DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed with respect to the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the Amendment. Accordingly, the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument in pages 10-12, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that the disclosures of DING and Hangzhou do not constitute a teaching away from the combination because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed. In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201,73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See MPEP 2145. Moreover, it should be noted that a reference "teaches away" when it states that something cannot be done. See In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 553, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1130 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
In response to applicant's argument in page 11, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that DING teaches the first heat exchanger unit further comprising a first header (20), which is connected and in fluid communication with the first heat exchange tube of the second heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit (see in Figures 12, 13 and cf. Figure 14 where DING teaches each of the two first heat exchanger units further comprises a first header (20: i.e. one on the left and one on the right as shown in Figures 12 and 13) or in Figures 5, 6, and 8-11 and cf. Figure 14 where DING teaches the first heat exchanger unit further comprises two first headers (20), one is connected to 13 and the other is connected to 11). Furthermore, with respect to Applicant’s argument regarding the intended use of DING’s section (11), Examiner notes that such argument is irrelevant since DING’s section (11) reads on the structure as claimed and is thus capable of being employed in the manner argued.
Therefore, the previous rejection is maintained, modified as necessitated by Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-15, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DING (CN219347480U: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner) in view of Hangzhou (CN-104949394-B: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, DING teaches a heat exchanger, comprising:
at least one of a first heat exchanger unit and a second heat exchanger unit, the heat exchanger having a V-shaped or inverted V-shaped shape (see in Figures 5, 6, and 8-13 where DING teaches two of a first heat exchanger unit having a V-shaped or inverted V-shaped shape (i.e. Figures 5, 6, and 8-11) and one of a first heat exchanger unit having a V-shaped or inverted V-shaped shape (i.e. Figures 12 and 13)),
the first heat exchanger unit (see Figures 5, 6, and 8-11) comprising:
a first heat exchanger core segment (13) and a second heat exchanger core segment (11) arranged side by side in a first direction of the first heat exchanger unit (see Figures 5, 6, and 8-11), and a heat exchanger core connection segment (12) connecting the first heat exchanger core segment (13) of the first heat exchanger unit and the second heat exchanger core segment (11) of the first heat exchanger unit, the first heat exchanger core segment (13) of the first heat exchanger unit and the second heat exchanger core segment (11) of the first heat exchanger unit comprising a first heat exchange tube (10) and a first fin (30) arranged alternately in a second direction of the first heat exchanger unit perpendicular to the first direction of the first heat exchanger unit (see Figures 14 and 15), a size of the first heat exchanger core segment (13) of the first heat exchanger unit in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction of the first heat exchanger unit and the second direction of the first heat exchanger unit is larger than or equal to that of the second heat exchanger core segment (11) of the first heat exchanger unit in the third direction of the first heat exchanger unit (see Figures 5, 6, and 8-11 where the size of 13 is larger than the size of 11); the first heat exchanger unit further comprising a first header (20), which is connected and in fluid communication with the first heat exchange tube of the second heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit (see in Figures 12, 13 and cf. Figure 14 where DING teaches each of the two first heat exchanger units further comprises a first header (20: i.e. one on the left and one on the right as shown in Figures 12 and 13) or in Figures 5, 6, and 8-11 and cf. Figure 14 where DING teaches the first heat exchanger unit further comprises two first headers (20), one is connected to 13 and the other is connected to 11); and
the second heat exchanger unit comprising: a first heat exchanger core segment, a second heat exchanger core segment and a third heat exchanger core segment, the first heat exchanger core segment and the third heat exchanger core segment being arranged side by side with the second heat exchanger core segment in a first direction of the second heat exchanger unit, respectively; a first heat exchanger core connection segment connecting the first heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit and the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit; and a second heat exchanger core connection segment connecting the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit and the third heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit, each of the first heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit, the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit and the third heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit comprising a second heat exchange tube and a second fin arranged alternately in a second direction of the second heat exchanger unit perpendicular to the first direction of the second heat exchanger unit, a size of the first heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction of the second heat exchanger unit and the second direction of the second heat exchanger unit is smaller than or equal to that of the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit in the third direction of the second heat exchanger unit, and a size of the third heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit in the third direction of the second heat exchanger unit is smaller than or equal to that of the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit in the third direction of the second heat exchanger unit (Examiner notes that the above limitations linked to the second heat exchanger unit is optional in view of “at least one of a first heat exchanger unit and a second heat exchanger unit”. Therefore, it’s not required to be taught by the prior art).
DING does not teach that the second heat exchanger core segment (11) comprises a first fin.
However, it’s old and well known in the art for heat exchangers to have two core segments comprising fins in both core segments, as evidenced by Hangzhou, see Hangzhou’s Figures 2 and 3 where the heat exchanger comprises two core segments comprising heat exchange tubes (2) and fins (3) in both core segments.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the second heat exchanger core segment of DING with fins, since as evidenced by Hangzhou, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of increasing the heat dissipation rate.
Regarding claim 2, DING as modified further teaches wherein the heat exchanger comprises two first heat exchanger units, which are oppositely arranged in a first direction of the heat exchanger to form a V-shaped or inverted V-shaped shape (see in Figures 5, 6, and 8-13 where DING teaches two first heat exchanger unit having a V-shaped or inverted V-shaped shape).
Regarding claim 3, DING as modified further teaches wherein the heat exchanger core connection segments (12) of the two first heat exchanger units are positioned on a side of the heat exchanger in a second direction of the heat exchanger, the second direction of the heat exchanger being perpendicular to the first direction of the heat exchanger and being the up and down direction of the heat exchanger (see in Figures 5, 6, and 8-11 where DING teaches 12 of the two first heat exchanger units are on a side of the heat exchanger in a second direction (i.e. the up and down direction of the heat exchanger)).
Regarding claim 4, DING as modified further teaches wherein the heat exchanger core connection segments of the two first heat exchanger units are positioned on the lower side of the heat exchanger (see in Figures 5, 6, and 8-11 where DING teaches 12 of the two first heat exchanger units are positioned on the lower side of the heat exchanger).
Regarding claim 5, DING as modified further teaches wherein the heat exchanger core connection segments (12) of the two first heat exchanger units are positioned on a side of the heat exchanger in a third direction (up and down direction as shown in Figure 6) of the heat exchanger, the third direction of the heat exchanger being perpendicular to the first direction of the heat exchanger and a second direction of the heat exchanger, the second direction of the heat exchanger being perpendicular to the first direction of the heat exchanger and being the up and down direction of the heat exchanger (see in Figure 6 where DING teaches 12 of the two first heat exchanger units are positioned on a third direction (i.e. the lower side of the heat exchanger)).
Regarding claim 6, DING as modified further teaches wherein in the first direction (left and right direction as shown in Figures 5, 6, and 8-11) of the heat exchanger, each of the second heat exchanger core segments of the two first heat exchanger units is positioned on an inner or outer side of the first heat exchanger core segments of the two first heat exchanger units (see in Figures 5, 6, and 8-11 where DING teaches each of 11 of the two first heat exchanger units are positioned on the lower side of the heat exchanger is positioned on an inner or outer side of 13).
Regarding claim 7, DING as modified further teaches wherein the first heat exchanger unit comprises: two first headers comprising a one first header and an other first header, the other first header is the first header which is connected and in fluid communication with the first heat exchange tube of the second heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit, the one first header is connected and in fluid communication with the first heat exchange tube of the first heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit on a side of the first heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit away from the heat exchanger core connection segment of the first heat exchanger unit in a third direction (up and down direction as shown in Figures 5, 6, and 8-11) of the first heat exchanger unit, and the other first header is on a side of the second heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit away from the heat exchanger core connection segment of the first heat exchanger unit in the third direction of the first heat exchanger unit (see in Figures 5, 6, and 8-11 and cf. Figure 14 where DING teaches the first heat exchanger unit comprises two first headers (20), one is connected to 13 and the other is connected to 11) .
Regarding claim 8, DING as modified further teaches wherein the two first heat exchanger units form an inverted V-shaped shape, the heat exchanger core connection segments of the two first heat exchanger units being positioned on the lower side of the heat exchanger (see in Figures 8-11 where DING teaches the two first heat exchanger units form an inverted V-shaped shape where the heat exchanger core connection segments (12) being positioned on the lower side), the one first header, which is connected with the first heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit, of each of the two first heat exchanger units is used for heat exchange medium to flow out of the first heat exchanger unit, and the other first header, which is connected with the second heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit, of each of the two first heat exchanger units is used for the heat exchange medium to flow into the first heat exchanger unit (Examiner notes that the recitations of “the one first header, which is connected with the first heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit, of each of the two first heat exchanger units is used for heat exchange medium to flow out of the first heat exchanger unit, and the other first header, which is connected with the second heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit, of each of the two first heat exchanger units is used for the heat exchange medium to flow into the first heat exchanger unit” are considered to be statements of intended use. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114(II). In the instant case, DING in view of Hangzhou discloses all of the structural limitations as claimed and is thus capable of being employed in the manner claimed).
Regarding claim 9, DING as modified further teaches wherein the two first heat exchanger units form a V-shaped shape, the heat exchanger core connection segments of the two first heat exchanger units being positioned on the lower side of the heat exchanger (see in Figures 5 and 6 where DING teaches the two first heat exchanger units form an inverted V-shaped shape where the heat exchanger core connection segments (12) being positioned on the lower side), the one first header, which is connected with the first heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit, of each of the two first heat exchanger units is used for heat exchange medium to flow into the first heat exchanger unit, and the other first header, which is connected with the second heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit, of each of the two first heat exchanger units is used for the heat exchange medium to flow out of the first heat exchanger unit (Examiner notes that the recitations of “the one first header, which is connected with the first heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit, of each of the two first heat exchanger units is used for heat exchange medium to flow into the first heat exchanger unit, and the other first header, which is connected with the second heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit, of each of the two first heat exchanger units is used for the heat exchange medium to flow out of the first heat exchanger unit” are considered to be statements of intended use. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114(II). In the instant case, DING in view of Hangzhou discloses all of the structural limitations as claimed and is thus capable of being employed in the manner claimed).
Regarding claim 10, DING as modified further teaches wherein the heat exchanger further comprises a heat exchanger connection segment connecting the first heat exchanger core segments of the two first heat exchanger units (see Figures 12 and 13 where DING teaches a heat exchanger connection segment (i.e. upper corner connection segment as shown in Figure 12 and 13 ) that is connecting both first heat exchanger units), the heat exchanger core connection segment of each of the two first heat exchanger units being positioned on a side of the first heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit away from the heat exchanger connection segment in the third direction of the first heat exchanger unit (see Figures 12 and 13 where DING teaches the heat exchanger core connection segment of each of the two first heat exchanger units being positioned on upper side away from 12).
Regarding claim 11, DING as modified further teaches wherein the two first heat exchanger units and the heat exchanger connection segment are formed by bending one flat heat exchanger (see Figures 12 and 13: Examiner notes that the recitation " the two first heat exchanger units and the heat exchanger connection segment are formed by bending one flat heat exchanger " is considered product-by-process limitation. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113)).
Regarding claim 13, DING as modified further teaches wherein the two first heat exchanger units form an inverted V-shaped shape (see Figures 12 and 13 where the two first heat exchanger units form an inverted V-shaped shape from upside-down point of view), the heat exchanger core connection segments of the two first heat exchanger units being positioned on the lower side of the heat exchanger (as seen from upside-down point of view of Figures 12 and 13, the heat exchanger core connection segments would be on the lower side), the first header of one of the two first heat exchanger units is used for heat exchange medium to flow into the two first heat exchanger units, and the first header of the other of the two first heat exchanger units is used for the heat exchange medium to flow out of the two first heat exchanger units (Examiner notes that the recitations of “the first header of one of the two first heat exchanger units is used for heat exchange medium to flow into the two first heat exchanger units, and the first header of the other of the two first heat exchanger units is used for the heat exchange medium to flow out of the two first heat exchanger units” are considered to be statements of intended use. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114(II). In the instant case, DING in view of Hangzhou discloses all of the structural limitations as claimed and is thus capable of being employed in the manner claimed).
Regarding claim 14, DING as modified further teaches wherein the heat exchanger comprises one first heat exchanger unit (right unit of 13: see Figures 12 and 13), and the heat exchanger further comprises: one third heat exchanger unit (left unit of 13: see Figures 12 and 13) having a flat shape and including a heat exchanger core (see Figures 12 and 13 where left unit of 13 has a flat shape, at least from one point of view, and includes a heat exchanger core 13), and a heat exchanger connection segment (i.e. upper corner connection segment as shown in Figure 12 and 13 ) connecting the first heat exchanger core segment of the one first heat exchanger unit and the heat exchanger core of the one third heat exchanger unit (see Figures 12 and 13 where 13 of the left and right units are connected to each other via the upper corner connection segment), wherein the one first heat exchanger unit and the one third heat exchanger unit are oppositely arranged in a first direction of the heat exchanger to form a V-shaped or inverted V-shaped shape (see Figure 12 and 13), the heat exchanger core connection segment (12 of the right unit of 13) of the first heat exchanger unit being positioned on a side of the first heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit away from the heat exchanger connection segment in the third direction of the first heat exchanger unit (see Figure 12 and 13 where 12 of the right unit of 13 is positioned on lower side of 13 away from the upper corner connection segment ), and the one first heat exchanger unit, the one third heat exchanger unit, and the heat exchanger connection segment are formed by bending one flat heat exchanger (see Figures 12 and 13: Examiner notes that the recitation " the one first heat exchanger unit, the one third heat exchanger unit, and the heat exchanger connection segment are formed by bending one flat heat exchanger " is considered product-by-process limitation. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113)).
Regarding claim 15, DING as modified further teaches wherein in the first direction of the heat exchanger, the second heat exchanger core segments (11) of the two first heat exchanger units are positioned on the outer side of the first heat exchanger core segments (13) of the two first heat exchanger units (see in Figures 6, 8, and 12 where DING teaches the second heat exchanger core segments (11) are positioned on the outer side of the first heat exchanger core segments (13)).
Regarding claim 25, DING as modified further teaches wherein at least one of the first heat exchanger unit and the second heat exchanger unit is formed by bending one flat heat exchanger (see Figures 12 and 13: Examiner notes that the recitation " wherein at least one of the first heat exchanger unit and the second heat exchanger unit is formed by bending one flat heat exchanger " is considered product-by-process limitation. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113)).
Claims 1 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DING (CN219347480U: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner) in view of WANG (CN201945091U: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, DING teaches a heat exchanger, comprising:
at least one of a first heat exchanger unit and a second heat exchanger unit, the heat exchanger having a V-shaped or inverted V-shaped shape (see in Figures 5, 6, and 8-13 where DING teaches two of a first heat exchanger unit having a V-shaped or inverted V-shaped shape (i.e. Figures 5, 6, and 8-11) and one of a first heat exchanger unit having a V-shaped or inverted V-shaped shape (i.e. Figures 12 and 13)),
the first heat exchanger unit (see Figures 5, 6, and 8-11) comprising:
a first heat exchanger core segment (13) and a second heat exchanger core segment (11) arranged side by side in a first direction of the first heat exchanger unit (see Figures 5, 6, and 8-11), and a heat exchanger core connection segment (12) connecting the first heat exchanger core segment (13) of the first heat exchanger unit and the second heat exchanger core segment (11) of the first heat exchanger unit, the first heat exchanger core segment (13) of the first heat exchanger unit and the second heat exchanger core segment (11) of the first heat exchanger unit comprising a first heat exchange tube (10) and a first fin (30) arranged alternately in a second direction of the first heat exchanger unit perpendicular to the first direction of the first heat exchanger unit (see Figures 14 and 15), a size of the first heat exchanger core segment (13) of the first heat exchanger unit in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction of the first heat exchanger unit and the second direction of the first heat exchanger unit is larger than or equal to that of the second heat exchanger core segment (11) of the first heat exchanger unit in the third direction of the first heat exchanger unit (see Figures 5, 6, and 8-11 where the size of 13 is larger than the size of 11); the first heat exchanger unit further comprising a first header (20), which is connected and in fluid communication with the first heat exchange tube of the second heat exchanger core segment of the first heat exchanger unit (see in Figures 12, 13 and cf. Figure 14 where DING teaches each of the two first heat exchanger units further comprises a first header (20: i.e. one on the left and one on the right as shown in Figures 12 and 13) or in Figures 5, 6, and 8-11 and cf. Figure 14 where DING teaches the first heat exchanger unit further comprises two first headers (20), one is connected to 13 and the other is connected to 11).
.
DING does not teach that the second heat exchanger core segment (11) comprises a first fin and the second heat exchanger unit comprising: a first heat exchanger core segment, a second heat exchanger core segment and a third heat exchanger core segment, the first heat exchanger core segment and the third heat exchanger core segment being arranged side by side with the second heat exchanger core segment in a first direction of the second heat exchanger unit, respectively; a first heat exchanger core connection segment connecting the first heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit and the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit; and a second heat exchanger core connection segment connecting the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit and the third heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit, each of the first heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit, the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit and the third heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit comprising a second heat exchange tube and a second fin arranged alternately in a second direction of the second heat exchanger unit perpendicular to the first direction of the second heat exchanger unit, a size of the first heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction of the second heat exchanger unit and the second direction of the second heat exchanger unit is smaller than or equal to that of the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit in the third direction of the second heat exchanger unit, and a size of the third heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit in the third direction of the second heat exchanger unit is smaller than or equal to that of the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit in the third direction of the second heat exchanger unit.
However, it’s old and well known in the art for heat exchangers to have two or more core segments comprising fins in all core segments, as evidenced by WANG, see WANG’s Figures 1-3 and 5-3 where the heat exchanger comprises two or more core segments (1’, 2’, 3’, and 4’: see Figures 1-3) comprising heat exchange tubes (13) and fins (14) in all core segments. Moreover, having the second heat exchanger unit, as claimed above, would merely require a duplication of the heat exchanger core segments to be three core segments. Furthermore, it’s old and well known in the art to have DING’s heat exchanger type with two, three, or four core segments, as evidenced by WANG, see WANG’s Figures 1-3 and 5-3 where the heat exchanger comprises two or more core segments (1’, 2’, 3’, and 4’: see Figures 1-3) where each core segment comprises heat exchange tubes (13) and fins (14: see Figure 5-3).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the heat exchanger of DING with fins and second heat exchanger unit comprising: a first heat exchanger core segment, a second heat exchanger core segment and a third heat exchanger core segment, the first heat exchanger core segment and the third heat exchanger core segment being arranged side by side with the second heat exchanger core segment in a first direction of the second heat exchanger unit, respectively; a first heat exchanger core connection segment connecting the first heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit and the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit; and a second heat exchanger core connection segment connecting the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit and the third heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit, each of the first heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit, the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit and the third heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit comprising a second heat exchange tube and a second fin arranged alternately in a second direction of the second heat exchanger unit perpendicular to the first direction of the second heat exchanger unit, a size of the first heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction of the second heat exchanger unit and the second direction of the second heat exchanger unit is smaller than or equal to that of the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit in the third direction of the second heat exchanger unit, and a size of the third heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit in the third direction of the second heat exchanger unit is smaller than or equal to that of the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit in the third direction of the second heat exchanger unit, since as evidenced by WANG, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of increasing the heat dissipation rate by increasing the heat transfer area.
Regarding claim 26, DING as modified further teaches wherein an angle (a1 of DING: see Figure 7) between the first heat exchanger core segment (13 of DING) of the first heat exchanger unit and the second heat exchanger core segment (11 of DING) of the first heat exchanger unit is in the range of 0 to 45 degrees (see DING’s Figures 5, 6, and 8-11) ; and an angle (a1 of DING) between the first heat exchanger core segment (1’ of WANG: see WANG’s Figure 2) of the second heat exchanger unit and the second heat exchanger core segment (2’ of WANG) of the second heat exchanger unit is in the range of 0 to 45 degrees, and an angle (a1 of DING) between the third heat exchanger core segment (3’ of WANG) of the second heat exchanger unit and the second heat exchanger core segment (2’ of WANG) of the second heat exchanger unit is in the range of 0 to 45 degrees (Examiner notes that angle (a1) of DING is in the range of 0 to 45 degrees. Therefore, duplicating DING’s core segments would necessitate to have the angles between (1’ & 2’ of WANG) and between (3’ & 2’ of WANG) in the range of 0 to 45 degrees).
Regarding claim 27, DING as modified further teaches wherein a plane defined by the second direction (D12: see DING’s Figure 14 annotated by Examiner) of the first heat exchanger unit and the third direction (D13) of the first heat exchanger unit is parallel to the first heat exchanger core segment (13: DING) of the first heat exchanger unit; and a plane defined by the second direction (D22) of the second heat exchanger unit and the third direction (D23) of the second heat exchanger unit is parallel to the second heat exchanger core segment of the second heat exchanger unit (see DING’s Figure 14 annotated by Examiner and cf. Applicant Figures 13 and 16, where the directions in DING’s Figure 14 annotated by Examiner are corresponding to Applicant's directions as shown in Applicant Figures 13 and 16).
Regarding claim 28, DING as modified further an air conditioning system, comprising: the heat exchanger according to claim 1 (Examiner notes that each of DING and WANG teaches that the heat exchanger as claimed in claim 1 is a part of air-conditioning system. Therefore, DING and WANG teaches an air conditioning system, comprising: the heat exchanger according to claim 1: see DING’s ¶[3] and WANG’s ¶[3]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763