DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues Stepanov does not disclose: 1) a request from the client for multimedia data and the request includes a network address of the client, 2) generating a client identifier, and 3) receiving, by the server, from a second client, a request for registration with the server, wherein the request comprises an acquired client identifier and determining whether registration with the servicer successful based on the client identifier and the acquired client identifier. Furthermore, the Applicant argues 4) the 103 combinations of Stepanov and Park. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding issue 1, Stepanov discloses receiving, from a first client configured on a first user device of the multimedia data delivery system, a request for multimedia data, the request comprising a network address of the first client. For example, Stepanov discloses receiving a request from a device authorization apparatus by a network server. The request comprises a request for a video authorization file and can further include address information; see at least paragraphs 0035, 0042-0045, 0051-0052 and 0070).
Paragraph 0035 explains the nature of the video verification file 112. It recites “the video verification file 112 can comprise video-encoded data. The video-encoded data can comprise a personal identification code. This personal identification code can, for instance, be generated as a picture and converted into a video file format to yield the video-encoded data”. Therefore, the request for the video verification file is equivalent to a request for multimedia data. Furthermore, the term “network address of the first client” is really broad and not specific. Request 414 has identifying information pertaining to network-enabled device. Therefore, it can be interpreted as being “network address”.
Regarding issue 2, Stepanov discloses generating a client identifier based on data comprised in the received request. For example, Stepanov discloses generating a verification code based on request including the identifying information. The verification code is distinct and can be particular to request 414; see at least paragraphs 0052, 0073 and 0075. Therefore, it is reasonable to equate the claimed verification code to a distinct verification code that can be particular to a request, specially, when it is compared to login information later; see at least paragraph 0055.
Regarding issue 3, Stepanov discloses receiving, by the server, from a second client configured on a second user device, a request for registration with the server, wherein the request for registration comprises an acquired client identifier. For example, Stepanov discloses a communication client, such as a computer, laptop computer, mobile phone…etc. employed by the user of the television can submit a subscriber login to the server, wherein the login includes data indicative of the verification code transmitted within the video file; see at least paragraphs 0048, 0054 and 0060. Furthermore, Stepanov discloses determining whether registration with the server is successful based on the client identifier and the acquired client identifier. For example, Stepanov discloses when receiving the subscriber login, data is extracted and a determination is made to whether the login information matches login information of a subscriber account stored in an account data file for access authorization; see at least paragraphs 0055, 0060-0062 and 0076-0077.
The Examiner suggests clarifying the terms “multimedia data”, “network address”, “request for registration” and “client identifier”. At this time, they are broad and the Examiner is entitled to have claims interpreted broadly, to the maximum extent permitted by statute, regulation, and applicable case law.
Regarding issue 4, Park is not cited to disclose any elements of claims 1 and 7. Park is cited to discloses a DVB-I system. Said system is well known in the art.
For at least the above reasons, the present claimed invention is not patentable over the cited reference(s).
Claim 7 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stepanov (US 2013/0298155).
Regarding claim 1, Stepanov discloses a method for registration with a server of a multimedia data delivery system, the method comprising, by the server:
receiving, from a first client configured on a first user device of the multimedia data delivery system, a request for multimedia data, the request comprising a network address of the first client (receiving a request from a device authorization apparatus by a network server. The request comprises a request for a video authorization file and can further include address information; see at least paragraphs 0035, 0042-0045, 0051-0052 and 0070);
generating a client identifier based on data comprised in the received request (generating a verification code based on request including the identifying information; see at least paragraphs 0052, 0073 and 0075);
generating multimedia data through which the client identifier is obtainable by using the first user device through playing the multimedia data by a multimedia player configured on the first user device, and transmitting the multimedia data to the first user device (in response to the request, a video verification file including the verification code is received and a playback component is configured to play a set of video data on the television and enable a viewer to view the identification code contained within the set of video data; see at least paragraphs 0037-0038, 0043, 0046, 0048 and 0065);
receiving, by the server, from a second client configured on a second user device, a request for registration with the server, wherein the request for registration comprises an acquired client identifier(a communication client, such as a computer, laptop computer, mobile phone…etc. employed by the user of the television can submit a subscriber login to the server, wherein the login includes data indicative of the verification code transmitted within the video file; see at least paragraphs 0048, 0054 and 0060); and
determining whether registration with the server is successful based on the client identifier and the acquired client identifier (when receiving the subscriber login, data is extracted and a determination is made to whether the login information matches login information of a subscriber account stored in an account data file for access authorization; see at least paragraphs 0055, 0060-0062 and 0076-0077).
Regarding claim 2, Stepanov discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the server is configured to use the HyperText Transfer Protocol, HTTP, protocol (see at least paragraph 0098), the method further comprising:
generating a cookie that includes the client identifier, and transmitting the cookie to the first client (generating a verification code based on request including the identifying information; see at least paragraphs 0052, 0073 and 0075).
Regarding claim 3, Stepanov discloses the method according to claim 2, further comprising:
transmitting, to the client, a command for recording the cookie data in a memory of the first user device (see at least paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 4, Stepanov discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: upon receiving the request for registration, determining whether the acquired client identifier comprised in the request for registration corresponds to the client identifier; and
upon determining that the acquired client identifier comprised in the request for registration corresponds to the client identifier, storing in a memory registration data related to the first client, the registration data comprising the client identifier or the acquired client identifier (see at least paragraphs 0055, 0060-0062 and 0076-0077).
Regarding claim 5, Stepanov discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein generating the client identifier comprises: generating a hash code encrypting an identifier of the first client and the network address of the first client, wherein the client identifier comprises the generated hash code (see at least paragraphs 0034 and claims 8-10).
Regarding claim 6, Stepanov discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: upon determining that registration with the server is successful, transmitting, to the first client, a response message which includes a list of multimedia services customized based on the client identifier (identifying bonus content applied to the matching subscriber account per the association rule; see at least paragraphs 0063, 0065, 0074 and 0079).
Regarding claim 7, Stepanov discloses the method for registration with a server of a multimedia data delivery system, the method comprising, by a user device of the multimedia data delivery system,
transmitting, by a client configured on the user device, to the server, a request for multimedia data, the request comprising a network address of the client (transmitting a request from a device authorization apparatus to a network server. The request comprises a request for a video authorization file and can further include address information; see at least paragraphs 0042-0045, 0051-0052 and 0070);
receiving, by the client, from the server, data comprising a client identifier (in response to the request, a video verification file including the verification code is received and a playback component is configured to play a set of video data on the television and enable a viewer to view the identification code contained within the set of video data; see at least paragraphs 0037-0038, 0043, 0046, 0048 and 0065);
receiving, by the client, from the server, multimedia data through which the client identifier is obtainable by using the user device through playing the multimedia data by a multimedia player configured on the user device (in response to the request, a video verification file including the verification code is received and a playback component is configured to play a set of video data on the television and enable a viewer to view the identification code contained within the set of video data; see at least paragraphs 0037-0038, 0043, 0046, 0048 and 0065); and
playing, by the multimedia player configured on the user device, the multimedia data (in response to the request, a video verification file including the verification code is received and a playback component is configured to play a set of video data on the television and enable a viewer to view the identification code contained within the set of video data; see at least paragraphs 0037-0038, 0043, 0046, 0048 and 0065).
Regarding claim 8, Stepanov discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the multimedia data further comprises registration data for accessing the server for registration with the server (a video authorization file and can further include address information; see at least paragraphs 0042-0045, 0051-0052 and 0070).
Regarding claim 9, Stepanov discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the registration data comprise one or more of a network address of the server and a Quick Response, QR, code encoding the network address of the server (a video authorization file and can further include address information; see at least paragraphs 0042-0045, 0051-0052 and 0070).
Regarding claim 10, Stepanov discloses the method according to according to claim 1, wherein the client identifier is based on an identifier in the multimedia data delivery system and a network address comprised in the request for multimedia data (see at least paragraphs 0052, 0073 and 0075).
Regarding claim 11, Stepanov discloses the method according to according to claim 1, wherein the multimedia data comprises one or more of an image or a video which, when displayed on a display, shows the client identifier or a Quick Response, QR, code encoding the client identifier (see at least paragraphs 0037-0038, 0043, 0046, 0048 and 0065).
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stepanov in view of Park (US 2024/0163514).
Regarding claim 12, Stepanov discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the multimedia data delivery system includes and IPTV system (see at least paragraphs 0003, 0031 and 0039), but is not clear about a Digital Video Broadcasting Internet, DVB-I, system.
Park discloses the above missing limitation; DVB-I service, provider and client; see at least paragraphs 0117, 0122 and 0127.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Stepanov by the teachings of Park by having the above limitations so to be able to receive media data and a service list related to the media data on the basis of a network; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 13, Stepanov discloses the method according to claim 1, and discloses an IPTV client and a server (see at least paragraphs 0003, 0031 and 0039), but is not clear about a Digital Video Broadcasting Internet, DVB-I, a client and a server.
Park discloses the above missing limitation; DVB-I service, provider and client; see at least paragraphs 0117, 0122 and 0127.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Stepanov by the teachings of Park by having the above limitations so to be able to receive media data and a service list related to the media data on the basis of a network; see at least the Abstract.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426