DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of apparent editorial errors in FIG. 2, which could be changed to:
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is unclear. Going forward with examination, the abstract is interpreted to be (Note that in applicant’s response, where a change is requested in the abstract, a separate page of the abstract containing the change will be needed. The numbers and words in parentheses are optional for ease of understanding the abstract. See Fig. 2 above for illustration):
--A force sensing device (201), comprises a pressure sensitive substrate (207) supporting an upper electrode (202) comprising a first electrode layer (202), the pressure sensitive substrate (207) comprising a material (207) having a first contact resistivity (e.g., a first hardness) The force sensing device (201) also comprises a second substrate (208) supporting a lower electrode (203) comprising a second electrode layer (203), the second substrate (208) comprising a contact resistivity (e.g., a second hardness). The second contact resistivity (hardness of the second substrate 208) is relatively high compared to the first contact resistivity (hardness of the pressure sensitive substrate 207). The first and second electrode layers (202, 203) are configured to be brought close together under an applied force (F) when the applied force (F) is applied to an upper surface (209) of the pressure sensitive substrate (207). A first electrically conductive material (204) is applied to the first electrode layer (202) and a second electrically conductive material (205) is applied to the second electrode layer (203) to produce first and second moderator layers (204, 205), respectively. The first and second moderator layers (204, 205) each comprise a material having a contact resistivity (hardness) lower than the first and second contact resistivities (being the hardnesses of the pressure sensitive substrate 207 and second substrate 208), such that, when the first and second conductive materials (204, 205) are brought into contact under the applied force (F), a current flow between the first and second electrode layers (202, 203) is dependent on a contact area between the first and second moderator layers (204, 205).--
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
See Note below.
Note: Applicant appears to use the words “resistivity” and “resistance” in many instances without specifically stating whether they mean a mechanical resistivity/resistance to an establishment of a contact (“contact resistance”) or an electrical resistivity/resistance to an establishment of a flow of electricity (“electrical resistance”). The present disclosure as a whole is thus unclear.
The present disclosure appears to provide a force sensor 201 that may be implemented as a key 503 of an electronic keyboard 502. As such, the force sensor 201 may sense a force (F) from, e.g., a human finger pressing downwards an upper surface 209 of the force sensor 201 (or key 503). By such a force (F), electrode layer 202 and moderator layer 204 of the force sensor 201 are brought towards electrode layer 203 and moderator layer 205 of the force sensor 201 (See fig. 2 above; Specification page 6).
As shown in fig. 2 above, the force sensor 201 comprises a first (upper) substrate 207 supporting the electrode layer 202 and moderator layer 204; and a second (lower) substrate 208 supporting the electrode layer 203 and moderator layer 205. The first (upper) substrate 207 has the upper surface 209. Therefore, it appears that the first (upper) substrate 207 is made of a pressure sensitive (flexible) material to enable the human finger to press downwards the upper surface 209 to bring the electrode layer 202 and moderator layer 204 towards the electrode layer 203 and moderator layer 205. The moderator layer 204 eventually contacts the moderator 205 (both of which are highly electrically conductive) to establish an electrical connection thus an electrical current flow between the electrode layers 202 and 203. The established electrical current flow thereby enables the force sensor 201 to sense the force (F) from the human finger (activating the key 503).
It appears that environmental conditions surrounding the force sensor 201 (and/or the key 503) may affect a property of the force sensor 201, thereby affecting the stability or sensing function of the force sensor 201. For instance, surrounding temperature may affect a mechanical property (e.g., hardness or roughness) of a component of the force sensor 201 such as its upper substrate 207. Thus, a human may use his finger to press the force sensor 201 with a constant same force (F) as he normally does, but the electrical connection between the electrode layers 202 and 203 may not be constant or the same very time. That is because the upper substrate 207 may have become harder or softer, for example, due to the surrounding temperature.
Saying in another way, a mechanical resistance to an establishment of a contact (contact resistance) of the force sensor 201 may not be constant or the same every time due to environmental conditions, thereby affecting the electrical connection thus the electrical current flow between the electrode layers 202 and 203. For instance, the harder the upper substrate 207 becomes, the higher contact resistance of the force sensor 201 is, since it would be harder to the human finger to press downwards the upper substrate 207 which has become harder (less flexible), to establish the electrical connection.
It further appears that the present disclosure aims to minimize effect of a contact resistance in the force sensor 201 by at least providing the force sensor 201 with the highly electrically conductive moderator layers 204 and 205 disposed on the electrode layers 202 and 203, respectively. The moderator layers 204 and 205 have a substantially low contact resistivity (e.g., being soft thus easily to bend, flexibly spread out, or conform) that is lower than the contact resistivity (e.g., hardness) of the upper substrate 207 and also lower than the contact resistivity (e.g., hardness) of the lower substrate 208. Therefore, it appears that the moderator layers 204 and 205 would establish a large contact area between each other by bending, flexibly spreading out, or conforming themselves to each other when the human finger presses downwards with the force (F) to activate the force sensor 201 (or key 503). Such a large contact area thereby would facilitate electrical current flow (and decrease an overall electrical resistance) between the electrode layers 202 and 203 (as claimed in claim 1).
As mentioned above, the upper substrate 207 is made of a pressure sensitive (flexible) material. Whereas, the contact resistivity (e.g., hardness) of the lower substrate 208 is higher than that of the upper substrate 207; thus the lower substrate 208 appears to be harder or less flexible than the upper substrate 207.
Specification
The disclosure (specification) is objected to because it is unclear. Going forward with examination, the following specification paragraphs are interpreted to be (Note that in applicant’s response, where a change is requested in the specification, an entire paragraph of the specification containing the change will be needed):
Paragraphs starting from Page 1, line 15:
--A limitation of existing force sensing devices is that conventional force sensors often employ electrical resistance (the electrical resistance that arises at a contact point when components are connected) as a key mechanism by which a changing resistance can be generated. In such cases, these types of force sensors are sensitive to mechanical interface material changes, such as, but not limited to, hardness and roughness.
This can lead to problems with stability of the force sensor, as the outputs from the sensor are dependent on how these mechanical properties change as a function of the surrounding environment. An example of such an environment could be the application of a constant force (F), while raising the ambient temperature. This would result in a change in the measured sensor electrical resistance, due to the change in mechanical material properties consequently changing a contact resistance (such as hardness or roughness of mechanical interface). Other environments or scenarios could produce similar results.--
Paragraph starting from Page 2, line 17:
--According to an aspect of the present invention, there is provided a force sensing device (201), comprising a pressure sensitive substrate (207) supporting at least two upper electrodes (202) comprising a first electrode layer (202), the pressure sensitive substrate (207) comprising a material (207) having a first contact resistivity (e.g., a first hardness); the force sensing device (201) also comprising a second substrate (208) supporting a lower electrode (203) comprising a second electrode layer (203), the second substrate (208) comprising a (203) having a second contact resistivity (e.g., a second hardness), said second contact resistivity (hardness) being relatively high compared to said first contact resistivity (harness), and, said first electrode layer (202) and said second electrode layer (203) arranged apart and configured to be brought close together under an applied force (F) when the force (F) is applied to an upper surface (209) of the pressure sensitive substrate (207); and a first electrically conductive material (204) applied to said first electrode layer (202) to produce a first moderator layer (204) and a second electrically conductive material (205) applied to said second electrode layer (203) to produce a second moderator layer (205); wherein said first moderator layer (204) and said second moderator layer (205) each comprise a material having a substantially low contact resistivity (hardness), said low contact resistivity (hardness) being lower than said first contact resistivity (hardness) and said second contact resistivity (hardness), such that, when said first and second moderator layers (204, 205) are brought into contact under the applied force (F), a current flow between said first and second electrode layers (202, 203) is dependent on a contact area between the first and second moderator layers (204, 205).--
Paragraphs starting from Page 3, line 7:
--The application proposes a force sensing device which eliminates, or minimizes, the contact resistance component of such a force sensing device, thereby improving sensor stability independently from the fluctuating and changing environmental conditions around it.
A contact resistance dependent force sensing device 101 in line with conventional devices is shown in FIG. 1. In conventional force sensors, a low or moderate contact resistivity (flexible) substrate supporting first electrode layer 102 is combined with a high contact resistance (harder or less flexible) base layer or substrate supporting a second electrode layer 103.
The example in FIG. 1 shows a simplified side-view construction of a typical contact resistance dependent force sensing device 101. The contact resistance dependent sensor construction of FIG. 1 comprises two sides of an interface, with a first side comprising a low or moderate contact resistivity (flexible) substrate supporting first electrode layer 102comprising a positive voltage electrode and a ground electrode.
A second side of force sensing device 101 comprises a high contact resistivity (harder or less flexible) base layer or substrate supporting second electrode layer 103, this base or substrate has the required contact resistivity (hardness) to make
In use, a force (F) is applied to an upper surface of the substrate supporting the first electrode layer 102 and an electrical current flows between the two electrodes (102, 103) when the first electrode layer 102 comes into contact with the second electrode layer 103. The extent of the current flow is governed by the pressure at the interface between the first electrode layer 102 and the second electrode layer 103, which results from the applied force (F). This conventional construction is very sensitive to changes in the mechanical properties of the used to make the interface components.
This is due to the fact that force sensing device relies on the contact resistance (e.g., rigidity, hardness, or softness), which arises at the contact point at the interfaces between the first electrode layer 102 and the second electrode layer 103 when interface components are pressed together. The force (F) applied affects the number of micro contacts between the two surfaces of the first electrode layer 102 and the second electrode layer 103.
The main problem with prior art arrangements of this type is that s used to make the interface components may change its contact resistivity (e.g., rigidity or hardness) while a same constant force (F) is applied on the upper surface of the substrate supporting the electrode layer 102. For example, at higher temperatures, the component materials may be softer (thus more flexible) which impacts on the contact resistance which is dependent on material hardness. In an example, when material hardness reduces or increases by thirty percent (30%), the contact resistance decreases or increases by around thirty percent (30%), respectively. In another example, when the materials used to make the interface components, such as the substrate supporting the first electrode layer 102, becomes softer or harder, it may become easier or harder for a human finger to push downwards said upper surface (being part of a key in a keyboard, for example) to establish contact between the first electrode layer 102 and the second electrode 103. So, the same constant force (F) applied to the upper surface of the substrate supporting the first electrode layer 102 may result in different contact configuration between the first electrode layer 102 and the second electrode layer 103, thus may result in instability or inconsistent sensing function of the force sensing device 101. This is a significant and undesirable performance change which is difficult to overcome with firmware or software solutions.
FIG. 1 therefore shows a contact resistance dependent force sensing device having a low to moderate contact resistivity layer comprising interdigitated fingers 102, such as one comprising a quantum tunnelling composite material and a high contact resistivity layer 103
Paragraphs starting from Page 4, line 18:
--In order to provide a force sensing device which is less responsive to temperature the invention described herein removes the contact resistance at the interface between the materials that touch across an air gap present in the force sensing device.
FIG. 2 shows a simplified side-view construction of a contact resistance free force sensing device.
Force sensing device 201 comprises a pressure sensitive substrate 207 supporting an upper electrode comprising a first electrode layer 202 and a second substate 208 supporting a lower electrode comprising a second electrode layer 203. Each electrode layer provides an alternate side of an interface which is configured to be brought together and into contact to provide an electrical output in response to an applied force.
Force sensing device 201 further comprises a first moderator layer 204 and a second moderator layer 205. In the embodiment, the pressure sensitive substrate 207 supporting the first electrode layer 202 comprises a pressure sensitive material having a first contact resistivity (e.g., a first hardness) and the second substrate 208 supporting the second electrode layer 203 comprises a contact resistivity (e.g., a second hardness). The first contact resistivity (hardness) is moderate or low while the second contact resistivity (hardness) is relatively high compared to the first contact resistivity. In the embodiment, electrode layer 202 and electrode layer 203 are arranged apart from each other and separated by means of an air gap 206 and are configured to be brought close together on application of a force (F) applied to force sensing device 201. Air gap 206 is positioned between first moderator layer 204 and second moderator layer 205.
Moderator layer 204 comprises a first conductive material which is applied to electrode layer 202 while moderator layer 205 comprises a second conductive material which is applied to electrode layer 203.
In the embodiment, moderator layer 204 is in intimate contact with electrode layer 202, which, in this context, is considered to indicate a lack of contact resistance between the interface of the electrode layer 202 and the moderator layer 204. Similarly, moderator layer 205 is in intimate contact with electrode layer 203.
In the embodiment, air gap 206 separates the two sides of the interface . Electrode layer 202 and electrode layer 203 are arranged a distance apart. Consequently, moderator layer 204 and moderator layer 205 are also arranged a distance apart from each other. In addition, electrode layer 202 and electrode layer 203 are provided on the pressure sensitive substrate 207 and [[a]] the second substrate 208 respectively. The substrates are spaced apart by means of a conventional spacer element or similar which ensures air gap 206 is retained in the absence of an applied force (F).
In the embodiment, moderator layer 204 and moderator layer 205 are suitably aligned to ensure contact between moderator layer 204 and moderator layer 205 only happens in response to applied to the force sensing device in which the air gap 206 reduces and is minimized.
In the embodiment, moderator layers 204 and 205 have a very low electrical resistivity. In an embodiment, this is [[a]] an electrical resistivity value which is typically less than 10−7 ohm-meter (Ωm), meaning that when moderator layer 204 and moderator layer 205 are brought into contact with each other in a an intimate way, the electrical resistance is extremely small, as its absolute value is dependent on an aggregate of the electrical resistivities of the contacting sides of the interface. Where one side of the force sensing device has a high electrical resistance, as in some conventional systems, this dominates the aggregate, resulting in an electrical resistance that is large. Thus, in the embodiment, as both sides of the interface have a low electrical resistance, the aggregate of the electrical resistivities is also low. Thus, by introducing low electrical resistivity moderator layers 204 and 205 to provide the contact interface between the two electrode layers 202 and 203, the force sensing device described herein is substantially electrical resistance free.
By introducing moderator layer 204 and moderator layer 205, the resulting force sensing device does depend on contact resistance, otherwise an electrical short may occur if the two opposing sides of the interface inadvertently touch. Thus, electrode layer 203 needs to be high in contact resistivity (e.g., high on hardness) on the opposing side of moderator layer 205 of the interface. Typically, moderator layer 204 further comprises relatively small features which are not limited by shape or distribution. In an embodiment, moderator layer 204 may comprise a range of patterns. In an embodiment, such a pattern may be substantially similar to a range of patterns of moderator layer 205. Alternative arrangements may be utilized, however, in each case moderator layer 204 and moderator layer 205 are configured to provide the only contact at the interface between the two halves of the force sensing device.
In use, when a force (F) is applied to the upper surface 209 of force sensing device 201, electrode layer 202 and moderator layer 204 are brought towards moderator layer 205 and electrode layer 203. Force sensing device 201 is connected to an electrical circuit such that current is able to flow between the two electrode layers (202, 203) when moderator layer 204 and moderator layer 205 come into contact. The extent of the current flow is not governed solely by the pressure at the contact interface, but instead mostly by the macroscopic contact area. This ensures that the construction of force sensing device 201 is not sensitive to changes in the mechanical properties of the materials used at the contact interface (the point at which contact is made).
To ensure that the force sensing device exhibits a change in electrical resistance with respect to force (F), it is necessary to have a changing macroscopic contact area as a function of force (F) at the contact interface. This is different from the microscopic “true” contact area change observed in conventional force sensing devices which are dependent on contact resistance. The macroscopic contact area is defined as the area over which the air gap is sufficiently small such that moderator layer 204 and moderator layer 205 are deemed to be touching.
The increased macroscopic contact area, as a function of applied force (F), results in an increasing number of parallel current paths through the high contact resistivity (hard) material of electrode layer 203. This increasing number of parallel current paths therefore produce a subsequent decreasing overall electrical resistance between the first and second electrode layers 202, 203.
Thus, force sensing device 201 provides a solution by removing the high contact resistivity material of electrode layer 203 from being the direct contact at the contact interface, and replaces this with a corresponding moderator layer 205 which provides a lower contact resistivity to achieve these effects.--
Paragraphs starting from page 7, line 17:
--A top-down view of force sensing device 201 is shown in FIG. 3, illustrating an example embodiment and arrangement of electrode layer 202 and moderator layer 204.
In the embodiment, the first conductive material of moderator layer 204 comprises a silver-based material, such as a silver-based ink. The material of the pressure sensitive substrate 207 having [[a]] the first contact resistivity (the first hardness) and supporting of the electrode layer 202 comprises a carbon-based material. The pressure sensitive substrate 207 comprises a quantum tunnelling material, for example, a quantum tunnelling composite material available from the applicant, Peratech Holdco Ltd, under the trade mark QTC®.
In the embodiment, the first conductive material of the moderator layer 204 is provided in the form of a printed pattern as shown in FIG. 3. In this particular embodiment, the printed pattern comprises a plurality of dots 301, although it is appreciated that alternative patterns may be utilized. In an alternative embodiment, for example, the printed pattern comprises a plurality of interdigitated fingers 302.
In the embodiment, electrode layer 202 comprises a plurality of interdigitated fingers 302. In the embodiment where the printed pattern also comprises a plurality of interdigitated fingers 302, it is appreciated that each plurality of interdigitated fingers may be substantially similar and aligned with each other.--
Paragraphs starting from page 8, line 5:
--A further plan view from the underside of the force sensing device 201 is illustrated in FIG. 4. This view illustrates the arrangement of moderator layer 205 and electrode layer 203.
In the embodiment, the second conductive material of moderator layer 205 comprises a silver-based material, such as a silver-based ink. This material may be substantially similar to the conductive material of moderator layer 204.
In the embodiment, moderator layer 205 is provided in the form of a printed pattern, and, as shown, the printed pattern comprises a plurality of dots 401 which correspond to the plurality of dots 301 of moderator layer 204 previously described in respect to FIG. 3. The dot pattern avoids shorting of the force sensing device when moderator layer 204 and moderator layer 205 are brought into contact, and thereby
In the embodiment, the silver-based ink dot pattern 401 301 shown in FIG. 3. In the embodiment, this provides silver-to-silver contacts, which removes the contact resistance by ensuring that a parallel path is created between the dots, thereby allowing current to flow through the high contact resistivity material 208.
This, in effect, gives the effect of having an increased number of current paths in an electric circuit. The electrical resistance decreases with an increased number of parallel current paths, and thus, the force sensing device enables the contact resistance to decrease.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Moreover, the claims appear to use the words “resistivity” and “resistance” in many instances without specifically stating whether they mean a mechanical resistivity/resistance to an establishment of a contact (“contact resistance”) or an electrical resistivity/resistance to an establishment of a flow of electricity (“electrical resistance”). The claims are thus unclear.
Going forward with examination, the claims are interpreted to be (Note that the numbers and words in parentheses are optional for ease of understanding the claims. See Fig. 2 above for illustration):
--1. A force sensing device (201), comprising:
a pressure sensitive substrate (207) supporting an upper electrode (202) comprising a first electrode layer (202), the pressure sensitive substrate (207) comprising a material (207) having a first contact resistivity (e.g., first hardness);
a second substrate (208) supporting a lower electrode (203) comprising a second electrode layer (203), the second substrate (208) comprising a contact resistivity (e.g., second hardness), said second contact resistivity (hardness) being relatively high compared to said first contact resistivity (hardness), and, said first electrode layer (202) and said second electrode layer (203) arranged apart and configured to be brought close together under an applied force (F); and
a first electrically conductive material (204) applied to said first electrode layer (202) to produce a first moderator layer (204) and a second conductive material (205) applied to said second electrode layer (203) to produce a second moderator layer (203); wherein
said first moderator layer (204) and said second moderator layer (205) each comprise a material having a substantially low contact resistivity (hardness), said substantially low contact resistivity (hardness) being lower than said first contact resistivity (hardness) and said second contact resistivity (hardness), such that, when said first moderator layer (204) and said second moderator layer (205) are brought into contact under said applied force (F), current flow between said first electrode layer (202) andelectrode layer (203) is dependent on contact area between said first moderator layer (204) and said second moderator layer (205).--
2. The force sensing device of claim 1, further comprising an air gap (206) between said first moderator layer (204) and said second moderator layer (205).--
--3. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said first moderator layer (204) comprises a silver-based material.--
--4. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said second moderator layer (205) comprises a silver-based material.--
--5. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said current flow comprises a plurality of parallel paths configured to decrease an overall electrical resistance between said first electrode layer (202) and said second electrode layer (203).--
--6. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said material (207) having [[a]] the first contact resistivity comprises a carbon-based material.--
--7. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said pressure sensitive substrate (207) comprises a quantum tunnelling material.--
--8. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said first electrode layer (202) and said second electrode layer (203) are provided on [[a]] the first substrate (207) and [[a]] the second substrate (208) respectively.--
--9. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said first electrically conductive material (204) is provided in the form of a printed pattern.--
10. The force sensing device of claim 9, wherein said printed pattern comprises a plurality of interdigitated fingers (302).
11. The force sensing device of claim 9, wherein said printed pattern comprises a plurality of dots (301).
12. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said first electrode layer (202) comprises a plurality of interdigitated fingers (302).
13. An electronic device (501) comprising the force sensing device of claim 1.
14. The electronic device of claim 13, said electronic device (501) comprising an electronic keyboard (502).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 (as interpreted above) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (WO-2018/120386 A1; hereinafter “Hu.” Hu is a reference listed in an IDS filed on 11/11/2024. This Office action provides a machine translation of Hu, 12 pages).
Hu teaches:
1. A force sensing device, comprising (See figs. 1, 2, reproduced and annotated below):
a pressure sensitive substrate (10a) supporting an upper electrode (11a) comprising a first electrode layer (11a), the pressure sensitive substrate (10a) comprising a material (10a) having a first contact resistivity (e.g., first hardness, which may be of an elastic polymer selected from a group of any of silicone rubber, natural rubber, SBR, PDMSM TPU, elastomer such as styrene, SBS, SIS, SEBS, etc.; See translation page 5);
a second substrate (10b) supporting a lower electrode (11b) comprising a second electrode layer (11b), the second substrate (11b) comprising a material (11b) having a second contact resistivity (e.g., second hardness, which may be of an elastic polymer selected from the group of any of silicone rubber, natural rubber, SBR, PDMSM TPU, elastomer such as styrene, SBS, SIS, SEBS, etc.; See translation page 5); said second contact resistivity (hardness) being relatively high compared to said first contact resistivity (as the pressure sensitive substrate 10a and the second substrate 10b may comprise different elastic polymers in said group of polymers, the different polymers may have a first hardness and a second hardness, respectively, wherein the second hardness may be the same, lower, or higher than the first hardness), and, said first electrode layer (11a) and said second electrode layer (11b) arranged apart and configured to be brought close together under an applied force F (as shown in fig. 2); and
a first electrically conductive material (20a) applied to said first electrode layer (11a) to produce a first moderator layer (20a) and a second conductive material (20b) applied to said second electrode layer (11b) to produce a second moderator layer (20b); wherein
said first moderator layer (20a) and said second moderator layer (20b) each comprise a material (20a, 20b) having a substantially low contact resistivity (hardness), said substantially low contact resistivity (hardness) being lower than said first contact resistivity (hardness) and said second contact resistivity (so that “deformation of the first and second moderator layers 20a, 20b is more sensitive, and contact area changes more during deformation.” See translation page 5), such that, when said first moderator layer (20a) and said second moderator layer (20b) are brought into contact under said applied force (F), current flow between said first electrode layer (11a) and said second electrode layer (11b) is dependent on (widened) contact area between said first moderator layer (20a) and said second moderator layer 20b (See Abstract; Translation page 6, 1st and 2nd top paragraphs).
2. The force sensing device of claim 1, further comprising an air gap between said first moderator layer (20a) and said second moderator layer 20b (as is evident from at least fig. 1 when no force is applied thus no electrical current can flow between said first electrode layer 11a and said second electrode layer 11b).
3. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said first moderator layer (20a) comprises a silver-based material (Translation page 5).
4. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said second moderator layer (20b) comprises a silver-based material (Translation page 5).
5. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said current flow comprises a plurality of parallel paths configured to decrease an overall electrical resistance between said first electrode layer (11a) and said second electrode layer 11b (inherently since the contact area between said first moderator layer 20a and said second moderator layer 20b has been widened, as discussed above in claim 1; Abstract; Translation page 6, 1st and 2nd top paragraphs).
6. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said material (11a) having the first contact resistivity comprises a carbon-based material (Translation page 5: “The conductive filler 12 includes…a carbon-based conductive filler…”).
8. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said first electrode layer (11a) and said second electrode layer (11b) are provided on the first substrate (10a) and the second substrate (10b) respectively (as seen in figs. 1, 2).
9. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said first electrically conductive material (20a) is provided in the form of a printed pattern 20a (Translation page 5: “The conductive layer 20…may be prepared by…printing…”).
10. The force sensing device of claim 9, wherein said printed pattern (20a) comprises a plurality of interdigitated fingers 20a (as seen in figs. 1, 2).
11. The force sensing device of claim 9, wherein said printed pattern (20a) comprises a plurality of dots 20a (as is evident from figs. 1, 2).
12. The force sensing device of claim 1, wherein said first electrode layer (11a) comprises a plurality of interdigitated fingers 11a (as seen in figs. 1, 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 (as interpreted above) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) in view of Hu.
AAPA discloses a force sensing device (101) comprising a quantum tunnelling material (Application’s fig. 1, reproduced below; Specification page 4, lines 3-16: “Figure therefore shows a contact resistance dependent force sensing device having a low to moderate resistivity layer comprising interdigitated fingers and a high resistivity layer, such as one comprising a quantum tunnelling composite material”).
AAPA is silent about: the force sensing device being the force sensing device of claim 1.
Hu teaches a force sensing device being the force sensing device of claim 1, wherein when first moderator layer (20a) and second moderator layer (20b) are brought into contact under applied force (F), current flow between first electrode layer (11a) and second electrode layer (11b) is dependent on widened contact area between the first moderator layer (20a) and the second moderator layer (20b), thereby decreasing an overall electrical resistance between the first electrode layer (11a) and the second electrode layer (11b), thus providing sensing stability for example.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Hu teaching to AAPA by having the force sensing device (101) be the force sensing device of claim 1, wherein when first moderator layer and second moderator layer are brought into contact under applied force, current flow between first electrode layer (102) and second electrode layer (103) would be dependent on widened contact area between the first moderator layer and the second moderator layer, thereby decreasing an overall electrical resistance between the first electrode layer (102) and the second electrode layer (103), thus providing sensing stability for example.
Claim 13-14 (as interpreted above) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann et al. (US 2018/0074694 A1; hereinafter “Lehmann.”) in view of Hu.
13. Lehmann teaches an electronic device (desktop computer 1854) comprising a force sensing surface (1804) defining an input region (1812) which may correspond to a character input key (1812) comprising a force sensing device (Fig. 8, reproduced below; Par. 0158).
Lehmann is silent about: a force sensing device being the force sensing device of claim 1.
Hu teaches a force sensing device being the force sensing device of claim 1, which can decrease an overall electrical resistance between first electrode layer (202) and second electrode layer (203), thus providing sensing stability for example.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Hu teaching to Lehmann electronic device (1854) by having the force sensing device be the force sensing device of claim 1 to provide sensing stability for example.
14. Lehmann as modified teaches the electronic device of claim 13, said electronic device (1854) comprising an electronic keyboard 1800 (Lehmann fig. 18; Par. 0158).
Conclusion
/Nguyen Q. Ha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 August 7, 2026