DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/3/24, 10/30/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 is rejected based on the following analysis:
Step 2A, Prong One: Identify the law of nature/natural phenomenon/abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites the abstract ideas of performing a main determination (third clause), dividing and deriving values to generate an area profile (sixth clause), and condition determination processing (seventh clause), which are mental processes and/or math.
Although a processor is used, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III is clear that using a computer/controller to perform the abstract idea does not preclude the steps from being considered an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two: Has the abstract idea been integrated into a particular practical application?
No. Once the dividing/derivation occurs and once the main/condition determination is made then no action is taken and therefore there is no application.
The claim also recites an assay apparatus with a loading part and an image sensor to image the assay region and generate an image in which a plurality of pixels are arranged. However, this is just using the assay apparatus and imaging unit to gather data to be used in the abstract idea. However, data gathering to be used in the abstract idea does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because data gathering is insignificant extra-solution activity, and not a particular practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Additionally, this is recited at such a high level of generality that it amounts to just generally applying the abstract idea per MPEP 2106.05(f), and/or also is just generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use per MPEP 2106.05(h), which are not particular practical applications.
The abstract idea is performed by a computer/controller/processor, but performing the abstract idea on a general-purpose computer is not enough to integrate the exception into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(b)I.).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite any elements which are significantly more than the abstract idea?
The claim recites the additional elements of an assay apparatus with a loading part and an image sensor. These additional elements do not amount to significantly more as they are well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art as evidenced by Ding et al (WO 2021092595 where US 20220404342 is used as the corresponding document; hereinafter “Ding”) and Uchida et al (US 20110244590; hereinafter “Uchida”; already of record). Ding discusses an assay apparatus with a loading part and an image sensor; [7, 221-225, 236-239], Fig. 2. Uchida discusses an assay apparatus with a loading part and an image sensor; [64, 72-73], Fig. 1-2.
The dependent claims 2-5 undergo a similar analysis and do not appear to resolve any of the above issues, and are therefore similarly rejected. Claims 2-5 all relate to the determination processing steps which are math and/or a mental processes and are abstract ideas under step 2A prong one, where there is no application under step 2A prong two.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, it is unclear what a center value is attempting to define in line 17. What is this center value? Is the value a median, or is it a middle pixel value?
Regarding the last two clauses of claim 1, it is unclear what an area profile is describing with respect to the determinations made. The claim previously determines/derives an average value or center value as the determination step. What is an area profile? A potential infringer would not understand what an area profile meant with respect to the previously determined average value or center value. What is the relationship, and how are the average and center values used with respect to the area profile?
Claims 2-5 are rejected based on further claim dependency.
As to claim 2, it is unclear whether or not all of the first through the third condition determination processing steps are required. Lines 2-5 seem to imply that these steps are in the alternative. However, lines 6-8 then state that a determination is made when all of the conditions are satisfied thereby implying that all of the first through the third condition determination processing steps are required. Therefore, the claim is contradictory, and it is unclear how only some of the first through the third condition determination processing steps could be performed in the alternative when the claim appears to then require all of the first through the third condition determination processing steps.
As to claim 2, it is unclear in lines 10-14 what the highest maximal value is describing and how this value relates to any of the previous recited derivations or determinations. The determination seems to be based on the standard deviation, and there is not any further clarification on what or how the highest maximal value is used so it becomes unclear to a potential infringer in what manner the highest maximal value is used during this condition determination processing step.
In regards to claim 2, it is unclear what is attempting to be recited in lines 16-19. The highest value and the average are two different values and it is unclear how these are attempting to be related to each other. Is the average made after excluding the highest value?
As to claim 2, it is unclear what an added area profile is attempting to describe in the last two clauses. Is the profile just a number? It is unclear, without clarification on the profile, how a profile is added since it is not clear that a profile is a number. With respect to lines 21-24 of claim 2, it is unclear what an area profile is attempting to define. What is an area profile? Is this all of the values in the row added together?
With respect to the last clause of claim 2, it is unclear what is attempting to be recited. The claim appears to added the area profiles, but then only appears to use a value at a position for a comparison to the threshold. Thus, it is unclear how the added area profiles are used in the determination.
Regarding line 10 of claim 4, it is unclear what a width of the assay region is defined by and how it relates to the pixels. What or how is the width derived?
As to claims 4-5, it is unclear how the condition determination could not be performed as recited in the last two lines. Specifically, claim 1 requires the condition determination to be present in the last clause. However, claims 4-5 then recite, in the alternative, that the condition determination is only performed when a predetermination condition is satisfied (claim 4) or when maximum density is less than a threshold (claim 5). Therefore, it is unclear how claims 4-5, which require all the limitations of claim 1 (including the condition determination) would then not perform the condition determination. This creates conflicting ambiguity, and a potential infringer would not understand whether or not an invention that did not perform the condition determination would infringe on claims 4-5.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Baker et al (Baker Alexander et al; “Lateral flow glycol-assays for the rapid and low-cost detection of lectins-polymeric linkers and particle engineering are essential for selectivity and performance”; Advanced Healthcare Materials; vol. 11, issue 4, published 11/17/21; already of record; hereinafter “Baker”).
As to claim 1, Baker teaches an immunochromatographic assay apparatus (Baker; Fig. 2, and page 10 of 11) comprising: a loading part into which a cartridge is attachably and detachably loaded, the cartridge including a carrier having a spotting region where a sample is spotted and an assay region where a color development state changes depending on whether the sample is positive or negative; an image sensor that captures an observation region including the assay region and outputs an observation image including the observation region; and a processor that performs a main determination, which is a determination of whether the sample is positive or negative, based on an assay region image of the assay region captured by the image sensor, wherein in a case where a development direction of the sample in the carrier is set as a row direction and a direction intersecting the row direction is set as a column direction, the assay region is a line-like region extending along the column direction, the assay region image is an image in which a plurality of pixels are two-dimensionally arranged in a matrix shape, the processor divides the assay region image into a plurality of areas extending in the row direction, derives an average value or a center value in each column in the areas using at least a part of the plurality of pixels included in each of the columns, and generates an area profile in the row direction for each of the areas using the derived average value or center value, and executes, in the main determination, condition determination processing using the area profile generated for each of the areas (The examiner notes that the carrier and the assay regions are not positively recited as they are not part of the claimed apparatus, and are related to intended use of the loading part. Baker teaches a strip in figure 2 which is loaded into an imaging device; page 10 of 11 and section 4. Baker teaches evaluation of the row direction of the test line such that noise was removed/excluded and that pixels contributing to the signal peak were excluded such that it is determined whether or not the test/assay region is positive or negative; sections 2-4).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “configured to…”). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Tanaka, Y (US 20230393132; hereinafter “Tanaka”), or Tanaka et al (US 20230393131; hereinafter “Tanaka II”), or Tanaka et al (US 20230386173; hereinafter “Tanaka III”).
As to claim 1, Tanaka, Tanaka II, and Tanaka III teach an immunochromatographic assay apparatus comprising: a loading part into which a cartridge is attachably and detachably loaded, the cartridge including a carrier having a spotting region where a sample is spotted and an assay region where a color development state changes depending on whether the sample is positive or negative; an image sensor that captures an observation region including the assay region and outputs an observation image including the observation region; and a processor that performs a main determination, which is a determination of whether the sample is positive or negative, based on an assay region image of the assay region captured by the image sensor, wherein in a case where a development direction of the sample in the carrier is set as a row direction and a direction intersecting the row direction is set as a column direction, the assay region is a line-like region extending along the column direction, the assay region image is an image in which a plurality of pixels are two-dimensionally arranged in a matrix shape, the processor divides the assay region image into a plurality of areas extending in the row direction, derives an average value or a center value in each column in the areas using at least a part of the plurality of pixels included in each of the columns, and generates an area profile in the row direction for each of the areas using the derived average value or center value, and executes, in the main determination, condition determination processing using the area profile generated for each of the areas (The examiner notes that the carrier and the assay regions are not positively recited as they are not part of the claimed apparatus, and are related to intended use of the loading part. Tanaka teaches a cartridge with various rows of test bands and identifying average or center value pixels of the rows; [67, 140, 145], Fig. 1-19. Tanaka II teaches a cartridge with various rows of test bands and identifying average or center value pixels of the rows; [17, 19, 87, 173, 175-177, 209, 265], Fig. 1-30. Tanaka III teaches a cartridge with various rows of test bands and identifying average value pixels of the rows; [62, 154], Fig. 1-14).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Poulsen et al (US 20180259449; hereinafter “Poulsen”; already of record).
As to claim 1, Poulsen teaches an immunochromatographic assay apparatus (Poulsen; [4], Fig. 1, 2, 5) comprising: a loading part into which a cartridge is attachably and detachably loaded, the cartridge including a carrier having a spotting region where a sample is spotted and an assay region where a color development state changes depending on whether the sample is positive or negative (Poulsen teaches a loading part for a lateral flow assay cartridge; Fig. 1, 2, [179]); an image sensor that captures an observation region including the assay region and outputs an observation image including the observation region (Poulsen teaches a sensor; Fig. 1, 2, [179]); and a processor that performs a main determination (Poulsen teaches a processor/computer; Fig. 2, [179]), which is a determination of whether the sample is positive or negative, based on an assay region image of the assay region captured by the image sensor, wherein in a case where a development direction of the sample in the carrier is set as a row direction and a direction intersecting the row direction is set as a column direction, the assay region is a line-like region extending along the column direction, the assay region image is an image in which a plurality of pixels are two-dimensionally arranged in a matrix shape, the processor divides the assay region image into a plurality of areas extending in the row direction, derives an average value or a center value in each column in the areas using at least a part of the plurality of pixels included in each of the columns, and generates an area profile in the row direction for each of the areas using the derived average value or center value, and executes, in the main determination, condition determination processing using the area profile generated for each of the areas (Poulsen teaches making a determination of positive or negative; [162, 163, 182, 190]. Poulsen teaches a matrix array of pixels in rows and columns where pixel values are compared with the average and an area profile is formed; Fig. 5, [17, 74, 85, 93, 133, 134, 135, 187]. Poulsen teaches values in each column that cause erroneous determinations are excluded, and also that threshold percentage values are created such that values outside of the percentage are excluded; Fig. 5, [17, 74, 85, 93, 135, 187]).
As to claim 2, Poulsen teaches the immunochromatographic assay apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor executes, as the condition determination processing, at least one of first condition determination processing, second condition determination processing, or third condition determination processing for determining whether or not a value derived based on the area profile satisfies a preset condition, and determines that the sample is negative in a case where even one of the conditions is not satisfied in the executed condition determination processing, or determines that the sample is positive in a case where all the conditions are satisfied in the executed condition determination processing, the first condition determination processing is condition determination processing, in which a differential area profile obtained by differentiating the area profile for each of the areas is used, a position in the row direction indicating a highest maximal value in the differential area profile is derived for each of the areas, a standard deviation at a plurality of derived positions in the row direction is derived, and whether or not a first condition that the standard deviation is less than a preset first threshold value is satisfied is determined, the second condition determination processing is condition determination processing, in which the differential area profile for each of the areas is added, a difference between a highest maximal value in an added addition differential area profile and an average value of maximal values other than the highest maximal value is derived, and whether or not a second condition that the difference is larger than a preset second threshold value is satisfied is determined, and the third condition determination processing is condition determination processing, in which the area profile for each of the areas is added, and whether or not a third condition that a value at a position in a row direction preset in an addition area profile is larger than a third threshold value is satisfied is determined (As best understood, only one of the processing is required since they are recited in the alternative, and Poulsen teaches comparing values to thresholds or averages as the third processing; see claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poulsen et al (US 20180259449; hereinafter “Poulsen”; already of record) in view of Cote et al (US 20130321700; hereinafter “Cote”) and in view of Ozcan et al (US 20150111201; hereinafter “Ozcan”; already of record).
As to claim 3, Poulsen teaches the immunochromatographic assay apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor executes, as the condition determination processing, at least one of first condition determination processing, second condition determination processing, or third condition determination processing for determining whether or not a value derived based on the area profile satisfies a preset condition, and determines that the sample is negative in a case where even one of the conditions is not satisfied in the executed condition determination processing, or determines that the sample is positive in a case where all the conditions are satisfied in the executed condition determination processing, the third condition determination processing is condition determination processing, in which the area profile for each of the areas is added, and whether or not a third condition that a value at a position in a row direction preset in an addition area profile is larger than a third threshold value is satisfied is determined (see claims 1 and 2 above).
Poulsen teaches a first determination processing as creating a differential area profile (see Fig. 5 of Poulsen), but modified Poulsen does not specifically teach wherein the processor executes, as the condition determination processing, all of the first condition determination processing, and the third condition determination processing, and where the first condition determination processing is condition determination processing, in which a differential area profile obtained by differentiating the area profile for each of the areas is used, a position in the row direction indicating a highest maximal value in the differential area profile is derived for each of the areas, a standard deviation at a plurality of derived positions in the row direction is derived, and whether or not a first condition that the standard deviation is less than a preset first threshold value is satisfied is determined. However, Cote teaches the analogous art of image analysis (Cote teaches pixel image analysis; [300, 500, 519, 579, 661, 1132], Fig. 22, 24) and determination processing in which a differential area profile obtained by differentiating the area profile for each of the areas is used, a position in the row direction indicating a highest maximal value in the differential area profile is derived for each of the areas, a standard deviation at a plurality of derived positions in the row direction is derived, and whether or not a first condition that the standard deviation is less than a preset first threshold value is satisfied is determined (As best understood, Cote teaches that a standard deviation is compared to a threshold; [519, 721, 737, 747, 1070, 1223]. Cote teaches where there are multiple columns of images, and where the pixel data is isolated to data values that are within an offset in order to correct the values to make the determination more accurate; [300, 500, 519, 579, 661, 1132], Fig. 22, 24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included in the condition determination processing of modified Poulsen the determination processing which compares standard deviations to a threshold as in Cote because Cote teaches that using standard deviation helps to filter out noise (Cote; [519, 721, 737, 747, 1070, 1223]).
Modified Poulsen does not specifically teach wherein the processor executes, as the condition determination processing, all of the first condition determination processing, the second condition determination processing, and the third condition determination processing, and where the second condition determination processing is condition determination processing, in which the differential area profile for each of the areas is added, a difference between a highest maximal value in an added addition differential area profile and an average value of maximal values other than the highest maximal value is derived, and whether or not a second condition that the difference is larger than a preset second threshold value is satisfied is determined. However, Ozcan teaches the analogous art of an immunochromatographic assay device with a reader (Ozcan; [5]) and with a second condition determination processing, in which the differential area profile for each of the areas is added, a difference between a highest maximal value in an added addition differential area profile and an average value of maximal values other than the highest maximal value is derived, and whether or not a second condition that the difference is larger than a preset second threshold value is satisfied is determined (Ozcan teaches subtracting pixel values from the maximum average to create a difference where that difference is then compared to a % threshold; [60-63]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included in the condition determination processing of modified Poulsen the determination processing which compares percent differences to a threshold of Ozcan because Ozcan teaches that this enables the device to remove parts of the image which do not carry useful information (Ozcan; [60-62]) and also helps to remove noise or defects (Ozcan; [60-62]).
Ultimately, however the pixel data was statistically processed would be up a user so long as the manner in which the data was processed was evaluated to determine if the statistical processing produced accurate and valid results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have processed the negative and positive determinations in Poulsen to have been performed in any manner, including the manner claimed, if the statistical processing of the data provided accurate results to a user thereby assisting with accurate diagnosis.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poulsen et al (US 20180259449; hereinafter “Poulsen”; already of record).
As to claims 4 and 5, Poulsen teaches the immunochromatographic assay apparatus according to claim 1 (see above).
Poulsen does not teach wherein the processor determines, in the main determination, a representative value of each of the columns of the observation image before the condition determination processing, generates an observation region profile in the row direction based on the representative value of each of the columns, and extracts an assay region profile corresponding to the assay region from the generated observation region profile, determines that the sample is negative in a case where a maximum position, which is a position in the row direction indicating a maximum density in the assay region profile, is located in any of both end regions of the assay region profile, derives a center position of the assay region in the row direction and a width of the assay region, which are determined based on the maximum density and the maximum position, in a case where the maximum position is not located in any of both the end regions, executes pre-condition determination processing, in which whether or not a pre-determination condition that the maximum density is equal to or more than a preset fourth threshold value and each of the center position and the width is within a preset range is satisfied is determined, and determines that the sample is negative in a case where the pre-determination condition is not satisfied, or executes the condition determination processing in a case where the pre-determination condition is satisfied, or wherein the processor determines, in the main determination, whether or not the maximum density is equal to or more than a preset fifth threshold value larger than the fourth threshold value before the condition determination processing is executed in a case where it is determined that the pre-determination condition is satisfied in the pre-condition determination processing, and determines that the sample is positive in a case where the maximum density is equal to or more than the fifth threshold value, or executes the condition determination processing in a case where the maximum density is less than the fifth threshold value.
However, as best understood, the claims are determining that a sample is negative when the two endpoints of a curve based on the band are higher or have maximum values compared to the remainder of the curve. Thus, the actual assay region between the endpoints of the band/column would show lower values than the endpoints. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined a negative results in the determination processing of Poulsen when the assay region had lower values than the endpoints because this would indicate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the endpoints had the highest values and that the remainder middle of the test strip band had lower values therefore indicating to a user that there was not a significant color/intensity change in the middle of the band where the majority of the sample contacts a lateral flow assay.
Further, as best understood, the claims then determine the sample to be negative if the maximum density value is less than a threshold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined a negative results in the determination processing of Poulsen when the maximum value did not meet the required threshold because one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this would indicate that none of the values at all reached the threshold and therefore that the signal intensity was not high enough to indicate a positive determination.
Further, as best understood, the claims determine that when the maximum density is above a higher additional threshold that the result is positive. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined a positive results in the determination processing of Poulsen when the maximum value exceeded a large threshold value because one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this would indicate that there was at least some very large reading of signal intensity which would indicate a large interaction with the sample of interest thereby indicating a positive determination.
Ultimately, however the pixel data was statistically processed would be up a user so long as the manner in which the data was processed was evaluated to determine if the statistical processing produced accurate and valid results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have processed the negative and positive determinations in Poulsen to have been performed in any manner, including the manner claimed, if the statistical processing of the data provided accurate results to a user thereby assisting with accurate diagnosis.
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include;
Tamura, A (US 20140073062; hereinafter “Tamura”) teaches detecting pixel values; [42, 43, 48].
Uchida et al (US 20110244590; hereinafter “Uchida”; already of record) teaches determining pixel density [67-70] in a matrix [63]; Fig. 4A.
Rowe et al (US 20220084659; hereinafter “Rowe”) teaches a test strip which is evaluated to create an array of pixels where there are various statistical measures including mean or median [79] and where thresholds and algorithms can be used to evaluate the image [86, 116, 117] and where threshold filters can be used to remove noise [95], and where standard deviations [99, 111, 112].
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-7 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18450720. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘720 is directed to an immunochromatoraphic assay apparatus with a loading part, a image sensor/imaging device, a processor, which does a determination and analyzes a matrix of pixels of the assay region (claim 1 of ‘720), and where the determination is made via an average value in an area profile (claim 7 of ‘720 which also depends from claims 1, 5-6). Thus, all of the elements of the invention recited in the instant claims are encompassed by the claims of US Patent Application No. 18450720.
This is a provisional double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/Benjamin R Whatley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798