DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/6/26. Applicant argues that claim 16 includes the invention however, the scheduling feature is separate and a different search area than the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, it is unclear what “the improvement” is referring to.
Regarding Claim 2, it is unclear what “consists essentially” means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morgan (U.S. Pub. No. 20050005779).
Regarding Claim 1, Morgan discloses a cooking surface 24 (figure 1) for cookware having a food support surface 27 (Figure 1) for holding food items during cooking, the improvement comprising a removable and replaceable insert 50 (figure 1) configured to connect to the cookware and cover the food support surface during a plurality of cooking cycles (figure 1), the removable and replaceable insert formed of a heat resistant polymer (paragraph 46).
Regarding Claim 2, Morgan discloses the heat resistant polymer consists essentially of a melt-processible fluoropolymer (paragraph 46).
Regarding Claim 3, Morgan discloses the heat resistant polymer comprises a perfluoroalkoxy alkane (PFA), a TFE/perfluoromethylvinylether copolymer (MFA), a fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP), a homopolymer or copolymer of PTFE, or combinations thereof (paragraph 46).
Regarding Claim 4, Morgan discloses a laminate material with structural rigidity (paragraph 46), wherein the laminate material includes a flexible substrate impregnated and coated with the heat resistant polymer material, and pressed or molded as the removable and replaceable insert (paragraph 46).
Regarding Claim 5, Morgan discloses the removable and replaceable insert is pressed or molded in the form of a surface cover of a pan, basket, tray, sheet, or plate (figure 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Morgan discloses the removable and replaceable insert is fully free of metal (paragraph 46).
Regarding Claim 8, Morgan discloses the removable and replaceable insert is clipped, snapped, or press-fit to the cookware over the food support surface (figure 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Morgan discloses a cooking support including a support frame 22 (figure 1) having side walls 27 (figure 1) defining a cooking area 29 (Figure 1), and an inner support structure configured to receive and support the removable and replaceable insert 28/30 (Figure 1); wherein the removable and replaceable insert is shaped and adapted to be inserted into the cooking support and on the inner support structure (Figure 1), wherein the cooking insert includes the cooking surface and receives the food items during cooking (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Morgan discloses removing and replacing the cooking insert (figure 1 and 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Morgan discloses a removable insert 50 (Figure 1), which is separate from and adapted to be removably secured within the cookware for holding food items during cooking in an oven (paragraph 49-50).
Regarding Claim 14, Morgan discloses removing and replacing the removable and replaceable insert in the cookware (paragraph 49-50).
Regarding Claim 15, Morgan discloses removing and replacing the removable and replaceable insert with a second removable and replaceable insert after multiple heating cycles in the oven (paragraph 49-50).
Regarding Claim 17, Morgan discloses placing a food item on the removable and replaceable insert; placing the cookware in the oven while supporting the removable and replaceable insert and the food item; removing the cookware from the oven; removing the food item from the cooking surface or insert; repeating the placing and removing steps for each of a plurality of food items; and replacing the removable and replaceable insert of the cookware (paragraph 49-50).
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sarnoff et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4941401).
Regarding Claim 1, Sarnoff et al. discloses a cooking surface 20 (figure 2) for cookware having a food support surface 24 (Figure 2) for holding food items during cooking, the improvement comprising a removable and replaceable insert 40 (Figure 2) configured to connect to the cookware and cover the food support surface during a plurality of cooking cycles, the removable and replaceable insert formed of a heat resistant polymer (Column 2, lines 31-36).
Regarding Claim 6, Sarnoff et al. discloses the removable and replaceable insert is fully free of metal (Column 2, lines 31-36).
Regarding Claim 9, Sarnoff et al. discloses the removable and replaceable insert comprises a separately formed cooking surface insert 42 (Figure 2) of the heat resistance polymer (Column 2, lines 31-36), applied as or over the food support surface of a cookware, wherein the surface insert is replaceable and recyclable (Column 2, lines 31-36).
Regarding Claim 10, Sarnoff et al. discloses the removable and replaceable insert comprises a snap on nonstick cover 60 (Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan (U.S. Pub. No. 20050005779) in view of Hartsing, Jr (U.S. Patent No. 4503168).
Regarding Claim 7, Morgan teaches all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the removable and replaceable insert can withstand temperatures over 500° F (260° C). However, Hartsing, Jr teaches withstand temperatures over 500° F (260° C) (Column 1, lines 11-15,29-32). Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morgan to include the above, as taught by Hartsing, Jr, in order to allow for the cookware to function in ovens reaching over 500 degrees Fahrenheit without damage.
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including: “The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. A general allegation that the claims “define a patentable invention” without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear Issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims.” Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06 II(A), MPEP 2163.06 and MPEP 714.02. The ''disclosure'' includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J VOLZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3733