DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by
JP 2023040740 (Usuda) (cited by Applicant) (citations to English translation).
Claim 16:
The cited prior art describes a method of controlling an operation of an air conditioner including an indoor unit main body, the method comprising: (Usuda: see the indoor unit 10 as illustrated in figures 1, 2; “An air conditioner includes a casing, a fan, a radar, and a control unit. An inner air duct, a suction port communicating the air duct with the outside, and a blowout port communicating the air duct with the outside are provided in the casing. The fan is provided in the air duct, and sends air from the suction port to the blowout port. The radar is provided in the casing, and detects at least one of the presence/absence of a detection object existing in an indoor region in which the casing is installed, the number of the detection objects, and shape information of the detection object. The control unit determines a control mode of the air blown out from the blowout port by the fan on the basis of the detection result of the radar.” abstract)
by using a radar sensor provided inside the indoor unit main body and directed toward a floor surface, obtaining information about a location of at least one person detected within a certain range from the air conditioner; (Usuda: “Returning to FIG. 1, the radar 2 can detect the position, moving speed, angle, and shape (height from the floor surface, etc.) of a detection target (for example, a living body CR) in the room.”; “As described above, according to the air conditioner 1 (indoor unit 10) of the present embodiment, the presence or absence of the detection target (for example, the living body CR) in the indoor region R, the number of detection targets, and the shape information of the detection target are detected by the radar 2. and at least one of When acquiring the presence/absence, number, shape information, etc. of the detection target, the distance to the detection target can be detected, and the behavior (movement history) of the detection target can be detected by continuously detecting the detection target. becomes possible. As a result, it is possible to perform air blowing control suitable for the detection target existing in the indoor region R.”)
by using the information about the location of the at least one person, identifying an activity level of the at least one person; (Usuda: “The activity amount measurement unit 80d3 measures the amount of activity (amount of exercise) based on the movement amount, movement speed, and the like of each detection target (living body CR) tracked by the tracking unit 80d2, and stores the amount in the storage unit.”)
based on the activity level of the at least one person, determining a wind volume of the air conditioner; and (Usuda: “FIG. 12 is an exemplary and schematic explanatory view showing wind control when the radar of the air conditioner according to the embodiment detects a class 3 detection target (for example, a sleeping living body) in the indoor area. be. FIG. 13 is an exemplary and schematic explanatory diagram showing that the radar of the air conditioner in the embodiment tracks the detection target and acquires the activity amount of the detection target.”; “Further, when the third type detection target is detected, the control unit may change the wind volume to a current set value or less.”)
controlling a blower of the air conditioner to discharge wind with the wind volume determined. (Usuda: “FIG. 14 is an exemplary and schematic cross-sectional view showing a case where a ventilation member is arranged for each outlet in the air conditioner according to the embodiment. 15 is an exemplary schematic front view showing details of the ventilation member used in FIG. 14.” )
Claim 18:
The cited prior art describes the method of claim 16, wherein the determining of the wind volume of the air conditioner comprises, based on a number of the at least one person detected within the certain range from the air conditioner, determining the wind volume of the air conditioner. (Usuda: “When the human body detection unit 80d detects a third-class detection target CR3 (an infant CR3a, a pet CR3b, a sleeping living body CR3c, etc.) as a living body CR, the wind control unit 80g sets the wind volume to the current level. You may make it change below a set value. In the case of the indoor unit 10 of the present embodiment, the amount of air blown out from the outlet 33 (air volume, wind power) is determined (set) by, for example, the operation of the operation terminal 94a by the user, or is determined (set) according to the operation mode. It may be automatically set depending on the temperature of the region R. Further, as described above, in the case of the indoor unit 10 of the present embodiment, the air volume may be set depending on the state of the indoor region R based on the type and number of living body CRs detected by the radar 2 . Therefore, before the class 3 detection target CR3 is detected, too strong (too much) wind may blow out from the outlet 33 for the class 3 detection target CR3. Therefore, the wind control section 80g may change the wind volume to the current set value or less when the third class detection target CR3 is detected. In other words, by weakening the air volume, it is possible to provide an environment more suitable for the type 3 detection target CR3, for which consideration must be given to how the air blows.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP 2023040740 (Usuda) (cited by Applicant) (citations to English translation) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0123058 (Yavari).
Claim 1:
The cited prior art describes an air conditioner comprising (Usuda: see the air conditioner 1 as illustrated in figures 1, 2)
an indoor unit main body including (Usuda: see the indoor unit 10 as illustrated in figures 1, 2)
a heat exchanger, (Usuda: see the heat exchanger 22 as illustrated in figures 1, 2)
a blower, and (Usuda: see the fan 23 as illustrated in figures 1, 2)
a blade, (Usuda: see the plate 25 as illustrated in figures 1, 2)
the air conditioner comprising: (Usuda: see the air conditioner 1 as illustrated in figures 1, 2)
a radar sensor provided inside the indoor unit main body and configured to detect at least one person; and (Usuda: see the radar 2 as illustrated in figures 1, 2, 9 and the people being detected as illustrated in figure 9; “The radar is provided in the casing, and detects at least one of the presence/absence of a detection object existing in an indoor region in which the casing is installed, the number of the detection objects, and shape information of the detection object.” abstract)
Usuda does not explicitly describe a particular angle as described below. However, Yavari teaches the particular angle as described below.
a sensor mounting portion on which the radar sensor is mounted to be tilted at a preset angle and directed toward a floor surface, (Usuda: see the radar on the indoor unit 10 titled towards the people and the floor as illustrated in figures 2, 9, 11) (Yavari: see the radar sensor 10 mounted at an angle as illustrated in figure 21 and as described in paragraph 0153; see the radar titled at an angle to the person as illustrated in figures 19A, 19B, 19C)
wherein, when the indoor unit main body is located on one side of a ceiling, the preset angle is between 50° and 70°. (Usuda: see the indoor unit 10 on the ceiling as illustrated in figures 9, 10, 11) (Yavari: “The axis 2106 is substantially parallel to the floor 2104 of the room and substantially perpendicular to the wall 2102 of the room. As discussed above, in some embodiments, the transmitter 12 is mounted in the sensor 10 such that the direction of transmission 2108 is at an angle 2110 from the axis 2106. The angle 2110 can be greater than 5, 10, 15, 20, 30, 45, or 60 degrees. In an embodiment, the angle is substantially 45 degrees. In other embodiments, the angle is substantially 30 degrees or 50 degrees.” Paragraph 0153)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Usuda, namely, an air conditioner control system using occupancy detection, with the known techniques of Yavari, namely, an occupancy detection system, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Usuda to control an air conditioner based on occupancy detection with the teachings of Yavari to use various configuration for occupancy detection would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved air conditioner control system. In other words, the combination of references provides for an air conditioner control system using occupancy detection using various configurations based on the teachings of air conditioner control using occupancy detection in Yavaria and the teachings of occupancy detection using various configurations in Yavari.
Claim 2:
Usuda does not explicitly describe a particular angle as described below. However, Yavari teaches the particular angle as described below.
The cited prior art describes the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the preset angle is between 60° and 65°. (Usuda: see the indoor unit 10 on the ceiling as illustrated in figures 9, 10, 11) (Yavari: “The axis 2106 is substantially parallel to the floor 2104 of the room and substantially perpendicular to the wall 2102 of the room. As discussed above, in some embodiments, the transmitter 12 is mounted in the sensor 10 such that the direction of transmission 2108 is at an angle 2110 from the axis 2106. The angle 2110 can be greater than 5, 10, 15, 20, 30, 45, or 60 degrees. In an embodiment, the angle is substantially 45 degrees. In other embodiments, the angle is substantially 30 degrees or 50 degrees.” Paragraph 0153)
Usuda and Yavari are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 3:
The cited prior art describes the air conditioner of claim 1, further comprising:
memory storing one or more instructions; and (Usuda: see the CPU of the indoor unit control unit as illustrated in figure 8; “The CPU that constitutes the indoor unit control unit 80 reads a control program installed and stored in a nonvolatile storage device such as a ROM, and realizes a module that executes various controls and arithmetic processing according to the program.”)
at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions to: (Usuda: see the CPU of the indoor unit control unit as illustrated in figure 8; “The CPU that constitutes the indoor unit control unit 80 reads a control program installed and stored in a nonvolatile storage device such as a ROM, and realizes a module that executes various controls and arithmetic processing according to the program.”)
by using the radar sensor, obtain information about a location of the at least one person detected within a certain range from the air conditioner; (Usuda: “Returning to FIG. 1, the radar 2 can detect the position, moving speed, angle, and shape (height from the floor surface, etc.) of a detection target (for example, a living body CR) in the room.”; “As described above, according to the air conditioner 1 (indoor unit 10) of the present embodiment, the presence or absence of the detection target (for example, the living body CR) in the indoor region R, the number of detection targets, and the shape information of the detection target are detected by the radar 2. and at least one of When acquiring the presence/absence, number, shape information, etc. of the detection target, the distance to the detection target can be detected, and the behavior (movement history) of the detection target can be detected by continuously detecting the detection target. becomes possible. As a result, it is possible to perform air blowing control suitable for the detection target existing in the indoor region R.”)
by using the information about the location of the at least one person, identify an activity level of the at least one person; (Usuda: “The activity amount measurement unit 80d3 measures the amount of activity (amount of exercise) based on the movement amount, movement speed, and the like of each detection target (living body CR) tracked by the tracking unit 80d2, and stores the amount in the storage unit.”)
based on the activity level of the at least one person, determine a wind volume of the air conditioner; and (Usuda: “FIG. 12 is an exemplary and schematic explanatory view showing wind control when the radar of the air conditioner according to the embodiment detects a class 3 detection target (for example, a sleeping living body) in the indoor area. be. FIG. 13 is an exemplary and schematic explanatory diagram showing that the radar of the air conditioner in the embodiment tracks the detection target and acquires the activity amount of the detection target.”; “Further, when the third type detection target is detected, the control unit may change the wind volume to a current set value or less.”)
control the blower to discharge wind with the wind volume determined. (Usuda: “FIG. 14 is an exemplary and schematic cross-sectional view showing a case where a ventilation member is arranged for each outlet in the air conditioner according to the embodiment. 15 is an exemplary schematic front view showing details of the ventilation member used in FIG. 14.” )
Claim 4:
The cited prior art describes the air conditioner of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, based on a number of the at least one person detected within the certain range from the air conditioner, determine the wind volume of the air conditioner. (Usuda: “When the human body detection unit 80d detects a third-class detection target CR3 (an infant CR3a, a pet CR3b, a sleeping living body CR3c, etc.) as a living body CR, the wind control unit 80g sets the wind volume to the current level. You may make it change below a set value. In the case of the indoor unit 10 of the present embodiment, the amount of air blown out from the outlet 33 (air volume, wind power) is determined (set) by, for example, the operation of the operation terminal 94a by the user, or is determined (set) according to the operation mode. It may be automatically set depending on the temperature of the region R. Further, as described above, in the case of the indoor unit 10 of the present embodiment, the air volume may be set depending on the state of the indoor region R based on the type and number of living body CRs detected by the radar 2 . Therefore, before the class 3 detection target CR3 is detected, too strong (too much) wind may blow out from the outlet 33 for the class 3 detection target CR3. Therefore, the wind control section 80g may change the wind volume to the current set value or less when the third class detection target CR3 is detected. In other words, by weakening the air volume, it is possible to provide an environment more suitable for the type 3 detection target CR3, for which consideration must be given to how the air blows.”)
Claim 12:
The cited prior art describes the air conditioner of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, when an input for setting a direct wind mode is received, based on the location of the at least one person detected via the radar sensor, adjust an angle of the blade such that the wind is directly blown toward the at least one person. (Usuda: “In the “radar control mode”, the radar 2 continuously or intermittently detects the position of each classification of the detection target (living body CR) in the room under the control of the indoor unit control section 80 . While tracking the position of the detected living body CR, the indoor unit control unit 80 sends wind toward the living body CR or conversely toward a position avoiding the living body CR according to the type of the detected living body CR. , the up/down wind direction plate 25, the left/right direction plate 29, the ventilation member 26, and the like. The indoor unit control unit 80 controls the direction of the wind (air-conditioned air) blown out from the indoor unit 10 by controlling the operation of the up/down wind direction plate 25 and the left/right wind direction plate 29 .”)
Claim 14:
The cited prior art describes the air conditioner of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, when an input for setting an indirect wind mode is received, based on the location of the at least one person detected via the radar sensor, adjust an angle of the blade such that the wind is directed outward by a certain radius away from the at least one person. (Usuda: “For example, as shown in FIG. 12, it may be possible to improve the sleeping environment by not blowing air directly on the sleeping living body CR3c. In such a case, the wind control unit 80g controls the up/down wind direction plate 25 and the left/right wind direction plate so that the reaching area WE of the wind blown out from the blowing port 33 does not exist, for example, in front of the lying living body CR3c. 29. For example, the wind is blown toward a position a predetermined distance (for example, 1 m) away from the position where the class 3 detection target exists. In particular, when the living body CR3c is a baby (including a baby), it is easy to suppress excessive cooling and excessive drying by avoiding direct wind blowing. The direction in which the air blows out may be shifted in the horizontal direction (X direction) or in the depth direction (Y direction), for example, centering on the position of the class 3 detection target. Moreover, you may shift in an up-down direction (Z direction). In the case of the vertical direction, the air may be blown toward the ceiling surface. In the case of the infant CR3a and the ped CR3b moving around the living body CR detected by the human body detection unit 80d, the tracking result of the tracking unit 80d2 is used to detect the direction and arrival of the wind toward a position where the infant CR3a and the ped CR3b do not exist. Rather than adjusting the position, it is easier to prevent overcooling and overdrying by not blowing air directly.”)
Claim 17:
Usuda does not explicitly describe a particular angle as described below. However, Yavari teaches the particular angle as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of claim 16, wherein the indoor unit main body further comprises a sensor mounting portion on which the radar sensor is mounted to be tilted at a preset angle and directed toward the floor surface. (Usuda: see the radar on the indoor unit 10 titled towards the people and the floor as illustrated in figures 2, 9, 11) (Yavari: see the radar sensor 10 mounted at an angle as illustrated in figure 21 and as described in paragraph 0153; see the radar titled at an angle to the person as illustrated in figures 19A, 19B, 19C)
Usuda and Yavari are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP 2023040740 (Usuda) (cited by Applicant) (citations to English translation) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0123058 (Yavari) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0079569 (Axelsen).
Claim 10:
Usuda and Yavari do not explicitly describe transmit information as described below. However, Axelsen teaches the transmit information as described below.
The cited prior art describes the air conditioner of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, when an absence of the at least one person is detected via the radar sensor, transmit, to a server, another information related to the absence of the at least one person. (Axelsen: “Referring to FIG. 3A, as the process begins 302, the occupancy sensor devices 103, 105 generate 304 the sensor signals 203 indicating whether the conference rooms are occupied or not occupied, and converts 306 the sensor signal 203 to digital data 205 indicating whether the conference rooms are occupied or not occupied. The occupancy sensor devices 103, 105 then transmit 308 the digital data 205 to the server 114 in real time after a change in the occupancy status is detected. The server 114 receives 310 the digital data 205 from the occupancy sensor devices 103, 105, and updates 312 the room occupancy management application 116 with the received digital data 205 to reflect the most recent occupancy status of the conference rooms that are being monitored. Then the process ends 314.” Paragraph 0035)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Usuda, namely, an air conditioner control system using occupancy detection, with the known techniques of Yavari, namely, an occupancy detection system, and the known techniques of Axelsen, namely, an occupancy monitoring system, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Usuda to control an air conditioner based on occupancy detection with the teachings of Yavari to use various configuration for occupancy detection and the teachings of Axelsen to monitor room occupancy and transmit information based on the occupancy would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved air conditioner control system. In other words, the combination of references provides for an air conditioner control system using occupancy detection using various configurations based on the teachings of air conditioner control using occupancy detection in Yavaria and the teachings of occupancy detection using various configurations in Yavari and the teachings of communicating information based on the occupancy in Axelsen.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP 2023040740 (Usuda) (cited by Applicant) (citations to English translation) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0123058 (Yavari) and further in view of
U.S. Patent No. 9,613,524 (Lamb).
Claim 11:
Usuda and Yavari do not explicitly describe an away security mode as described below. However, Lamb teaches the away security mode as described below.
The cited prior art describes the air conditioner of claim 3,
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
in response to an input from the at least one person, set an away security mode; and (Lamb: “Optional user interface 210 comprises hardware and/or circuitry for allowing a user to interact with central security monitoring device 108. For example, a user may arm or disarm security system 101, typically by pushing one or more keys of a keypad that comprises user input 210. Security systems typically operate in at least three modes, an “armed-away” mode, an “armed-home”, and an unarmed mode. The armed-away mode typically causes central security monitoring device 108 to perform one or more actions when an alarm signal is received from any one sensor, including door/window sensors or motion sensors.” Col. 5, line 59 through col. 6, line 2)
when a movement is detected via the radar sensor while operating in the away security mode, output, through a user terminal, a notification indicating that the movement has been detected, the user terminal being connected to a server. (Lamb: “The armed-away mode typically causes central security monitoring device 108 to perform one or more actions when an alarm signal is received from any one sensor, including door/window sensors or motion sensors.” Col. 5, line 66 through col. 6, line 2; “Central security monitoring device 108 receives these signals and may take one or more predefined actions in response thereto, such as contacting remote monitoring station 112 via wide-area network 114, causing a siren (not shown) located within and/or outside building 103 to sound, and/or illuminating one or more lights located in or around building 103.” Col. 3, lines 53-59) (Usuda: see the radar 2 as illustrated in figures 1, 2, 9 and the people being detected as illustrated in figure 9; “The radar is provided in the casing, and detects at least one of the presence/absence of a detection object existing in an indoor region in which the casing is installed, the number of the detection objects, and shape information of the detection object.” abstract)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Usuda, namely, an air conditioner control system using occupancy detection, with the known techniques of Yavari, namely, an occupancy detection system, and the known techniques of Lamb, namely, a security system, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Usuda to control an air conditioner based on occupancy detection with the teachings of Yavari to use various configuration for occupancy detection and the teachings of Lamb to monitor occupancy for a security system would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved air conditioner control system. In other words, the combination of references provides for an air conditioner control system using occupancy detection using various configurations based on the teachings of air conditioner control using occupancy detection in Yavaria and the teachings of occupancy detection using various configurations in Yavari and the teachings of monitoring occupancy for security in Lamb.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP 2023040740 (Usuda) (cited by Applicant) (citations to English translation) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0123058 (Yavari) and further in view of
U.S. Patent No. 5,815,078 (Mun).
Claim 13:
Usuda and Yavari do not explicitly describe controlling a blade angle as described below. However, Mun teaches the controlling a blade angle as described below.
The cited prior art describes the air conditioner of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, when a plurality of people are detected via the radar sensor, adjust the angle of the blade such that the wind is alternately directed toward the plurality of people. (Mun: “If human bodies are present in the right, center and left zones of the room, the microcomputer 10 swings (S22) the horizontal louver over the entire horizontal range of the air-conditioner. When the human bodies are in the right and center zones but not in the left zone, it swings (S24) the horizontal louver from the center to the right. When a human body is in the left zone while another human body is located in the right zone not in the middle, the microcomputer 10 swings (S26) the horizontal louver across the entire range of the air-conditioner.” Col. 7, lines 19-28)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Usuda, namely, an air conditioner control system using occupancy detection, with the known techniques of Yavari, namely, an occupancy detection system, and the known techniques of Mun, namely, an air conditioner control system using occupancy detection, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Usuda to control an air conditioner based on occupancy detection with the teachings of Yavari to use various configuration for occupancy detection and the teachings of Mun to control the air conditioner based on the occupancy would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved air conditioner control system. In other words, the combination of references provides for an air conditioner control system using occupancy detection using various configurations based on the teachings of air conditioner control using occupancy detection in Yavaria and the teachings of occupancy detection using various configurations in Yavari and the teachings of controlling the air conditioner based on the occupancy in Mun.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP 2023040740 (Usuda) (cited by Applicant) (citations to English translation) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0123058 (Yavari) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0055543 (Ganesh).
Claim 15:
Usuda and Yavari do not explicitly describe detecting inactivity as described below. However, Ganesh teaches the detecting inactivity as described below.
The cited prior art describes the air conditioner of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, when the activity level of the at least one person is less than a threshold activity level for a certain period of time, output a notification to increase the activity level through a speaker of the air conditioner, a display of the air conditioner, or a user terminal connected via a server. (Ganesh: see the detection of inactivity 70 for more than a predefined period of time and the notification to the resident as illustrated in figure 4 and as paragraphs 0035, 0036, 0037)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Usuda, namely, an air conditioner control system using occupancy detection, with the known techniques of Yavari, namely, an occupancy detection system, and the known techniques of Ganesh, namely, an activity monitoring system, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Usuda to control an air conditioner based on occupancy detection with the teachings of Yavari to use various configuration for occupancy detection and the teachings of Ganesh to monitor occupant activity would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved air conditioner control system. In other words, the combination of references provides for an air conditioner control system using occupancy detection using various configurations based on the teachings of air conditioner control using occupancy detection in Yavaria and the teachings of occupancy detection using various configurations in Yavari and the teachings of detecting and communicating occupant inactivity in Ganesh.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0277757 describes HVAC control based on occupant counting.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0003450 describes HVAC control based on occupant thermal comfort.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0120518 describes a movable air conditioner to control air movement as a person moves.
/Christopher E. Everett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117