DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0165448 (hereinafter, “POLEHN”) in view of US 2021/0266071 (hereinafter, “SHIINA”) and US 2025/0286617 (hereinafter, “LI”).
Regarding claim 1, POLEHN discloses:
A method of developing a network connection across a relay with multimodal signals, the relay comprising a satellite terminal system (¶ 0015: Wireless network(s) 135 may include . . . one or more satellite mobile networks) including an antenna (antenna array 115), an outdoor unit (outdoor unit 210), and an indoor unit (indoor unit 200), the method comprising:
detecting an outdoor radio signal comprising the network connection at the antenna; (¶ 0035: Antenna array 115 receives wireless RF signals)
transforming the outdoor radio signal into an outdoor electrical signal at the antenna; (¶ 0035: Antenna array 115 . . . supplies the RF signals as electrical signals to RF transceiver 520)
transmitting the outdoor electrical signal from the antenna to the outdoor unit; (Fig. 7; ¶ 0035: RF transceiver 520 converts the received electrical signals to digital signals, and supplies the converted digital signals to outdoor optical transceiver circuitry 730)
. . .
transforming the outdoor electrical signal into an optical signal at the outdoor unit; (¶ 0035: Outdoor optical transceiver circuitry 730 includes circuitry that receives input digital signals from RF transceiver 520, and transmits the digital signals, as corresponding optical signals (e.g., optical pulses))
transmitting the optical signal from the outdoor unit to the indoor unit across a transparent barrier; (¶ 0034: Photodiode 710-2 of indoor optical transceiver circuitry 700 receives optical signals transmitted by LED 720-2 of outdoor unit 210, through window 110 via optical window 420-2)
transforming the optical signal into an indoor electrical signal at the indoor unit; (¶ 0034: [C]onverts the optical signals to corresponding electrical signals, and supplies the electrical signals to indoor optical transceiver circuitry 700)
. . .
Although POLEHN discloses that the “RF antenna assembly, thus, may enable an increase in cell site density so as [to] improve signal strength and bandwidth within the wireless network,” ¶ 0013, POLEHN does not explicitly disclose:
measuring a first value of a set of signal parameters associated with the network connection at the antenna;
measuring a second value for the set of signal parameters at the outdoor unit;
predicting an outdoor status of the network connection by comparing the first value with the second value;
measuring a third value for the set of signal parameters at the indoor unit;
predicting an indoor status of the network connection by comparing the third value with the second value;
identifying a recommended action to develop the network connection across the relay based on a combination of the indoor status and the outdoor status; and
providing the recommended action to a user as multimedia feedback.
In the same field of endeavor, however, SHIINA teaches:
measuring a first value of a set of signal parameters associated with the network connection at the antenna; (Fig. 8, S05; ¶ 0059: [S]ignal quality of the signal output from the RF wireless-side transceiver 210 is measured by the RF wireless-side signal quality measuring unit 231)
measuring a second value for the set of signal parameters at the outdoor unit; (Fig. 8, S05; ¶ 0059: [S]ignal quality of the signal output from the optical wireless-side receiver 220 is measured by the optical wireless-side signal quality measuring unit 232)
predicting an outdoor status of the network connection by comparing the first value with the second value; (¶ 0023: [A]n optical/RF wireless hybrid communication system . . . determines a link state from signal quality received in both channels of a RF wireless link and an optical wireless link; ¶ 0070: [O]ptical/RF wireless hybrid communication system 301 . . . determines the link state from the signal quality of the signals received through both channels; ¶ 0102: [L]ink information generating unit 240 generates link information based on the measured signal quality (step S06))
measuring a third value for the set of signal parameters at the indoor unit; (Fig. 8, S05; ¶ 0059: [S]ignal quality of the signal output from the optical wireless-side receiver 220 is measured by the optical wireless-side signal quality measuring unit 232)
predicting an indoor status of the network connection by comparing the third value with the second value; (¶ 0023: [A]n optical/RF wireless hybrid communication system . . . determines a link state from signal quality received in both channels of a RF wireless link and an optical wireless link; ¶ 0070: [O]ptical/RF wireless hybrid communication system 301 . . . determines the link state from the signal quality of the signals received through both channels; ¶ 0102: [L]ink information generating unit 240 generates link information based on the measured signal quality (step S06))
identifying a recommended action to develop the network connection across the relay based on a combination of the indoor status and the outdoor status; and (¶ 0049: Based on the signal quality measured by the signal quality measuring unit 230, the proportion determining unit 125 determines proportions of the data to be transmitted on the channel of the RF wireless link 300 and the channel of the optical wireless link 400; ¶ 0067: [P]roportion determining unit 125 generates link distribution ratio information designating a distribution ratio between the links. This link distribution ratio information is generated in accordance with an optimal distribution ratio according to the signal quality of the links; ¶ 0102: [L]ink information generating unit 240 generates link information based on the measured signal quality (step S06))
providing the recommended action to a [master station] . . . . (¶ 0072: [O]ptical/RF wireless hybrid communication system 302 has a proportion determining unit 225 and a management information DB unit 226 in a terminal 200 and . . . performs a proportion determination on the terminal side and feeds back link distribution ratio information to the master station side with being multiplexed into an RF wireless signal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify POLEHN’s window-mounted RF antenna system to provide multi-modal signal parameter measurements as taught by SHIINA to determine network connection status across a relay such that a link can be switched according to circumstances of the transmission state due to an external disturbance and the like. See SHIIMA, at Abstract.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, however, LI teaches:
providing the recommended action to a user as multimedia feedback. (¶ 0092: [T]he first prompt information may include a first text prompt and a first graphic prompt. The first text prompt may include text information that prompts the user to maintain or adjust the current posture of holding the first electronic device, and/or text information that prompts a current status of the connection between the first electronic device and the satellite)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify POLEHN’s window-mounted RF antenna system to provide user prompts as taught by LI to adjust a posture of holding an electronic device so as to improve a rate of enabling a current communication mode. See LI, at ¶ 0009.
Regarding claim 12, POLEHN discloses:
A system (antenna assembly system 105) configured to develop a network connection by relaying multimodal signals, the system comprising:
an antenna (antenna array 115), configured to receive outdoor radio signals and convert them into outdoor electrical signals; (¶ 0035: Antenna array 115 receives wireless RF signals, and supplies the RF signals as electrical signals to RF transceiver 520)
an outdoor unit (outdoor unit 210), configured to receive the outdoor electrical signals from the antenna and convert them into optical signals; (¶ 0035: Outdoor optical transceiver circuitry 730 includes circuitry that receives input digital signals from RF transceiver 520, and transmits the digital signals, as corresponding optical signals (e.g., optical pulses))
an indoor unit (indoor unit 200), configured to receive the optical signals from the outdoor unit and convert them into indoor electrical signals; and (¶ 0034: [C]onverts the optical signals to corresponding electrical signals, and supplies the electrical signals to indoor optical transceiver circuitry 700)
. . .
wherein the outdoor unit and the indoor unit are separated by a barrier. (Window Pane 110)
POLEHN does not explicitly disclose:
a management unit, configured to:
monitor the outdoor radio signals, the outdoor electrical signals, and the indoor electrical signals,
measure changes in signal parameters,
predict statuses for the antenna, the outdoor unit, and the indoor unit based on the changes in the signal parameters, and
provide recommended actions to a user based on the statuses predicted,
In the same field of endeavor, however, SHIINA teaches:
a management unit (access control unit 120), configured to:
monitor the outdoor radio signals, the outdoor electrical signals, and the indoor electrical signals, (Fig. 8, S05; ¶ 0059: [S]ignal quality of the signal output from the RF wireless-side transceiver 210 is measured by the RF wireless-side signal quality measuring unit 231 . . . [S]ignal quality of the signal output from the optical wireless-side receiver 220 is measured by the optical wireless-side signal quality measuring unit 232)
measure changes in signal parameters, (¶ 0021: [A]lthough each wireless link state is determined based on the transmission/reception power, for example, the multi-path fading described above markedly changes a reception intensity due to interferences between signals according to propagation through different paths, and, consequently, the throughput may be lowered, and degradation of the signal quality due to a waveform distortion (jitter) according to an arrival time difference (transmission delay change) between a radio wave and a light wave may be assumed)
predict statuses for the antenna, the outdoor unit, and the indoor unit based on the changes in the signal parameters, and (¶ 0023: [A]n optical/RF wireless hybrid communication system . . . determines a link state from signal quality received in both channels of a RF wireless link and an optical wireless link; ¶ 0070: [O]ptical/RF wireless hybrid communication system 301 . . . determines the link state from the signal quality of the signals received through both channels; ¶ 0102: [L]ink information generating unit 240 generates link information based on the measured signal quality (step S06))
provide recommended actions to a [master station] based on the statuses predicted, (¶ 0072: [O]ptical/RF wireless hybrid communication system 302 has a proportion determining unit 225 and a management information DB unit 226 in a terminal 200 and . . . performs a proportion determination on the terminal side and feeds back link distribution ratio information to the master station side with being multiplexed into an RF wireless signal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify POLEHN’s window-mounted RF antenna system to provide multi-modal signal parameter measurements as taught by SHIINA to determine network connection status across a relay such that a link can be switched according to circumstances of the transmission state due to an external disturbance and the like. See SHIIMA, at Abstract.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, however, LI teaches:
provide recommended actions to a user (¶ 0092: [T]he first prompt information may include a first text prompt and a first graphic prompt. The first text prompt may include text information that prompts the user to maintain or adjust the current posture of holding the first electronic device, and/or text information that prompts a current status of the connection between the first electronic device and the satellite)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify POLEHN’s window-mounted RF antenna system to provide user prompts as taught by LI to adjust a posture of holding an electronic device so as to improve a rate of enabling a current communication mode. See LI, at ¶ 0009.
Regarding claim 16, POLEHN discloses:
A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon, wherein the instructions when executed by at least one data processor of a system (antenna assembly system 105), cause the system to:
convert a first electrical signal to an optical signal at an outdoor unit (outdoor unit 210); (¶ 0035: Outdoor optical transceiver circuitry 730 includes circuitry that receives input digital signals from RF transceiver 520, and transmits the digital signals, as corresponding optical signals (e.g., optical pulses))
convert the optical signal to a second electrical signal at an indoor unit (indoor unit 200); (¶ 0034: [C]onverts the optical signals to corresponding electrical signals, and supplies the electrical signals to indoor optical transceiver circuitry 700)
. . .
POLEHN does not explicitly disclose:
predict a status of the optical signal based on a comparison of the first electrical signal with the second electrical signal;
identify a recommended action to develop a connection based on the status of the optical signal; and
provide the recommended action to a user.
In the same field of endeavor, however, SHIINA teaches:
predict a status of the optical signal based on a comparison of the first electrical signal with the second electrical signal; (¶ 0023: [A]n optical/RF wireless hybrid communication system . . . determines a link state from signal quality received in both channels of a RF wireless link and an optical wireless link; ¶ 0070: [O]ptical/RF wireless hybrid communication system 301 . . . determines the link state from the signal quality of the signals received through both channels; ¶ 0102: [L]ink information generating unit 240 generates link information based on the measured signal quality (step S06))
identify a recommended action to develop a connection based on the status of the optical signal; and (¶ 0072: [O]ptical/RF wireless hybrid communication system 302 has a proportion determining unit 225 and a management information DB unit 226 in a terminal 200 and . . . performs a proportion determination on the terminal side and feeds back link distribution ratio information to the master station side with being multiplexed into an RF wireless signal)
provide the recommended action to a [master station] (¶ 0072: [O]ptical/RF wireless hybrid communication system 302 . . . feeds back link distribution ratio information to the master station side with being multiplexed into an RF wireless signal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify POLEHN’s window-mounted RF antenna system to provide multi-modal signal parameter measurements as taught by SHIINA to determine network connection status across a relay such that a link can be switched according to circumstances of the transmission state due to an external disturbance and the like. See SHIIMA, at Abstract.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, however, LI teaches:
provide the recommended action to a user. (¶ 0092: [T]he first prompt information may include a first text prompt and a first graphic prompt. The first text prompt may include text information that prompts the user to maintain or adjust the current posture of holding the first electronic device, and/or text information that prompts a current status of the connection between the first electronic device and the satellite)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify POLEHN’s window-mounted RF antenna system to provide user prompts as taught by LI to adjust a posture of holding an electronic device so as to improve a rate of enabling a current communication mode. See LI, at ¶ 0009.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of POLEHN and SHIINA, as applied above, renders obvious the non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 16. POLEHN further discloses:
wherein the system comprises a power system, and (Power Supply & Optical Unit 300)
wherein the instructions further cause the power system to:
convert a first electrical power signal to a radio power signal at an indoor wireless power unit; (¶ 0032: Power supply 400 of indoor unit 200 receives input AC voltage from an external source and supplies the AC voltage to the power transmit circuitry 600. Power transmit circuitry 600 supplies the AC voltage to the power transmit coil 610 which, in turn, induces, wirelessly through window 110, a corresponding AC voltage upon power receive coil 620 of outdoor unit 210)
convert the radio power signal to a second electrical power signal at an outdoor wireless power unit; (¶ 0012: [T]he indoor unit may include wireless power transfer circuitry that wirelessly transfers power from the indoor unit to the outdoor unit to power the components of the outdoor unit; ¶ 0023: Wireless power receiver 320 of outdoor unit 210 receives the power wirelessly transferred through window 110 from wireless power transmitter 310 of indoor unit 200; ¶ 0032: Power receive coil 620 supplies the induced AC voltage to power receive circuitry 630)
POLEHN does not explicitly disclose:
predict a power status of the radio power signal by comparing an indoor power level of the indoor wireless power unit with an outdoor power level of the outdoor wireless power unit; and
provide a recommended power action to the user based on the power status predicted.
In the same field of endeavor, however, SHIINA teaches:
predict a power status of the radio power signal by comparing an indoor power level of the indoor wireless power unit with an outdoor power level of the outdoor wireless power unit; and (¶ 0021: [E]ach wireless link state is determined based on the transmission/reception power)
provide a recommended power action to the [master station] based on the power status predicted. (¶ 0072: [O]ptical/RF wireless hybrid communication system 302 . . . feeds back link distribution ratio information to the master station side with being multiplexed into an RF wireless signal)
Claims 2, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over POLEHN, SHIINA, and LI, in view of US 2017/0063657 (hereinafter, “WANG”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of POLEHN, SHIINA, and LI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. POLEHN further discloses:
wherein the relay further includes a router (WLAN Router 140) and a user equipment, (Device 150)
wherein transforming the optical signal into the indoor electrical signal at the indoor unit further comprises:
transmitting the indoor electrical signal from the indoor unit to the router; (¶ 0022: [I]ndoor unit 200 . . . sends the digital signals via wired or wireless link to router 140)
. . .
transforming the indoor electrical signal into an indoor radio signal at the router; (¶ 0016: WLAN router 140 . . . may establish a wireless LAN 145 with devices 150-1 through 150-n. The WLAN may include, for example, a wireless network that uses the IEEE 802.11 standard (e.g., Wi-Fi))
transmitting the indoor radio signal from the router to the user equipment; (¶ 0016: WLAN router 140 . . . may establish a wireless LAN 145 with devices 150-1 through 150-n. The WLAN may include, for example, a wireless network that uses the IEEE 802.11 standard (e.g., Wi-Fi))
. . .
POLEHN does not explicitly disclose:
measuring a fourth value for the set of signal parameters at the router;
predicting a router status of the network connection by comparing the fourth value with the third value;
measuring a fifth value for the set of signal parameters at the user equipment; and
predicting an equipment status of the network connection by comparing the fifth value with the fourth value,
wherein identifying the recommended action to develop the network connection is further based on the outdoor status, the indoor status, the router status, and the equipment status, and
wherein providing the recommended action to the user comprises generating the multimedia feedback on the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, however, WANG teaches:
measuring a fourth value for the set of signal parameters at the router; (¶ 0042: [I]n FIG. 4, the terminal 11 can display a WiFi signal strength indicator 41 and a connection status 42 next to the WiFi signal strength indicator 41. The WiFi signal strength indicator 41 indicates the signal strength of the WiFi AP 12 that the terminal 11 currently connected to, and the connection status 42 indicates the connection status of the WiFi AP 12 to a public network. As such, the user can directly learn about related information of the currently connected WiFi network)
predicting a router status of the network connection by comparing the fourth value with the third value; (¶ 0042: [I]n FIG. 4, the terminal 11 can display a WiFi signal strength indicator 41 and a connection status 42 next to the WiFi signal strength indicator 41. The WiFi signal strength indicator 41 indicates the signal strength of the WiFi AP 12 that the terminal 11 currently connected to, and the connection status 42 indicates the connection status of the WiFi AP 12 to a public network. As such, the user can directly learn about related information of the currently connected WiFi network)
measuring a fifth value for the set of signal parameters at the user equipment; and (¶ 0042: [I]n FIG. 4, the terminal 11 can display a WiFi signal strength indicator 41 and a connection status 42 next to the WiFi signal strength indicator 41. The WiFi signal strength indicator 41 indicates the signal strength of the WiFi AP 12 that the terminal 11 currently connected to, and the connection status 42 indicates the connection status of the WiFi AP 12 to a public network. As such, the user can directly learn about related information of the currently connected WiFi network)
predicting an equipment status of the network connection by comparing the fifth value with the fourth value, (¶ 0042: [I]n FIG. 4, the terminal 11 can display a WiFi signal strength indicator 41 and a connection status 42 next to the WiFi signal strength indicator 41. The WiFi signal strength indicator 41 indicates the signal strength of the WiFi AP 12 that the terminal 11 currently connected to, and the connection status 42 indicates the connection status of the WiFi AP 12 to a public network. As such, the user can directly learn about related information of the currently connected WiFi network)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify POLEHN’s window-mounted RF antenna system to provide a WiFi signal strength indicator and a connection status next to the WiFi signal strength indicator as taught by WANG to provide a connection status prompting procedure so as to periodically access a specified domain name through a WiFi network and request for acquiring a network resource to a network server corresponding to the specified domain name. See WANG, at Abstract.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, SHIINA teaches:
wherein identifying the recommended action to develop the network connection is further based on the outdoor status, the indoor status, the router status, and the equipment status, and (¶ 0049: Based on the signal quality measured by the signal quality measuring unit 230, the proportion determining unit 125 determines proportions of the data to be transmitted on the channel of the RF wireless link 300 and the channel of the optical wireless link 400; ¶ 0067: [P]roportion determining unit 125 generates link distribution ratio information designating a distribution ratio between the links. This link distribution ratio information is generated in accordance with an optimal distribution ratio according to the signal quality of the links; ¶ 0102: [L]ink information generating unit 240 generates link information based on the measured signal quality (step S06))
Also, in the same field of endeavor, LI teaches:
wherein providing the recommended action to the user comprises generating the multimedia feedback on the user equipment. (¶ 0092: [T]he first prompt information may include a first text prompt and a first graphic prompt. The first text prompt may include text information that prompts the user to maintain or adjust the current posture of holding the first electronic device, and/or text information that prompts a current status of the connection between the first electronic device and the satellite)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of POLEHN, SHIINA, and LI, as applied above, renders obvious the system of claim 12. POLEHN further discloses:
further comprising:
a Wi-Fi router (WLAN Router 140), configured to receive the indoor electrical signals from the indoor unit and convert them into indoor radio signals; and (¶ 0022: [I]ndoor unit 200 . . . sends the digital signals via wired or wireless link to router 140; ¶ 0016: WLAN router 140 . . . may establish a wireless LAN 145 with devices 150-1 through 150-n. The WLAN may include, for example, a wireless network that uses the IEEE 802.11 standard (e.g., Wi-Fi))
a user equipment (device 150), configured to receive the indoor radio signals from the Wi-Fi router and convert them into data, (¶ 0016: WLAN router 140 . . . may establish a wireless LAN 145 with devices 150-1 through 150-n. The WLAN may include, for example, a wireless network that uses the IEEE 802.11 standard (e.g., Wi-Fi))
POLEHN does not explicitly disclose:
including the recommended actions to develop the network connection comprising multimedia feedback,
wherein the management unit is further configured to:
monitor the indoor radio signals,
measure the changes in the signal parameters associated with the indoor radio signals, and
predict the statuses for the Wi-Fi router and the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, however, LI teaches:
including the recommended actions to develop the network connection comprising multimedia feedback, (¶ 0092: [T]he first prompt information may include a first text prompt and a first graphic prompt. The first text prompt may include text information that prompts the user to maintain or adjust the current posture of holding the first electronic device, and/or text information that prompts a current status of the connection between the first electronic device and the satellite)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, WANG teaches:
wherein the management unit is further configured to:
monitor the indoor radio signals, (¶ 0042: [I]n FIG. 4, the terminal 11 can display a WiFi signal strength indicator 41 and a connection status 42 next to the WiFi signal strength indicator 41. The WiFi signal strength indicator 41 indicates the signal strength of the WiFi AP 12 that the terminal 11 currently connected to, and the connection status 42 indicates the connection status of the WiFi AP 12 to a public network. As such, the user can directly learn about related information of the currently connected WiFi network)
measure the changes in the signal parameters associated with the indoor radio signals, and (¶ 0042: [I]n FIG. 4, the terminal 11 can display a WiFi signal strength indicator 41 and a connection status 42 next to the WiFi signal strength indicator 41. The WiFi signal strength indicator 41 indicates the signal strength of the WiFi AP 12 that the terminal 11 currently connected to, and the connection status 42 indicates the connection status of the WiFi AP 12 to a public network. As such, the user can directly learn about related information of the currently connected WiFi network)
predict the statuses for the Wi-Fi router and the user equipment. (¶ 0042: [I]n FIG. 4, the terminal 11 can display a WiFi signal strength indicator 41 and a connection status 42 next to the WiFi signal strength indicator 41. The WiFi signal strength indicator 41 indicates the signal strength of the WiFi AP 12 that the terminal 11 currently connected to, and the connection status 42 indicates the connection status of the WiFi AP 12 to a public network. As such, the user can directly learn about related information of the currently connected WiFi network)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify POLEHN’s window-mounted RF antenna system to provide a WiFi signal strength indicator and a connection status next to the WiFi signal strength indicator as taught by WANG to provide a connection status prompting procedure so as to periodically access a specified domain name through a WiFi network and request for acquiring a network resource to a network server corresponding to the specified domain name. See WANG, at Abstract.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of POLEHN, SHIINA, and LI, as applied above, renders obvious the non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 16. POLEHN further discloses:
wherein converting the first electrical signal to the optical signal further causes the system to:
convert the second electrical signal to a radio signal at a router; (¶ 0016: WLAN router 140 . . . may establish a wireless LAN 145 with devices 150-1 through 150-n. The WLAN may include, for example, a wireless network that uses the IEEE 802.11 standard (e.g., Wi-Fi))
convert the radio signal to a data stream at a user equipment; and (¶ 0016: WLAN router 140 . . . may establish a wireless LAN 145 with devices 150-1 through 150-n. The WLAN may include, for example, a wireless network that uses the IEEE 802.11 standard (e.g., Wi-Fi))
. . .
POLEHN does not explicitly disclose:
predict a second status of the radio signal by comparing the second electrical signal with the data stream,
wherein identifying the recommended action to develop the connection is further based on the second status, and
wherein providing the recommended action to the user further comprises generating a feedback on the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, however, WANG teaches:
predict a second status of the radio signal by comparing the second electrical signal with the data stream, (¶ 0042: [I]n FIG. 4, the terminal 11 can display a WiFi signal strength indicator 41 and a connection status 42 next to the WiFi signal strength indicator 41. The WiFi signal strength indicator 41 indicates the signal strength of the WiFi AP 12 that the terminal 11 currently connected to, and the connection status 42 indicates the connection status of the WiFi AP 12 to a public network. As such, the user can directly learn about related information of the currently connected WiFi network)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, SHIINA teaches:
wherein identifying the recommended action to develop the connection is further based on the second status, and (¶ 0049: Based on the signal quality measured by the signal quality measuring unit 230, the proportion determining unit 125 determines proportions of the data to be transmitted on the channel of the RF wireless link 300 and the channel of the optical wireless link 400; ¶ 0067: [P]roportion determining unit 125 generates link distribution ratio information designating a distribution ratio between the links. This link distribution ratio information is generated in accordance with an optimal distribution ratio according to the signal quality of the links; ¶ 0102: [L]ink information generating unit 240 generates link information based on the measured signal quality (step S06))
wherein providing the recommended action to the [master station] further comprises generating a feedback on the user equipment. (¶ 0072: [O]ptical/RF wireless hybrid communication system 302 performs a proportion determination on the terminal side and feeds back link distribution ratio information to the master station side with being multiplexed into an RF wireless signal)
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over POLEHN, SHIINA, and LI, in view of US 2020/0213193 (hereinafter, “NEWELL”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of POLEHN, SHIINA, and LI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. Although POLEHN discloses “devices 150 may each include a cellular telephone (e.g., a “smart” phone), a computer (e.g., desktop, laptop, palmtop, tablet, or wearable), a set-top box (STB), a media player, a gaming device, or an Internet of Things (IoT),” ¶ 0017, POLEHN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein developing the network connection comprises establishing relay connectivity to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IOT) devices, and
wherein establishing the relay connectivity to NB-IOT devices comprises:
connecting to the NB-IOT devices, including smart utility meters and smart appliances;
determining a status of the NB-IOT devices; and
monitoring and managing the NB-IOT devices.
In the same field of endeavor, however, NEWELL teaches:
wherein developing the network connection comprises establishing relay connectivity to Narrow Band-Internet of Things (NB-IOT) devices, and (¶ 0032: NB-IoT network 115 may connect to a core network 130, on which various IoT applications server 135 and the IoT device activation and management server 140 reside. Core network 130 may be an IP-based Internet backbone configured to interconnect several different NB-IoT networks 115, LANs or subnetworks, and/or other access networks 125)
wherein establishing the relay connectivity to NB-IOT devices comprises:
connecting to the NB-IOT devices, including smart utility meters and smart appliances; (¶ 0041: IoT devices 220 more commonly used in NB-IoT implementations, such as security systems, alarm systems, utility meters, weather sensors, facility management services, vehicle-based systems, personal appliances/health monitoring devices, industrial appliances and systems, personal electronic appliances, person or animal tracking devices, lighting systems or speaking systems in public or commercial environments, or governmental infrastructure devices (e.g., street lamps, traffic lights, trash bins, etc.), may be configured to individually collect their respective sensor data, and to individually communicate with backend servers 135-140 via the NB-IoT 115 and core network 130)
determining a status of the NB-IOT devices; and (¶ 0038: IoT controller devices may perform the processes of discovering accessible IoT thing devices, determining the purpose, status)
monitoring and managing the NB-IOT devices. (¶ 0038: IoT controller devices may perform the processes of discovering accessible IoT thing devices, determining the purpose, status)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify POLEHN’s window-mounted RF antenna system to provide NB-IOT devices, as taught by NEWELL, to provide IoT controller devices that discover available IoT thing devices, learn their capabilities, and instruct them to perform a desired set of functions, such that NB-IoT technologies allow for significantly reduced power consumption among IoT devices, improved system capacity, and spectrum efficiency. See NEWELL, at ¶¶ 0003, 0038.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of POLEHN, SHIINA, and LI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. POLEHN further discloses:
wherein developing the network connection comprises generating relay alerts, comprising: (¶ 0049: [S]ensor data received and analyzed by sensors 220 and/or 390 may be used to identify and track particular individuals and objects, as well as initiate communications, alerts, and/or other functionality via IoT devices 220)
receiving network broadcast alerts for an area around the relay, including weather, safety, emergency, and hazard alerts; or (¶ 0072: [A]lerts as to whether a fire (e.g., heat, smoke), CO, radon, etc., has been detected can be sent to the receiver 340, third party device 420, etc., and/or one or more emergency first responders)
receiving commercial announcements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify POLEHN’s window-mounted RF antenna system to sensor-based alerts, as taught by NEWELL, to provide notifications via third party device or display device, such that in response to an alert from the health sensor or some other emergency or noteworthy event, parallel notifications may be sent to multiple users at approximately the same time. See NEWELL, at ¶¶ 0049, 0072, 0079.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644