DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because it should recite at 5 kg. From the specification, it is clear that applicant intended to list the load (5 kg) along with the temperature (372 oC), which are standard conditions for melt flow rate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0020792 (herein Aoyama) optionally in view of US 2016/0194491 (herein Taguchi) and US 6,066,707 (herein Colainna).
As to claims 1-3, Aoyama discloses a copolymer comprising tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) and perfluoro propyl vinyl ether (PPVE) units. See abstract, paragraph 15, and examples.
The PPVE is taught as 4 to 6 mass% (paragraph 34-35) and exemplified within the claimed range at 4.2 mass% and 5.5 mass%, which are just outside the claimed range of 4.4 to 5.2 mass% with the prior art range substantially covering the claimed range.
The melt flow rate at 372 oC is taught as 0.5 to 40 g/10min (paragraph 45), which overlaps the claimed range. Further, example 2 shows a melt flow rate of 15.5 g/10min, which is within the claimed range.
The unstable terminal groups per 1x106 carbon atoms is taught as 50 or less, preferably less than 5 (see abstract, paragraph 14, 48 and examples).
It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974). Also see MPEP 2144.05 stating that when there is overlap with the claimed ranges and the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select any amount within the disclosed ranges, including amounts within the scope of the instant claims.
Moreover, Taguchi teaches similar copolymers. See abstract and examples. Paragraph 120 of Taguchi teaches that the melt flow rate should be within the range in order to balance moldability and mechanical properties. Indeed, it would stand to reason that one would want the melt flow rate to be high enough so that it is flows in a melt at the appropriate temperature to be processable, however not being too fluid as to be too difficult to handle.
Further, Colainna at col. 1, lines 29-35 discloses that an optimal amount of PPVE in TFE polymers is between 2 and 3 mol% (about 4 to 5.8 mass%) in order to strike a balance between mechanical properties and processability.
In light of the discussion above, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the PPVE unit amount and the melt flow rate of Aoyama in order to balance mechanical properties and processability as suggested by Taguchi and Colainna.
As to claim 4, injection molded articles (paragraphs 68 and 70) such as valves (paragraph 67) comprising the copolymer are taught.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0382544 (herein Yokotani) optionally in view of US 2016/0194491 (herein Taguchi) and US 6,066,707 (herein Colainna).
As to claims 1-3, Yokotani teaches that similar copolymers comprising tetafluoroethylene units and perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) units (PPVE). See paragraph 9, 36, 145, 149 and examples.
The PPVE is present in 1 to 10 %mass, which overlaps the claimed range. See paragraphs 145-155 and examples.
As to the melt flow rate (at 372 oC and 5 kg) is taught as 2 to 30 g/10min. See paragraph 15 and 128.
The contains 20 or less per 106 main chain carbon atoms of -CF=CF2, -CF2H, -COF, -COOH, COOCH3, -CONH2 and -CH2OH. See paragraph 172.
It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974). Also see MPEP 2144.05 stating that when there is overlap with the claimed ranges and the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select any amount within the disclosed ranges, including amounts within the scope of the instant claims.
Moreover, Taguchi teaches similar copolymers. See abstract and examples. Paragraph 120 of Taguchi teaches that the melt flow rate should be within the range in order to balance moldability and mechanical properties. Indeed, it would stand to reason that one would want the melt flow rate to be high enough so that it is flows in a melt at the appropriate temperature to be processable, however not being too fluid as to be too difficult to handle.
Further, Colainna at col. 1, lines 29-35 discloses that an optimal amount of PPVE in TFE polymers is between 2 and 3 mol% (about 4 to 5.8 mass%) in order to strike a balance between mechanical properties and processability.
In light of the discussion above, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the PPVE unit amount and the melt flow rate of Yokotani in order to balance mechanical properties and processability as suggested by Taguchi and Colainna.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/004083 optionally in view of US 2016/0194491 (herein Taguchi) and US 6,066,707 (herein Colainna).
In setting forth the instant rejection, the English equivalent, EP 3816214 (herein Hitoshi), is relied upon for the English translation of the WO document.
As to claim 1-3, Hitoshi teaches that similar copolymers comprising tetafluoroethylene units and perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) units (PPVE). See paragraph 11, 29 and examples.
The PPVE is present in 1 to 10 mol%. See paragraph 37, 40-42 and examples.
As to the melt flow rate (at 372 oC and 5 kg) is taught as 1 to 30 g/10min. See paragraph 47 and examples.
The contains 0 to 700 per 106 main chain carbon atoms of -CF=CF2, -CF2H, -COF, -COOH, COOCH3, -CONH2 and -CH2OH. See paragraph 48 and examples, which are exemplified at e.g. 5.
Specific attention is drawn to example 4, which has a PPVE of 4 mass%, MFR of 13.0 g/10min and 4 per 106 carbon atoms functional groups and example 5 has a PPVE of 5.5 mass%, MFR of 23.0 g/10min. Therefore, while no example has a value within the claimed range, the broader disclosure teaches amounts that substantially overlap the claimed range.
It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974). Also see MPEP 2144.05 stating that when there is overlap with the claimed ranges and the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select any amount within the disclosed ranges, including amounts within the scope of the instant claims.
Moreover, Taguchi teaches similar copolymers. See abstract and examples. Paragraph 120 of Taguchi teaches that the melt flow rate should be within the range in order to balance moldability and mechanical properties. Indeed, it would stand to reason that one would want the melt flow rate to be high enough so that it is flows in a melt at the appropriate temperature to be processable, however not being too fluid as to be too difficult to handle.
Further, Colainna at col. 1, lines 29-35 discloses that an optimal amount of PPVE in TFE polymers is between 2 and 3 mol% (about 4 to 5.8 mass%) in order to strike a balance between mechanical properties and processability.
In light of the discussion above, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the PPVE unit amount and the melt flow rate of Hitoshi in order to balance mechanical properties and processability as suggested by Taguchi and Colainna.
As to claim 4, Hitoshi discloses that the copolymer is used in injection molding (paragraph 94) to produce coating layers for electric wires (paragraph 106), joints (paragraph 109), etc.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0046058 (herein Pham) in view of US 2019/0382544 (herein Yokotani) and US 2005/0245626 (herein Hoaglund) optionally in view of US 2016/0194491 (herein Taguchi) and US 6,066,707 (herein Colainna).
As to claims 1-3, Pham teaches a copolymer of tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) and perfluoro propyl vinyl ether (PPVE). See paragraph 35 and examples. The PPVE is present in 1 to 10 wt%. See paragraph 35. The melt flow rate (same conditions) is taught as 0.5 to 50 g/10min depending on the type of melt molding (i.e. is adjusted on the type such as injection molding). See paragraph 50. The melt flow rate is exemplified as 15 g/10min.
It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974). Also see MPEP 2144.05 stating that when there is overlap with the claimed ranges and the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select any amount within the disclosed ranges, including amounts within the scope of the instant claims.
Moreover, Taguchi teaches similar copolymers. See abstract and examples. Paragraph 120 of Taguchi teaches that the melt flow rate should be within the range in order to balance moldability and mechanical properties. Indeed, it would stand to reason that one would want the melt flow rate to be high enough so that it is flows in a melt at the appropriate temperature to be processable, however not being too fluid as to be too difficult to handle.
Further, Colainna at col. 1, lines 29-35 discloses that an optimal amount of PPVE in TFE polymers is between 2 and 3 mol% (about 4 to 5.8 mass%) in order to strike a balance between mechanical properties and processability.
In light of the discussion above, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the PPVE unit amount and the melt flow rate of Pham in order to balance mechanical properties and processability as suggested by Taguchi and Colainna.
As to the total number of functional groups listed in claim 1, Pham is silent. However, Yokotani teaches similar compositions and teaches that the copolymer should contains 20 or less per 106 main chain carbon atoms of -CF=CF2, -CF2H, -COF, -COOH, COOCH3, -CONH2 and -CH2OH in order to achieve a low dissipation factor within a high frequency region. See paragraph 172. It is known that a low dissipation factor is advantageous for the coating layers of coated electrical wires. See paragraph 7 of Hoagland.
Turning back to Pham, Pham is directed towards utilizing the copolymer as coating layers in coated (film) electrical wires via injection molding. See abstract, paragraph 18, 21 and examples.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the copolymer and coated electrical wire of Pham to have the total functional groups of Yokotani within the claimed range because one would want to have achieve low dissipation factor to be suitable for electrical wires.
As to claims 4, Pham discloses that the copolymer is used in injection molding (paragraph 25 and 31) to produce coating layers for electric wires (see paragraph 2 and claim 7 of Hitoshi), valves (paragraph 52), etc.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/447,877 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
As to claim 1-3, copending claim 1 is identical with the proviso that the copending claims have a PPVE range of 2.42 to 2.75 mol% (4.74-5.35 mass%) and a melt flow rate of 11-15.5, which falls within the claimed range. This is substanailly overlap as to read on the claims. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select any amount within the disclosed ranges, including amounts within the scope of the instant claims.
As to claim 4, see copending claim 4.
As to claims 5-6, see copending claims 5-6 respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3 and 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/453,363 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
As to claim 1-3, copending claim 1 is identical with the proviso that the PPVE is taught as 4.2 to 4.9 mass%, which is within the claimed range and the melt flow rate is 11.0 to 17.0, which reads on the claimed range of 11.0 to 16.0 g/mol.
As to claim 4, see copending claim 3.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/MARK S KAUCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764