DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 2, figures 2, 5a, claims 12-19 in the reply filed on 3/9/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Figures 7a,b are part of elected species 2 and the claims do not recite mutually exclusive characteristics” This is not found persuasive in part and the office agrees that figures 7a,b are now including of elected species 2 and further these claims are falling into different species that recites the mutually exclusive characteristics and further because of different species that would require different feature, thus requiring different search queries. This would place a serious search burden if restriction were not required.
Claims 1-11,20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/9/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vilund et al CA 2 957 442 (Canada).
Claim 12: Vilund et al disclose a prosthetic heart valve (see paragraph 20, figures 1, 16) for transcatheter delivery, comprising: a collapsible and expandable inner stent 112, see paragraph 419 comprising an atrial end and a ventricular end; a plurality of valve leaflets (see paragraph 57) supported within the inner stent; a collapsible and expandable outer frame (see claim 11 ‘442) having a lower radial strength than the inner stent for conforming to a shape of a native heart valve, wherein the outer frame surrounds at least a portion of the atrial end of the inner stent and extends towards the ventricular end of the inner stent, the outer frame comprising an atrial end having a larger dimension than that of the ventricular end of the inner stent (see fig. 67, paragraph 469); a sealing material (sealing cuff, see paragraph 271) attached to the outer frame; and a plurality of anchors (fig. 11, more securing tissue anchors, see paragraph 207) extending radially outwardly of the outer frame.
Claims 13-14: Vilund et al disclose wherein at least a portion of the
outer frame is oval shaped (see fig. 49, paragraph 236); wherein at least a portion of the outer frame is shaped to resemble a native heart annulus anatomy (see claim 32’ of Vilund).
Claims 15-17: Vilund et al disclose wherein the inner stent 112 is
cylindrical in shape as best seen in fig. 1; wherein the atrial end of the outer frame extends radially outward to seat against a floor of an atrium as best seen in fig. 16; wherein the outer frame comprises a wire mesh (see fig. 24 that teaches prosthetic heart valve with the wire mesh material).
Claims 18-19: Vilund et al disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of anchors extends towards the atrial end of the inner stent and is configured to capture a native valve leaflet between the anchor and the outer frame (see fig. 11, paragraph 207); wherein at least one of the plurality of anchors forms a loop (see paragraph 85).
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771