Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: “…collecting a snow”. This phrasing is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the control device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, examiner will interpret this control device to be a new element introduced in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmalz as part of US 10464587 B2, hereinafter referred to as Schmalz, in view of Li et al as part of CN 216739438 U, hereinafter referred to as Li 438.
Regarding Claim 1: Schmalz teaches of a snow thrower, comprising:
a snow collection device comprising a snow collection element for collecting a snow (Schmalz: Fig. 1, snow thrower 20 comprises auger 42 for collecting snow),
a first electric motor configured to drive the snow collection element to rotate (Schmalz: Col. 4, line 5-14, electric motors are known in the art for use in driven elements of snow throwers; Col. 3, line 19-25, auger 42 may be driven by an independent power source from propulsion unit 28),
and a first transmission assembly disposed between the first electric motor and the snow collection element to transmit power between the first electric motor and the snow collection element (Schmalz: Col. 3, line 19-25, auger drive 44 comprises a transmission between auger 42 and its power source),
a snow throwing device comprising a snow throwing element for throwing out the snow collected by the snow collection device (Schmalz: Fig. 1, snow discharger 24 comprises impeller 48 for throwing snow collected by auger 42),
a discharge chute guiding the snow along a snow throwing direction (Schmalz: Fig. 1, chute 50 directs snow impelled by impeller 48) ,
and a second electric motor driving the snow throwing element to rotate (Schmalz: Col. 3, line 43-46, impeller 48 may be powered by an independent power source);
a main housing for supporting the snow collection device and the snow throwing device (Schmalz: Fig. 1, auger housing 40 and impeller housing 46 form a single housing unit in fluid connection with each other);
a walking assembly driving the snow thrower to walk on the ground (Schmalz: Fig. 1, snow thrower 20 comprises traction members 26 for traversal of the ground);
and a power supply device configured to power the first electric motor and the second electric motor (Schmalz: Col. 7, line 39-49, power from propulsion unit 28 may be used to drive the components of snow discharger 24, such as the auger or impeller).
Schmalz does not recite a specific range of rotational speeds of the electric motor, nor of any specific reduction ratio, though a transmission system is recited (Schmalz: Col. 3, line 19-25, a transmission is used to transfer power between the power source and the auger 42 as part of auger drive 44).
Li 438 teaches of a snow thrower comprising an electric motor to drive a snow collection element (Li 438: the snow sweeping machine comprises a snow sweeping cutter 501 to collect snow), wherein a rotational speed of the electric motor is higher than or equal to 5000 rpm and lower than or equal to 20000 rpm (Li 438: Paragraph 46, first motor 101 drives snow throwing assembly 400; Paragraph 64, the rotational speed of the first motor 101 may range from 5000 rpm to 15000 rpm, which satisfies an operational condition of 5000 to 20000 rpm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the unspecified motor speed of Schmalz with the specified range of Li 438, as the range taught by Li 438 is known to be successfully used with snow thrower type machines. Such a substitution would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of utilizing an electric motor whose rotational speed is between 5000 and 20000 rpm (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
While the transmission system of Li does not specify a reduction ratio, Li 438 does state that the transmission may utilize more stages during reduction (Li 438: Paragraph 47, the transmission can comprise more or fewer stages in the interest of improving the efficiency of the device). As such, the specific reduction range would be a results-effective variable. In light of such a determination, the specific operational reduction ratio taught by Schmalz in view of Li 438 would be characterized by routine experimentation to achieve an optimal result, and therefore a results-effective variable and obvious to try, such that the specific reduction ratio would be determined by the specific design of the reduction assembly 103, and as such the reduction ratio may reasonably satisfy the condition of falling between 40 and 200 (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Regarding Claim 2: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 1.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 1, Li 438 teaches wherein a rotational speed of the second electric motor is higher than or equal to 5000 rpm and lower than or equal to 14000 rpm (Li 438: Paragraph 46, first motor 101 drives snow throwing assembly 400; Paragraph 64, the motor that drives the snow throwing assembly 400 may range from 5000 to 15000 rpm, which satisfies an operational condition of 5000 to 14000 rpm).
Regarding Claim 3: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 2.
Schmalz does not explicitly teach of a transmission unit between the second motor and the snow throwing element, nor of a specified reduction ratio of such a transmission.
Li 438 teaches of a second transmission unit positioned between the snow throwing device and the power source for the snow throwing device, separate from the transmission between the power source and the snow collection assembly (Li 438: the second speed reducing assembly 301, separate from first reduction assembly 103, transmits power between the motor 101 and the snow throwing assembly 400).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to incorporate a transmission or reduction assembly between the snow throwing apparatus and its power source to allow for two different rotational speeds of the snow collecting assembly and the snow throwing apparatus (Li 438: Paragraph 10, the speed of the first reduction assembly reduces the speed to between 500-1500 rpm, the second reduction assembly reduces the speed to 50-150 rpm). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of allowing for different rotational speeds of the throwing and collecting assemblies of the snow thrower.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 1, Li 438 further teaches wherein and a reduction ratio of the second transmission assembly is higher than or equal to 4 and lower than or equal to 20, as the reduction ratio is a results-effective variable (see claim 1).
Regarding Claim 4: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 1.
Schmalz does not teach of any specific detail of the transmission system of the apparatus.
Li 438 further teaches of a transmission system between the first electric motor and the snow collection element to transmit power between the first electric motor and the snow collecting element (Li 438: Fig. 12 details reduction assembly 301, which is disposed between auger 42 and first motor 101) wherein the first transmission assembly comprises a first gear rotating about a first axis, and a second gear meshing with the first gear and rotating about a second axis (Li 438: Fig. 12, second reduction assembly 301 comprises a first gear 3014, which is a duplicate gear with second bevel gear 3013, and meshes with a second gear rotating about a second axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the generically referred to transmission of Schmalz with the specific transmission system of Li 438, as utilizing a transmission system utilizing a gear reducer between an electric motor and a snow collection assembly is known in the art of snow throwing machines. Such a substitution would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of transmit power between the electric motor and the snow collection element via a gear system (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Regarding Claim 5: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 4.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 4, Li 438 further teaches wherein the first axis and the second axis are parallel to each other (Li 438: Fig. 12, wherein the second gear meshing with the duplicate gears 3013 and 3014 is second gear 3015, which rotates about an axis parallel to the axis of rotation of duplicate gears 3013 and 3014).
Regarding Claim 6: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 4.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 4, Li 438 further teaches wherein the second axis is oblique or perpendicular to the first axis (Li 438: Fig. 12, wherein the second gear meshing with the duplicate gears 3013 and 3014 is first bevel gear 3012, which rotates about an axis perpendicular to duplicate gears 3013 and 3014).
Regarding Claim 9: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 1.
As discussed in claim 1, Li 438 teaches wherein the reduction ratio is higher than or equal to 80 and lower than or equal to 120 as an obvious design choice, as the optimization of such would be an obvious design choice in light of the determination of the reduction ratio of the transmission being a results-effective variable.
Regarding Claim 13: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 1.
While Schmalz does not explicitly teach the specific location of the first motor as described by claim 1, as the presence of the first motor is an alternatively described embodiment of the invention (Col. 3, line 19-25, auger 42 may be driven by an independent power source from propulsion unit 28), an axis drawn through the snow collection element (auger 42), which defines an origin, wherein the positive Y direction is the vertical upwards direction and the positive X axis is the forward direction of the snow thrower, wherein an angular region using the origin as a vertex and located in the plane where the coordinate system is located, a first side of the angular region is within a first quadrant of the coordinate system and an included angle between the first side of the angular region and the positive direction of the Y-axis is less than or equal to 60 degrees, and a second side of the angular region is within a second quadrant of the coordinate system and an included angle between the second side of the angular region and the positive direction of the Y-axis is less than or equal to 80 degrees may be applied to the disclosure of Schmalz. As the specific location of the first motor is not explicitly described, it would be within the technical grasp of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was originally filed to dispose the first motor in such a was such that a projection of the first electric motor lies on a plane where the coordinate system is located within the angular region defined. Such a modification would be the result of a rearrangement of parts, and unless a new and unexpected result would arise from the specific location with respect to said axis of rotation of the snow collection element, the placement of the first electric motor would not be patentably novel (MPEP 2144.04, Subsection VI, C).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmalz in view of Li 438, further in view of Snowblower.com.
Regarding Claim 7: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 1.
Schmalz in view of Li 438 does not teach of any specified diameter of the first electric motor.
While Snowblower.com does not teach of any specified diameter of an electric snow thrower motor, it is noted that the size of the snow blower and its motor or engine determines how the machine is used, and as such, the diameter and other dimensions of the engine are a results-effective variable. In light of such a determination, the specific size of the motor taught by Schmalz in view of Li 438 would be a decision made in the design stage of the invention, and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed would have sought to use a motor of appropriate size to their application (i.e. heavy snow or a large intake vs. light snow or a small intake) and be characterized by routine experimentation to achieve an optimal result, and therefore a results-effective variable and obvious to try, such that the diameter would fall between 30 mm and 110 mm (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Regarding Claim 8: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 7.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmalz in view of Li 438, further in view of Gingerich et al as part of US 6212799 B1, hereinafter referred to as Gingerich.
Regarding Claim 10: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 1.
Schmalz in view of Li 438 does not explicitly teach of a specific amperage of the first motor when the snow collection element is under no load.
Gingerich teaches of a snow throwing machine comprising a motor which drives a snow collection element (Gingerich: snowblower unit 20 includes a drum 24 which collects snow, each section being driven by electric motors 37), wherein a working current of the first electric motor is less than or equal to 40 A when the snow collection element works with no load (Gingerich: Col. 8, line 66 - Col 9, line 17, a maximum current draw for both the first and second motors is in the range of 30-60 amps, or between 15 and 30 amps per each motor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the first motor of unspecified amperage taught by Schmalz in view of Li 438 with the motor with the specified amperage taught by Gingerich, as Gingerich demonstrates that motors that draw between 15 and 30 amps are known in the art (Gingerich: Col. 8, line 66 - Col 9, line 17, a maximum current draw for both the first and second motors which drive the drum 24 is in the range of 30-60 amps, or between 15 and 30 amps per each motor). Such a substitution would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of utilizing a motor in a snow throwing machine that draws less than or equal to 40 amps when no load is present on the snow collection element (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Regarding Claim 11: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 1.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 10, wherein electric motors to drive snow thrower elements wherein a working current of an electric motor is less than or equal to 40 A when the snow collection element works with no load are known in the art.
Claims 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmalz in view of Li 438, further in view of Yoshimura et al as part of US 20170114875 A1, hereinafter referred to as Yoshimura.
Regarding Claim 12: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 1.
Schmalz in view of Li 438 does not teach of any control mechanism for changing the rotational speed of the first electric motor in response to variation in load, where the second motor’s rotational speed is kept constant.
Yoshimura teaches of a snow throwing machine comprising a motor that drives a snow collection element (Yoshimura: drive source 13 drives working unit 14), further comprising a control device configured to adjust a rotational speed of the first electric motor in response to a variation in a load, wherein a rotational speed of the second electric motor is kept at a value of a rotational speed corresponding to a set snow throwing distance when the rotational speed of the first electric motor varies (Yoshimura: Paragraph 10, paragraph 89, the rotational speed of first motor 112 and only the first motor 112 is controlled by the displacement of sheave 82 and sheave 81, which are displaced based on the load experienced by working unit 14, such as an increase in the density of the snow, while maintaining the distance that snow is thrown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the individual first motor of Schmalz in view of Li 438 to incorporate an automatic speed adjustment system for the first motor assembly that drives the snow collection device to create a device that regulates the operational speed of the snow collection device to relieve burden on the operator (Yoshimura: Paragraph 11, the bell type variable transmission taught increases the workability of the device for the operator, who does not have to adjust the angle or throwing distance of the blower). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of providing an automatic adjustment to the snow collection assembly in response to changes in load.
Regarding Claim 14: Schmalz in view of Li 438 teaches of the apparatus of claim 1.
While Schmalz in view of Li 438 does teach wherein a controller is used to adjust the walking speed of the snow thrower (Schmalz: Col. 4, line 64 – Col. 5, line 18, the angular extend of the control handles 36 of handlebar 34 control the speed of the traction members 26 by varying the output of propulsion unit 28), Schmalz in view of Li 438 does not teach of any control mechanism for changing the rotational speed of the first electric motor in response to at least a condition of the snow.
Yoshimura teaches of a snow throwing machine comprising a motor that drives a snow collection element (Yoshimura: drive source 13 drives working unit 14), further comprising a control device configured to control a rotational speed of the first electric motor according to at least a state of the snow (Yoshimura: Paragraph 89, the rotational speed of first motor 112 and only the first motor 112 is controlled by the displacement of sheave 82 and sheave 81, which are displaced based on the load experienced by working unit 14, such as an increase in the density of the snow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the individual first motor of Schmalz in view of Li 438 to incorporate an automatic speed adjustment system for the first motor assembly that drives the snow collection device to create a device that regulates the operational speed of the snow collection device to relieve burden on the operator (Yoshimura: Paragraph 11, the bell type variable transmission taught increases the workability of the device for the operator, who does not have to adjust the angle or throwing distance of the blower). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of providing an automatic adjustment to the snow collection assembly in response to changes in load.
Regarding Claim 15: Claim 15 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 14.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmalz in view of Snowblower.com.
Regarding Claim 16: Schmalz teaches of a snow thrower, comprising:
a snow collection device comprising a snow collection element for collecting snow (Schmalz: Fig. 1, snow thrower 20 comprises auger 42 for collecting snow)
and a first electric motor configured to drive the snow collection element to rotate (Schmalz: Col. 4, line 5-14, electric motors are known in the art for use in driven elements of snow throwers; Col. 3, line 19-25, auger 42 may be driven by an independent power source from propulsion unit 28);
a snow throwing device comprising a snow throwing element for throwing out the snow collected by the snow collection device (Schmalz: Fig. 1, snow discharger 24 comprises impeller 48 for throwing snow collected by auger 42),
a discharge chute guiding the snow along a snow throwing direction (Schmalz: Fig. 1, chute 50 directs snow impelled by impeller 48),
and a second electric motor driving the snow throwing element to rotate (Schmalz: Col. 3, line 43-46, impeller 48 may be powered by an independent power source);
a main housing for supporting the snow collection device and the snow throwing device (Schmalz: Fig. 1, auger housing 40 and impeller housing 46 form a single housing unit in fluid connection with each other);
a walking assembly driving the snow thrower to walk on the ground (Schmalz: Fig. 1, snow thrower 20 comprises traction members 26 for traversal of the ground);
and a power supply device configured to power the first electric motor and the second electric motor (Schmalz: Col. 7, line 39-49, power from propulsion unit 28 may be used to drive the components of snow discharger 24, such as the auger or impeller).
Schmalz does not describe any power requirements of the first or second motor.
While Snowblower.com does not explicitly teach a specific no-load power ratio between the first motor and second motor, it is disclosed that motor or engine power for the intended application is a consideration, describing a variety of engine sizes and power output (Snowblower.com: The more powerful the engine or motor of a snowblower, the more capable it is, with tradeoff of weight and expense). Selecting motors appropriate to the application of supplying rotational movement to the snow throwing device and the snow collection element that would sufficiently handle loading during operation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed, and as such that the no-load power ratio between the first and second motors would be a results-effective variable based on considerations such as weight, size, or fuel requirements. In light of such a determination, the specific no-load power ratio between the first and second motors taught by Schmalz in view of Snowblower.com would be characterized by routine experimentation to achieve an optimal result, and therefore a results-effective variable and obvious to try, such that the specific ratio would be determined by the weight, size, and energy limitations of the snow thrower, and as such that the no-load power ratio may reasonably satisfy the condition of falling between 0.5 and 1.5 (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmalz in view of Snowblower.com, further in view of Yoshimura.
Regarding Claim 16: Schmalz in view of Snowblower.com teaches of the apparatus described in claim 16.
Schmalz in view of Snowblower.com does not teach of a control device configured to adjust a ratio of load output power of the second electric motor to load output power of the first electric motor according to a load.
Yoshimura teaches of a snow throwing machine comprising a motor that drives a snow collection element (Yoshimura: drive source 13 drives working unit 14), further comprising a control device configured to adjust a ratio of load output power of the second electric motor to load output power of the first electric motor according to a load (Yoshimura: Paragraph 89, the rotational speed of first motor 112 and only the first motor 112 is controlled by the displacement of sheave 82 and sheave 81, which are displaced based on the load experienced by working unit 14 such as an increase in the density of the snow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the disclosure of Schmalz in view of Snowblower.com to incorporate an automatic speed adjustment system for the first motor assembly that drives the snow collection device to create a device that regulates the operational speed of the snow collection device to relieve burden on the operator (Yoshimura: Paragraph 11, the bell type variable transmission taught increases the workability of the device for the operator, who does not have to adjust the angle or throwing distance of the blower). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of providing an automatic adjustment to the snow collection assembly in response to changes in load, this changing the load output power between the first and second electric motors.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmalz in view of Yoshimura, further in view of Li et al as part of US 20220134531 A1, hereinafter referred to as Li 531.
Regarding Claim 18: Schmalz teaches of a snow thrower, comprising:
a snow collection device comprising a snow collection element for collecting snow (Schmalz: Fig. 1, snow thrower 20 comprises auger 42 for collecting snow)
and a first electric motor configured to drive the snow collection element to rotate (Schmalz: Col. 4, line 5-14, electric motors are known in the art for use in driven elements of snow throwers; Col. 3, line 19-25, auger 42 may be driven by an independent power source from propulsion unit 28);
a snow throwing device comprising a snow throwing element for throwing out the snow collected by the snow collection device (Schmalz: Fig. 1, snow discharger 24 comprises impeller 48 for throwing snow collected by auger 42),
a second electric motor driving the snow throwing element to rotate (Schmalz: Col. 3, line 43-46, impeller 48 may be powered by an independent power source),
a discharge chute for guiding the snow along a snow throwing direction (Schmalz: Fig. 1, chute 50 directs snow impelled by impeller 48),
a main housing for supporting the snow collection device and the snow throwing device (Schmalz: Fig. 1, auger housing 40 and impeller housing 46 form a single housing unit in fluid connection with each other);
a walking assembly driving the snow thrower to walk on the ground (Schmalz: Fig. 1, snow thrower 20 comprises traction members 26 for traversal of the ground);
and a power supply device configured to power the first electric motor and the second electric motor (Schmalz: Col. 7, line 39-49, power from propulsion unit 28 may be used to drive the components of snow discharger 24, such as the auger or impeller).
While a snow throwing cap connected to the discharge chute is shown in the figures of Schmalz, no mention is made in the specification of the disclosure (Schmalz: Fig. 10, a segment at the top of chute 850 is shown).
Yoshimura teaches of a snow throwing machine comprising a motor that drives a snow collection element (Yoshimura: drive source 13 drives working unit 14), a snow throwing element and a discharge chute for guiding the snow along a snow throwing direction (Yoshimura: Fig. 1, chute 55 receives snow from blower 54, and comprises chute guide 57 at the upper end to adjust the snow throwing angle in the vertical direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the implied snow throwing cap shown in the figures of Schmalz with the specific snow throwing cap taught in the disclosure of Yoshimura to grant the operator control over the height and distance of thrown snow to avoid snow being directed into unwanted places (Yoshimura: Paragraph 10-11, in the case of built-up residential areas, care is required as to not throw snow into the grounds of adjacent houses, and controlling the throwing angle mitigates this). Such a substitution would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of allowing for control over the placement of thrown snow via a snow throwing cap connected to the discharge chute (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
While Schmalz in view of Yoshimura do describe that snow is capable of being thrown a long distance (Yoshimura: Paragraph 10, when the blower is operating at high speed, the distance snow is thrown becomes long), no specific distance is disclosed.
Li 531 teaches of a snow collection device comprising a snow collection element for collecting snow (Li 531: Fig. 19, snow thrower 300 comprises auger assembly 5), a snow throwing device comprising a snow throwing element for throwing out the snow collected by the snow collection device (Li 531: Fig. 19, snow throwing assembly 6 receives snow from auger assembly 5), a discharge chute for guiding the snow along a snow throwing direction (Li 531: Paragraph 61, snow throwing barrel 621 directs snow from the snow throwing assembly 6),
and a snow throwing cap connected to the discharge chute (Li 531: Fig. 19, while not detailed, snow throwing barrel 621 is shown to comprise a snow throwing cap),
wherein a distance between a position where the snow is guided by the snow throwing device to fall on the ground and a central axis of the discharge chute is defined as a snow throwing distance,
and a maximum snow throwing distance that the snow thrower is capable of reaching is greater than or equal to 10 m and less than or equal to 21 m (Li 531: Page 6, table 1, the snow throwing distance is shown to be between variable based on motor output power and include 10-12 m, which satisfies a range between 10 and 21 m).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the unspecified snow throwing distances of Schmalz in view of Yoshimura to be capable of the known snow throwing distances taught by Li 531, as snow throwers being able to throw snow a distance between 10 and 21 meters is known in the art (Li 531: Page 6, table 1). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of throwing snow from the device a distance between 10 and 21 m.
Regarding Claim 19: Schmalz in view of Yoshimura, further in view of Li 531 teaches of the apparatus described in claim 18.
Schmalz and Li do not teach of a control device that adjusts the rotational speed of the first electric motor according to a variation in the load, where a rotational speed of the second electric motor is kept at a value of a rotational speed corresponding to a set snow throwing distance.
Yoshimura teaches of a control device that adjusts the rotational speed of the first electric motor according to a variation in the load, where a rotational speed of the second electric motor is kept at a value of a rotational speed corresponding to a set snow throwing distance (Yoshimura: Paragraph 10, paragraph 89, the rotational speed of first motor 112 and only the first motor 112 is controlled by the displacement of sheave 82 and sheave 81, which are displaced based on the load experienced by working unit 14, such as an increase in the density of the snow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the individual first motor of Schmalz to incorporate an automatic speed adjustment system for the first motor assembly that drives the snow collection device to create a device that regulates the operational speed of the snow collection device to relieve burden on the operator (Yoshimura: Paragraph 11, the bell type variable transmission taught increases the workability of the device for the operator, who does not have to adjust the angle or throwing distance of the blower). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of providing an automatic adjustment to the snow collection assembly in response to changes in load without changing the snow throwing distance of the device.
Regarding Claim 20: Schmalz in view of Yoshimura, further in view of Li 531 teaches of the apparatus described in claim 18.
Schmalz further teaches of the apparatus further comprising an operation member operated by a user to adjust a rotational speed of the second electric motor to adjust the snow throwing distance (Schmalz: Col. 6, line 56-Col. 7, line 14, the snow thrower 20 comprises multiple operational components and operational parameters which are adjustable).
While Schmalz does not explicitly state that the impeller 42 or snow discharging system 24 is controlled by these operational components, Schmalz does state that the multiple operational components does include the output of the propulsion unit 28, which is indicated to supply power to an optionally separate motor that drives impeller 48 and auger drive 46 (Schmalz: Col. 6, line 56-Col. 7, line 14, the propulsion unit 28 and the auger drive 46 are controlled by the operational components of handles 36; Col. 7, line 39-49, power from propulsion unit 28 may be used to drive the components of snow discharger 24, such as the auger or impeller). As such, adjusting the output of propulsion unit 28 would have an effect on the operational output of the optionally separate motor driving impeller 48.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamaoka as part of US 20210040701 A1 teaches of a snow thrower comprising a snow collection device comprising a snow collection element for collecting a snow, a first electric motor configured to drive the snow collection element to rotate and a first transmission assembly disposed between the first electric motor and the snow collection element to transmit power between the first electric motor and the snow collection element, a snow throwing device comprising a snow throwing element for throwing out the snow collected by the snow collection device, a discharge chute guiding the snow along a snow throwing direction, a main housing for supporting the snow collection device and the snow throwing device, a walking assembly driving the snow thrower to walk on the ground, and a power supply device configured to power the first electric motor.
/EVAN A BREGEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671