DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 is objected to for being written in improper Markush format. The last line of the claim should state “potassium, and rubidium or combinations thereof.”
Claim 14 is objected to for being written in improper Markush format. The last line of the claim should state “and rubidium or combinations thereof.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The term “substantially pure cis-9, trans-11 conjugated linoleic acid” in claims 1, 2, 7, 8 and 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Paragraph [0042] on page 14 describes an example purity of the cis-9, trans-11 conjugated linoleic acid at greater than 90%, but a single example does not adequately define the term. Therefore the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined.
Dependent claims 3-6 are rejected as indefinite for the same reason since they do not correct the indefiniteness issue of their parent claims.
The term “about” in claims 1, 5-7, 9 and 16-19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Neither the range of the molar ratio of cations to linoleic acid is sufficiently defined nor is the temperature at which the saponification reaction should took place. Therefore the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined.
Dependent claims 2-4, 8, 10-15 and 20 are rejected as indefinite for the same reason since they do not correct the indefiniteness issue of their parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0130195 A1, which was published April 27, 2023.
US ‘195 teaches a method of making an isomerized or conjugated linoleic acid cation salt in a solution or salve. See for instance claims 12-18. Example 10 in paragraphs [0071]-[0076] on pages 6 and 7 teaches instant claims 1, 9-11 and 13 since the reference discloses a method of manufacturing CLA (conjugated linoleic acid) cis-9, trans-11 octadecadienoic acid by mixing 2.5 kg water, 3 kg potassium hydroxide and 7 kg safflower oil, then heating the mixture in a microwave, then dissolving the mixture in water. Since potassium hydroxide is used in the saponification, thereby providing potassium cations, instant claims 3-4 and 14-15 are anticipated. Since the amount of potassium hydroxide relative to safflower oil is 3 kg to 7 kg, instant claims 5-6 and 16-17 are anticipated.
The prior art method also teaches instant claims 2 and 12 wherein the volume of conjugated linoleic acid is at least 5 times the volume of the saponified safflower oil since the reference teaches >90% pure cis-9, trans-11 octadecadienoic acid after microwaving. See paragraph [0076] on page 7.
The prior art method also discloses Example 11, see paragraph [0077], which teaches the aqueous solution of potassium safflowerate was solubilized in purified water at a concentration of 16% by weight. Further, paragraph [0082] on the same page discloses “The solution may have a concentration of the conjugated diene between 0.1 millimolar and 500 millimolar. The solution may have a concentration of the conjugated diene between 0.2 millimolar and 60 millimolar” Thus instant claims 7 and 18-19 are anticipated.
The prior art method also discloses Example 12, see paragraph [0078], which teaches the addition of 10% squalane with mechanical high shearing. Thus, instant claims 8 and 20 are anticipated.
Contact Information
/J.H.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/KAMAL A SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626