19DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-10 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al. (US 2023/0180148) in view of Araujo et al. (US 2025/0294492).
Regarding Claim 1, Kung teaches a first node for wireless communications, comprising: a first transmitter, transmitting a first message; the first message being used to indicate at least one of a capability of being in communication with a first network or a capability of being in communication with a network other than the first network; the first message being for the first network; and a first processor, being in communication with a second network ([0453] FIG. 13 illustrates an example scenario 1300 associated with a UE, a first network, NW-A, and/or a second network, NW-B. Before timing t1, the UE may operate in RRC connected state in NW-A (via a first SIM card, for example), and does not operate in RRC connected state (e.g., the UE operates in RRC inactive or RRC idle state) in NW-B (via a second SIM card, for example). The UE may determine to establish RRC connection with the NW-B. The UE may transmit a capability change information 1314 to the NW-A at timing t1; [0472] FIG. 15 illustrates an example scenario 1500 associated with a UE, a first network, NW-A, and/or a second network, NW-B. Before timing t1, the UE may operate in RRC connected state in NW-A (via a first SIM card, for example), and does not operate in RRC connected state (e.g., the UE operates in RRC inactive or RRC idle state) in NW-B (via a second SIM card, for example). The UE may determine to establish RRC connection with the NW-B. The UE may transmit a capability change information 1514 to the NW-A at timing t1);
wherein whether the first message is transmitted before the communication with the second network or is transmitted along with the communication with the second network is related to whether any condition in a first condition set is satisfied; the first condition set includes at least one of a first condition, a second condition or a third condition, the first condition being that the first node establishes no Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with the first network, the second condition being that the first node transmits no capability information to the first network, and the third condition being that a capability indicated by the capability information transmitted to the first network from the first node does not include the capability of being in communication with the second network; whether the first message is transmitted before the communication with the second network or is transmitted along with the communication with the second network is related to whether any condition in a first condition set is satisfied, meaning: when any condition in the first condition set is satisfied, the first message is transmitted along with the communication with the second network ([0453] FIG. 13 illustrates an example scenario 1300 associated with a UE, a first network, NW-A, and/or a second network, NW-B. Before timing t1, the UE may operate in RRC connected state in NW-A (via a first SIM card, for example), and does not operate in RRC connected state (e.g., the UE operates in RRC inactive or RRC idle state) in NW-B (via a second SIM card, for example). The UE may determine to establish RRC connection with the NW-B. The UE may transmit a capability change information 1314 to the NW-A at timing t1; [0472] FIG. 15 illustrates an example scenario 1500 associated with a UE, a first network, NW-A, and/or a second network, NW-B. Before timing t1, the UE may operate in RRC connected state in NW-A (via a first SIM card, for example), and does not operate in RRC connected state (e.g., the UE operates in RRC inactive or RRC idle state) in NW-B (via a second SIM card, for example). The UE may determine to establish RRC connection with the NW-B. The UE may transmit a capability change information 1514 to the NW-A at timing t1).
However, Kung does not teach when none of conditions in the first condition set is satisfied, the first message is transmitted before the communication with the second network.
In an analogous art, Araujo teaches when none of conditions in the first condition set is satisfied, the first message is transmitted before the communication with the second network ([0188] 3. The UE 102 may start service(s) in Network A. [0189] a. The UE 102 is in RRC_CONNECTED mode only in Network A ... [0192] After some time passes, the UE 102 may need to connect to Network B. [0193] 4. The UE 102 may connect to Network B. [0194] 5. The UE 102 sends a request comprising, in this example, UE assistance information (“UEAssistanceInformation (NEW: reduce capability)”) to Network A, requesting that certain capabilities are (temporarily) disabled. [0195] 6. Network A may accept the request and disables (possibly temporarily) certain capabilities. [0196] a. Network A can use RRC Reconfiguration procedure or lower layer means, e.g., MAC CE/DCI indication, to configure the UE 102 with reduced capabilities (“NW-A configures UE with reduced capabilities”). [0197] b. Network A or the UE 102 may trigger adaptation (downgrading) for ongoing services in Network A (“Adaptation (downgrading) of ongoing services”). [0198] 7. The UE 102 may use certain capabilities to connect to Network B (“Connection setup to NW-B”). [0199] a. The UE 102 now is in RRC_CONNECTED mode in both networks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Araujo’s method with Kung’s method so that it can enable communication of multi-SIM UEs in an efficient manner in a wireless communications network, and thereby improve the overall performance of the wireless communications network and/or improve user experience (Araujo [0018]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Kung and Araujo, specifically Kung teaches the first message is transmitted along with the communication with the second network, the communication with the second network being used to trigger the first message ([0453] FIG. 13 illustrates an example scenario 1300 associated with a UE, a first network, NW-A, and/or a second network, NW-B. Before timing t1, the UE may operate in RRC connected state in NW-A (via a first SIM card, for example), and does not operate in RRC connected state (e.g., the UE operates in RRC inactive or RRC idle state) in NW-B (via a second SIM card, for example). The UE may determine to establish RRC connection with the NW-B. The UE may transmit a capability change information 1314 to the NW-A at timing t1; [0472] FIG. 15 illustrates an example scenario 1500 associated with a UE, a first network, NW-A, and/or a second network, NW-B. Before timing t1, the UE may operate in RRC connected state in NW-A (via a first SIM card, for example), and does not operate in RRC connected state (e.g., the UE operates in RRC inactive or RRC idle state) in NW-B (via a second SIM card, for example). The UE may determine to establish RRC connection with the NW-B. The UE may transmit a capability change information 1514 to the NW-A at timing t1).
Regarding Claim 3, Kung teaches whether the first message is used to indicate the capability of being in communication with the first network or the capability of being in communication with a network other than the first network is related to whether the first message is transmitted before the communication with the second network or is transmitted along with the communication with the second network; when the first message is transmitted along with the communication with the second network, the first message indicates the capability of being in communication with the first network ([0453] FIG. 13 illustrates an example scenario 1300 associated with a UE, a first network, NW-A, and/or a second network, NW-B. Before timing t1, the UE may operate in RRC connected state in NW-A (via a first SIM card, for example), and does not operate in RRC connected state (e.g., the UE operates in RRC inactive or RRC idle state) in NW-B (via a second SIM card, for example). The UE may determine to establish RRC connection with the NW-B. The UE may transmit a capability change information 1314 to the NW-A at timing t1; [0472] FIG. 15 illustrates an example scenario 1500 associated with a UE, a first network, NW-A, and/or a second network, NW-B. Before timing t1, the UE may operate in RRC connected state in NW-A (via a first SIM card, for example), and does not operate in RRC connected state (e.g., the UE operates in RRC inactive or RRC idle state) in NW-B (via a second SIM card, for example). The UE may determine to establish RRC connection with the NW-B. The UE may transmit a capability change information 1514 to the NW-A at timing t1).
However, Kung does not teach when the first message is transmitted before the communication with the second network, the first message indicates a capability required for communication with a network other than the first network.
In an analogous art, Araujo teaches when the first message is transmitted before the communication with the second network, the first message indicates a capability required for communication with a network other than the first network ([0188] 3. The UE 102 may start service(s) in Network A. [0189] a. The UE 102 is in RRC_CONNECTED mode only in Network A ... [0192] After some time passes, the UE 102 may need to connect to Network B. [0193] 4. The UE 102 may connect to Network B. [0194] 5. The UE 102 sends a request comprising, in this example, UE assistance information (“UEAssistanceInformation (NEW: reduce capability)”) to Network A, requesting that certain capabilities are (temporarily) disabled. [0195] 6. Network A may accept the request and disables (possibly temporarily) certain capabilities. [0196] a. Network A can use RRC Reconfiguration procedure or lower layer means, e.g., MAC CE/DCI indication, to configure the UE 102 with reduced capabilities (“NW-A configures UE with reduced capabilities”). [0197] b. Network A or the UE 102 may trigger adaptation (downgrading) for ongoing services in Network A (“Adaptation (downgrading) of ongoing services”). [0198] 7. The UE 102 may use certain capabilities to connect to Network B (“Connection setup to NW-B”). [0199] a. The UE 102 now is in RRC_CONNECTED mode in both networks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Araujo’s method with Kung’s method so that it can enable communication of multi-SIM UEs in an efficient manner in a wireless communications network, and thereby improve the overall performance of the wireless communications network and/or improve user experience (Araujo [0018]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kung teaches whether the first message is used to indicate the capability of being in communication with the first network or the capability of being in communication with a network other than the first network is related to whether the first message is transmitted before the communication with the second network or is transmitted along with the communication with the second network; when the first message is transmitted along with the communication with the second network, the first message indicates the capability of being in communication with the first network ([0453] FIG. 13 illustrates an example scenario 1300 associated with a UE, a first network, NW-A, and/or a second network, NW-B. Before timing t1, the UE may operate in RRC connected state in NW-A (via a first SIM card, for example), and does not operate in RRC connected state (e.g., the UE operates in RRC inactive or RRC idle state) in NW-B (via a second SIM card, for example). The UE may determine to establish RRC connection with the NW-B. The UE may transmit a capability change information 1314 to the NW-A at timing t1; [0472] FIG. 15 illustrates an example scenario 1500 associated with a UE, a first network, NW-A, and/or a second network, NW-B. Before timing t1, the UE may operate in RRC connected state in NW-A (via a first SIM card, for example), and does not operate in RRC connected state (e.g., the UE operates in RRC inactive or RRC idle state) in NW-B (via a second SIM card, for example). The UE may determine to establish RRC connection with the NW-B. The UE may transmit a capability change information 1514 to the NW-A at timing t1).
However, Kung does not teach when the first message is transmitted before the communication with the second network, the first message indicates a capability required for communication with a network other than the first network.
In an analogous art, Araujo teaches when the first message is transmitted before the communication with the second network, the first message indicates a capability required for communication with a network other than the first network ([0188] 3. The UE 102 may start service(s) in Network A. [0189] a. The UE 102 is in RRC_CONNECTED mode only in Network A ... [0192] After some time passes, the UE 102 may need to connect to Network B. [0193] 4. The UE 102 may connect to Network B. [0194] 5. The UE 102 sends a request comprising, in this example, UE assistance information (“UEAssistanceInformation (NEW: reduce capability)”) to Network A, requesting that certain capabilities are (temporarily) disabled. [0195] 6. Network A may accept the request and disables (possibly temporarily) certain capabilities. [0196] a. Network A can use RRC Reconfiguration procedure or lower layer means, e.g., MAC CE/DCI indication, to configure the UE 102 with reduced capabilities (“NW-A configures UE with reduced capabilities”). [0197] b. Network A or the UE 102 may trigger adaptation (downgrading) for ongoing services in Network A (“Adaptation (downgrading) of ongoing services”). [0198] 7. The UE 102 may use certain capabilities to connect to Network B (“Connection setup to NW-B”). [0199] a. The UE 102 now is in RRC_CONNECTED mode in both networks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Araujo’s method with Kung’s method so that it can enable communication of multi-SIM UEs in an efficient manner in a wireless communications network, and thereby improve the overall performance of the wireless communications network and/or improve user experience (Araujo [0018]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kung does not teach the first message is used to indicate that the first node is in communication with a network other than the first network, wherein that the first node is in communication with a network other than the first network indicated by the first message is used to indicate the capability of being in communication with a network other than the first network.
In an analogous art, Araujo teaches the first message is used to indicate that the first node is in communication with a network other than the first network, wherein that the first node is in communication with a network other than the first network indicated by the first message is used to indicate the capability of being in communication with a network other than the first network ([0188] 3. The UE 102 may start service(s) in Network A. [0189] a. The UE 102 is in RRC_CONNECTED mode only in Network A ... [0192] After some time passes, the UE 102 may need to connect to Network B. [0193] 4. The UE 102 may connect to Network B. [0194] 5. The UE 102 sends a request comprising, in this example, UE assistance information (“UEAssistanceInformation (NEW: reduce capability)”) to Network A, requesting that certain capabilities are (temporarily) disabled. [0195] 6. Network A may accept the request and disables (possibly temporarily) certain capabilities. [0196] a. Network A can use RRC Reconfiguration procedure or lower layer means, e.g., MAC CE/DCI indication, to configure the UE 102 with reduced capabilities (“NW-A configures UE with reduced capabilities”). [0197] b. Network A or the UE 102 may trigger adaptation (downgrading) for ongoing services in Network A (“Adaptation (downgrading) of ongoing services”). [0198] 7. The UE 102 may use certain capabilities to connect to Network B (“Connection setup to NW-B”). [0199] a. The UE 102 now is in RRC_CONNECTED mode in both networks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Araujo’s method with Kung’s method so that it can enable communication of multi-SIM UEs in an efficient manner in a wireless communications network, and thereby improve the overall performance of the wireless communications network and/or improve user experience (Araujo [0018]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Kung and Araujo, specifically Kung teaches the first message is used to request no use of capability/capabilities in a first capability set, the first capability set including at least one capability, the capability of being in communication with the second network including the first capability set ([0453] The UE may transmit a capability change information 1314 to the NW-A at timing t1. The capability change information 1314 may indicate a preference of change (e.g., release) of SCG, SCell, and/or configured resources associated with the NW-A (e.g., the capability change information 1314 may be indicative of a SCG, a SCell and/or one or more configured resources that the UE (i) currently uses for communication with the NW-A and/or (ii) plans and/or prefers to release, deactivate and/or cease using for communication with the NW-A)).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Kung and Araujo, specifically Kung teaches a first receiver, receiving a first acknowledgment message; the first acknowledgment message being used to approve the first message; wherein the first message is transmitted before the communication with the second network, and reception of the first acknowledgment message is earlier than the communication with the second network ([0447] The NW-A may provide a confirmation message 1116 to the UE in response to the capability change information 1110. The confirmation message 1116 may indicate acknowledgment of the capability change information; [0518] the confirmation message (e.g., the confirmation message 1116) may indicate a positive acknowledgment or a negative acknowledgement (associated with the capability change information). The positive acknowledgement of the confirmation message may indicate (e.g., imply) that the network (e.g., the first network, such as NW-A) agrees (e.g., confirms) and/or acknowledges the capability change indicated by the capability change information).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Kung and Araujo, specifically Kung teaches the first processor, stopping the communication with the second network; and the first transmitter, transmitting a third message as a response to the stopping the communication with the second network, the third message being used to request the use of the capability/capabilities in a first capability set ([0453] The UE may transmit a capability change information 1314 to the NW-A at timing t1. The capability change information 1314 may indicate a preference of change (e.g., release) of SCG, SCell, and/or configured resources associated with the NW-A (e.g., the capability change information 1314 may be indicative of a SCG, a SCell and/or one or more configured resources that the UE (i) currently uses for communication with the NW-A and/or (ii) plans and/or prefers to release, deactivate and/or cease using for communication with the NW-A)).
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 5.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al. in view of Araujo et al. and Kim et al. (US 2023/0156115).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of King and Araujo does not teach the first transmitter, transmitting a first request message, the first request message being used to request capability update; and a first receiver, receiving a first capability enquiry message after the first request message is transmitted; wherein the first capability enquiry message is used to trigger the first message.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches the first transmitter, transmitting a first request message, the first request message being used to request capability update; and a first receiver, receiving a first capability enquiry message after the first request message is transmitted; wherein the first capability enquiry message is used to trigger the first message ([0136] Referring to Table 2, the electronic device 101 may set the “NG-RAN Radio Capability Update” in the registration request message to 1 and transmit it to the communication network, thereby notifying the communication network that the UE capability information needs to be updated. The communication network may identify that the electronic device 101 needs update of the UE capability through the registration request message transmitted from the electronic device 101. The communication network may transmit a UE capability enquiry message to the electronic device 101 to identify the UE capability update information. The electronic device 101 may receive the UE capability enquiry message from the communication network and transmit UE capability information including the updated information to the communication network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kim’s method with Kung’s method so that the terminal device can communicate its capabilities to the network when there is an update, and the network can optimize configurations to ensure compatibility and maximize performance.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of King and Araujo does not teach a first receiver, receiving a first capability enquiry message after the first message is transmitted; and the first transmitter, transmitting a second message as a response to receiving the first capability enquiry message; wherein the first message is used to indicate the capability of being in communication with the second network, while the second message is used to indicate the capability of being in communication with the first network.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches a first receiver, receiving a first capability enquiry message after the first message is transmitted; and the first transmitter, transmitting a second message as a response to receiving the first capability enquiry message; wherein the first message is used to indicate the capability of being in communication with the second network, while the second message is used to indicate the capability of being in communication with the first network ([0136] Referring to Table 2, the electronic device 101 may set the “NG-RAN Radio Capability Update” in the registration request message to 1 and transmit it to the communication network, thereby notifying the communication network that the UE capability information needs to be updated. The communication network may identify that the electronic device 101 needs update of the UE capability through the registration request message transmitted from the electronic device 101. The communication network may transmit a UE capability enquiry message to the electronic device 101 to identify the UE capability update information. The electronic device 101 may receive the UE capability enquiry message from the communication network and transmit UE capability information including the updated information to the communication network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kim’s method with Kung’s method so that the terminal device can communicate its capabilities to the network when there is an update, and the network can optimize configurations to ensure compatibility and maximize performance.
Claims 11-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al. in view of Araujo et al. and Kanamarlapudi et al. (US 2015/0304838).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Kung and Araujo does not teach the first transmitter, starting a first timer, along with the first message; wherein reception of an acknowledgment message for the first message is used to stop the first timer.
In an analogous art, Kanamarlapudi teaches the first transmitter, starting a first timer, along with the first message; wherein reception of an acknowledgment message for the first message is used to stop the first timer ([0024] The present aspects generally relate to performing a timer adaptation procedure in order to adapt a network configured timer corresponding to a user equipment (UE) capability information procedure for indicating one or more UE capabilities to a network entity. Specifically, a timer (e.g., a T304 timer) is configured in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer (e.g., Layer 3) to cover the procedure of transmitting UE capability information messages and receiving UE capability confirmation messages. For example, a UE may generate and transmit a UE capability information message to the network (e.g., UTRAN). The UE may also initiate the timer (e.g., T304 timer) corresponding to the transmission of the UE capability information message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kanamarlapudi’s method with Kung’s method so that it can achieve improvements in performing a timer adaptation procedure in order to handle larger-sized capability messages (Kanamarlapudi [0005]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kung does not teach the first message is transmitted only when the first timer is not running.
In an analogous art, Araujo teaches the first message is transmitted only when the first timer is not running ([0095] The first request to the first network node 104 may be provided in response to an expiration of a timer that determines when the UE 102 can send requests to the first and/or second network nodes. For example, the timer may be a timer to prohibit frequent reports sent by the UE 102, such that the UE 102 can only send another report, such as a UE assistance information, or a trigger once the timer expires. The timer may operate with any suitable frequency, and the timer may be adjustable. Once a UE assistance information or a trigger indication is set, the timer may be reset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Araujo’s method with Kung’s method so that the timer may prohibit frequent reports sent by the UE (Araujo [0095]).
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shen et al. (US 2022/0225081) teaches method of dual communication card-based communication.
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413