DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-4, 9-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Woo-Kwan-Chung, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0074535 (hereinafter Woo-Kwan-Chung).
Regarding claim 1, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses a method for generating message notifications at an electronic device (disclosed is a method for managing alarms and calendar events in a mobile device, according to [0002]), the method comprising:
determining at the electronic device a current operating context of the electronic device, wherein the current operating context comprises: one or more applications currently running on the electronic device; one or more applications currently displayed on the electronic device; current time; current location of the electronic device; or network connection information of the electronic device (the mobile device determines that an application for alarm and calendar event management has started up [“one or more applications currently running on the electronic device”], according to [0061], Fig. 3 [step 030], whereby the mobile device determines that an alarm notification, indicating the current time [“current time”], should be displayed, according to [0073], Fig. 8 [element 080c]);
based on the current operating context, generating one or more notifications for display on the electronic device (the mobile device displays a notification relating to time zone information for the alarm and calendar event management application, according to [0062], Fig. 3 [steps 033 and 036], whereby the mobile device displays an alarm notification that indicates the current time, according to [0073], Fig. 8 [element 080c]); and
providing one or more input action areas associated with the one or more notifications for user action (the user is given the means to input an acknowledgement response to the time zone information notification, according to [0062], Fig. 3 [steps 034 and 037], whereby the mobile device provides a “Snooze” touch area and a “Stop” touch area in the alarm notification, according to [0073], Fig. 8 [elements 080f and 080g]);
wherein the one or more input action areas are configured to receive an input action from the user in response to the one or more notifications (the user inputs an acknowledgement response to the mobile device in response to the time zone information notification, according to [0062], Fig. 3 [steps 034 and 037], whereby the user taps either the “Snooze” touch area or the “Stop” touch area in the alarm notification, according to [0073], Fig. 8 [elements 080f and 080g]).
Claim 10 recites the electronic device comprising: a processor for executing instructions; and a memory coupled to the processor for storing instructions, which when executed by the processor (the mobile device comprises a memory that stores instructions and a processor that executes those instructions, according to [0297]) configure the electronic device to perform the method recited in claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 19 recites the non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon executable code for execution by a processor of an electronic device, the executable code comprising instructions (the mobile device comprises memory circuitry that stores instructions and a processor that executes those instructions, according to [0297]) for performing the method recited in claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a mobile device (the method is performed on a mobile device, according to [0002], [0062], [0073], Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising providing rules that specify which one or more notifications are displayed based on the current operating context (an alarm is displayed at a specified time on a specified date, according to [0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses the input action comprises one or more of: a reply to the message; sharing the message; marking the message as read; or deletion of the message (the user inputs an acknowledgement response to the mobile device in response to the time zone information notification [“a reply to the message”], according to [0062], Fig. 3 [steps 034 and 037]).
Regarding claim 9, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the one of more notifications comprise a message that is generated at the mobile device (the mobile device generates a notification relating to time zone information for the alarm and calendar event management application, according to [0062], Fig. 3 [steps 033 and 036], whereby the mobile device generates an alarm notification that indicates the current time, according to [0073], Fig. 8 [element 080c]).
Claims 11 and 20 do not differ substantively from claim 2, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 12 does not differ substantively from claim 3, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 13 does not differ substantively from claim 4, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 18 does not differ substantively from claim 9, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 5-6, 8, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo-Kwan-Chung as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, in view of Dahan et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0009243 (hereinafter Dahan).
Regarding claim 5, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses that the one or more notifications comprise a message (the notification relating to time zone information for the alarm and calendar event management application is a notification message, according to [0062], Fig. 3 [steps 033 and 036]).
Woo-Kwan-Chung does not expressly disclose that the one or more input action areas are configured to facilitate an input action that comprises forwarding the message to one or more contacts.
Dahan discloses that the one or more input action areas are configured to facilitate an input action that comprises forwarding the message to one or more contacts (a wireless messaging device provides its user with the option to forward a message to an SMS contact, according to [0128]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woo-Kwan-Chung with Dahan such that the one or more input action areas are configured to facilitate an input action that comprises forwarding the message to one or more contacts.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate convenient and efficient user messaging (Dahan: [0139]).
Regarding claim 6, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses that the one or more notifications comprise a text (the alarm comprises text, according to [0073], Fig. 8 [element 080c]).
Woo-Kwan-Chung does not expressly disclose that the one or more input action areas are configured to facilitate an input action that comprises sending text received in the action area to an originator of the message.
Dahan discloses that the one or more input action areas are configured to facilitate an input action that comprises sending text received in the action area to an originator of the message (a user responds to a received SMS message with an SMS message, according to [0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woo-Kwan-Chung with Dahan such that the one or more input action areas are configured to facilitate an input action that comprises sending text received in the action area to an originator of the message.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate convenient and efficient user messaging (Dahan: [0139]).
Regarding claim 8, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Woo-Kwan-Chung does not expressly disclose that the one or more notifications comprise a message that is received at the mobile device.
Dahan discloses that the one or more notifications comprise a message that is received at the mobile device (a user receives an SMS message, according to [0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woo-Kwan-Chung with Dahan such that the one or more notifications comprise a message that is received at the mobile device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate convenient and efficient user messaging (Dahan: [0139]).
Claim 14 does not differ substantively from claim 5, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Additionally, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses that the one or more notifications comprise a text (the alarm comprises text, according to [0073], Fig. 8 [element 080c]).
Woo-Kwan-Chung does not expressly disclose that the instructions further configure the mobile device to provide the one or more input action areas configured to send the text.
Dahan discloses that the instructions further configure the mobile device to provide the one or more input action areas configured to send the text (a user is provided the means to compose and send an SMS message, according to [0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woo-Kwan-Chung with Dahan such that the instructions further configure the mobile device to provide the one or more input action areas configured to send the text.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate convenient and efficient user messaging (Dahan: [0139]).
Claim 17 does not differ substantively from claim 8, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
9. Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo-Kwan-Chung as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, in view of Aharonson et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0106736 (hereinafter Aharonson).
Regarding claim 7, Woo-Kwan-Chung discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Woo-Kwan-Chung does not expressly disclose that the one of more notifications comprise an indication of a missed call, and wherein the one or more input action areas allow the user to return the missed call.
Aharonson discloses that the one of more notifications comprise an indication of a missed call, and wherein the one or more input action areas allow the user to return the missed call (an electronic device (which may be a mobile phone, according to [0029]) provides a suggestion for the user of said electronic device to call back the person who made a missed call, according to [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woo-Kwan-Chung with Aharonson such that the one of more notifications comprise an indication of a missed call, and wherein the one or more input action areas allow the user to return the missed call.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate simplicity and convenience for a mobile phone user (Aharonson: [0002]-[0004]).
Claim 16 does not differ substantively from claim 7, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 7.
Double Patenting
11. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-15, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,728,716. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in U.S. Patent No. 10,728,716 with obvious wording variations. Take an example of comparing independent claim 1 of the pending application and claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,728,716:
Pending Application 18/888,307
U.S. Patent No. 10,728,716
“A method for generating message notifications at an electronic device, the method comprising:”
“A method for generating message notifications at a mobile device, the method comprising:”
“determining at the electronic device a current operating context of the electronic device, wherein the current operating context comprises: one or more applications currently running on the electronic device; one or more applications currently displayed on the electronic device; current time; current location of the electronic device; or network connection information of the electronic device;”
“determining, by a notification functionality at the mobile device a current operating context of the mobile device; … wherein determining a current operating context comprises determining one or more of: running applications;”
“based on the current operating context, generating one or more notifications for display on the electronic device; and”
“generating, by the notification functionality, on a display of the mobile device, a first notification representation for the message in accordance with one or more notification display settings associated with the determined current operating context;”
“providing one or more input action areas associated with the one or more notifications for user action;”
“determining gesture information from a touch input component while the first notification representation is displayed; generating, in response to the determined gesture information, on the display of the mobile device, a second notification representation comprising at least a portion of the message and an action area for performing a direct action associated with the message;”
“wherein the one or more input action areas are configured to receive an input action from the user in response to the one or more notifications.”
“determining gesture information from a touch input component while the first notification representation is displayed;”
Claim 1 of the pending application 18/888,307 is anticipated by claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,728,716.
Take an example of comparing independent claim 10 of the pending application and claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,728,716:
Pending Application 18/888,307
U.S. Patent No. 10,728,716
“An electronic device comprising:”
“A mobile device comprising:”
“a processor for executing instructions; and”
“a processor for executing instructions; and”
“a memory coupled to the processor for storing instructions, which when executed by the processor configure the electronic device to:”
“a memory coupled to the processor storing instructions, which when executed by the processor configure the mobile device to:”
“determine at the electronic device a current operating context of the electronic device, wherein the current operating context comprises: one or more applications currently running on the electronic device; one or more applications currently displayed on the electronic device; current time; current location of the electronic device; or network connection information of the electronic device;”
“determine, by a notification functionality at the mobile device a current operating context of the mobile device; … wherein determining a current operating context comprises determining one or more of: running applications;”
“based on the current operating context of the electronic device, generate one or more notifications for display on the electronic device; and”
“generate by the notification functionality on a display of the mobile device, a first notification representation for the message in accordance with one or more notification display settings associated with the determined current operating context;”
“provide one or more input action areas associated with the one or more notifications for user action;”
“determine gesture information from a touch input component while the first notification representation is displayed; generate, in response to the determined gesture information, on the display of the mobile device, a second notification representation comprising at least a portion of the message and an action area for performing a direct action associated with the message;”
“wherein the one or more input action areas are configured to receive an input action from the user in response to the one or more notifications.”
“determine gesture information from a touch input component while the first notification representation is displayed;”
Claim 10 of the pending application 18/888,307 is anticipated by claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,728,716.
Take an example of comparing independent claim 19 of the pending application and claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,728,716:
Pending Application 18/888,307
U.S. Patent No. 10,728,716
“A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon executable code for execution by a processor of an electronic device, the executable code comprising instructions for:”
“A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon executable code for execution by a processor of a mobile device, the executable code comprising instructions for:”
“determining at the electronic device a current operating context of the electronic device, wherein the current operating context comprises: applications currently running on the electronic device; one or more applications currently displayed on the electronic device; current time; current location of the electronic device; or network connection information of the electronic device;”
“determining, by a notification functionality at the mobile device a current operating context of the mobile device; … wherein determining a current operating context comprises determining one or more of: running applications;”
“based on the current operating context of the electronic device, generating one or more notifications for display on the electronic device; and”
“generating by the notification functionality on a display of the mobile device, a first notification representation for the message in accordance with one or more notification display settings associated with the determined current operating context;”
“providing one or more input action areas associated with one or more notifications for user action;”
“determining gesture information from a touch input component while the first notification representation is displayed; generating, in response to the determined gesture information, on the display of the mobile device, a second notification representation comprising at least a portion of the message and an action area for performing a direct action associated with the message;”
“wherein the one or more input action areas are configured to receive an input action from the user in response to the one or more notifications.”
“determining gesture information from a touch input component while the first notification representation is displayed;”
Claim 19 of the pending application 18/888,307 is anticipated by claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,728,716.
Claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 of the pending application 18/888,307 correspond to claims 1, 1, 5, 7, 6, 8, 1, 1, 9, 9, 13, 7, 6, 14, 9, 9, and 15, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 10,728,716.
12. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-10, and 13-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,438,737. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in U.S. Patent No. 11,438,737 with obvious wording variations. Take an example of comparing independent claim 1 of the pending application and claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,438,737:
Pending Application 18/888,307
U.S. Patent No. 11,438,737
“A method for generating message notifications at an electronic device, the method comprising:”
“A method for generating message notifications at a mobile device, the method comprising:”
“determining at the electronic device a current operating context of the electronic device, wherein the current operating context comprises: one or more applications currently running on the electronic device; one or more applications currently displayed on the electronic device; current time; current location of the electronic device; or network connection information of the electronic device;”
“determining at the mobile device a current operating context of the mobile device, wherein the current operating context comprises applications currently running on the mobile device;”
“based on the current operating context, generating one or more notifications for display on the electronic device; and”
“generating at the mobile device a first notification representation for a message in accordance with a notification display setting associated with the determined current operating context;”
“providing one or more input action areas associated with the one or more notifications for user action;”
“determining at the mobile device gesture information; and generating at the mobile device a second notification representation comprising at least a portion of the message and an action area for performing a direct action associated with the message in response to the determined gesture information while in the determined current operating context.”
“wherein the one or more input action areas are configured to receive an input action from the user in response to the one or more notifications.”
“determining at the mobile device gesture information; and generating at the mobile device a second notification representation comprising at least a portion of the message and an action area for performing a direct action associated with the message in response to the determined gesture information while in the determined current operating context.”
Claim 1 of the pending application 18/888,307 is anticipated by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,438,737.
Take an example of comparing independent claim 10 of the pending application and claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,438,737:
Pending Application 18/888,307
U.S. Patent No. 11,438,737
“An electronic device comprising:”
“A mobile device comprising:”
“a processor for executing instructions; and”
“a processor for executing instructions; and”
“a memory coupled to the processor for storing instructions, which when executed by the processor configure the electronic device to:”
“a memory coupled to the processor for storing instructions, which when executed by the processor configure the mobile device to:”
“determine at the electronic device a current operating context of the electronic device, wherein the current operating context comprises: one or more applications currently running on the electronic device; one or more applications currently displayed on the electronic device; current time; current location of the electronic device; or network connection information of the electronic device;”
“determine a current operating context of the mobile device, wherein the current operating context comprises applications currently running on the mobile device;”
“based on the current operating context of the electronic device, generate one or more notifications for display on the electronic device; and”
“generate a first notification representation for a message in accordance with a notification display setting associated with the determined current operating context;”
“provide one or more input action areas associated with the one or more notifications for user action;”
“determine gesture information; and generate a second notification representation comprising at least a portion of the message and an action area for performing a direct action associated with the message in response to the determined gesture information while in the determined current operating context.”
“wherein the one or more input action areas are configured to receive an input action from the user in response to the one or more notifications.”
“determine gesture information; and generate a second notification representation comprising at least a portion of the message and an action area for performing a direct action associated with the message in response to the determined gesture information while in the determined current operating context.”
Claim 10 of the pending application 18/888,307 is anticipated by claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,438,737.
Take an example of comparing independent claim 19 of the pending application and claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,438,737:
Pending Application 18/888,307
U.S. Patent No. 11,438,737
“A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon executable code for execution by a processor of an electronic device, the executable code comprising instructions for:”
“A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon executable code for execution by a processor of a mobile device, the executable code comprising instructions for:”
“determining at the electronic device a current operating context of the electronic device, wherein the current operating context comprises: applications currently running on the electronic device; one or more applications currently displayed on the electronic device; current time; current location of the electronic device; or network connection information of the electronic device;”
“determining at the mobile device a current operating context of the mobile device, wherein the current operating context comprises applications currently running on the mobile device;”
“based on the current operating context of the electronic device, generating one or more notifications for display on the electronic device; and”
“generating at the mobile device a first notification representation for a message in accordance with a notification display setting associated with the determined current operating context;”
“providing one or more input action areas associated with one or more notifications for user action;”
“determining at the mobile device gesture information; and generating at the mobile device a second notification representation comprising at least a portion of the message and an action area for performing a direct action associated with the message in response to the determined gesture information while in the determined current operating context.”
“wherein the one or more input action areas are configured to receive an input action from the user in response to the one or more notifications.”
“determining at the mobile device gesture information; and generating at the mobile device a second notification representation comprising at least a portion of the message and an action area for performing a direct action associated with the message in response to the determined gesture information while in the determined current operating context.”
Claim 19 of the pending application 18/888,307 is anticipated by claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,438,737.
Claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 of the pending application 18/888,307 correspond to claims 1, 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,438,737.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645