DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20, which are currently pending, are fully considered below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 18, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jhelum Chakravorty et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20230306079).
With respect to claim 1, 14, and 20, Chakravorty teaches:
generate synthetic labelled training data based on a set of labelled sensor data associated with one or more industrial automation devices (see paragraphs [0006] and [0012], for generating synthetic data on labeled samples); and
train, based at least on the synthetic labelled training data, one or more machine learning models for fault classification associated with the one or more industrial automation devices (see paragraph [0108], where machine learning is used to train models for fault classification).
With respect to claim 3, Chakravorty teaches:
train the generative artificial intelligence model based on the set of labelled sensor data (see paragraph [0108], where machine learning is used to train models for fault classification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 – 13, 15 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jhelum Chakravorty et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20230306079) in view of Joshua Thomas Maher (U.S. Patent Publication 20230281439 ).
With respect to claims 2 and 15, Maher teaches:
wherein the synthetic labelled training data is generated by using a generative artificial intelligence model (see paragraph [0027], for generative training).
With respect to claims 4 and 16, Maher teaches:
update the generative artificial intelligence model based on new sensor data associated with at least one industrial automation device with a confirmed health condition, wherein the new sensor data includes sensor data received after the training of the generative artificial intelligence model (see paragraph [0015], where machine learning models may receive input as sensor data).
With respect to claim 5, Maher teaches:
wherein the generative artificial intelligence model includes a variational autoencoder or a generative adversarial network (see paragraph [0027], for generative training).
With respect to claims 6 and 18, Maher teaches:
wherein the one or more machine learning models are trained by using an extreme gradient boosting, XGBoost, algorithm (see paragraph [0093], for gradient).
With respect to claim 7, Maher teaches:
wherein the set of labelled sensor data includes at least one of: real sensor data, synthetic sensor data, or simulated sensor data (see paragraph [0015], where machine learning models may receive input as sensor data).
With respect to claim 8, Maher teaches:
wherein the set of labelled sensor data includes a plurality of health conditions and at least one of: speed data, temperature data, vibration data, load data, rating data, magnetic flux data, or electrical current data of the one or more industrial automation devices (see paragraph [0034], where sensors ascertain health data).
With respect to claim 9, Maher teaches:
wherein the synthetic labelled training data includes a plurality of health conditions under a plurality of operating conditions for multiple different sizes and ratings of the one or more industrial automation devices (see paragraph [0034], where sensors ascertain health data).
With respect to claims 10 and 17, Maher teaches:
wherein the plurality of health conditions include at least one of: a healthy status, a bearing failure, a rotor imbalance, a phase imbalance, an overheating, stator eccentricity, rotor eccentricity, a broken rotor bar, a misaligned shaft, misaligned bearings, or stator winding faults (see paragraph [0034], where sensors ascertain health data).
With respect to claims 11 and 19, Maher teaches:
detect and classify one or more health conditions associated with at least one of the one or more industrial automation devices by using the one or more machine learning models trained based at least on the synthetic labelled training data (see paragraph [0034], where sensors ascertain health data).
With respect to claim 12, Chakravorty teaches:
wherein the one or more industrial automation devices include at least one of: one or more electric motors, or one or more variable speed drives (see paragraph [0056], for drives).
With respect to claim 13, Chakravorty teaches:
wherein the apparatus comprises, or is comprised in, a cloud platform (see paragraph [0040], for the cloud).
Conclusion/Contact Information
/ALEXANDRIA Y BROMELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156 September 29, 2026