DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention III (claims 1-2, 4, and 6) in the reply filed on 2026-02-12 is acknowledged.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2024-09-18 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over parent US Patent 12124597 in view of the prior art of record.
Although the claims at issue are not identical to the parent patents, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broadened claim limitations of the instant application are either anticipated by the claims of the issued parent patents, or are otherwise obvious variations. For example, the claims of the parent patent anticipate at least independent claim 1. Any limitations of the dependent claims of the Instant Application not disclosed in the parent patent would be obvious in view of the cited prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (35 U.S.C. 101 Judicial Exception) without significantly more. The claims recite storing data objects in a particular portion of storage based on a determined security level, a form of observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion, which is a concept performed in the human mind and thus grouped as Mental processes. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered separately and in combination, do not add significantly more to the abstract idea, as they are well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the courts.
Based upon consideration of all the relevant factors with respect to the claimed invention as a whole, the claims are determined to be directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The rationale for this determination is explained infra:
The following are Principles of Law:
A patent may be obtained for “any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof”; 35 U.S.C. § 101. The Supreme Court has consistently held that this provision contains an important implicit exception: laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are not patentable; See Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2354 (2014); Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972) (“Phenomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.”). Notwithstanding that a law of nature or an abstract idea, by itself, is not patentable, an application of these concepts may be deserving of patent protection; See Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1293–94 (2012). In Mayo, the Court stated that “to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent-eligible application of such a law, one must do more than simply state the law of nature while adding the words ‘apply it.’” Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294 (citation omitted).
In Alice, the Court reaffirmed the framework set forth previously in Mayo “for distinguishing patents that claim laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas from those that claim patent-eligible applications of these concepts.” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355. The test for determining subject matter eligibility requires a first step of determining whether the claims are directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claims are directed to one of the four patent-eligible subject matter categories, then the Examiner must perform a two-part analysis to determine whether a claim that is directed to a judicial exception recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the exception. The first part of the second step in the analysis is to “determine whether the claims at issue are directed to one of those patent-ineligible concepts.” Id. If the claims are directed to a patent-ineligible concept, then the second part of the second step in the analysis is to consider the elements of the claims “individually and ‘as an ordered combination”’ to determine whether there are additional elements that “‘transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent-eligible application.” Id. (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1298, 1297). In other words, the second step in the analysis is to “search for an ‘inventive concept’‒ i.e., an element or combination of elements that is ‘sufficient to ensure that the patent in practice amounts to significantly more than a patent on the [ineligible concept] itself.’” Id. (brackets in original) (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294). The prohibition against patenting an abstract idea “cannot be circumvented by attempting to limit the use of the formula to a particular technological environment or adding insignificant post-solution activity.” Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 610–11 (2010) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted). The Court in Alice noted that “[s]imply appending conventional steps, specified at a high level of generality,” was not “enough” [in Mayo] to supply an “‘inventive concept.’” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2357 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1300, 1297, 1294).
In the “2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance” (2019 PEG), the USPTO has prepared revised guidance for use by USPTO personnel in evaluating subject matter eligibility based upon rulings by the courts.
The Examiner is bound by and applies the framework as set forth by the Court in Mayo and reaffirmed by the Court in Alice and follows the 2019 PEG for determining whether the claims are directed to patent-eligible subject matter.
Step 1: Are the claims at issue directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
The Examiner finds that the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A – Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
The Examiner finds that the claims are directed to the abstract idea of storing data objects in a particular portion of storage based on a determined security level, a form of observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion, which is a concept performed in the human mind and thus grouped as Mental processes.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the Judicial Exception into a practical application?
The abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
In determining whether the abstract idea was integrated into a practical application, the Examiner has considered whether there were any limitations indicative of integration into a practical application, such as:
(1) Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field; See MPEP § 2106.05(a)
(2) Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition; See Vanda Memo (Recent Subject Matter Eligibility Decision: Vanda Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. West-Ward Pharmaceuticals)
(3) Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; See MPEP § 2106.05(b)
(4) Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; See MPEP § 2106.05(c)
(5) Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception; See MPEP § 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
The Examiner notes that clam features of: storing data objects in a particular portion of storage based on a determined security level do not improve the functioning of a computer or technical field, do not effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, do not apply or use a particular machine, do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, and do not apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Instead of a practical application, the claim features of storing data objects in a particular portion of storage based on a determined security level merely use a general-purpose computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea (See MPEP § 2106.05(f)) and merely generally link the use of the abstract idea to a field of use (See MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Thus, the Examiner finds that the claimed invention does not recite additional elements that integrate the Judicial Exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: Is there something else in the claims that ensures that they are directed to significantly more than a patent-ineligible concept?
The claims, as a whole, require nothing significantly more than generic computer implementation or can be performed entirely by a human. The additional element(s) or combination of element(s) in the claims other than the abstract idea per se amount to no more than recitation of generic computer structure (e.g. processing system) that serves to perform generic computer functions (e.g. receiving user input, receiving a data object, determining a data security level for the data object, storing the data object, ...) that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry. The claimed user input, data object, and security level are all numbers, data structures, or datum. Each of these elements are individually dispositive of patent eligibility because of the following legal holdings:
“Data in its ethereal, non-physical form is simply information that does not fall under any of the categories of eligible subject matter under section 101.” Digitech Image Techs., LLC v. Electronics for Imaging, Inc., 758 F.3d 1344, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
The Supreme Court has also explained that “[a]bstract software code is an idea without physical embodiment,” i.e., an abstraction. Microsoft Corp. v. AT&T Corp., 550 U.S. 437, 449 (2007).
A claim that recites no more than software, logic, or a data structure (i.e., an abstract idea) – with no structural tie or functional interrelationship to an article of manufacture, machine, process or composition of matter does not fall within any statutory category and is not patentable subject matter; data structures in ethereal, non-physical form are non-statutory subject matter. In re Warmerdam, 33 F.3d 1354, 1361 (Fed. Cir. 1994); see Nuijten, 500 F.3d at 1357.
Furthermore, the claimed invention does not have a specific asserted improvement in computer capabilities, nor is it a specific implementation of a solution to a problem in the software arts; See Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Rather, the claims are merely directed towards storing data objects in a particular portion of storage based on a determined security level, which is similar to ideas that the courts have found to be abstract, as noted supra, and the claims are without a “practical application” or anything “significantly more”.
Considering each of the claim elements in turn, the function performed by the computer system at each step of the process does no more than require a generic computer to perform a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity at a high level of generality. For example, receiving user input and receiving a data object are merely receiving or transmitting data over a network, which has been found by the courts to be a well-understood, routine, conventional activity in computers; See e.g. Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network). Further, determining a data security level for the data object is merely a form of performing repetitive calculations, which has been found by the courts to be a well-understood, routine, conventional activity in computers; See e.g. Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (“The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims.”). Further, storing the data object is merely a form of storing and retrieving information in memory, which has been found by the courts to be a well-understood, routine, conventional activity in computers; See e.g. Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93. Further note that the abstract idea of storing data objects in a particular portion of storage based on a determined security level to which the claimed invention is directed has a prior art basis outside of a computing environment, e.g. putting classified/secret information in folders marked with their clearance level.
The prohibition against patenting an abstract idea “cannot be circumvented by attempting to limit the use of the formula to a particular technological environment or adding insignificant post-solution activity.” Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 610–11 (2010) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted). The Court in Alice noted that “[s]imply appending conventional steps, specified at a high level of generality,” was not “enough” [in Mayo] to supply an “‘inventive concept.’” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2357 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1300, 1297, 1294).
Viewed as a whole, the claims simply recite the steps of using generic computer components. The claims do not purport, for example, to improve the functioning of the computer system itself. Nor does it effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Instead, the claims amount to nothing significantly more than an instruction to implement the abstract idea using generic computer components. This is insufficient to transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.
The dependent claims likewise incorporate the deficiencies of a claim upon which they ultimately depend and are also directed to non-patent-eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Redlich et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No. 20050132070-A1, hereinafter “Redlich”).
With respect to independent claim 1, Redlich discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a processing system of a home virtual private network (VPN) including a processor in communication with a computer network and from one or more computing devices via the computer network {paras. 0122, 0166-0168, and 0244: “securing data on a personal computer (PC) system, on a computer network (LAN or WAN)” including operating on “secured closed networks, such as VPNs”}, user input to configure a secure storage unit (SSU) to store a plurality of data objects, wherein the user input defines a security level for using at least one portion of the SSU {paras. 0169-0172, 0189, 0239-0267, 0283: “security systems having multiple security levels”, wherein there are different “levels of security relating to” storage locations}.
receiving, by the processing system, a data object for storage in the SSU {para. 0172: “the source document or data object is saved”}.
determining, by the processing system, a data security level for the data object, wherein the data security level is determined by user input regarding the data object, analysis of the data object by the processing system, or a combination thereof, wherein the analysis comprises analysis of attributes of the data object, content of the data object, or a combination thereof {paras. 0189, 0283, 0298, 0313-0314, 0367, 0407-0412, and 0421-0422: “Source data 100 passes through security program 200. Critical, important data objects or elements are extracted and dispersed into storage 801. In the illustrated embodiment, storage 801 has four security levels SL1-SL4, level SL4 being the most secure data requiring the highest security clearance” so as to “extract and store the security sensitive words, data objects etc. in accordance with security levels SL2-SL4”}.
storing, by the processing system, the data object in a particular portion of the SSU according to the determined data security level {paras. 0189, 0283, 0298, 0313-0314, 0367, 0407-0412, and 0421-0422: “store the security sensitive words, data objects etc. in accordance with security levels SL2-SL4”}.
With respect to dependent claim 2, Redlich discloses wherein the user input is received at a graphical user interface (GUI) of a computing device in the home VPN {paras. 0064, 0166, and 0404: “a graphical user interface Windows GUI” which may be on “secured closed networks, such as VPNs”}.
With respect to dependent claim 4, Redlich discloses:
wherein the SSU comprises a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, the first portion attached to the computer network and storing encrypted data {paras. 0171 and 0239-0253: “encryption levels and storage levels correspond to the security level for the various communities of interest”}, the second portion attached to the computer network and storing unencrypted data {paras. 0060, 0239-0253, 0281, and 0356: “only the critical content is extracted and/or encrypted, whereas the rest of the document remains as plaintext”}, the third portion attachable to the computer network {paras. 0177, 0189, 0243-0245, and 0298: “increasing security responses include engaging the filter and extracting critical data and storing it locally; the next level involves storing the critical data on removable storage media”}.
further comprising providing, by the processing system via the GUI, an instruction to manually attach to the computer network the third portion of the SSU to permit the storing of the data object in the third portion of the SSU {para. 0404: “an operating system Windows 2000, a graphical user interface Windows GUI”; Windows 2000 natively supports instructions for manual attachment of storage (e.g., a request to insert a CD/DVD or tape to a drive with a burn/write request sent to that drive)}.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under nonstatutory double patenting set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In interpreting the claims, in light of the specification, the Examiner finds the claimed invention to be patentably distinct from the prior art of record.
Alsalim et al. (US Patent No. 11580235-B2, hereinafter “Alsalim”) teaches securing and protecting a storage system that includes a removable storage device, including suspending all read or write operations to the target storage device.
The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest, individually or in combination, each and every limitation of the claimed invention. For example, Redlich-Alsalim in combination do not anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention as a whole, as recited in the independent claims.
Although Redlich discloses directing data to a different drive based on the security level of the data and the drives, Redlich does not disclose suspending, by the processing system, storage of additional data objects until the third portion of the SSU is detached subsequent to a storage transaction. The Examiner notes that both instructing to detach removable drives and suspending storage requests are known in the art, such as disclosed by Alsalim; however, the Examiner notes that the prior art does not provide sufficient motivation to be modified and combined in such a way as to render obvious the claimed feature without the usage of impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Thus, the Examiner finds that the prior art does not provide sufficient teaching or motivation for anticipating or rendering obvious the claimed invention as a whole.
/Kevin Bechtel/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2491