is to provide a focus area in the display where the viewer is interested to see user’s activity.
Khalid as modified by SCHLATTMANN doesn’t expressly teach, provide an alert when a configurable number of ingress detections occur into the trigger zone.
However, Thiel teaches, provide an alert when a configurable number of ingress detections occur into the trigger zone.(“[0101] As illustrated, in some cases, a user may define the zone 735 (or region) around a door 739 and direct the video processing system to count the number of detected objects, such as object 737-a, that are within or passing through the zone 735. In some cases, the object 737-a may be a person or animal passing through the door 739. In some embodiments, alerts or alarms (e.g., visual, auditory, etc.) may be sent to a user based on the detection or prediction information of objects in the zone 735. For example, if a large number of objects 737 are detected within the zone 735 (or region), an alert may be sent to a user to indicate that a large number of people are entering or exiting the building through the door 739 contained in the zone 735.”)
Thiel and Khalid as modified by SCHLATTMANN are analogous as they are from the field of image processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective fling date of eth claimed invention to have modified
The motivation to include the modification is to provide a focus area in the display where the viewer is interested to see user’s activity. Khalid as modified by SCHLATTMANN to have included provide an alert when a configurable number of ingress detections occur into the trigger zone as taught By Thiel.
The motivation to include provide viewer safety information to the viewers or player.
Claim 28 is directed to a method and its steps are similar in scope and functions of the elements of the device claim 21 and therefore claim 28 is rejected with same rationales as specified in the rejection of claim 21.
Claim 35 is directed to a one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media( Khalid, Fig. 12 storage device 1206 “[0132] In certain embodiments, one or more of the processes described herein may be implemented at least in part as instructions embodied in a non-transitory computer-readable medium and executable by one or more computing devices. In general, a processor (e.g., a microprocessor) receives instructions, from a non-transitory computer-readable medium, (e.g., a memory, etc.), and executes those instructions, thereby performing one or more processes, including one or more of the processes described herein. Such instructions may be stored and/or transmitted using any of a variety of known computer-readable media.” ) and its elements are similar in scope and functions of the elements of eth device claim 21 and therefore claim 35 is rejected with same rationales as specified in the rejection of claim 21.
Regarding claim 22, 29 and 36, Khalid as modified by SCHLATTMANN and Thiel teaches, teaches, wherein the virtual object comprises an appearance corresponding to a classification of the physical object.(“ [0093] In order to distinguish object 504 from object 602, a first technique that system 100 (e.g., volumetric modeling 514) may employ is identifying objects 504 and 602 based on 2D video data 506, and then determining that object 504 as identified is different from object 602 as identified. Specifically, system 100 may use object recognition algorithms to identify (e.g., recognize) object 504 as a basketball and object 602 as, for example, a human being (e.g., a basketball player). (“(104) Dynamic object depth modeling 708 and dynamic object image mapping 710 may perform similar respective functions as static object depth modeling 704 and static object image mapping 706 for dynamic objects (e.g., objects determined to be dynamically moving in real time). However, because the dynamic object may be continuously in flux (e.g., moving around within the natural setting), individually-manipulable volumetric models 718 of the dynamic objects may be updated much more regularly in order to keep the volumetric data stream up-to-date with what is occurring within the natural setting.”)
Regarding claims 24, 31 and 38, Khalid in view of SCHLATTMANNand Thiel teaches,, wherein the one or more computer processors are further configured to provide an alert when one or more virtual objects enter the trigger zone; the virtual object enters the trigger zone; or a predetermined number of ingress detections occur into the trigger zone. .( Thiel, “[0101] As illustrated, in some cases, a user may define the zone 735 (or region) around a door 739 and direct the video processing system to count the number of detected objects, such as object 737-a, that are within or passing through the zone 735. In some cases, the object 737-a may be a person or animal passing through the door 739. In some embodiments, alerts or alarms (e.g., visual, auditory, etc.) may be sent to a user based on the detection or prediction information of objects in the zone 735. For example, if a large number of objects 737 are detected within the zone 735 (or region), an alert may be sent to a user to indicate that a large number of people are entering or exiting the building through the door 739 contained in the zone 735.”)
The motivation to include the modification is to provide viewer safety information to the viewers or player.
Regarding claims 25, 32 and 39, Khalid as modified by SCHLATTMANN and Thiel teaches, wherein the multiple sensors are: multiple video cameras; multiple temperature sensors; multiple infrared sensors; or multiple biometric sensors. (Khalid, “0120] In operation 1002, a virtual reality media provider system that includes a configuration of synchronous video and depth capture devices disposed at fixed positions in a vicinity of a first object may capture 2D video data and depth data for a surface of the first object. In some examples, the virtual reality media provider system may capture the 2D video data and depth data while the first object is located in a natural setting along with one or more additional objects.”
Regarding claims 26 and 33, Khalid as modified by SCHLATTMANN and Thiel teaches, wherein the physical object is: a person (Khalid, “[0082]…. Similarly, object 504 may be any visible (i.e. nontransparent) object mentioned herein or that may otherwise be present within natural setting 502. For example, object 504 may be animate (e.g., a person or an animal) or inanimate, a solid, a liquid, or a non-transparent gas (e.g., fog generated from a fog machine at a concert), etc.;”) a vehicle; or an animal.
Regarding claims 27, 34 and 40, Khalid as modified by SCHLATTMANN and Thiel teaches, wherein the sensor data is multiple video streams. (Khalid, “0120] In operation 1002, a virtual reality media provider system that includes a configuration of synchronous video and depth capture devices disposed at fixed positions in a vicinity of a first object may capture 2D video data and depth data for a surface of the first object. In some examples, the virtual reality media provider system may capture the 2D video data and depth data while the first object is located in a natural setting along with one or more additional objects.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 41 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 41 is objected because the combination of prior arts fails to expressly teach, generating a fused track for the physical object by associating detections of the physical object across the multiple sensors; and maintaining, using the fused track, continuous real-time tracking of the physical object in the 3D model of the physical environment as the physical object moves between fields of view of the multiple sensors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks Page 8, filed 04/30/2026, with respect to rejection of claim 21 user 35 USC 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further considerations, a new grounds of rejection has been made under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over by Khalid et al. ( US patent publication: 20170316606, “Khalid”) in view of SCHLATTMANN et al. ( US Patent Publication: 20220277463, “SCHLATTMANN”) and Thiel et al. ( US patent publication: 20210056314, “Thiel”).
Conclusion
/TAPAS MAZUMDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615