DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 18 September 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed.
The IDS has been placed in the application file, but some of the information referred to therein has not been considered, as indicated by the lined through references which were missing and English language translation or explanation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiyose, US 20140211587 A1 (hereinafter Kiyose).
Regarding claim 1, Kiyose teaches an ultrasonic module, comprising:
a frame component (70, Figs. 3 and 7);
an ultrasonic oscillating component accommodated in the frame component (20, 40, Figs. 3 and 7);
an acoustic lens disposed on the frame component (50, Figs. 3 and 7); and
an adhesive component accommodated in the frame component (35, 135, Fig. 3; 65, Fig. 7; “According to this configuration, the acoustic matching layer is composed of a resin, and the ultrasonic element array substrate and the acoustic lens can be secured to each other with a resin (adhesive). Therefore, the cured resin (adhesive) allows the ultrasonic element array substrate and the acoustic lens to be bonded to each other, and can function also as an acoustic matching layer”, ¶¶ 0012-0013);
wherein, the frame component is disposed between the acoustic lens and the ultrasonic oscillating component; the frame component has a first opening formed at one end adjacent to the acoustic lens, the ultrasonic oscillating component is disposed on a side of the first opening close to the adhesive component, and the acoustic lens is in contact with the ultrasonic oscillating component through the first opening (frame 70 has small opening at top, where the acoustic lens 50 is adjacent the ultrasonic components 20 and 40, which are secured by adhesive 65, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the frame component has a second opening formed at a side away from the acoustic lens, and the ultrasonic oscillating component and the adhesive component protrude from the second opening (frame 70 has a small opening at the top and a larger opening at the bottom, and adhesive 35 protrudes outside of the larger opening, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 2, as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein a size of the first opening is smaller than a size of the second opening (frame 70 has a small opening at the top and a larger opening at the bottom, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the frame component comprises a peripheral portion and an inner extension portion connected to the peripheral portion, the ultrasonic oscillating component and the adhesive component are accommodated in an interior volume surrounded and defined by the peripheral portion, and the inner extension portion has the first opening formed corresponding to the end adjacent to the acoustic lens (inner portion of 70 accommodates the ultrasonic components 20 and 40 at the end where lens 50 is adjacent the ultrasonic components, Figs, 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 2, as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the frame component comprises a peripheral portion and an inner extension portion connected to the peripheral portion, the ultrasonic oscillating component and the adhesive component are accommodated in an interior volume surrounded and defined by the peripheral portion, the inner extension portion forms the first opening, and the second opening is formed away from the junction of the peripheral portion and the inner extension portion (inner portion of 70 accommodates the ultrasonic components 20 and 40 at the end where lens 50 is adjacent the ultrasonic components, Figs, 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 6, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 4, as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein each of the peripheral portion and the inner extension portion has a wall thickness, the wall thickness of the peripheral portion is larger than the wall thickness of the inner extension portion (“the thickness T of the acoustic matching layer 40 (dimension from the element-formed surface of the ultrasonic element array substrate 20 to the lens portion 51 of the acoustic lens 50) is determined by the sum of the thickness t1 of the adhesive member 65 and the thickness t3 of the fixing frame (thickness of the fixing frame including the first projections 76) (T=t1+t3), as shown in FIG. 16. Thus, the thickness T of the acoustic matching layer 40 in the ultrasonic device 4 of this embodiment can be appropriately set by the contact between the fixing frame 70a and the acoustic lens 50, and thus the setting thereof is easy. Since the thickness of the acoustic matching layer 40 can be appropriately set, it is possible to transmit and receive ultrasound efficiently”, ¶¶ 0150-0151. The thickness of the peripheral wall portion is larger as indicated in Fig. 3 for the advantage of structural integrity, and the thickness of the inner extension wall is thinner, for purposes of optimal dispersal of acoustic energy).
Regarding claim 7, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the ultrasonic oscillating component comprises an oscillating base and a flexible circuit board, the flexible circuit board comprises at least one bendable spacer, the acoustic lens is in contact with the oscillating base through the first opening, and the spacer is arranged along an inner side of the frame component (bendable spacers 60, acoustic lens 50 in contact with ultrasonic components 20 and 40, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 2, as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the ultrasonic oscillating component comprises an oscillating base and a flexible circuit board; the flexible circuit board comprises at least one bendable spacer; the acoustic lens is in contact with the oscillating base through the first opening; the spacers are arranged along an inner side of the frame component and protrude from the second opening (bendable spacers 60, acoustic lens 50 in contact with ultrasonic components 20 and 40, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 7, as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the adhesive component is accommodated in an interior volume surrounded and defined by the spacer (adhesive 35 and 135 accommodated by and surrounding flexible spacer 60, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the frame component is integrally formed of metal in one piece (“As a material for the fixing frame 70, a metal such as stainless steel, an acrylic resin, or the like, can be used,” ¶ 0095).
Regarding claim 11, Kiyose teaches an ultrasonic probe, comprising:
an ultrasonic module (1, Fig. 7), comprising:
a frame component (70, Figs. 3 and 7);
an ultrasonic oscillating component accommodated in the frame component (20, 40, Figs. 3 and 7);
an acoustic lens disposed on the frame component (50, Figs. 3 and 7); and
an adhesive component accommodated in the frame component (35, Fig. 3; 65, Fig. 7; “According to this configuration, the acoustic matching layer is composed of a resin, and the ultrasonic element array substrate and the acoustic lens can be secured to each other with a resin (adhesive). Therefore, the cured resin (adhesive) allows the ultrasonic element array substrate and the acoustic lens to be bonded to each other, and can function also as an acoustic matching layer”, ¶¶ 0012-0013);
a casing covering the ultrasonic module and partially exposing the acoustic lens (casing 132, Fig. 3);
wherein, the frame component is disposed between the acoustic lens and the ultrasonic oscillating component; the frame component has a first opening formed at one end adjacent to the acoustic lens, the ultrasonic oscillating component is disposed on a side of the first opening close to the adhesive component, and the acoustic lens is in contact with the ultrasonic oscillating component through the first opening (frame 70 has small opening at top, where the acoustic lens 50 is adjacent the ultrasonic components 20 and 40, which are secured by adhesive 65, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 11, as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the frame component has a second opening formed at a side away from the acoustic lens, and the ultrasonic oscillating component and the adhesive component protrude from the second opening (frame 70 has a small opening at the top and a larger opening at the bottom, and adhesive 35 protrudes outside of the larger opening, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 12, as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein a size of the first opening is smaller than a size of the second opening (frame 70 has a small opening at the top and a larger opening at the bottom, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 11, as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the frame component comprises a peripheral portion and an inner extension portion connected to the peripheral portion, the ultrasonic oscillating component and the adhesive component are accommodated in an interior volume surrounded and defined by the peripheral portion, and the inner extension portion has the first opening formed corresponding to the end adjacent to the acoustic lens (inner portion of 70 accommodates the ultrasonic components 20 and 40 at the end where lens 50 is adjacent the ultrasonic components, Figs, 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 15, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 12, as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the frame component comprises a peripheral portion and an inner extension portion connected to the peripheral portion, the ultrasonic oscillating component and the adhesive component are accommodated in an interior volume surrounded and defined by the peripheral portion, the inner extension portion forms the first opening, and the second opening is formed away from the junction of the peripheral portion and the inner extension portion (inner portion of 70 accommodates the ultrasonic components 20 and 40 at the end where lens 50 is adjacent the ultrasonic components, Figs, 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 16, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 14, as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein each of the peripheral portion and the inner extension portion has a wall thickness, the wall thickness of the peripheral portion is larger than the wall thickness of the inner extension portion (“the thickness T of the acoustic matching layer 40 (dimension from the element-formed surface of the ultrasonic element array substrate 20 to the lens portion 51 of the acoustic lens 50) is determined by the sum of the thickness t1 of the adhesive member 65 and the thickness t3 of the fixing frame (thickness of the fixing frame including the first projections 76) (T=t1+t3), as shown in FIG. 16. Thus, the thickness T of the acoustic matching layer 40 in the ultrasonic device 4 of this embodiment can be appropriately set by the contact between the fixing frame 70a and the acoustic lens 50, and thus the setting thereof is easy. Since the thickness of the acoustic matching layer 40 can be appropriately set, it is possible to transmit and receive ultrasound efficiently”, ¶¶ 0150-0151. The thickness of the peripheral wall portion is larger as indicated in Fig. 3 for the advantage of structural integrity, and the thickness of the inner extension wall is thinner, for purposes of optimal dispersal of acoustic energy).
Regarding claim 17, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 11, as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the ultrasonic oscillating component comprises an oscillating base and a flexible circuit board, the flexible circuit board comprises at least one bendable spacer, the acoustic lens is in contact with the oscillating base through the first opening, and the spacer is arranged along an inner side of the frame component (bendable spacers 60, acoustic lens 50 in contact with ultrasonic components 20 and 40, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 12, as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the ultrasonic oscillating component comprises an oscillating base and a flexible circuit board; the flexible circuit board comprises at least one bendable spacer; the acoustic lens is in contact with the oscillating base through the first opening; the spacers are arranged along an inner side of the frame component and protrude from the second opening (bendable spacers 60, acoustic lens 50 in contact with ultrasonic components 20 and 40, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 17, as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the adhesive component is accommodated in an interior volume surrounded and defined by the spacer (adhesive 35 and 135 accommodated by and surrounding flexible spacer 60, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Kiyose teaches the invention of claim 11, as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above. Kiyose also teaches wherein the frame component is integrally formed of metal in one piece (“As a material for the fixing frame 70, a metal such as stainless steel, an acrylic resin, or the like, can be used,” ¶ 0095).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210162462 A1 discloses an ultrasonic probe includes a semiconductor chip 101 in which a CMUT 102 is formed and an electrode pad 101a electrically connected to an upper electrode or a lower electrode of the CMUT 102 is provided and a flexible substrate 100 in which a bump 100b electrically connected to the electrode pad 101a is provided and the bump 100b is disposed in a portion overlapping with a stepped portion 101e of the semiconductor chip 101. Further, a height of a connection surface 101aa of the electrode pad 101a of the semiconductor chip 101 connected to the bump 100b is lower than a height of a lower surface of the lower electrode.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LEO T HINZE/
Patent Examiner
AU 2853
22 August 2026
/STEPHEN D MEIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853