Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s filing date of September 18, 2024. Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to Application JP2022-047308, filed on March 23, 2022. The certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55 has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/18/2024; and 11/17/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority Prior Filed Application
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/JP2023/011191 filed on 3/22/2023, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akito et al (JP-2020040132-A)(“Akito”), supplied by applicant in the IDS filed on 11/17/2025, a machine translation is attached hereto, and HAYASHI TEI (JP-2009255191-A)(“Tei”), a machine translation of JP-2009255191-A is attached hereto.
As per claim 1, Akito discloses a handling system for handling an object (Figure 1, object handling system 1.) , the handling system comprising:
a holder including a main body operable to hold the object (Akito at Figures 2A-2D, suction or multi-finger mechanism 220, and Para. [0014] disclosing a holder and main body with fingers:” The hand 220 shown in FIG. 2D has a finger 220c as a sandwiching mechanism or a multi-finger mechanism.”) and ; and
a controller configured to control a motion of the holder, wherein the controller is configured (Akito at Figure 4, control device 100 and robot control device 107, and at least Para. [0117], movement of the robot, and Para. [0025] disclosing control of the holder and components:” control device 100. The control device 100 includes, for example, an integration unit 101, an image processing unit 102, a signal processing unit 103, a grip plan generation unit 104, a release plan generation unit 105, an operation plan generation unit 106, a robot control unit 107, peripheral devices and I / O. It has a control unit 108 (I / O: input output), a learning control unit 109, an error detection unit 110, and an internal DB 120.”) to:
plan a movement route of the holder (Akito at Figure 5, procedure executed by the control device 100 to grip, move, and release the object 10, and Figure 6, path of the tool center point Pc of the hand 220 during the picking operation, and Paras. [0063]-[0081] describing the control and movement of the holder as illustrated in Figure 6 fir displacing an object from an initial state to a destination location.) ,
determine the presence or absence of physical interference of the holder on at least a part of the planned movement route (Akito at Figure 6, object movement, and Para. [0078] discloses determining physical interference, which as defined in the instant application includes a “collision”, with other objects in the course of a movement operation:” the presence or absence of collision between the hand 220 and the surrounding environment can be detected based on the detection value of the force sensor 310 at an arbitrary position on the path of the hand 220 shown in FIG.”) , and
as to a specific segment included in the planned movement route, determine the presence or absence of physical interference of the main body (Akito at Para [0078] discloses portioning a path into segments (sections) and determining a possibility of collision during movement:” in a section from the position P005 or the position P006 to the position P000 via the release position Pr ′, the camera 321 can take an image of the inside of the container 140a without the hand 220 or the object 10 becoming an obstacle [ …] the presence or absence of collision between the hand 220 and the surrounding environment can be detected”.) and permit physical interference of the interference permitter (Akito at Para. [0029] discloses physical interference with an object by causing the manipulator or permitting the multi-finger to grasp an object for moving:” grip plan generation unit 104 includes a method of gripping the target object 10 by the manipulator 200, a grip position Ph and a grip position, and a route and a via point at which a necessary portion can move to the grip position Ph and the grip position without interfering with the surrounding environment.”).
Akito does not explicitly disclose an interference permitter displaceably or deformably attached to the main body movable body 128 illustrated in Figure 2 where it can interfere, more like deformed, when force is applied by the fingers (124 at Figure 2) when grasping or pinching an object for moving. See Paras. [0052]-[0054] of the instant application for the function of the interference permitter movable body 128.
Tei in the same field of endeavor discloses an elastic member as a part of a multi-finger holder that deforms when an opening / closing force is applied to an object to be held by a robotic hand. See Figures 4, 9-10, and 13 with Abstract.
In particular Tei discloses . an interference permitter displaceably or deformably attached to the main body (Tei at Figure 10, gripping contact portion 35, and Para. [0042] discloses how the contact portion 35 or interference permitter deforms when pressed against an object/article W:” the gripping force of the finger portions 2a and 2b is sufficiently increased, and the article W is gripped in a state where the gripping contact portion 35 is elastically deformed. Since the peripheral portion of the gripping contact portion 35 has a large friction coefficient, both the rotational direction and the translational direction are restrained, and the article W is gripped completely.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the gripping contact portion taught in Tei in the article handling system in Akito with a reasonable expectation of success because as the grip force is increased a protrusions, like protrusion 35, is caused to deform thereby constraining both the translation and rotation directions of the applied force. The teaching suggestion/motivation to combine is that by adding a protrusion to at least one of the fingers of the robotic hand, the posture of the article or object can be improved as taught by Tei at Paras. [0016] & [0043].
As per claim 2, Akito and Tei disclose a handling system according to claim 1, wherein the interference permitter is provided on a tip portion of the holder (Tei at Figure 4, translational restraint and rotation free projection 32b is positioned at edge of holder 2, and Para. [0045] discloses how positioning the protrusion at the tip of the holder (finger) has certain advantages:” the grip contact portion 35 is shown as a cone-shaped member as shown in FIG. 9(b), it is not limited to this, and for example, the protruding tip of the grip contact portion 36may be biased to one side as shown in FIG. 11.In this case, if the tip of the projection is the fingertip, there is an advantage in that interference between the finger portions 2a and 2b is reduced..
As per claim 3, Akito and Tei disclose a handling system according to claim 1, wherein the holder includes a pinching hand configured to pinch the object (Akito at Figure 1 & 2d, the hand 220 may have a jamming mechanism, a pinching mechanism, or a multi-finger mechanism,
wherein the pinching hand has the main body and the interference permitter (Tei at Figure 4, translational restraint and rotation free projection 32b is positioned at edge of holder 2, and Para. [0045] discloses how positioning the protrusion at the tip of the holder (finger) has certain advantages: ”if the tip of the projection is the fingertip, there is an advantage in that interference between the finger portions 2a and 2b is reduced.), and
wherein the interference permitter is attached to the main body such that the interference permitter can be displaced with respect to the main body in a direction intersecting a pinching direction of the pinching hand (Tei at Figure 2, flange 27 , and Para. [0023] disclosing attachment on the body of hand 2 at flange 27 to provide interference to applied vertical forces:” FIG. 2 is a plan view of the robot arm 3, and FIG. 3 is a side view of the robot arm 3. This robot arm 3 is a vertical articulated robot arm, has six joints 21 to 26, has a flange 27 at the tip, and a tool such as a robot hand 2 can be attached to the flange 27. Yes. This vertical articulated robot arm 3 can control the degree of freedom of the position and posture of the tool 6 attached to the tip, that is, the flange 27 within the movable range.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the gripping contact portion taught in Tei in the article handling system in Akito with a reasonable expectation of success because as the grip force is increased a protrusions, like protrusion 35, is caused to deform thereby constraining both the translation and rotation directions of the applied force. The teaching suggestion/motivation to combine is that by adding a protrusion to at least one of the fingers of the robotic hand, the posture of the article or object can be improved as taught by Tei at Paras. [0016] & [0043].
As per claim 4, Akito and Tei disclose a handling system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to switch a mode, as a method of controlling the holder (Akito at Figure 6, path of tool using movement modes, and Para. [0065] the use of different modes to transport an object:” the hand 220 moves from the position P000 to the position P001 in, for example, a control mode (second control mode) in which the position (and the posture) is a control amount.”), among:
(a) a movement mode which is applicable to a segment where the holder moves at a specific distance or more from the object (Akito at Figure 6, two paths having multiple segments, and Para. [0066] where in a segment the object is moved at certain speed slow or faster and the like:” hand 220 may move from the position P001 to the position P002 by, for example, a control (second control mode) in which the position at a relatively low moving speed is a control amount, or a retreat operation by force.”),
(b) an intermediate mode which is applicable to a segment where the holder moves at a distance less than the specific distance from the object (Akito at Figure 6, from in the box position to position P010 at the beginning of the journey, and Para. [0077] discloses an intermediate mode where the posture is controlled to prevent collision with other objects in the container:” Between the release position Pr and the release position Pr ', the target object 10 and the hand 220 are more likely to contact surrounding objects than at other positions. For this reason, the hand 220 escapes from the container 140b to the position P010 without changing the posture as much as possible. In this case, the hand 220 moves at a higher speed by the position control.”) and
(c) a holding mode which is applicable to a segment where the holder performs a holding motion on the object (Akito at Figure 6, holding position (Ph), and Para. [0081] discloses a holding mode where a holding motion is performed by the robotic hand:” section from the position P002 or the position Pca in the container 140a to the holding position Ph and a section from the position P009 or the position Pcb in the container 140b to the release position Pr are in the first control mode.”).
As per claim 5, Akito and Tei disclose a handling system according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to control a motion of the holder in the intermediate mode in the specific segment (Akito at Figure 6, segments of paths from supply to destination container, and Para. [0049] disclosing different motion mode based collision and the like:” the motion plan generation unit 106 generates robot motion information from the current position of the manipulator 200 to the gripping position Ph and the gripping posture. For the generation of the robot operation information, for example, a high-speed operation is selected in a region where there is no risk of interference or collision between the manipulator 200 and an object other than the target object 10 or a relatively low probability.”) .
As per claim 6, Akito and Tei disclose a handling system according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to determine the presence or absence of physical interference of the main body and the interference permitter in the movement mode (Akito at Figure 6 and Para. [0049] discloses monitoring for collision or physical interference with other objects:” a high-speed operation is selected in a region where there is no risk of interference or collision between the manipulator 200 and an object other than the target object 10 or a relatively low probability.”).
As per claim 7, Akito and Tei disclose a handling system according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to permit the physical interference of the main body and the interference permitter in the holding mode (Akito at Figure 6, holding position Ph, and Para. [0050] disclosing the hand grips the object at the holding position permitting physical interference:” the robot control unit 107 operates according to the generated robot operation information, and controls the manipulator 200 and the hand 220 so as to grip the target object 10 at the gripping position Ph and the gripping posture.”) .
As per claim 8, Akito and Tei disclose a handling system according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to perform, in the intermediate mode:
positional control for controlling a motion of the holder to cause the holder to move to a target position (Akito at Para. [0059] discloses generating positional control to move the location of the object:” robot control unit 107 operates the manipulator 200 and the hand 220 so as to operate according to the generated robot operation information, move the object 10 to the release position Pr, and release the object 10 at the release position Pr. Control.”) and mechanical control for controlling a motion of the holder on the basis of a mechanical physical quantity acting on the holder (Akito at Para. [0050] discloses mechanical control of the hand to grip an object in placing or moving:” the robot control unit 107 operates according to the generated robot operation information, and controls the manipulator 200 and the hand 220 so as to grip the target object 10 at the gripping position Ph and the gripping posture.”).
As per claim 9, Akito and Tei disclose a handling system according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to perform, in the movement mode, positional control for controlling the motion of the holder to cause the holder to move to the target position (Akito at Figures 4-6 and Paras. [0138]-[0139] discloses that the controller 100 moves the object, changes the position of the object, and grips the object for changing and moving:” the movement path of the hand 220 is the first section (the position P002 or the position Pcb to the holding position Ph, the position P009 or the position Pcb) in which the hand 220 moves in the first control mode in the containers 140a and 140b. (Holding position Ph) and a second section (position P003 to position P008, position 01 to position P001) that moves in the second control mode outside the containers 140a and 140b.” at Para. [00138].).
As per claim 10, Akito and Tei disclose a handling system according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to perform, in the holding mode, mechanical control for controlling the motion of the holder on the basis of a mechanical physical quantity acting on the holder (Akito at Figures 4-6 and Para. [0138] discloses performing a holding mode to grip an object:” controlling the hand 220 in the first control mode in which the force is controlled, it is possible to improve the degree of integration and the protection, and the object 10 and the hand 220 can be connected to other objects.”).
As per claim 11, Akito and Tei disclose a handling system according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to: set a movement speed of the holder to a first movement speed in the movement mode, and set the movement speed of the holder to a second movement speed lower than the first movement speed in the intermediate mode (Akito in Paragraphs [0049] and [0058] indicates that when there is a risk of interference or collision or when the probability is comparatively high, the speed should be reduced, and therefore, by exercising normal creative abilities, a person skilled in the art could have set the speed to be highest in the second interval, lowest in the first interval, and at an intermediate speed in the third interval as appropriate in consideration of the possibility of interference and/or collision in the first to third intervals.).
As per claim 12, Akito and Tei disclose a handling system according to claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to set the movement speed of the holder to a third movement speed lower than the second movement speed in the holding mode (Akito at Para. [0068] discloses a stop speed; at Para. [0121] a lower speed; and Para. [0118] which in combination with Paras [0049] & [0058] suggest that when there is a risk of interference or collision or when the probability is comparatively high, the speed should be reduced, and therefore, by exercising normal creative abilities, a person skilled in the art could have set the speed to be highest in the second interval, lowest in the first interval, and at an intermediate speed in the third interval as appropriate in consideration of the possibility of interference and/or collision in the first to third intervals.).
As per claim 13, Akito discloses an information processing system for generating a motion plan of a holder having a main body operable to hold an object (Akito at Figure 6, segments of paths from supply to destination container, and Para. [0049] discloses generation of a motion plan:” the motion plan generation unit 106 generates robot motion information from the current position of the manipulator 200 to the gripping position Ph and the gripping posture. For the generation of the robot operation information, for example, a high-speed operation is selected in a region where there is no risk of interference or collision between the manipulator 200 and an object other than the target object 10 or a relatively low probability.”) and , the information processing system comprising
a processor, wherein the processor is configured (Akito at Figure 4, integration unit 101, and Para. [0092] discloses an integration unit to manage operations of the robot arm and hand:” integration unit 101 issues a compensation execution instruction as management information to the management unit 107d2 when the hand 220 reaches a position where the hand 220 acquires the gravity compensation value, such as the position P006, the position P007, and the position P000 described above.”) to:
plan a movement route of the holder (Akito at Figure 6 and Para. [0030] discloses planning and executing a route plan for moving an object:” process of calculating a route and a waypoint that can move to the release position Pr and the release posture without a necessary portion interfering with the surrounding environment is executed. The release plan generation unit 105 is an example of a plan generation unit.”),
determine the presence or absence of physical interference of the holder on at least a part of the planned movement route (Akito at Figure 6, object movement, and Para. [0078] discloses determining physical interference, which as defined in the instant application includes a “collision”, with other objects in the course of a movement operation:” the presence or absence of collision between the hand 220 and the surrounding environment can be detected based on the detection value of the force sensor 310 at an arbitrary position on the path of the hand 220 shown in FIG.”), and as to a specific segment included in the planned movement route (Akito at Para [0078] discloses portioning a path into segments (sections) and determining a possibility of collision during movement:” in a section from the position P005 or the position P006 to the position P000 via the release position Pr ′, the camera 321 can take an image of the inside of the container 140a without the hand 220 or the object 10 becoming an obstacle [ …] the presence or absence of collision between the hand 220 and the surrounding environment can be detected”.),
determine the presence or absence of physical interference of the main body and permit physical interference of the interference permitter (Akito at Para. [0029] discloses physical interference with an object by causing the manipulator or permitting the multi-finger to grasp an object for moving:” grip plan generation unit 104 includes a method of gripping the target object 10 by the manipulator 200, a grip position Ph and a grip position, and a route and a via point at which a necessary portion can move to the grip position Ph and the grip position without interfering with the surrounding environment.”).
Akito does not explicitly disclose an interference permitter displaceably or deformably attached to the main body movable body 128 illustrated in Figure 2 where it can interfere, more like deformed, when force is applied by the fingers (124 at Figure 2) when grasping or pinching an object for moving. See Paras. [0052]-[0054] of the instant application for the function of the interference permitter movable body 128.
Tei in the same field of endeavor discloses an elastic member as a part of a multi-finger holder that deforms when an opening / closing force is applied to an object to be held by a robotic hand. See Figures 4, 9-10, and 13 with Abstract.
In particular Tei discloses . an interference permitter displaceably or deformably attached to the main body (Tei at Figure 10, gripping contact portion 35, and Para. [0042] discloses how the contact portion 35 or interference permitter deforms when pressed against an object/article W:” the gripping force of the finger portions 2a and 2b is sufficiently increased, and the article W is gripped in a state where the gripping contact portion 35 is elastically deformed. Since the peripheral portion of the gripping contact portion 35 has a large friction coefficient, both the rotational direction and the translational direction are restrained, and the article W is gripped completely.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the gripping contact portion taught in Tei in the article handling system in Akito with a reasonable expectation of success because as the grip force is increased a protrusions, like protrusion 35, is caused to deform thereby constraining both the translation and rotation directions of the applied force. The teaching suggestion/motivation to combine is that by adding a protrusion to at least one of the fingers of the robotic hand, the posture of the article or object can be improved as taught by Tei at Paras. [0016] & [0043].
As per claim 14, Akito discloses an information processing system for generating a motion plan of a holder having a main body operable to hold an object (Akito at Figure 6, segments of paths from supply to destination container, and Para. [0049] discloses generation of a motion plan:” the motion plan generation unit 106 generates robot motion information from the current position of the manipulator 200 to the gripping position Ph and the gripping posture. For the generation of the robot operation information, for example, a high-speed operation is selected in a region where there is no risk of interference or collision between the manipulator 200 and an object other than the target object 10 or a relatively low probability.”) and , the information processing system comprising :
a calculator configured (Akito at Figure 4, integration unit 101, and Para. [0092] discloses an integration unit to manage operations of the robot arm and hand:” integration unit 101 issues a compensation execution instruction as management information to the management unit 107d2 when the hand 220 reaches a position where the hand 220 acquires the gravity compensation value, such as the position P006, the position P007, and the position P000 described above.”) to plan control content of the holder on the basis of a plan of a movement route of the holder (Akito at Figure 6 and Para. [0030] discloses planning and executing a route plan for moving an object:” process of calculating a route and a waypoint that can move to the release position Pr and the release posture without a necessary portion interfering with the surrounding environment is executed. The release plan generation unit 105 is an example of a plan generation unit.”), wherein the calculator is configured to:
determine the presence or absence of physical interference of the holder on at least a part of the planned movement route (Akito at Figure 6, object movement, and Para. [0078] discloses determining physical interference, which as defined in the instant application includes a “collision”, with other objects in the course of a movement operation:” the presence or absence of collision between the hand 220 and the surrounding environment can be detected based on the detection value of the force sensor 310 at an arbitrary position on the path of the hand 220 shown in FIG.”), and as to a specific segment included in the planned movement route (Akito at Para [0078] discloses portioning a path into segments (sections) and determining a possibility of collision during movement:” in a section from the position P005 or the position P006 to the position P000 via the release position Pr ′, the camera 321 can take an image of the inside of the container 140a without the hand 220 or the object 10 becoming an obstacle [ …] the presence or absence of collision between the hand 220 and the surrounding environment can be detected”.),
determine the presence or absence of physical interference of the main body and permit physical interference of the interference permitter (Akito at Para. [0029] discloses physical interference with an object by causing the manipulator or permitting the multi-finger to grasp an object for moving:” grip plan generation unit 104 includes a method of gripping the target object 10 by the manipulator 200, a grip position Ph and a grip position, and a route and a via point at which a necessary portion can move to the grip position Ph and the grip position without interfering with the surrounding environment.”).
Akito does not explicitly disclose an interference permitter displaceably or deformably attached to the main body movable body 128 illustrated in Figure 2 where it can interfere, more like deformed, when force is applied by the fingers (124 at Figure 2) when grasping or pinching an object for moving. See Paras. [0052]-[0054] of the instant application for the function of the interference permitter movable body 128.
Tei in the same field of endeavor discloses an elastic member as a part of a multi-finger holder that deforms when an opening / closing force is applied to an object to be held by a robotic hand. See Figures 4, 9-10, and 13 with Abstract.
In particular Tei discloses . an interference permitter displaceably or deformably attached to the main body (Tei at Figure 10, gripping contact portion 35, and Para. [0042] discloses how the contact portion 35 or interference permitter deforms when pressed against an object/article W:” the gripping force of the finger portions 2a and 2b is sufficiently increased, and the article W is gripped in a state where the gripping contact portion 35 is elastically deformed. Since the peripheral portion of the gripping contact portion 35 has a large friction coefficient, both the rotational direction and the translational direction are restrained, and the article W is gripped completely.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the gripping contact portion taught in Tei in the article handling system in Akito with a reasonable expectation of success because as the grip force is increased a protrusions, like protrusion 35, is caused to deform thereby constraining both the translation and rotation directions of the applied force. The teaching suggestion/motivation to combine is that by adding a protrusion to at least one of the fingers of the robotic hand, the posture of the article or object can be improved as taught by Tei at Paras. [0016] & [0043].
As per claim 15, Akito and Tei disclose an information processing system according to claim 14, further comprising a plan preparer configured to generate models of the holder and the object (Akito at Figure 5, procedure executed by the control device 100 to grip, move, and release the object 10, and Figure 6, path of the tool center point Pc of the hand 220 during the picking operation, and Paras. [0063]-[0081] describing the control and movement of the holder as illustrated in Figure 6 fir displacing an object from an initial state to a destination location.), wherein the calculator plans a movement route for the model of the holder to hold the model of the object (Akito at Para [0078] discloses portioning a path into segments (sections) and determining a possibility of collision during movement:” in a section from the position P005 or the position P006 to the position P000 via the release position Pr ′, the camera 321 can take an image of the inside of the container 140a without the hand 220 or the object 10 becoming an obstacle [ …] the presence or absence of collision between the hand 220 and the surrounding environment can be detected”.).
As per claim 16, Akito discloses an information processing method to be executed by a processor of a computer (Figure 5), the information processing method comprising a route planning step and an interference determination step (Akito at Figure 6 and Para. [0030] discloses planning and executing a route plan for moving an object:” process of calculating a route and a waypoint that can move to the release position Pr and the release posture without a necessary portion interfering with the surrounding environment is executed. The release plan generation unit 105 is an example of a plan generation unit.”), wherein the route planning step includes planning a movement route of a holder having a main body operable to hold an object(Akito at Figure 5, procedure executed by the control device 100 to grip, move, and release the object 10, and Figure 6, path of the tool center point Pc of the hand 220 during the picking operation, and Paras. [0063]-[0081] describing the control and movement of the holder as illustrated in Figure 6 fir displacing an object from an initial state to a destination location.) and , and wherein the interference determination step includes determining the presence or absence of physical interference of the holder on at least a part of the planned movement route (Akito at Figure 6, object movement, and Para. [0078] discloses determining physical interference, which as defined in the instant application includes a “collision”, with other objects in the course of a movement operation:” the presence or absence of collision between the hand 220 and the surrounding environment can be detected based on the detection value of the force sensor 310 at an arbitrary position on the path of the hand 220 shown in FIG.”) , and
as to a specific segment included in the planned movement route, determine the presence or absence of physical interference of the main body (Akito at Para [0078] discloses portioning a path into segments (sections) and determining a possibility of collision during movement:” in a section from the position P005 or the position P006 to the position P000 via the release position Pr ′, the camera 321 can take an image of the inside of the container 140a without the hand 220 or the object 10 becoming an obstacle [ …] the presence or absence of collision between the hand 220 and the surrounding environment can be detected”.) and permit physical interference of the interference permitter (Akito at Para. [0029] discloses physical interference with an object by causing the manipulator or permitting the multi-finger to grasp an object for moving:” grip plan generation unit 104 includes a method of gripping the target object 10 by the manipulator 200, a grip position Ph and a grip position, and a route and a via point at which a necessary portion can move to the grip position Ph and the grip position without interfering with the surrounding environment.”).
Akito does not explicitly disclose an interference permitter displaceably or deformably attached to the main body movable body 128 illustrated in Figure 2 where it can interfere, more like deformed, when force is applied by the fingers (124 at Figure 2) when grasping or pinching an object for moving. See Paras. [0052]-[0054] of the instant application for the function of the interference permitter movable body 128.
Tei in the same field of endeavor discloses an elastic member as a part of a multi-finger holder that deforms when an opening / closing force is applied to an object to be held by a robotic hand. See Figures 4, 9-10, and 13 with Abstract.
In particular Tei discloses . an interference permitter displaceably or deformably attached to the main body (Tei at Figure 10, gripping contact portion 35, and Para. [0042] discloses how the contact portion 35 or interference permitter deforms when pressed against an object/article W:” the gripping force of the finger portions 2a and 2b is sufficiently increased, and the article W is gripped in a state where the gripping contact portion 35 is elastically deformed. Since the peripheral portion of the gripping contact portion 35 has a large friction coefficient, both the rotational direction and the translational direction are restrained, and the article W is gripped completely.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the gripping contact portion taught in Tei in the article handling system in Akito with a reasonable expectation of success because as the grip force is increased a protrusions, like protrusion 35, is caused to deform thereby constraining both the translation and rotation directions of the applied force. The teaching suggestion/motivation to combine is that by adding a protrusion to at least one of the fingers of the robotic hand, the posture of the article or object can be improved as taught by Tei at Paras. [0016] & [0043].
As to claim 17, Akito discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a processor of a computer to execute an information processing method (Figure 3, database 120 having a program (application) stored in a recording medium (storage medium) such as a ROM, an HDD, an SSD, and a flash memory.), the information processing method comprising
a route planning step and an interference determination step (Akito at Figure 6 and Para. [0030] discloses planning and executing a route plan for moving an object:” process of calculating a route and a waypoint that can move to the release position Pr and the release posture without a necessary portion interfering with the surrounding environment is executed. The release plan generation unit 105 is an example of a plan generation unit.”), wherein the route planning step includes planning a movement route of a holder having a main body operable to hold an object(Akito at Figure 5, procedure executed by the control device 100 to grip, move, and release the object 10, and Figure 6, path of the tool center point Pc of the hand 220 during the picking operation, and Paras. [0063]-[0081] describing the control and movement of the holder as illustrated in Figure 6 fir displacing an object from an initial state to a destination location.) and , and wherein the interference determination step includes determining the presence or absence of physical interference of the holder on at least a part of the planned movement route (Akito at Figure 6, object movement, and Para. [0078] discloses determining physical interference, which as defined in the instant application includes a “collision”, with other objects in the course of a movement operation:” the presence or absence of collision between the hand 220 and the surrounding environment can be detected based on the detection value of the force sensor 310 at an arbitrary position on the path of the hand 220 shown in FIG.”) , and
as to a specific segment included in the planned movement route, determine the presence or absence of physical interference of the main body (Akito at Para [0078] discloses portioning a path into segments (sections) and determining a possibility of collision during movement:” in a section from the position P005 or the position P006 to the position P000 via the release position Pr ′, the camera 321 can take an image of the inside of the container 140a without the hand 220 or the object 10 becoming an obstacle [ …] the presence or absence of collision between the hand 220 and the surrounding environment can be detected”.) and permit physical interference of the interference permitter (Akito at Para. [0029] discloses physical interference with an object by causing the manipulator or permitting the multi-finger to grasp an object for moving:” grip plan generation unit 104 includes a method of gripping the target object 10 by the manipulator 200, a grip position Ph and a grip position, and a route and a via point at which a necessary portion can move to the grip position Ph and the grip position without interfering with the surrounding environment.”).
Akito does not explicitly disclose an interference permitter displaceably or deformably attached to the main body movable body 128 illustrated in Figure 2 where it can interfere, more like deformed, when force is applied by the fingers (124 at Figure 2) when grasping or pinching an object for moving. See Paras. [0052]-[0054] of the instant application for the function of the interference permitter movable body 128.
Tei in the same field of endeavor discloses an elastic member as a part of a multi-finger holder that deforms when an opening / closing force is applied to an object to be held by a robotic hand. See Figures 4, 9-10, and 13 with Abstract.
In particular Tei discloses . an interference permitter displaceably or deformably attached to the main body (Tei at Figure 10, gripping contact portion 35, and Para. [0042] discloses how the contact portion 35 or interference permitter deforms when pressed against an object/article W:” the gripping force of the finger portions 2a and 2b is sufficiently increased, and the article W is gripped in a state where the gripping contact portion 35 is elastically deformed. Since the peripheral portion of the gripping contact portion 35 has a large friction coefficient, both the rotational direction and the translational direction are restrained, and the article W is gripped completely.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the gripping contact portion taught in Tei in the article handling system in Akito with a reasonable expectation of success because as the grip force is increased a protrusions, like protrusion 35, is caused to deform thereby constraining both the translation and rotation directions of the applied force. The teaching suggestion/motivation to combine is that by adding a protrusion to at least one of the fingers of the robotic hand, the posture of the article or object can be improved as taught by Tei at Paras. [0016] & [0043].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tadanori SUZUKI (US-20190351549-A1) discloses a robot system having a robot arm, a hand, and a range sensor that acquires information about a distance to a workpiece. Claw parts of the hand include grip regions having a shape for gripping the workpiece.
Downs et al (US-20020117380-A1) discloses a gripper apparatus for grasping an object such as a specimen holder. The gripper apparatus comprises two arms. See Figure 2.
YOSHINAO SODEYAMA (US-20230241767-A1) discloses a robot hand includes a first finger and a second finger of which finger pad surfaces are opposed to each other. The control device includes: a target object determining unit that is configured to be able to determine a target object; an operation mode selector that is configured to be able to select an operation mode between a first operation mode and a second operation mode in accordance with the target object determined by the target object determining unit. See Figure 1.
HARUHISA et al (JP-3843319-B2) discloses a tactile interface having a wide operation space, capable of presenting a heavy feeling of a virtual object, and making an operator feel no sense of oppression and heavy feeling of a device. See Figure 1.
Koji et al (WO-2018092860-A1) discloses an interference avoidance device, which allows a tool part to avoid interfering with peripheral devices. See Figure 2 & 25.
SUZUKI HIROYUKI (JP-2001105374-A) discloses a test tube carrying device abutment parts abutting on the test tube are installed to the lower end of holding finger body parts rotatably around rotary shafts . When a holding finger drive part closes the holding finger body parts , the abutment parts come into contact with the side face of the tapered test tube, then the abutment parts follow the side face of the test tube and rotate in accordance with closing operation of the holding finger body parts . See Figure 1.
KAZUNARI et al (JP-2010201538-A) discloses a multi-finger hand for gripping the object includes a control means for controlling a driving section according to a detection result obtained by detecting a position relative to the object disposed at a finger section; and a means for adjusting the state of contact between a fingertip and the object. In the multi-finger hand, at least two pressure sensitive elements are disposed at a distal end portion of the finger section. See Abstract and Figure 1.
FUGINAGA et al (JP-6633209-B2) discloses a robot 1 that varies the application of an offset value according to the presence or absence of the attachment part 15 and when the attachment part 15 is attached, the robot cancels the interference and completes the execution of the motion when detecting the interference between the parts when executing the motion. See Figures 1-4.
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3658