DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 09/17/2024 & 10/07/2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 & 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE102016122142A1 to Mayer.
A) As per Claims 1, 5-7, 12 & 16-18, Mayer teaches an airflow redirector (Mayer: Figures 2a-2c) for an air register having an air vent housing with an inlet that is fluidically coupled to an outlet via a cavity, the airflow redirector comprising:
an inlet frame positioned at the inlet (Mayer: Items 22 and left end of Item 28 in Figures 2a-2c);
a frame assembly (Mayer: Items 14, 16 & 20) positioned at the outlet, wherein the frame assembly is configured to pivot relative to the air vent housing about an axis of rotation between a first extreme (Mayer: Figure 2a) and a second extreme (Mayer: Figure 2c) via a neutral position (Mayer: Figure 2b);
a first flexible air guide (Mayer: Figure 2a-2c, top Item 24) positioned in the cavity and coupled to each of the inlet frame and to the frame assembly; and
a second flexible air guide (Mayer: Figure 2a-2c, bottom Item 24)positioned in the cavity and coupled to each of the inlet frame and to the frame assembly,
wherein each of the first flexible air guide and the second flexible air guide are configured to flex as the frame assembly pivots between the first extreme and the second extreme, and wherein the first flexible air guide and the second flexible air guide are spaced apart to define a flow path therebetween configured to guide fluid flow from the inlet to the outlet (Mayer: shown in Figures 2a-2c, Item 28 is bent with Items 24).
B) As per Claims 2-4, 13-15 & 19-20, Mayer teaches that each of the first flexible air guide and the second flexible air guide is fixedly coupled to the frame assembly (Mayer: Figure 2a-2c, Items 24 are fixed to Items 30 at front) and each of the first flexible air guide and the second flexible air guide is slidingly coupled to the inlet frame, wherein the first flexible air guide is slidingly coupled to the inlet frame via a first slot and the second flexible air guide is slidingly coupled to the inlet frame via a second slot (Mayer: Figures 2a-2c, Items 24 are attached to items 22 at slots 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer in view of US Patent Number 4,957,036 to Fujihara.
A) As per Claim 8, Mayer teaches all the limitations except that a plurality of flexible vanes coupled to the frame assembly to define an airflow redirector, wherein the frame assembly comprises a first frame and a second frame that is configured to translate relative to the first frame along an axis that is parallel to the axis of rotation, and wherein the plurality of flexible vanes is coupled to each of the first frame and the second frame and configured to flex when the second frame translates relative to the first frame.
However, Fujihara teaches a plurality of flexible vanes (Fujihara: Figure 8, Item 2) coupled to the frame assembly to define an airflow redirector, wherein the frame assembly comprises a first frame (Fujihara: Figure 8, Item 3, with portion of Item 1 connecting ends of Items 3) and a second frame (Fujihara: Figure 8, Item 9) that is configured to translate relative to the first frame along an axis that is parallel to the axis of rotation, and wherein the plurality of flexible vanes is coupled to each of the first frame and the second frame and configured to flex when the second frame translates relative to the first frame (Fujihara: Col. 9, lines 10-37).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Mayer by adding flexible vanes, as taught by Fujihara, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mayer with these aforementioned teachings of Fujihara with the motivation of being able to control the airflow direction laterally out of the outlet.
B) As per Claim 9, Mayer in view of Fujihara teaches that the second frame is configured to translate relative to the first frame between a first extreme and a second extreme via a neutral position (Fujihara: Col. 9, lines 10-37).
C) As per Claim 10, Mayer in view of Fujihara teaches that the plurality of flexible vanes is configured to direct airflow in a first direction along the axis when the second frame is positioned at the first extreme (Fujihara: Col. 9, lines 10-37).
D) As per Claim 11, Mayer in view of Fujihara teaches that the plurality of flexible vanes is configured to direct airflow in a second direction along the axis that is opposite the first direction when the second frame is positioned at the second extreme (Fujihara: Col. 9, lines 10-37).
Conclusion
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762