DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to: Application filed on September 18th, 2024
Claims 1- 5are pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kirsch et al., US PG PUB# 2010/0057465 A1 in view of Tzirkel-Hancock et al., US PG PUB# 2013/0185066 A1.
As for independent claim 1:
Kirsch discloses a voice control apparatus comprising a controller configured to:
detect a speed of a vehicle (0009, 0022, Kirsch discloses vehicle speed sensor that sends the current speed of the vehicle to the TTS control engine);
Kirsch does not disclose set a frequency of voice output for an occupant of the vehicle higher as the detected speed increases. Tzirkel-Hancock discloses set a frequency of voice output for an occupant of the vehicle higher as the detected speed increases in 0027, 0072, 0076-0077. In the cited sections Tzirkel-Hancock discloses that audio prompt pitch of the voice output to the occupant is altered based on noise level parameters such as from vehicle speed sensor. The pitch "may be shifted higher if noise level parameter 304 is high than if noise level parameter 304 is medium or low". Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the apparatus of Kirsch to incorporate the adjustment of sound based on speed of a vehicle as taught by Tzirkel-Hancock, thus allow adjusting higher or lower pitch to indicate sound difference to the occupant (Tzirkel-Hancock, 0027, 0072).
As for dependent claim 2:
Kirsch - Tzirkel-Hancock discloses the voice control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: set the frequency of the voice output within a female frequency band in a case in which the speed exceeds a threshold previously determined; and set the frequency of the voice output within a male frequency band in a case in which the speed is equal to or less than the threshold (Kirsch, 0010, 0029-0030, Kirsch discloses adjusting the TTS pitch (voice output frequency) to a higher value when speed exceeds a threshold is met and adjust to a lower value when speed is at or below the threshold. Kirsch further discloses gender of the voice adjustments from the tuning module based on vehicle operating parameters. Tzirkel-Hancock discloses two-band frequency selection in 0076–0077).
As for dependent claim 3:
Kirsch - Tzirkel-Hancock discloses the voice control apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a communication interface configured to receive information for the occupant of the vehicle from outside the vehicle, wherein the voice output includes voice output that reads out the information received by the communication interface (Kirsch, 0004, discloses receiving critical emergency broadcasts, and placing telephone calls. Kirsch further discloses directing messages from external sources to vehicle occupants through speakers in 0022-0023).
As for dependent claim 4:
Kirsch - Tzirkel-Hancock discloses the voice control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to, upon detecting that it is raining outside the vehicle, increase volume of the voice output (Kirsch, 0009, 0025, 0030, discloses detecting changes in weather and adjust volume of voice output accordingly through the TTS tuning module).
As for dependent claim 5:
Kirsch - Tzirkel-Hancock discloses the voice control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to, upon detecting that a window of the vehicle is open, increase volume of the voice output (Kirsch, 0022, discloses window up/down sensor 212 may indicate increased interior noise levels and increased distraction of the driver. Kirsch further discloses that TTS voice volume is set higher by the TTS tuning module under increased interior noise conditions inferred from such sensors 0026 and 0031).
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
The Examiner notes MPEP § 2144.01, that quotes In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825,159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) as stating “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” Further MPEP 2123, states that “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Conclusion
/David Phantana-angkool/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172