DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As claim 3, “a second casting requirement” is vague and indefinite because it is unclear if it refer to previous element in claim 1.
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
As claim 3, “the at least one first transport block requirement comprises at least one of the first casting requirement” is already recited in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-11 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Yoon [US 2025/0267685].
As claims 1 and 19-21, Yoon [US 2025/0267685] discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: select a first slot and a second slot for sidelink transmissions via a first radio access technology [Fig 28-33 discloses UE for selecting the first slot and second for SL transmission in 5G, Par. 0258/-0260, 0281-0303], wherein the first slot and the second slot overlap with a subframe for sidelink transmissions via a second radio access technology [Fig 28-33 discloses the first and second slot of SL 5G are overlapped with subframe of LTE, Par. 0255-0257, 0281-0303], wherein the first slot and the second slot are associated with at least one transmission requirement [Fig 31 and 33 discloses the first and second slots are associated with transmission requirement such as priority or transmission power, Par. 0293]; generate a first transport block associated with at least one first transport block requirement [Fig 31, 33, transmission power Pn, priority, Par. 0291, 0302-0303] and a second transport block associated with at least one second transport block requirement [Fig 31, 33, transmission power Pn+1, priority, Par. 0291, 0302-0303] requirement, wherein the at least one first transport block requirement comprises a first casting requirement [Par. 0167-0170, 0194, 0223, discloses cast], and the at least one second transport block requirement comprises a second casting requirement [Par. 0167-0170, 0194, 0223, discloses cast and first and second cast type are same type then the selection for transmission based on transmission requirement]; determine to transmit at least one of the first transport block or the second transport block over at least the first slot based on the at least one transmission requirement, the first casting requirement and the second casting requirement [Fig 33, Par. 0302-0303, 0167-0170 disclose determining to transmit TB via first slot based on power, priority, cast]; and transmit at least one of the first transport block or the second transport block over at least the first slot [Par. 0291, 0303 discloses transmit TB in first slot].
As claim 2, Yoon [US 2025/0267685] discloses the at least one transmission requirement comprises at least one of: transmitting over the second slot is allowed if transmitting over the first slot; or transmitting over the second slot is allowed if a transmission power over the second slot is lower than or equal to a transmission power over the first slot [Fig 31 and Par. 0257].
As claim 3, Yoon [US 2025/0267685] discloses the at least one first transport block requirement comprises at least one of a first casting requirement [Par. 0167-0170, discloses cast], a first priority requirement [Fig 33, priority], a first reliability requirement [Par. 0010, reliable, feedback], a first transmission power requirement [Fig 31, power] or a first latency requirement [Par. 0010, Latency]; and wherein the at least one second transport block requirement comprises at least one of a second casting requirement [Par. 0167-017, discloses cast], a second priority requirement [Par. 0167-017, discloses cast], a second reliability requirement [Par. 0010, reliable, feedback], a second transmission power requirement [Fig 31, power] or a second latency requirement [Par. 0010, Latency].
As claim 4, Yoon [US 2025/0267685] discloses the first transport block and the second transport block are generated for a same service or for different services [Par. 0192 and Fig 33, service associated priority, Par. 0291 TB1 and TB2 are same service].
As claim 5, Yoon [US 2025/0267685] discloses the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: generate a first transport block associated with a first priority requirement [Fig 33, priority for TB] and a second transport block associated with a second priority requirement [Fig 33, priority for TB], wherein the first priority requirement is greater than the second priority requirement [Fig 33, 3 is greater than 7 or vice vera]; determine congestion over the first slot and the second slot [Par. 0218-0219 discloses determining congestion level of the slots]; determine to transmit the first transport block associated with the first priority requirement over the first slot or over the first slot and the second slot based on the at least one transmission requirement, the first priority requirement, the second priority requirement and the congestion over the first slot and the second slot [Par. 0022 for priority, Par. 0291 for power, Par. 0218-0223, congestion level]; and transmit the first transport block associated with the first priority requirement over the first slot or over the first slot and the second slot [Par. 0022 for priority, Par. 0291 for power, Par. 0218-0223, congestion level for transmitting TB over first slot or first and second slot].
As claim 8, Yoon [US 2025/0267685] discloses the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: generate a first transport block associated with a first transmission power requirement [Fig 31, at slot has power such as Pn] and a second transport block associated with a second transmission power requirement [Fig 31, at slot has power such as Pn+1], wherein the second transmission power requirement is lower than the first transmission power requirement [Par. 0257, 0281-0283 discloses the second slot has less power than the first]; determine to transmit the first transport block associated with the first transmission power requirement over the first slot and the second transport block associated with the second transmission power requirement over the second slot based on the at least one transmission requirement, the first transmission power requirement and the second transmission power requirement [Fig 28 and 31, Par. 0257, 0281-0283 disclose transmitting TB1 in slot1 and TB2 in slot based at least one of priority, power of TB1 and power of TB2]; and transmit the first transport block associated with the first transmission power requirement over the first slot and the second transport block associated with the second transmission power requirement over the second slot [Fig 28 and 31, Par. 0257, 0281-0283, 0291 discloses TB1 send via slot n and tb2 send via slot n+1].
As claim 10, Yoon [US 2025/0267685] discloses generate a first transport block associated with a first transport block requirement [Fig 31, power, Fig 33, priority] and a second transport block associated with a second transport block requirement [Fig 31, power, Fig 33, priority]; determine to not transmit the second transport block over the first slot or the second slot based on the at least one transmission requirement, the first transport block requirement and the second transport block requirement [Par. 0292 discloses drop or reselect]; determine to transmit the first transport block over the first slot and the second slot based on the at least one transmission requirement, the first transport block requirement and the second transport block requirement [Par. 0291-0292]; and transmit the first transport block over the first slot and the second slot [Par. 0291-0292 discloses TB1 duplicated to 2 slots].
As claim 11, Yoon [US 2025/0267685] discloses generate a first transport block associated with a first transmission power requirement greater than a transmission power threshold [Fig 31, Par. 0291 discloses power of slot N is greater than slot n+1]; determine to transmit the first transport block over the first slot and the second slot based on the at least one transmission requirement and the first transmission power requirement [Par. 0291 discloses determining how to transmit slot n data based on power and priority]; and transmit the first transport block over the first slot and the second slot [Par. 0291 discloses TB send via 2 slots].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon [US 2025/0267685] in view of Fargar [US 2022/0295482].
As claim 6, Yoon [US 2025/0267685]fails to disclose what Fargar [US 2022/0295482] discloses the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: determine that the congestion over the first slot and the second slot is lower than a congestion threshold and greater than another congestion threshold [Fig 7 discloses each priority associated with CR “congestion” wherein CR of higher priority is different from CR of lower priority, so transmission is based on congestion level].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising determine that the congestion over the first slot and the second slot is lower than a congestion threshold and greater than another congestion threshold as disclosed by Fargar into the teaching of Ye. The motivation would have been to provide a reliability network.
As claim 7, Fargar [US 2022/0295482] discloses the first congestion threshold is first threshold corresponding to the first priority requirement and the another congestion threshold is a second threshold corresponding to the second priority requirement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 12-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As claim 9, the prior arts fail to disclose the first casting requirement is a groupcast requirement or a broadcast requirement and the second casting requirement is a unicast requirement; wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to determine to transmit the first transport block over the first slot and the second transport block over the second slot based on the at least one transmission requirement, the first casting requirement and the second casting requirement; and transmit the first transport block over the first slot and the second transport block over the second slot.
As claim 12, the prior arts fail to disclose generate a first transport block associated with a first casting requirement, wherein the first casting requirement is a unicast requirement; determine to transmit the first transport block over the first slot and the second slot based on the at least one transmission requirement and the first casting requirement; and transmit the first transport block over the first slot and the second slot.
As claim 13, the prior arts in the record fails to disclose transmit an indication that hybrid automatic repeat request with feedback is enabled for the transmission of the first transport block over the first slot, wherein the feedback is based on a reception status of the transmission of the first transport block over the first slot; transmit the first transport block over the first slot using a hybrid automatic repeat request process; transmit an indication that hybrid automatic repeat request with feedback is enabled for the transmission of the first transport block over the second slot, wherein the feedback is based on a reception status of the transmission of the first transport block over the second slot; and transmit the first transport block over the second slot using another hybrid automatic repeat request process.
As claim 15, the prior arts in the record fails to disclose transmit an indication that hybrid automatic repeat request with feedback is enabled for the transmission of the first transport block over the first slot, wherein the feedback is based on a reception status of the transmission of the first transport block over the first slot; transmit the first transport block over the first slot using a hybrid automatic repeat request process; transmit an indication that hybrid automatic repeat request with feedback is disabled for the transmission of the first transport block over the second slot; and transmit the first transport block over the second slot using another hybrid automatic repeat request process.
As claim 17, the prior arts in the record fails to disclose transmit an indication that a hybrid automatic repeat request with feedback is enabled for the transmission of the first transport block over the first slot, wherein the feedback is based on a reception status of the transmission of the first transport block over the first slot and the transmission of the first transport block over the second slot; transmit the first transport block over the first slot using a hybrid automatic repeat request process; transmit an indication that hybrid automatic repeat request with feedback is disabled for the transmission of the first transport block over the second slot; and transmit the first transport block over the second slot using the same hybrid automatic repeat request process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to pages 10-11, the applicant states that Yoon fails to disclose wherein the at least one first transport block requirement comprises a first casting requirement and the at least one second transport block requirement comprises a second casting requirement; and determine to transmit at least one of the first transport block or the second transport block over at least the first slot based on the at least one transmission requirement, the at least one first transport block requirement and the at least one second transport block requirement the first casting requirement and the second casting requirement. In reply, the examiner disagrees with applicant because the claim does not state a first casting requirement and a second casting requirement are different from each other. Under BRI, the examiner interprets a first casting requirement and a second casting requirement are same type. TBs which are generated based on unicast service, select for transmitting via slots via unicast service by mapping the TB1 for first slot and TB2 for second slot based on priority.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim [US 2024/0008061] discloses an apparatus supporting same. The method comprises the steps of from among a first resource for which evolved-universal mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA)-based sidelink (SL) communication and NR-based SL communication are allowed and a second resource for which the NR-based SL communication is allowed, determining to perform NR SL communication on the basis of the first resource; and performing the NR SL communication together with a second apparatus on the basis of the first resource, wherein the second resource may be a resource for which the E-UTRA-based SL communication is not allowed.
Rastegardoost [US 20230354220] discloses A wireless device may communicate with one or more other wireless devices via a sidelink. Automatic gain control (AGC) may be performed by a receiving wireless device. A symbol in a sidelink transmission may be duplicated for AGC if the sidelink transmission overlaps in time with the beginning of another sidelink transmission.
Jeon [US 2025/0365755] discloses A first wireless device transmits, to a second wireless device, sidelink (SL) control information indicating a priority of an SL transmission comprising SL data and at least one SL reference signal (RS). The priority of the SL transmission is based on: a first priority of the at least one SL RS and a second priority of the SL data.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414