DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-16, and without traverse of species lactic acid, 30%, 50% lower, Schizochytrium, 70% PUFA and 60% DHA and 1% EPA, and 1%, in the reply filed on 8/31/2026 is acknowledged. However, applicant's election for a single discrete and disclosed species of an amount (Species 2), a single discrete and disclosed species of a viscosity (Species 3), a single discrete and disclosed species of an oil composition (Species 5), and a single discrete and disclosed species of an amount of free microbial oil (Species 6), are improper. During a telephone conversation with Cara Mosley on 10/7/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-16, and of species lactic acid, the at least one compound is mixed into the fermentation broth in a total amount of from 0.15 wt.% to 50 wt.% (in claim 6), a viscosity at least 10% lower (in claim 8), Schizochytrium, 30 to 90 wt.% of polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs) (in claim 12), and the amount of free microbial oil in the fermentation broth is 1.0 wt.% or less (in claim 15). Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Claims 4-5, 9, 13-14, and 17-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12, and 15-16 are being examined in this application, insofar as they read on the elected species of lactic acid, the at least one compound is mixed into the fermentation broth in a total amount of from 0.15 wt.% to 50 wt.% (in claim 6), a viscosity at least 10% lower (in claim 8), Schizochytrium, 30 to 90 wt.% of polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs) (in claim 12), and the amount of free microbial oil in the fermentation broth is 1.0 wt.% or less (in claim 15).
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, the recitation of “The method according to claim 5” on line 1 is suggested to read “The method according to claim 1”. Applicant has elected the amount in claim 6, if claim 6 is dependent from claim 5, then claim 6 will be rejected under 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends, since the amount range in claim 6 overlaps with the amount range in claim 5.
Claim 12, the recitation of “DHA docosahexaenoic acid (DHA)” on line 6 is suggested to read “docosahexaenoic acid (DHA)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 (line 2-3) recites “(calculated on the total weight of the fermentation broth)”. It is unclear what the parenthetical information is conveying. Further, parenthesis is reserved for reference characters and information within parenthesis has no effect on the scope of the claims. See MPEP 608.01(m). Applicant is advised to amend claim 6 to take out parenthesis.
Claim 12 recites “(calculated on the total weight of fatty acids in the total lipid content)” (line 3-4) and “(calculated on the total weight of fatty acids in the total lipid content)” (line 7-8). It is unclear what the parenthetical information is conveying. Further, parenthesis is reserved for reference characters and information within parenthesis has no effect on the scope of the claims. See MPEP 608.01(m). Applicant is advised to amend claim 12 to take out parenthesis.
Claim 16 (line 2) recites “(calculated on the total weight of the fermentation broth)”. It is unclear what the parenthetical information is conveying. Further, parenthesis is reserved for reference characters and information within parenthesis has no effect on the scope of the claims. See MPEP 608.01(m). Applicant is advised to amend claim 16 to take out parenthesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeifer et al (US 2017/0245523 A1; 8/31/2017.) in view of Ju et al (Renewable Energy. 2020;153:580-587.) and Scholten et al (WO 2017/132407 A1; 8/3/2017.).
The instant claims recite a method for reducing the viscosity of a fermentation broth, the method comprising (a) mixing at least one compound selected from the group consisting of ascorbic acid, citric acid, lactic acid, formic acid, amino acids, and soluble salts of the acids with a fermentation 5 broth comprising microbial cells, the fermentation broth having free microbial oil in an amount of 5.0 wt.% or less, calculated on the total weight of the fermentation broth, wherein the total lipid content of the dry matter content of the fermentation broth is at least 40 wt.%.
Pfeifer teaches a method of producing microbial oils (Abstract), comprising cultivating Schizochytrium sp. (Family Thraustochytriaceae, para 0094) in a culture medium, wherein the medium comprises citric acid, the biomass is freeze dried (complete dry matter content of the fermentation broth) and the fatty acid profile of the biomass is determined (para 0210), the fermentation is pH controlled utilizing ammonium hydroxide, and sulfuric acid (a further acid) is utilized for pH control (decreasing or increasing the pH of the fermentation broth, and re-adjusting the pH of the fermentation broth by adding a base or an acid) (para 0213). Table 4 demonstrates microbial oils comprise 30% to 90% of EPA + DHA (polyunsatured fatty acids (PUFAs)). Pfeifer does not teach disrupting microbial cells during fermentation. Therefore, one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the fermentation broth having no or low amount of free microbial oil.
Pfeifer does not teach using lactic acid (the elected compound in claims 1 and 7), and the claimed total amount (claim 6).
However, Pfeifer does teach fermenting Schizochytrium sp. for production of microbial oils. Ju teaches fermenting Schizochytrium sp. for production of microbial oils (Abstract), comprising adding 1.8 g/L of lactic acid to the fermentation medium, wherein the addition of 5.4 g/L of lactic acid increased DHA content (p.585 col right – para 2-3).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate lactic acid, since Pfeifer and Ju both disclose a method of fermenting Schizochytrium sp. for production of microbial oils, and Ju discloses that adding lactic acid to the fermentation medium improves fermentation and lipid production. In addition, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of lactic acid, since Ju discloses that addition of lactic acid increases DHA content and improves overall fermentation and lipid production. Generally, differences in concentration will not support patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. (MPEP 2144.05 II) Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to incorporate an optimized amount of lactic acid, with a reasonable expectation for successfully producing microbial oils.
References cited above do not teach reducing the viscosity of the fermentation broth (claim 1), and the fermentation broth after the at least one compound has been mixed thereinto has a viscosity at least 10% lower than the viscosity of the fermentation broth before the compound was mixed thereinto (claim 8). However, Pfeifer and Ju do teach adding acids (at least one compound) to the fermentation broth. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it was well-known in the art that adding acids reduces viscosity of a fermentation broth. In support, Scholten teaches that the decrease in viscosity can be observed at the start of the acid addition, the change in viscosity can be a decrease of at least 10% as measured by standard methods of measuring viscosity (para 0082).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759