Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/26/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 09/18/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (US 2005/133209).
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a fixing structure (22 and 25 combined, Fig. 1, [0034]) applied to an insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (12, Fig. 1, [0034]), wherein the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger comprises
a plurality of heat exchanger tubes (15, Fig. 1, [0033]) and a plurality of insertion plates (14, Fig. 1, [0033]),
the plurality of heat exchanger tubes are inserted into the plurality of insertion plates along a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of each of the plurality of insertion plates (Fig. 1, [0033]),
the fixing structure is located on a side surface of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (Fig. 1, [0034]); and
the fixing structure comprises a first fixing portion (22, Fig. 1) and a second fixing portion (25, Fig. 1) connected to each other (22 and 25 combined, Fig. 1, [0034]),
the first fixing portion is fixedly connected to the plurality of heat exchanger tubes (22, Fig. 1), and
the second fixing portion extends along a direction away from the first fixing portion (25, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Song teaches the fixing structure (22 and 25 combined, Fig. 1) is located on the side surface (22, Fig. 1) and the end surface (25, Fig. 1) of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger,
the fixing structure comprises a side plate (22, Fig. 1) and an end plate (25, Fig. 1),
the side plate extends along a length direction of each of the plurality of insertion plates and is connected to the side surface of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (22, Fig. 1),
the end plate extends along a length direction of each of the plurality of heat exchanger tubes and is connected to the end surface of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (25, Fig. 1), and
the side plate and the end plate are an integral structure (22 and 25 combined, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Song teaches the number of the side plate is one (22, Fig. 1), the number of the end plate is one (25, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Song teaches the fixing structure (22 and 25 combined, Fig. 1) is located on the side surface of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (22, Fig. 1),
the fixing structure comprises a side plate (22, Fig. 1),
the side plate extends along a length direction of each of the plurality of insertion plates and is located on the side surface of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (22, Fig. 1),
the side plate is provided with a plurality of inserting holes (29, Fig. 1, [0034]) corresponding to the plurality of heat exchanger tubes, and
the plurality of heat exchanger tubes (15, Fig. 1, [0034]) are inserted into the plurality of inserting holes (29, Fig. 1, [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Song teaches the side plate is provided with a plurality of inserting holes (29, Fig. 1, [0034]) corresponding to the plurality of heat exchanger tubes,
the plurality of heat exchanger tubes (15, Fig. 1, [0034]) are inserted into the plurality of inserting holes (29, Fig. 1, [0034]); and
the side plate is further provided with a first edge portion, at least one of the plurality of inserting holes passes through the first edge portion to define an opening (See annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 6, Song teaches along a direction of each of plurality of the heat exchanger tubes inserted into one of the plurality of inserting holes, sizes of at least two of the plurality of inserting holes are different (See annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 7, Song teaches a size of the opening is greater than a size of an end of the at least one of the plurality of inserting holes away from the first edge portion (See annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 8, Song teaches the side plate is provided with a plurality of inserting holes (29, Fig. 1, [0034]) corresponding to the plurality of heat exchanger tubes,
the plurality of heat exchanger tubes (15, Fig. 1, [0034]) are inserted into the plurality of inserting holes (29, Fig. 1, [0034]); and
two sides of the side plate comprise a first edge portion and a second edge portion, respectively (See annotated figure below),
a side wall of each of the plurality of inserting holes is spaced from the first edge portion and the second edge portion (See annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 9, Song teaches the side plate is provided with a plurality of inserting holes (29, Fig. 1, [0034]) corresponding to the plurality of heat exchanger tubes,
the plurality of heat exchanger tubes (15, Fig. 1, [0034]) are inserted into the plurality of inserting holes (29, Fig. 1, [0034]); and
two sides of the side plate comprise a first edge portion and a second edge portion, respectively (See annotated figure below),
each of the plurality of inserting holes comprises a first inserting hole and a second inserting hole (See annotated figure below),
the first inserting hole passes through the first edge portion and/or the second edge portion to define an opening (See annotated figure below),
a side wall of the second inserting hole is spaced from the first edge portion and the second edge portion (See annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 10, Song teaches the first fixing portion and the second fixing portion are disposed in the side plate and the end plate (the combined region of both the side plate and end plate includes the first fixing portion and second fixing portion), and
the second fixing portion (25, Fig. 1) is bent relative to the first fixing portion (22, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Song teaches an insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (12, Fig. 1,
[0034]) comprising
a plurality of heat exchanger tubes (15, Fig. 1, [0033]),
a plurality of insertion plates (14, Fig. 1, [0033]) and
a fixing structure (22 and 24 combined, Fig. 1, [0034]), wherein
the plurality of heat exchanger tubes are inserted into the plurality of insertion plates along a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of each of the plurality of insertion plates (Fig. 1, [0033]),
the fixing structure is located on a side surface of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (Fig. 1, [0034]); and
the fixing structure comprises a first fixing portion (22, Fig. 1) and a second fixing portion (24, Fig. 1) connected to each other (22 and 24 combined, Fig. 1, [0034]),
the first fixing portion is fixedly connected to the plurality of heat exchanger tubes (22, Fig. 1), and
the second fixing portion is fixedly connected to an external machine (24, [0034]).
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (US 2005/133209).
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a fixing structure (22 and 24 combined, Fig. 1, [0034]) applied to an insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (12, Fig. 1, [0034]), wherein the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger comprises
a plurality of heat exchanger tubes (15, Fig. 1, [0033]) and a plurality of insertion plates (14, Fig. 1, [0033]),
the plurality of heat exchanger tubes are inserted into the plurality of insertion plates along a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of each of the plurality of insertion plates (Fig. 1, [0033]),
the fixing structure is located on a side surface of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (Fig. 1, [0034]); and
the fixing structure comprises a first fixing portion (22, Fig. 1) and a second fixing portion (24, Fig. 1) connected to each other (22 and 24 combined, Fig. 1, [0034]),
the first fixing portion is fixedly connected to the plurality of heat exchanger tubes (22, Fig. 1), and
the second fixing portion extends along a direction away from the first fixing portion (24, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Song teaches the second fixing portion is provided with an installing hole (hole inside 24, Fig. 2, [0034]), and
the installing hole is configured for allowing the external machine to be fixedly connected to the second fixing portion through the installing hole (hole inside 24, Fig. 2, [0034]).
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sawant (US 2023/175792).
Regarding claim 1, Sawant teaches a fixing structure (1180 and 1182 combined , Fig. 17, [0065]) applied to an insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (154 and 1102 combined; 154, Fig. 6, Fig. 7, [0052], [0053]; 1102, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0056], [0057]), wherein the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger comprises
a plurality of heat exchanger tubes (182, Fig. 7, [0053]; 1120, Fig. 9, [0057]) and a plurality of insertion plates (176, Fig. 7, [0053]; 1116, Fig. 9, [0057]),
the plurality of heat exchanger tubes are inserted into the plurality of insertion plates along a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of each of the plurality of insertion plates (Fig. 7, [0053]; Fig. 9, [0057]),
the fixing structure is located on a side surface of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (Fig. 16, Fig. 17, [0064]); and
the fixing structure comprises a first fixing portion (1180 combined with 1194 of 1182, Fig. 17, [0065]) and a second fixing portion (1192 of 1182, Fig. 17, [0065]) connected to each other ([0065]),
the first fixing portion is fixedly connected to the plurality of heat exchanger tubes (Fig. 17), and
the second fixing portion extends along a direction away from the first fixing portion (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Sawant teaches the fixing structure (1180 and 1182 combined , Fig. 17, [0065]) is located on the side surface of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (Fig. 16, Fig. 17, [0064]),
the fixing structure comprises a side plate (1180, Fig. 17, [0064]),
the side plate extends along a length direction of each of the plurality of insertion plates and is located on the side surface of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (1180, Fig. 16, Fig. 17, [0064]),
the side plate is provided with a plurality of inserting holes (1184, Fig. 17, [0064]) corresponding to the plurality of heat exchanger tubes, and
the plurality of heat exchanger tubes (182, Fig. 7, Fig. 17, [0064]) are inserted into the plurality of inserting holes (1184, Fig. 17, [0064]).
Regarding claim 12, Song teaches the number of the side plate located on the same side of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger is multiple (1180 and 1182, Fig. 17, [0064]),
a connecting component (1272 and 1226 combined, Fig. 17, [0072]) is disposed between adjacent two of a plurality of side plates (Fig. 17), the connecting component comprises a connecting plate (1272, Fig. 17, [0072]) and a fastener (1226, Fig. 17, [0072]),
two ends of the connecting plate are connected to the adjacent two of the plurality of side plates, respectively (Fig. 17),
the fastener penetrates through the connecting plate and the corresponding side plate to connect the connecting plate and the corresponding side plate (Fig. 17, [0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 2005/133209).
Regarding claim 14, Song teaches the fixing structure comprises
a side plate (22, Fig. 1) connected to the side surface of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger,
the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger further comprises a middle plate (a fin of 14, Fig. 1), the middle plate is disposed between two side surfaces of the insertion-plate-type heat exchanger (a fin of 14, Fig. 1).
Song does not teach a distance between the middle plate and the side plate is in a range of 250 mm to 900 mm.
However, the adjusting the length of the fin array (14, Fig. 1) would not have affected the operation of the heat exchanger.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length of the fin array as this would have been a design choice. (See re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955))
If the fin array is modified to be 900 mm long, one fin acting as the middle plate would be within the distance of 250 mm to 900 mm from the side plate. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claim 15, Song does not teach the number of the middle plate is multiple, and a distance between adjacent two of a plurality of middle plates is in a range of 250 mm to 900 mm.
However, the adjusting the length of the fin array (14, Fig. 1) would not have affected the operation of the heat exchanger.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length of the fin array as this would have been a design choice. (See re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955))
If the fin array is modified to be 2700 mm long, one fin acting as the middle plate would be within the distance of 250 mm to 900 mm from the side plate, and a second fin acting as another middle plate would be within the distance of 250 mm to 900 mm from the other middle plate. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05)
Conclusion
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763