Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2, A in the reply filed on 5/29/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3-5 and 9 are withdrawn since they are drawn to a non-elected species.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “user-actuated control mechanism” in claims 1-2, 6-8, and 10-20, and “sliding mechanism” in claim 2.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the distal portion of the delivery device” in line 2 should read “the distal portion of the delivery element”, noting that a distal portion of the delivery element has been previously recited (but not a distal portion of the delivery device) and it is clear to the examiner that this is merely a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, and 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Clerc et al. (US 2005/0256562). Clerc discloses an implant delivery device comprising a handle (12) having an internal track (21; fig. 5) with a bend (note bend in track 21 at proximal end of handle), a delivery element (16) having a distal portion distal to the handle and a proximal portion within the handle positioned on or within the internal track (figs. 5-7), and a user-actuated control mechanism (20/18, noting corresponding 35 USC 112f structure includes a rotatable knob) engaged with the delivery element, wherein actuation of the user-actuated control mechanism advances or retracts the proximal portion of the delivery element around the bend of the internal track.
Regarding claim 6, retracting the delivery element deploys an implant (72) (best shown in figs. 13-14).
Regarding claim 7, the delivery element is a delivery sheath or catheter (16).
Regarding claim 8, the internal track includes one or more mechanical rollers (26; fig. 5).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the internal track includes a recess and has a u-shape (best shown in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, retracting or advancing the distal portion of the delivery element (noting claim objection above) causes the proximal portion (once on upper portion of track 21) to move in a direction opposite the distal portion. For example, once the proximal portion of the catheter 16 has moved around the bend in the handle and into the upper portion of the track, it moves in the distal direction when the distal portion of the delivery element (16) is moved proximally.
Regarding claim 13, the entire delivery element is distal to a proximal end of the handle (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, the handle has a first longitudinal length and the actuation of the user-actuated control mechanism advances or retracts the proximal portion of the delivery element a distance having a second length greater than the first length (i.e., the second length is the length of the track (21) which is greater than that of the handle due to its bend).
Regarding claim 15, Clerc discloses an implant delivery device comprising a handle (12), a delivery element (16) having a distal portion distal to the handle and a proximal portion within the handle, and a user-movable control mechanism (20/18) engaged with the delivery element. In a first configuration, the distal portion of the delivery element is in a first position and the proximal portion of the delivery element is in a second position. For example, during retraction of the catheter, consider when a proximal portion of catheter 16 is positioned on the lower portion of track, adjacent to u-bend, but not on u-bend. This is being considered the claimed second position. In a second configuration, the distal portion of the delivery element is in a third proximal to the first position and the proximal portion of the delivery element is in a fourth position distal to the second position. For example, after retraction of the delivery element via rotation of knob 20, the distal portion has moved proximally to a third position while the proximal portion has been advanced around u-bend toward (58) to a fourth position distal of the second position.
Regarding claim 16, the handle further comprises an internal track (21) with a bend and the proximal portion of the delivery element is positioned on or within the internal track (figs. 5-7, noting 16 can be retracted into the handle along the internal track 21the length of the channel as disclosed in [0027]).
Regarding claim 17, the internal track is a guide for the proximal portion of the delivery element between the first and second configurations ([0027]).
Regarding claim 18, Clerc discloses an implant delivery device comprising a handle (12) having a first longitudinal length, a delivery element (16) having a distal portion distal to the handle and a proximal portion within the handle (see figs. 5-7), a user-actuated control mechanism (20) engaged with the delivery element, wherein actuation of the user-actuated control mechanism advances or retracts the proximal end of the delivery element a distance having a second length, wherein the second length is greater than the first longitudinal length (noting delivery element can be retracted the distance of the track 21, which is greater than the length of the handle due to the U shape of the track).
Regarding claim 19, actuation of the user-actuated mechanism retracts the proximal end of the delivery element along an internal track having one or more bends ([0025]-[0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clerc. Clerc discloses the invention substantially as state above including an implant (72) pre-loaded within the delivery element (see figs. 13-16). Clerc does not expressly disclose that, when in a compressed configuration, the implant has a fourth longitudinal length greater than the first longitudinal length of the handle. However, Clerc discloses that the length of the internal track is greater than the length of the handle. Clerc further discloses that the length of the track is sufficient to permit deployment of the stent (i.e., allows enough retraction of catheter to fully uncover stent) and to prevent unnecessary movement of the catheter (i.e., further retraction after stent is fully uncovered) ([0027]). Thus, it would have been obvious to size the implant and track such that the implant has the same length as the track, which is longer than the length of the handle, in order to allow the catheter to be retracted a length sufficient to permit the stent to be deployed (i.e., long enough that the amount of retraction is at least the length of the stent) while preventing any further retraction of the catheter beyond the length of the implant.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clerc in view of Pryor (US 2007/0244540). Clerc discloses the invention substantially as stated above including a user-actuated control mechanism (20/18) engaged with the delivery element (catheter), wherein actuation of the user-actuated control mechanism advances or retracts the proximal portion of the delivery element around the bend of the internal track, but fails disclose that the user-actuated control mechanism is a sliding mechanism. Instead, Clerc discloses a rotating knob and driver (20/18) forming part of a ratchet mechanism with the catheter.
Pryor discloses another implant delivery device comprising a handle (212B; fig. 6) and a user-actuated control mechanism (704, fig. 6, noting corresponding 35 USC 112f structure is a sliding button) that retracts an outer catheter (206B) in order to deliver a stent. The user-actuated control mechanism is a thumb slider (704) that interacts with teeth (706) on the catheter to form a ratchet mechanism (702) to retract the catheter. The slider can be moved distally in a manner that does not advance the catheter such that the slider can be retracted multiple times in a proximal direction in order to retract the catheter a distance greater than the length of the handle ([0049]-[0056]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the prior art of Clerc to use a sliding mechanism (thumb slider with ratchet teeth) as taught by Pryor in place of the rotatable mechanism (20/18) of Clerc as such a modification is considered a substitution of one user-actuated control mechanism for retraction of an outer catheter that allows a handle to be relatively short, for another, wherein the results are predictable and one skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
KSH 6/24/2026
/KATHLEEN S HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771