DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
1. This office action is in response to communication filled on 04/10/2026. Claims 2-19 are pending on this application.
2. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 2-19 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 2-4, 9-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola (US 2020/0106168) in view of Rom (US 2024/0008031) and Huang (US 2021/0351884).
4. As per claim 2, Hakola teaches an apparatus for communication, comprising: an interface (Hakola, ¶0059 “interface); and a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (Hakola, ¶0059 “processor … memory …” . Furthermore, it’s well-known in the art to communicate the active antenna panel and/or when an active antenna panel switching will be performed so that to reduce overhead or improve communication performance - see Rom US 2024/0008031 for example ¶0007- 0010),
While Hokola teaches the processing system configured to cause the apparatus to: obtain, via the interface, information indicative of at least one active group of a plurality of groups of antenna ports (Hakola, ¶0042 0044 “UE to provide a currently active antenna”), and output, via the interface, signals associated with at least one antenna port of the at least one active group (Hakola, ¶0045), Huang teaches performing at least one transmit precoding matrix indicator as indicative (Huang, ¶0003 0392) . Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Hakola Rom and Huang as a whole, it’s well-known and would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of flexibility and/or improving performance of the communication system.
5. Claims 10 & 11 are similarly analyzed as claim 2 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
6. As per claim 3, Hakola in view of Rom and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one transmit precoding matrix indicator is associated with a mapping of transmit precoding matrix indicators (Huang, ¶0003 0392) to active antenna groups (Hakola, ¶0033 0042 0044).
7. Claims 9 & 19 are similarly analyzed as claim 3 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
8. As per claim 4, Hakola in view of Rom and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one transmit precoding matrix indicator comprises at least one of: a first transmit precoding matrix indicator (Huang, ¶0405-0406) for a first active group of the at least one active group (Hakola, ¶0042 0044); or a second transmit precoding matrix indicator (Huang, ¶0405-0406) for a second active group of the at least one active group, wherein the second transmit precoding matrix indicator is different from the first transmit precoding matrix indicator (Huang, ¶0405-0406) and the second active group is different from the first active group (Hakola, ¶0042 0044).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 5-8 and 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ZEWDU A. KASSA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635