DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification lacks section headers.
Appropriate correction is required.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a),(2)(b) as being anticipated by Ooenoki et al. (US 6298152 B1), hereinafter “Ooenoki”.
Regarding claim 1, Ooenoki discloses an optical sensor for the detection of at least one height profile of an object surface in accordance with the principle of light sectioning method (abstract, Fig. 1, 2), the optical sensor comprising:
a light transmitter (ref 1) which is configured to project at least one light line onto the object surface (ref W, col. 3, lines 60-67);
a receiving unit (ref 2) comprising a light receiver (ref 2a) having an array of receiving elements and a receiving optics (ref 2b) arranged upstream of the light receiver for generating an image of the at least one projected light line on the light receiver (col. 3, line 65- col. 4, line 15); and
an evaluation unit (ref 3) connected to the light receiver and configured for determining the height profile from an image of the at least one projected light line recorded by the light receiver (col. 4, lines 5-15);
wherein the receiving unit further comprises a tunable aperture associated with the receiving optics and configured for varying the size and/or the shape of the aperture of the receiving optics (col. 4, lines 7-15),
wherein the evaluation unit is configured for controlling the tunable aperture in dependence from at least one image parameter of the image of the at least one projected light line (col. 4, lines 7-15).
Regarding claim 2, Ooenoki discloses wherein the at least one image parameter comprises the presence of an image artefact, the depth of field, the sharpness, the brightness, and/or the level of noise in the recorded image (col. 4, lines7-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooenoki as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Ooenoki is silent regarding wherein the evaluation unit is configured for controlling the tunable aperture based on an optimization algorithm which determines a respective optimum set point for the size and/or the shape of the aperture of the receiving optics for which the at least one image parameter converges to a respective predetermined optimum value.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the evaluation unit is configured for controlling the tunable aperture based on an optimization algorithm which determines a respective optimum set point for the size and/or the shape of the aperture of the receiving optics for which the at least one image parameter converges to a respective predetermined optimum value as it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). One would choose an optimization algorithm in order to best control the size of the aperture.
Regarding claim 4, Ooenoki is silent regarding wherein the optimization algorithm determines the optimum set point for the size and/or the shape of the aperture by an iteration process having a plurality of iteration steps wherein in each iteration step a different set point for the size and/or the shape of the aperture is set, a corresponding image is recorded for this set point, and the at least one image parameter of this image is determined.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to include wherein the optimization algorithm determines the optimum set point for the size and/or the shape of the aperture by an iteration process having a plurality of iteration steps wherein in each iteration step a different set point for the size and/or the shape of the aperture is set, a corresponding image is recorded for this set point, and the at least one image parameter of this image is determined. One would choose an iteration process in order to best control the size of the aperture.
Regarding claim 5, Ooenoki is silent regarding wherein the evaluation unit is configured for controlling the tunable aperture in dependence from a plurality of image parameters, and wherein the optimization algorithm determines the optimum set point for which an optimum approximation of the image parameters to their respective optimum values is achieved.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to include wherein the evaluation unit is configured for controlling the tunable aperture in dependence from a plurality of image parameters, and wherein the optimization algorithm determines the optimum set point for which an optimum approximation of the image parameters to their respective optimum values is achieved. One would choose a plurality of image parameters in order to best control the adjustment of the aperture.
Regarding claim 7, Ooenoki is silent regarding wherein the tunable aperture has a rectangular shape having a long side and a short side.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the tunable aperture has a rectangular shape having a long side and a short side, as it has been held that the configuration of a claimed device was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One would choose the claimed shape as a rectangular slit is common in optical devices to define and shape the beam.
Regarding claim 8, Ooenoki is silent regarding wherein the long side extends in a direction perpendicular to the light line.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the long side extends in a direction perpendicular to the light line, as it has been held that the configuration of a claimed device was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One would choose the claimed shape as a rectangular slit is common in optical devices to define and shape the beam.
Regarding claim 9, Ooenoki is silent regarding wherein the ratio between the long side and the short side is adjustable.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the ratio between the long side and the short side is adjustable, as it has been held that adjustability, where needed, is not a patentable advance. In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954). One would choose the claimed adjustment in order to shift the position of the centroid beam.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooenoki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pfeiffer et al. (US 6885464 B1), hereinafter “Pfeiffer”.
Regarding claim 6, Ooenoki is silent regarding wherein the tunable aperture is a tunable liquid aperture or a motorized iris aperture.
However, Pfeiffer teaches an optical measurement device (abstract) including wherein the tunable aperture is a tunable liquid aperture or a motorized iris aperture (col. 6, lines 60-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Ooenoki with the teaching of Pfeiffer by including wherein the tunable aperture is a tunable liquid aperture or a motorized iris aperture in order to have faster and more accurate tuning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamada (JP2009068986A) teaches a height measurement device and anticipates at least claim 1.
Engel (US 2014/0043610) teaches a conventional topographical sensor using a line focus beam.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877