DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kimura (US Pub: 2012/0163852) (Applicant disclosed reference).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura teaches: An information processing system comprising: a processor configured to: accept a setting of whether or not to detect a specific type of abnormality in a printed material output from a printing apparatus and a setting of a process in a case where the specific type of abnormality is detected in the printed material on an identical screen [p0004, p0026, fig. 3].
Regarding claim 5, Kimura further teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: accept a setting of a threshold value in a case of detecting an abnormality on the identical screen together [p0026, p0028].
Claim 8 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with Kimura’s further teaching on: A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute [p0077].
Claim 9 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (US Pub: 2012/0163852) (Applicant disclosed reference) and in further view of Kitajima (US Pub: 2013/0016382).
Regarding claim 2, Kimura further teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the specific type of abnormality includes a color density fluctuation and a misalignment of printing [p0004]. Kimura does not specify a misalignment. In the same field of endeavor, Kitajima teaches an abnormality including a misalignment of printing [fig. 5A, p0066-p0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to include a misalignment as an abnormality detection for improved functionality.
Regarding claim 3, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 2 has been incorporated herein. Kimura in view of Kitajima further teach: The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the setting of the process in a case where the specific type of abnormality is detected includes whether or not to correct a color density [Kimura: p0035-p0037, p0042] and whether or not to correct the misalignment of printing [Kitajima: p0067-p0074].
6. Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (US Pub: 2012/0163852) (Applicant disclosed reference) and in further view of Watanabe et al (US Pub: 2024/0022677) (Applicant disclosed reference).
Regarding claim 4, Kimura does not disclose a setting that includes executing or stopping printing. In the same field of endeavor, Watanabe et al teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein a setting of a process in a case where an abnormality is detected includes executing any one of continuing printing by the printing apparatus or stopping the printing by the printing apparatus and waiting for an instruction input from a user [fig. 16]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to set either continuing printing or stopping printing upon detection of abnormality per design choice.
Regarding claim 6, Kimura does not present a slider for setting threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Watanabe et al teaches: The information processing system according to claim 5, wherein the processor is configured to: display a slider for setting the threshold value on the identical screen [p0121-p0124]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kimura’s display to incorporate Watanabe et al’s threshold setting slider to improve user experience.
7. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (US Pub: 2012/0163852) (Applicant disclosed reference) and in further view of Kamata (US Pub: 2022/0350549) (Applicant disclosed reference).
Regarding claim 7, Kimura further teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: record, for each printing job for the printing apparatus, the setting of whether or not to detect the specific type of abnormality and the setting of the process in a case where the specific type of abnormality is detected in the printed material in association with each other [p0031]. For a redundant teaching in the same field of endeavor, Kamata also stores abnormality detection selection and its setting in [p0081, p0082, p0089]. Therefore the combined teaching of the two would have made the claimed limitation obvious to a skilled in the art for simplifying future setting.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682