DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application claims benefit of U.S. provisional application 63/584,315 (filed on 09/21/2023).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 08/22/2025 and 0824/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.97. All references cited in these IDSs have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 13 are directed to independent in vitro methods for producing 13CO2 from 13C-labeled biomass. These methods require inter alia “one or more enzymes” and a “yeast formulation” (see 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) section below for discussion of claim 13). Neither the enzyme nor the yeast is particularly limited by the claims.
In order to satisfy the written description requirement for applicant’s broad claim to any enzyme or yeast, applicant must disclose sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics. These characteristics include the complete or partial structure, other physical or chemical properties, or functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure. Additionally, applicant may meet this requirement by sufficiently describing a representative number of species within the claimed genus.
Applicant’s specification has been fully examined and although applicant appears to demonstrate possession of a single yeast (Saccharomyces cerevisiae) and enzymes α-1,3-glucanase, α-amylase, α-glucuronidase, β-1,3-glucanase/laminarinase, β-1,3-1,4-glucanase, β-amylase, β-galactosidase, γ-amylase, alginate lyase, cellobiohydrolase, cellulose 1,4- β-cellobiosidase, chitinase 1-trans-sialidase, chitosanase, endo- β-2,6-fructanase, endo-rhamnogalacturonan lyase, exo- β-agarase, exo- β-glucosaminidase, keratan sulphate hydrolase/keratanase II, laccase, laminarinase, lysozyme, lytic transglycosylase, oligoalginate lyase, and peptidoglycan N-acetylmuramic acid deactetylase. Applicant does not require the yeast nor the enzyme to be S. cerevisiae or any of the enzymes recited above. Instead, the claims broadly encompass any yeast and any enzyme.
As each species within the genus “yeast” and “enzyme” have unique activity, merely reciting a generic “yeast” with a generic “enzyme” is not sufficient to demonstrate possession of the entire genus.
For at least these reasons, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not recognize applicant’s possession of the broad genus claims encompassed by the instant claims.
And although it is noted that some claims require Saccharomyces cerevisiae (see, for example, claims 4 and 15), those claims are still open to any “at least one enzyme” and lack written description for the reasons discussed above. Similarly, insofar as the claims are limiting the enzyme to one or two particular enzymes (see, for example, claims 5 and 17), these claims still are open to any “yeast” and lack written description for the reasons discussed above.
Claims 4, 10, and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rejected as indefinite because it is not clear what is meant by “active dry yeast obtained from Saccharomyces cerevisiae”. Saccharomyces cerevisiae is a yeast and it is therefore not clear if the “active dry yeast” must undergo some process such as drying or are merely the yeast per se.
In the interest of compact prosecution, this limitation is considered to merely require the “yeast formulation” to be Saccharomyces cerevisiae.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected as indefinite because they recite exemplary claim language as it is not clear if this claim language is further limiting. Description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim (MPEP § 2173.05(d)). Although the mere use of the phrase “such as” does not by itself render the claim indefinite, in the context of these claims it is not clear if the claims are limited to “1 hour”.
In the interest of compact prosecution, these claims have been interpreted to allow for the broader range recited in the claim.
Claim 13 is rejected as indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the yeast formulation”. Lines 13-14 recite “adding the yeast formulation and sucrose to the supernatant solution”. The claim does not previously describe any “yeast formulation”. Therefore, it is not clear what “yeast formulation” is being referenced (or added) in the method claim.
In the interest of compact prosecution, this claim has been examined as if it properly establishes a “yeast formulation” and said yeast formulation is added to the supernatant solution.
Claims 14-21 are rejected because they inherit the indefinite language of claim 13 but do not clarify the meaning. It is noted that claim 15 further limits the “yeast formulation” but it still does not introduce the formulation such that proper antecedent basis is established.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikawa et al. (Energy & Environmental Science, 2013, Vol. 6, pages 1844-1849) in view of Yatabe et al. (Biotechnology Journal, 2020, Vol. 17, pages 1-9), Bharucha et al. (Neurogastroenterology & Motility, 2013, Vol. 25, pages e60-e69; cited in IDS dated 08/22/2025), as evidenced by Akhtar et al. (Asian Journal of Microbiology and Biotechnology, 2018, Vol. 20 supplemental, pages S202-S206).
Aikawa et al. (hereinafter Aikawa) teaches methods for production of ethanol from Arthrospira (Spirulina) platensis (abstract). Aikawa teaches that bioethanol is typically produced from agricultural crops such as corn and sugarcane but because these crops are major contributors to human food supplies, bioethanol production has contributed to increased food prices (p. 1844, right col., par. 1). Aikawa continues by teaches that as an alternative feedstock for bioethanol production, oxygenic photosynthetic microorganisms, including cyanobacteria and microalgae have “considerable potential” because they convert solar energy to biomass more efficiently (Id.). Oxygenic photosynthetic microorganisms capable of growing in aquatic environments provide the additional benefit of year-round cultivation without the requirement for arable land and salt-tolerant species eliminates the impact on freshwater resources (p. 1844, right col., par. 1 through p. 1845, left col., par. 1). Specifically, Aikawa teaches that cyanobacteria such as A. platensis can grow in high-salinity environments, produce large amounts of α-polyglucan in the form of glycogen, and this glycogen can be extracted without complicated pretreatment because of its brittle cell membrane architecture (p. 1845, left col., par. 1). Aikawa concludes that A. platensis “is an attractive candidate as a carbohydrate feedstock for biorefinery use, particularly for bioethanol production” (Id.).
Regarding claim 1, Aikawa teaches the following steps.
Aikawa’s methods involve cultivation of A. platensis for 4 days in SOT medium and “[t]o examine direct ethanol production from non-pretreated A. platensis cells, cells collected by filtration were added directly to the fermentation medium” (p. 1848, right col., par. 2). Aikawa subsequently added Saccharomyces cerevisiae (i.e., a yeast) in YPA medium with chicken egg white lysozyme (i.e., one or more enzymes)(p. 1848, right col., par. 3). Thus, Aikawa teaches a step of preparing a solution comprising the biomass and one or more enzymes and adding a yeast formulation to the solution.
With respect to allowing the one or more enzymes to break down the biomass into simple sugars, Aikawa teaches that the lysozyme “was added to YPA fermentation medium for the extraction of intracellular glycogen from A. platensis (Id.). Aikawa demonstrates that addition of lysozyme improved ethanol production and yield (p. 1849, left col., par. 7). Additionally, Aikawa’s S. cerevisiae is a recombinant strain secreting α-amylase (p. 1845, left col., par. 3). Aikawa concludes that “[e]thanol was successfully produced from A. platensis at high yields without any pretreatment or extraction steps by the combined use of amylase-expressing yeast and lysozyme addition (p. 1845, left col., par. 3). Fig. 4 of Aikawa shows that addition of these enzymes improved glucose (i.e., simple sugar). Therefore, because Aikawa teaches the addition of lysozyme and α-amylase (through expression of a recombinant yeast), it teaches that allowing the one or more enzymes to break down the biomass into simple sugars. It is noted that claim 5 limits the one or more enzymes to comprise α-amylase and lysozyme. Because they are the same enzymes, they must have the same activity, especially when acting on the same biomass.
With respect to allowing the yeast formulation to digest the simple sugars in the solution to produce CO2 gas, as discussed above, Aikawa’s methods involve the production of ethanol from A. platensis-derived glycogen and glucose. Aikawa does not explicitly teach the production of CO2 gas.
Nonetheless, CO2 is an inherent byproduct of the conversion of glucose to ethanol. For example, Akhtar et al. teaches that the yeast S. cerevisiae is “widely used in ethanol fermentation industry owing to its efficient conversion of sugars to ethanol” (p. S203, left col., par. 3). Fig. 1 of Akhtar shows the ethanol fermentation metabolic pathway and demonstrates that glucose is converted to pyruvic acid, which is then converted to 2-acetaldehyde (yielding 2 CO2), which is then converted to 2 ethanol. Thus, Aikawa’s S. cerevisiae (i.e., yeast formulation) necessarily digest the simple sugars in the solution to produce CO2 gas.
In summary, Aikawa teaches:
An in vitro method for producing CO2 gas from biomass comprising:
preparing a solution comprising the biomass and one or more enzymes;
allowing the one or more enzymes to break down the biomass into simple sugars;
adding a yeast formulation to the solution; and
allowing the yeast formulation to digest the simple sugars in the solution to product CO2 gas.
Aikawa differs because it does not teach using a 13C-labeled biomass to produce 13CO2 gas.
Nonetheless, it is well-known in the art that 13C is useful in investigating the metabolic state of S. cerevisiae. For example, Yatabe et al. teaches that various industrial Saccharomyces cerevisiae strains are used for specific processes such as sake, wine brewing, and bread making and understanding mechanisms underlying the fermentation performance of these strains “would be useful for further engineering of the S. cerevisiae metabolism” (abstract). One of the most important phenotypes in S. cerevisiae is strong fermentation performance, characterized by the rapid and robust production of ethanol and CO2 under adverse conditions during fermentation (p. 1, right col., par. 1). To this end, Yatabe teaches that 13C-metabolic flux analysis (13C-MFA) is a useful tool in investigating metabolic states of industrial S. cerevisiae strains since it can reveal metabolic flow levels in central caron metabolism (p. 2, left col., par. 2). An advantage of 13C-MFA is the ability to find specific rates for CO2 generation (Id.). Yatabe uses this endpoint to investigate their relationship with phenotypes such as high fermentation performance (p. 2, left col., par. 3). Yatabe determined that 13C-MFA suggests elevation of CO2 in industrial strains of S. cerevisiae (section 3.4) by finding a variation in metabolite flux among four investigated strains (p. 7, right col., par. 2).
Therefore, because Aikawa teaches an in vitro method involving producing CO2 gas from biomass by using S. cerevisiae to create ethanol (with a CO2 byproduct) and because Yatabe teaches that in S. cerevisiae-based ethanol production schemes it is useful to 13C label the carbon in order to investigate CO2 production (through 13C-MFA), it would have been obvious to have modified Aikawa such that it instead uses a 13C-labeled biomass to produce 13CO2 gas. Specifically, it would have been obvious to have modified Aikawa’s method such that it is “for producing 13CO2 gas” because Yatabe demonstrates the usefulness of 13CO2 gas for determining commercial viability of S. cerevisiae strains and for optimizing ethanol production processes. Optimizing ethanol production through this method would directly address Aikawa’s desire for high yield ethanol production from A. platensis by the combined use of amylase-expressing yeast and lysozyme addition. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because the modification merely requires 13C labeling of Aikawa’s carbon source (i.e., the A. platensis biomass) and this labeling is well-known in the art. For example, Bharucha et al. teaches 13C labeling of S. platensis by growing in a closed hydroponics chamber with pure 13C resulting in 13C-labeled protein, carbohydrates, and lipids, which can be released after “the cells are digested” giving rise to respiratory CO2 that is enriched in 13C (p. e62, left col., par. 2). This obviousness is based upon the “Some Teachings, Suggestion, or Motivation in the Prior Art That Would Have Led One of Ordinary Skill To Modify the Prior Art Reference or To Combine Prior Art Reference Teachings To Arrive at the Claimed Invention” rationale set forth in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
And although it is noted that Aikawa performs the enzymatic breakdown of the biomass and the digestion of simple sugars in a combined step, it would nonetheless be obvious to separate those steps (i.e., by performing the breakdown of the biomass into simple sugars and subsequently converting the simple sugars to ethanol and 13CO2). See for example, MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(C) which discusses obviousness of changing the sequence of ingredients. This modification would have been particularly obvious because the components are not required to be combined in order to perform their effects (i.e., lysozyme is not required to be in the presence of S. cerevisiae in order to break down S. platensis and lysozyme is not required to be present in order for S. cerevisiae to produce ethanol and 13CO2.
Thus claim 1 is obvious over Aikawa in view of Yatabe and Bharucha, as evidenced by Akhtar.
Regarding claim 2, as discussed above, Aikawa’s modified method involves a 13C-labeled biomass which is 13C-labeled Spirulina platensis.
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, Aikawa’s modified method involves 13C-labeled Spirulina platensis and one or more enzymes. Thus, the only difference is that Aikawa does not describe the ratio of the biomass to the one or more enzymes. Generally, differences in concentration do not support patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentrations as critical (MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)). A person having ordinary skill in the art could have arrived at the recited ratio as a result of routine optimization. Aikawa teaches the enzymes as being important for the enzymatic breakdown of S. platensis and its glycogen. Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been prompted to experiment with various amounts of the biomass and the enzymes (or relative amounts) and could have arrived at the recited ratio with a reasonable expectation of success. There is no evidence of record that the recited ratio is critical or elicits an unexpected or remarkable result.
Regarding claim 4, as discussed above, Aikawa’s modified method involves an active dry yeast obtained from Saccharomyces cerevisiae (per the interpretation set forth in the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) section above).
Regarding claim 5, as discussed above, Aikawa’s modified method involves two enzymes (i.e., one or more enzymes), specifically α-amylase and lysozyme. And although Aikawa’s yeast is a recombinant yeast expressing α-amylase, it is considered that this is the same as “adding” α-amylase because Aikawa teaches that the strain “secretes” α-amylase (p. 1845, left col., par. 2). And even if this was not a type of addition, it would have nonetheless been obvious to have used a naturally occurring strain and exogenously added α-amylase (in addition to lysozyme).
Regarding claim 6, the instant claim limits the ratio of α-amylase to lysozyme. As discussed above, Aikawa’s modified method includes the use of α-amylase and lysozyme. Thus, the only difference is that Aikawa does not describe the ratio of the two enzymes. Generally, differences in concentration do not support patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentrations as critical (MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)). A person having ordinary skill in the art could have arrived at the recited ratio as a result of routine optimization. Aikawa teaches both enzymes as being important for the enzymatic breakdown of S. platensis and its glycogen. Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been prompted to experiment with various amounts of the two components (or relative amounts) and could have arrived at the recited ratio with a reasonable expectation of success. There is no evidence of record that the recited ratio is critical or elicits an unexpected or remarkable result.
Regarding claim 7, as discussed above, Aikawa teaches a step of allowing the one or more enzymes to break down the biomass into simple sugars. Because Aikawa’s enzymatic breakdown of S. platensis biomass resulted in the generation of a simple sugar (glucose), it is considered to have been an incubation for an incubating time period sufficient to enable the one or more enzymes to break down the 13C-labeled biomass into 13C-labeled simple sugars.
Regarding claim 8, Aikawa’s method was performed over 96 hours of fermentation. Although this time frame is outside of the claimed range, Aikawa’s method involves a simultaneous enzymatic breakdown and fermentation step. As discussed above, it would nonetheless be obvious to separate these steps. Accordingly, when separating these steps, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been expected to routinely experiment with various time frames of incubation in order to optimize the overall process time and maximize simple sugar production. A person having ordinary skill in the art could have arrived at the range of 8 hours to 36 hours with a reasonable expectation of success and there is no evidence that the recited range is critical or elicits an unexpected or remarkable result.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/GRANT C CURRENS/Examiner, Art Unit 1651