Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/18/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 09/18/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/24/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 09/18/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/03/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 13-14, 21, 22, 24-26, 30, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 2012/0019807).
As to claim 1, Lee teaches a heat exchanger (10, Fig. 15, paragraph 6, “heat exchanger”) comprising:
a plurality of fins (30, Fig. 15, paragraph 6, “plate heat exchange fin”), each of the plurality of fins comprising a fin body (30, Fig. 17, paragraph 12) and a plurality of columns (See annotated Fig. 17 below) of heat exchange tube slots (31, Fig. 17, paragraph 12, “tube heat exchange coupling opening hole”) formed in the fin body (Fig. 17, paragraph 12),
each of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprising a plurality of heat exchange tube slots arranged in a first direction (31, See annotated Fig. 17 below, paragraph 12, “tube heat exchange coupling opening hole”),
the plurality of fins being arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (See annotated Fig. 15 below), and
the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of each of the plurality of fins being arranged in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (See annotated Fig. 15 and Fig. 17 below); and
a row of heat exchange tubes (20) provided in each heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of each column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots (See annotated Fig. 17 below),
the row of heat exchange tubes comprising one heat exchange tube or a plurality of heat exchange tubes (See annotated Fig. 17 below),
wherein a length of at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of at least one fin of the plurality of fins in the third direction is greater than a heat exchange tube size of the row of heat exchange tubes inserted in the at least one heat exchange tube slot in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 17 below),
when the row of heat exchange tubes comprises the one heat exchange tube, the heat exchange tube size is a size of the one heat exchange tube in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 17 below), and
when the row of heat exchange tubes comprises the plurality of heat exchange tubes, the heat exchange tube size is a sum of sizes of the plurality of heat exchange tubes in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 17 below);
wherein at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot (See annotated Fig. 17 below, the position in the third direction of the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the position in the third direction of the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot).
As to claim 2, Lee teaches the plurality of fins and the heat exchange tubes of the rows of heat exchange tubes provided in the heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins constitute a heat exchanger core (10),
the heat exchanger core comprising a first core portion and a second core portion (See annotated Fig. 17 below, first core portion is left of plane and second core portion is right of plane), the first core portion and the second core portion being positioned on both sides of a plane passing through a geometric center of the fin bodies and perpendicular to the third direction (See annotated Fig. 17 below, plane extends into the page), respectively,
the first core portion being positioned on a first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 17 below), and
the second core portion being positioned on a second side of the heat exchanger opposite to the first side in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 17 below), wherein
a heat exchange efficiency of the first core portion is lower than a heat exchange efficiency of the second core portion (paragraph 72, “a large number of zigzag bending tube 20 is installed to increase the heat exchange capacity”, as the second core portion has more heat exchange capacity due to having more tubes, while having the same surface area as the first core portion, the heat exchange efficiency of the second core portion is higher than the first core portion).
As to claim 3, Lee teaches the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of at least one fin of the plurality of fins and
the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least another column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a second side of the heat exchanger opposite to the first side in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the at least one fin of the plurality of fins
are arranged alternately in the first direction (See annotated Fig. 17 from claim 1 rejection above).
As to claim 5, Lee teaches a plurality of rows of heat exchange tubes in the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins and
a plurality of rows of heat exchange tubes in the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least another column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a second side of the heat exchanger opposite to the first side in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins
have different numbers of the heat exchange tubes (See annotated Fig. 17 below).
As to claim 6, Lee teaches a sum of heat exchange tube sizes of a plurality of rows of heat exchange tubes in the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins
is smaller than
a sum of heat exchange tube sizes of a plurality of rows of heat exchange tubes in the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least another column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a second side of the heat exchanger opposite to the first side in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins (See annotated Fig. 17 below).
As to claim 8, Lee teaches the length SL of at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of at least one fin of the plurality of fins in the third direction and
the size Tw of the heat exchange tubes of the row of heat exchange tubes inserted in the at least one heat exchange tube slot in the third direction
satisfy the following relationship of: SL=n*Tw, where, n is a positive integer (See annotated Fig. 16 below, the tube slot boundary has a length in the third direction to be exactly n = 2 and has a heat exchange tube provided in the tube slot).
As to claim 9, Lee teaches n is greater than or equal to 2 (See claim 8 rejection above).
As to claim 13, Lee teaches the heat exchange tube slot of the column of heat exchange tube slots of the fin has a first slot edge and a second slot edge,
the first slot edge and the second slot edge being respectively positioned on outermost sides of the heat exchange tube slot in the third direction, and
the first slot edge of the heat exchange tube slot of the fin being closer to the first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction than the second slot edge of the heat exchange tube slot of the fin; and
the second slot edges of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the at least one column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins are substantially aligned with each other in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 17 below).
As to claim 14, Lee teaches the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins have substantially the same size in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 17 from claim 1 rejection above).
As to claim 21, Lee teaches the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins comprise
a first column of heat exchange tube slots and a second column of heat exchange tube slots positioned on a first side and a second side of the heat exchanger opposite to each other in the third direction, respectively (See annotated Fig. 17 below).
As to claim 22, Lee teaches the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the first column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins have an opening towards the first side of the heat exchanger, and
the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the second column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins have an opening towards the second side of the heat exchanger (See annotated Fig. 17 below).
As to claim 24, Lee teaches the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the first column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins are substantially aligned with each other in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 17 below).
As to claim 25, Lee teaches at least one of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the first column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins and
at least one of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the second column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins
are displaced from each other in the first direction (See annotated Fig. 17 from claim 21 rejection above).
As to claim 26, Lee teaches a length of at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the first column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins in the third direction
is greater than
the heat exchange tube size of the row of heat exchange tubes inserted in the at least one heat exchange tube slot in the third direction, and
a length of at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the second column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins in the third direction
is greater than or substantially equal to
the heat exchange tube size of the row of heat exchange tubes inserted in the heat exchange tube slot in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 17 from claim 21 rejection above).
As to claim 30, Lee teaches the heat exchange tube slot of the column of heat exchange tube slots of the fin has a first slot edge and a second slot edge,
the first slot edge and the second slot edge being respectively positioned on outermost sides of the heat exchange tube slot in the third direction, and
the first slot edge of the heat exchange tube slot of the fin being closer to the first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction than the second slot edge of the heat exchange tube slot of the fin; and
the second slot edges of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the first column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins are substantially aligned with each other in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 17 below).
As to claim 40, Lee teaches an air conditioning system comprising: the heat exchanger according to claim 1 (paragraph 7, “heat exchanger 10 may be applied to… home air conditioners”).
Claim(s) 1, 7, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agata (US 2022/065556).
As to claim 1, Agata teaches a heat exchanger (100, Fig. 1, [0076]) comprising:
a plurality of fins (2, Fig. 1, [0076]), each of the plurality of fins comprising a fin body (2, Fig. 1, [0079]) and a plurality of columns (2A and 2B, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0080], [0081]) of heat exchange tube slots (2z, Fig. 2, [0094]) formed in the fin body ([0082]),
each of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprising a plurality of heat exchange tube slots arranged in a first direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below),
the plurality of fins being arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below), and
the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of each of the plurality of fins being arranged in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below); and
a row of heat exchange tubes (1, Fig. 2, [0094]) provided in each heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of each column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots (1 inserted in 2z, Fig. 2, [0094]),
the row of heat exchange tubes comprising one heat exchange tube (Fig. 2),
wherein a length of at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of at least one fin of the plurality of fins in the third direction is greater than a heat exchange tube size of the row of heat exchange tubes inserted in the at least one heat exchange tube slot in the third direction (Fig. 2),
when the row of heat exchange tubes comprises the one heat exchange tube, the heat exchange tube size is a size of the one heat exchange tube in the third direction (Fig. 2);
wherein at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot (See annotated Fig. 2 below, when viewing in the third direction of the first heat exchange tube slot, the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot).
As to claim 7, Agata teaches a heat transfer coefficient of the one heat exchange tube, or a heat transfer coefficient of at least one heat exchange tube of the plurality of heat exchange tubes, of at least one row of heat exchange tubes of a plurality of rows of heat exchange tubes in the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins
is less than a heat transfer coefficient
of the one heat exchange tube, or a heat transfer coefficient of at least one heat exchange tube of the plurality of heat exchange tubes, of at least one row of heat exchange tubes of a plurality of rows of heat exchange tubes in the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least another column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a second side of the heat exchanger opposite to the first side in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins (1A and 1B, Fig. 19A, [0165], the tubes having different widths mean they have different heat transfer coefficients; therefore, the heat transfer coefficient of one tube is less than that of the heat transfer coefficient of another tube).
As to claim 16, Agata teaches the fin body of the fin comprises
a first fin body portion positioned on a first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below) and
a second fin body portion positioned on a second side of the heat exchanger opposite to a first side in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below),
the first fin body portion being inclined relative to a plane defined by the first direction and the third direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below), and
a first angle being formed between the first fin body portion and the plane defined by the first direction and the third direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below);
the second fin body portion being inclined relative to the plane defined by the first direction and the third direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below), and
a second angle being formed between the second fin body portion and the plane defined by the first direction and the third direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below),
wherein the first angle is different from the second angle (See annotated Fig. 1 below).
As to claim 18, Agata teaches the fin body of the fin is inclined relative to a plane defined by the first direction and the third direction (See annotated Fig. 1 for claim 16 above).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 21, 23, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yatsuyanagi (EP 3608618).
As to claim 1, Yatsuyanagi teaches a heat exchanger (1, Fig. 2, [0022]) comprising:
a plurality of fins (11 and 21, Fig. 2, [0024], [0026], [0031], [0033]), each of the plurality of fins comprising a fin body (11 and 21, Fig. 2) and a plurality of columns (column of notches 12 in fin 11 and column of notches 22 in fin 21, Fig. 2, [0024], [0031]) of heat exchange tube slots (12 and 22, Fig. 2) formed in the fin body (Fig. 2),
each of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprising a plurality of heat exchange tube slots arranged in a first direction (z, Fig. 2),
the plurality of fins being arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction ([0023], [0030], direction perpendicular to the paper plane of Fig. 2), and
the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of each of the plurality of fins being arranged in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (x, Fig. 2); and
a row of heat exchange tubes (15 and 25, Fig. 2, [0023], [0030]) provided in each heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of each column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots (Fig. 2, [0023], [0030]),
the row of heat exchange tubes comprising one heat exchange tube (15 and 25, Fig. 2),
wherein a length of at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of at least one fin of the plurality of fins in the third direction is greater than a heat exchange tube size of the row of heat exchange tubes inserted in the at least one heat exchange tube slot in the third direction (Fig. 2),
when the row of heat exchange tubes comprises the one heat exchange tube, the heat exchange tube size is a size of the one heat exchange tube in the third direction (Fig. 2);
wherein at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot (See annotated Fig. 2 below, when viewing in the third direction of the first heat exchange tube slot, the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot);
As to claim 4, Lee teaches a plurality of rows of heat exchange tubes in the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a first side (11, Fig. 2) of the heat exchanger in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins and
a plurality of rows of heat exchange tubes in the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least another column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a second side (21, Fig. 2) of the heat exchanger opposite to the first side in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins
have the same number and size of the heat exchange tubes (See annotated Fig. 2 below).
As to claim 10, Yatsuyanagi teaches spacing between the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins
is different from
spacing between the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least another column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a second side of the heat exchanger opposite to the first side in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins (Fig. 7, [0064]).
As to claim 21, Lee teaches the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins comprise
a first column of heat exchange tube slots (column of notches 12 in fin 11, Fig. 2, [0024], [0031]) and a second column of heat exchange tube slots (column of notches 22 in fin 21, Fig. 2, [0024], [0031]) positioned on a first side (11, Fig. 2) and a second side (21, Fig. 2) of the heat exchanger opposite to each other in the third direction, respectively (Fig. 2).
As to claim 23, Lee teaches the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the first column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins and
the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the second column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins
have the same length in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 2 below).
As to claim 41, Yatsuyanagi teaches a heat exchanger (1, Fig. 2, [0022]) comprising:
a plurality of fins (11 and 21, Fig. 2, [0024], [0026], [0031], [0033]), each of the plurality of fins comprising a fin body (11 and 21, Fig. 2) and a plurality of columns (column of notches 12 in fin 11 and column of notches 22 in fin 21, Fig. 2, [0024], [0031]) of heat exchange tube slots (12 and 22, Fig. 2) formed in the fin body (Fig. 2),
each of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprising a plurality of heat exchange tube slots arranged in a first direction (z, Fig. 2),
the plurality of fins being arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction ([0023], [0030], direction perpendicular to the paper plane of Fig. 2), and
the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of each of the plurality of fins being arranged in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (x, Fig. 2); and
a row of heat exchange tubes (15 and 25, Fig. 2, [0023], [0030]) provided in each heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of each column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots (Fig. 2, [0023], [0030]),
the row of heat exchange tubes comprising one heat exchange tube (15 and 25, Fig. 2),
wherein a length of at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of at least one fin of the plurality of fins in the third direction is greater than a heat exchange tube size of the row of heat exchange tubes inserted in the at least one heat exchange tube slot in the third direction (Fig. 2),
when the row of heat exchange tubes comprises the one heat exchange tube, the heat exchange tube size is a size of the one heat exchange tube in the third direction (Fig. 2);
wherein the plurality of heat exchange tube slots comprise a first slot edge and a second slot edge (See annotated Fig. 2 below),
the first slot edge and the second slot edge being respectively positioned on outermost sides of the heat exchange tube slots in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 2 below), and
the first slot edge is closer to a first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction than the second slot edge (See annotated Fig. 2 below); and
wherein the row of heat exchange tubes of a first heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots is arranged away from the second slot edge of the first heat exchange tube slot such that a gap is formed at the second slot edge of the first heat exchange tube slot (See annotated Fig. 2 below).
Claim(s) 1, 12, 21, 25, 28, 29, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 106482538).
As to claim 1, Zhang teaches a heat exchanger (100, Fig. 5, paragraph 31, “heat exchanger”) comprising:
a plurality of fins (each claimed fin is two of adjacent 20 combined, Fig. 5, paragraph 31, “fin”), each of the plurality of fins comprising a fin body (21, Fig. 1, paragraph 31, “fin main body”) and a plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots (221 and 222, Fig. 1, Fig. 5, paragraph 31, “fin groove”) formed in the fin body (Fig. 1 paragraph 31, “fin grooves 221, 222 formed in the fin body 21”),
each of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprising a plurality of heat exchange tube slots arranged in a first direction (A1, See annotated Fig. 5 below),
the plurality of fins being arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (A2, See annotated Fig. 5 below), and
the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of each of the plurality of fins being arranged in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (A3, See annotated Fig. 5 below); and
a row of heat exchange tubes (10) provided in each heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of each column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
the row of heat exchange tubes comprising one heat exchange tube (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
wherein a length of at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of at least one fin of the plurality of fins in the third direction is greater than a heat exchange tube size of the row of heat exchange tubes inserted in the at least one heat exchange tube slot in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
- when the row of heat exchange tubes comprises the one heat exchange tube, the heat exchange tube size is a size of the one heat exchange tube in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 5 below);
wherein at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot (See annotated Fig. 5 below, when viewing in the third direction of the first heat exchange tube slot, the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot);
As to claim 12, Zhang teaches wherein at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins and
at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least another column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a second side of the heat exchanger opposite to the first side in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins
are displaced from each other in the first direction and, when viewed in the first direction, partially overlap (See annotated Fig. 1 below); and
As to claim 21, Zhang teaches the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins comprise
a first column of heat exchange tube slots and a second column of heat exchange tube slots positioned on a first side and a second side of the heat exchanger opposite to each other in the third direction, respectively (See annotated Fig. 1 below).
As to claim 25, Zhang teaches at least one of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the first column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins and
at least one of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the second column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins
are displaced from each other in the first direction (See annotated Fig. 1 from claim 21 rejection above).
As to claim 28, Zhang teaches the at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the first column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins
partially overlaps with
the at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the second column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins when viewed in the first direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below).
As to claim 29, Zhang teaches a center of the at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the first column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins in the third direction
overlaps with
the at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of the second column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins when viewed in the first direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below).
As to claim 42, Zhang teaches a heat exchanger (100, Fig. 5, paragraph 31, “heat exchanger”) comprising:
a plurality of fins (each claimed fin is two of adjacent 20 combined, Fig. 5, paragraph 31, “fin”), each of the plurality of fins comprising a fin body (21, Fig. 1, paragraph 31, “fin main body”) and a plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots (221 and 222, Fig. 1, Fig. 5, paragraph 31, “fin groove”) formed in the fin body (Fig. 1 paragraph 31, “fin grooves 221, 222 formed in the fin body 21”),
each of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprising a plurality of heat exchange tube slots arranged in a first direction (A1, See annotated Fig. 5 below),
the plurality of fins being arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (A2, See annotated Fig. 5 below), and
the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of each of the plurality of fins being arranged in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (A3, See annotated Fig. 5 below); and
a row of heat exchange tubes (10) provided in each heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of each column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
the row of heat exchange tubes comprising one heat exchange tube (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
wherein a length of at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of at least one fin of the plurality of fins in the third direction is greater than a heat exchange tube size of the row of heat exchange tubes inserted in the at least one heat exchange tube slot in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
- when the row of heat exchange tubes comprises the one heat exchange tube, the heat exchange tube size is a size of the one heat exchange tube in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 5 below);
wherein at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins and
at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least another column of heat exchange tube slots, positioned on a second side of the heat exchanger opposite to the first side in the third direction, of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins
are displaced from each other in the first direction and, when viewed in the first direction, partially overlap (See annotated Fig. 1 below); and
wherein the row of heat exchange tubes of the at least one heat exchange tube slot positioned on the first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction and the row of heat exchange tubes of the at least one heat exchange tube slot positioned on the second side of the heat exchanger in third direction
are offset from each other in the first direction and partially overlap when viewed in the first direction (See annotated Fig. 7 below).
Claim(s) 1, 20, 31, 32, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2012/103583).
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a heat exchanger (1, Fig. 1, [0045]) comprising:
a plurality of fins (40, Fig. 1, [0045]), each of the plurality of fins comprising a fin body (43, Fig. 2, [0054]) and a plurality of columns (column of tube slots 44 and column of tube slots 45, Fig. 2) of heat exchange tube slots (44 and 45, Fig. 2, [0058]) formed in the fin body ([0060]),
each of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprising a plurality of heat exchange tube slots arranged in a first direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below),
the plurality of fins being arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below), and
the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of each of the plurality of fins being arranged in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below); and
a row of heat exchange tubes (31 and 32, Fig. 1, [0058]) provided in each heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of each column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots (Fig. 1, [0058]),
the row of heat exchange tubes comprising a plurality of heat exchange tubes (See annotated Fig. 11 below),
wherein a length of at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of at least one fin of the plurality of fins in the third direction is greater than a heat exchange tube size of the row of heat exchange tubes inserted in the at least one heat exchange tube slot in the third direction (Fig. 13),
when the row of heat exchange tubes comprises the plurality of heat exchange tubes, the heat exchange tube size is a sum of sizes of the plurality of heat exchange tubes in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 11 below, tube size is the length of the row heat exchange tubes in the direction parallel to Wc);
wherein at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot (See annotated Fig. 1 below, when viewing in the third direction of the first heat exchange tube slot, the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot).
As to claim 20, Kim teaches the fin body of the plurality of fins comprises
a first fin body portion positioned on a first side of the heat exchanger in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 3 below) and
a second fin body portion positioned on a second side of the heat exchanger opposite to the first side in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 3 below), and
the fin comprises a first louver provided on the first fin body portion (See annotated Fig. 3 below), and
a second louver provided on the second fin body portion (See annotated Fig. 3 below),
wherein a heat exchange efficiency of the first louver is lower than heat exchange efficiency of the second louver ([0061], enhance heat transfer efficiency by increasing a contact area with air, and the first louver has less contact area than the second louver; therefore, the first louver has a lower heat transfer efficiency than the second louver).
As to claim 31, Kim teaches the heat exchange tubes of the rows of heat exchange tubes provided in the heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins comprise a plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes arranged in the third direction, each column of heat exchange tubes of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes comprising a plurality of heat exchange tubes arranged in the first direction (See annotated Fig. 11 below).
As to claim 32, Kim teaches each heat exchange tube of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes comprises
a first end positioned on one side of each heat exchange tube in the second direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below) and
a second end positioned on the other side of each heat exchange tube in the second direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below); and
the heat exchanger further comprises:
a first header connected and fluidly communicated with the first end of each heat exchange tube (10, See annotated Fig. 1 below, [0046]); and
a second header connected and fluidly communicated with the second end of each heat exchange tube (20, See annotated Fig. 1 below, [0046]).
As to claim 37, Kim teaches each heat exchange tube of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes comprises
a first end positioned on one side of each heat exchange tube in the second direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below) and
a second end positioned on the other side of each heat exchange tube in the second direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below); and
the heat exchanger further comprises:
two first headers (11 and 12, See annotated Fig. 1 below, [0047]) and two second headers (21 and 22, See annotated Fig. 1 below, [0047]),
one of the two first headers and one of the two second headers being connected and fluidly communicated with the first ends and the second ends of the heat exchange tubes of at least one column of heat exchange tubes of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes, respectively (See annotated Fig. 1 below, [0046]), and
the other of the two first headers and the other of the two second headers being connected and fluidly communicated with the first ends and the second ends of the heat exchange tubes of at least another column of heat exchange tubes of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes, respectively (See annotated Fig. 1 below, [0046]).
Claim(s) 1, 31, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda (US 2021/180878).
As to claim 1, Maeda teaches a heat exchanger (100, Fig. 1, [0029]) comprising:
a plurality of fins (40, Fig. 3, [0030]), each of the plurality of fins comprising a fin body (48, Fig. 3, [0030]) and a plurality of columns (column of tube slots in 10 and column of tube slots in 20, Fig. 1) of heat exchange tube slots (44, Fig. 3, [0030]) formed in the fin body (Fig. 3, [0030]),
each of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprising a plurality of heat exchange tube slots arranged in a first direction (z, Fig. 1, [0030]),
the plurality of fins being arranged in a second direction (y, Fig. 1, [0032]) perpendicular to the first direction, and
the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of each of the plurality of fins being arranged in a third direction perpendicular (x, Fig. 1, [0029]) to the first direction and the second direction; and
a row of heat exchange tubes (30, Fig. 3, [0030]) provided in each heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of each column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots (Fig. 3, [0030]),
the row of heat exchange tubes comprising a plurality of heat exchange tubes (See annotated Fig. 3 below),
wherein a length of at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of at least one fin of the plurality of fins in the third direction is greater than a heat exchange tube size of the row of heat exchange tubes inserted in the at least one heat exchange tube slot in the third direction (Fig. 3, tube 30 is shown smaller than insertion portion 44 as a gap can be seen at the right of insertion portion 44),
when the row of heat exchange tubes comprises the plurality of heat exchange tubes, the heat exchange tube size is a sum of sizes of the plurality of heat exchange tubes in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 3 below);
wherein at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot (See annotated Fig. 3 below, when viewing in the third direction of the first heat exchange tube slot, the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot).
As to claim 31, Maeda teaches the heat exchange tubes of the rows of heat exchange tubes provided in the heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins comprise a plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes arranged in the third direction, each column of heat exchange tubes of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes comprising a plurality of heat exchange tubes arranged in the first direction. (See annotated Fig. 3 below).
As to claim 33, Maeda teaches each heat exchange tube of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes comprises
a first end (end in y direction occupied by 70, Fig. 1) positioned on one side of each heat exchange tube in the second direction and
a second end (end in y direction occupied by 71 and 72, Fig. 1) positioned on the other side of each heat exchange tube in the second direction; and
the heat exchanger further comprises:
a first header (70, Fig. 1, [0029]) connected and fluidly communicated with the first ends of the heat exchange tubes of the plurality columns of heat exchange tubes ([0029]); and
two second headers (71 and 72, Fig. 1, [0029]), one of the two second headers being connected and fluidly communicated with the second ends of the heat exchange tubes of at least one column of heat exchange tubes of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes ([0029]), and
the other of the two second headers being connected and fluidly communicated with the second ends of the heat exchange tubes of at least another column of heat exchange tubes of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes ([0029]).
Claim(s) 1, 31, 34, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang (CN 215114091).
As to claim 1, Liang teaches a heat exchanger (Fig. 5, paragraph 31, “heat exchanger”) comprising:
a plurality of fins (30, Fig. 5, paragraph 43, “fins”), each of the plurality of fins comprising a fin body (30) and a plurality of columns (See annotated Fig. 5 below) of heat exchange tube slots (See annotated Fig. 5 below) formed in the fin body (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
each of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprising a plurality of heat exchange tube slots arranged in a first direction (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
the plurality of fins being arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (See annotated Fig. 5 below), and
the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of each of the plurality of fins being arranged in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (See annotated Fig. 5 below); and
a row of heat exchange tubes (20, See annotated Fig. 5 below, paragraph 43, “flat tube”) provided in each heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of each column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots (paragraph 43, “Each group of first clamping portions is clamped on the corresponding flat tube”),
the row of heat exchange tubes comprising a plurality of heat exchange tubes (Fig. 6),
wherein a length of at least one heat exchange tube slot of the plurality of heat exchange tube slots of at least one column of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of at least one fin of the plurality of fins in the third direction is greater than a heat exchange tube size of the row of heat exchange tubes inserted in the at least one heat exchange tube slot in the third direction (Fig. 6),
when the row of heat exchange tubes comprises the plurality of heat exchange tubes, the heat exchange tube size is a sum of sizes of the plurality of heat exchange tubes in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 6 below);
wherein at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot (See annotated Fig. 6 below, when viewing in the third direction of the first heat exchange tube slot, the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot).
As to claim 31, Liang teaches the heat exchange tubes of the rows of heat exchange tubes provided in the heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots of the plurality of fins comprise a plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes arranged in the third direction, each column of heat exchange tubes of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes comprising a plurality of heat exchange tubes arranged in the first direction (See annotated Fig. 6 below).
As to claim 34, Liang teaches each heat exchange tube of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tubes comprises
a first end (end in second direction occupied by 40, See annotated Fig. 5 in claim 1 rejection above) positioned on one side of each heat exchange tube in the second direction and
a second end (end in second direction occupied by 11 and 12, See annotated Fig. 5 in claim 1 rejection above) positioned on the other side of each heat exchange tube in the second direction; and
the heat exchanger further comprises:
a connection portion (23, Fig. 1), by which the first ends of the heat exchange tubes of one column of heat exchange tubes of the plurality columns of heat exchange tubes and the first ends of the heat exchange tubes of another column of heat exchange tubes of the plurality columns of heat exchange tubes are connected and fluidly communicated with each other (Fig. 1, Fig. 5); and
two second headers (11 and 12, Fig. 5, paragraph 31),
one of the two second headers being connected and fluidly communicated with the second ends of the heat exchange tubes of the one column of heat exchange tubes (11, Fig. 7 paragraph 31, paragraph 47), and
the other of the two second headers being connected and fluidly communicated with the second ends of the heat exchange tubes of the another column of heat exchange tubes (12, Fig. 7, paragraph 31, paragraph 47).
As to claim 35, Liang teaches the connection portion comprises
a plurality of connection tubes (23, Fig. 1, paragraph 31), by which the first ends of the heat exchange tubes of the one column of heat exchange tubes are connected and fluidly communicated with the first ends of the heat exchange tubes of the another column of heat exchange tubes of the plurality of connection tubes, respectively (Fig. 1, paragraph 31),
wherein each heat exchange tube of the one column of heat exchange tubes (21), each connection tube (23), and each heat exchange tube of the another column of heat exchange tubes (22), which are connected with each other, are formed by bending one tube (Fig. 1, paragraph 31, “first heat exchange tube section 21 , the second heat exchange tube section 22 and the bent tube section 23 are integrally formed structures formed by folding and bending the same tube body”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10, 12-14, 16, 18, 20-26, 28-35, and 37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As to claims 2 and 7, the rejection for indefiniteness has been withdrawn after Applicant’s amendments for claims 2 and 7.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 17, filed 08/03/2026, with respect to claim 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection that claim 16 is indefinite for reciting the term "that" of 05/05/2026 has been withdrawn.
On page 18 of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argued that “Lee does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim. For instance, Lee does not show or disclose the following recitations of amended independent claim 1:
at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot”
and that “Neither of the embodiments of heat exchangers shown in Lee's FIGS. 9 and 17 disclose that one of the columns of opening holes 31 includes a first and a second opening hole 31 each having a zigzag bending tube 20 arranged therein such that the zigzag bending tube 20 of the first opening hole 31 does not overlap in the third direction with the zigzag bending tube 20 of the second opening hole 31 as amended claim 1 recites. Rather the embodiments of heat exchangers shown in Lee's FIGS. 9 and 17 show that within each column of opening holes 31, the zigzag bending tubes 20 arranged in the opening holes 31 each overlap in the third direction.
Therefore, Lee does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim.”
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, Lee teaches the following recitation of claim 1:
“at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.”
The first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein are identified in annotated Fig. 17 below. Regarding the limitation “the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot,” it is broadly interpreted that the position in the third direction of the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the position in the third direction of the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.
Additionally, reference to Fig. 9 of Lee is not used for the rejection of amended claim 1.
On page 19 of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argued that “Agata does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim. For instance, Agata does not show or disclose the following recitations of amended independent claim 1:
at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot”
and that “Agata does not disclose that one of the first fins 2A, 2B includes a first and a second cutting groove 2z having heat transfer tubes 1 arranged such that the heat transfer tube 1 of the first cutting groove 2z does not overlap in a third direction with the heat transfer tube 1 arranged in the second cutting groove 2z as amended claim 1 recites. Rather Agata's FIG. 2 shows that the heat transfer tubes 1 arranged in the cutting grooves 2z each overlap in the third direction.
Therefore, Agata does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim.”
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, Agata teaches the following recitation of claim 1:
“at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.”
The first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein are identified in annotated Fig. 2 below. Regarding the limitation “the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot,” it is broadly interpreted that when viewing in the third direction of the first heat exchange tube slot, the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.
On page 20 of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argued that “Yatsuyanagi does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim. For instance, Yatsuyanagi does not show or disclose the following recitations of amended independent claim 1:
at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot”
and that “Yatsuyanagi does not disclose that at least one column of notches 12, 22 includes a first and second notch 12, 22 each having a heat transfer tube 15, 25 arranged therein such that the heat transfer tube 15, 25 of the first notch does not overlap in the third direction with the heat transfer tube 15, 25 of the second notch as amended claim 1 recites. Rather Yatsuyanagi's FIG. 2 shows that the heat transfer tubes 15, 25 arranged in the notches 12, 22 each overlap in the third direction.
Therefore, Yatsuyanagi does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim.”
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, Yatsuyanagi teaches the following recitation of claim 1:
“at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.”
The first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein are identified in annotated Fig. 2 below. Regarding the limitation “the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction (x-axis) with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot,” it is broadly interpreted that when viewing in the third direction of the first heat exchange tube slot, the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.
Additionally, claims 4, 10, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yatsuyanagi (EP 3608618) instead of Lee (KR 2012/0019807) as this rejection is necessitated by amendment.
On page 21 of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argued that “Zhang does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim. For instance, Zhang does not show or disclose the following recitations of amended independent claim 1:
at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot”
and that “Zhang does not disclose that one of the columns of fin grooves 221, 222 includes first and second fin grooves each having a heat exchange tube 10 arranged therein such that the heat exchange tube 10 of the first fin groove does not overlap in the third direction with the heat exchange tube 10 of the second fin groove as amended claim 1 recites. Rather Zhang's FIGS. 1 and 5 show that the heat exchange tubes 10 arranged in the fin grooves 221, 222 each overlap in the third direction.
Therefore, Zhang does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim.”
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, Zhang teaches the following recitation of claim 1:
“at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.”
The first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein are identified in annotated Fig. 5 below. Regarding the limitation “the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot,” it is broadly interpreted that when viewing in the third direction of the first heat exchange tube slot, the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.
On page 22 of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argued that “Kim does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim. For instance, Kim does not show or disclose the following recitations of amended independent claim 1:
at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot”
and that “Kim does not disclose that one column of the front and rear row slots 44, 45 includes first and second slots each having a micro channel tube 31, 32 arranged therein such that the micro channel tube 31, 32 of the first slot does not overlap in the third direction with the micro channel tube 31, 32 of the second slot as amended claim 1 recites. Rather Kim's FIGS. 1 and 2 show that within each column of front and rear row slots 44, 45, the micro channel tubes 31, 32 arranged in the front and rear row slots 44, 45 each overlap in the third direction.
Therefore, Kim does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim.”
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, Kim teaches the following recitation of claim 1:
“at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.”
The first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein are identified in annotated Fig. 1 below. Regarding the limitation “the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot,” it is broadly interpreted that when viewing in the third direction of the first heat exchange tube slot, the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.
On page 23 of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argued that “Maeda does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim. For instance, Maeda does not show or disclose the following recitations of amended independent claim 1:
at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot”
and that “Maeda does not disclose that one column of the first and second heat exchange parts 10, 20 includes a first and a second insertion portion 44 each having a flat tube 30 arranged therein such that the flat tube 30 of the first insertion portion 44 does not overlap in the third direction with the flat tube 30 of the second insertion portion as amended claim 1 recites. Rather Maeda's FIGS. 1 and 3 show that the flat tubes 30 arranged in the insertion portions 44 each overlap in the third direction.
Therefore, Maeda does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim.”
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, Maeda teaches the following recitation of claim 1:
“at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.”
The first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein are identified in annotated Fig. 3 below. Regarding the limitation “the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction (x-axis) with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot,” it is broadly interpreted that when viewing in the third direction of the first heat exchange tube slot, the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.
On page 24 of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant argued that “Liang does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim. For instance, Liang does not show or disclose the following recitations of amended independent claim 1:
at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot”
and that “Liang does not disclose that one of the columns of tube slots includes a first and a second tube slot each having a flat tube 20 arranged therein such that the flat tube 20 of the first tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the flat tube 20 of the second tube slot as amended claim 1 recites. Rather Liang's FIGS. 5 and 6 show that the flat tubes 20 arranged in the tube slots each overlap in the third direction.
Therefore, Liang does not show or disclose each and every recitation of amended independent claim 1 in as complete detail as contained in the claim.”
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, Liang teaches the following recitation of claim 1:
“at least one column of the plurality of columns of heat exchange tube slots comprises a first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein such that the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.”
The first heat exchange tube slot and a second heat exchange tube slot each having at least one heat exchange tube arranged therein are identified in annotated Fig. 6 below. Regarding the limitation “the at least one heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap in the third direction (x-axis) with the at least one heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot,” it is broadly interpreted that when viewing in the third direction of the first heat exchange tube slot, the heat exchange tube of the first heat exchange tube slot does not overlap with the heat exchange tube of the second heat exchange tube slot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JENNA M MARONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763