DETAILED ACTION
Note Regarding Affidavits and Declarations in Prior Cases
Affidavits or declarations, such as those submitted under 37 CFR 1.130, 1.131 and 1.132, filed during the prosecution of a prior application (e.g. applications 17/208,042 and 18/737,163, which claim priority to the same provisional application as does the instant application) do not automatically become a part of this application. Where it is desired to rely on an earlier-filed affidavit or declaration, the applicant should make the remarks of record in this application and include a copy of the original affidavit or declaration filed in the prior application.
As such, the examiner has not considered the affidavits and declarations in the above-indicated cases in the examination of the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
The last line of claim 1 uses the abbreviation “Lyso-PC.” This is understood to be an abbreviation for lysophosphatidylcholine. See the instant specification on page 1, paragraph 0003.
Technical Note Regarding Lyso-PC
The skilled artisan would have been aware that Lyso-PC is a degradation product of phosphatidylcholine. A phosphatidylcholine is a lipid comprising two alkyl chains. In contrast, Lyso-PC has only a single alkyl chain. As such, the skilled artisan would have been aware that phosphatidylcholine degrades to lysophosphatidylcholine by removal of an alkyl chain through a degradation process. See e.g. Tsao et al. (Pediatric Research, Vol. 11, 1977, pages 858-861) which teaches that lysophosphatidylcholine is a breakdown product of phosphatidylcholine on the first line of the abstract.
The instantly claimed liposome recites the ingredients of irinotecan, sucrose octasulfate, DSPC, cholesterol, MPEG-2000-DSPE. Even if, purely en arguendo, there was no Lyso-PC present at the time of preparation, the skilled artisan would have been aware that Lyso-PC could have formed during storage by degradation and/or breakdown of DSPC.
Instant claim 1 recites that there is less than 20 mol% Lyso-PC during the first six months of storage at 4°C. This limitation is a measure of stability. A liposome that would have been unstable would have had more degradation of DSPC to Lyso-PC and hence a higher percentage of Lyso-PC after the first six months of storage at that temperature. In contrast, a more stable liposome would have had less degradation of DSPC to Lyso-PC and therefore less Lyso-PC present after the first six months of storage.
As such, instant claim 1 excludes liposomes of lower stability, which have larger amounts of degradation of DSPC to Lyso-PC. In contrast, the requirements of instant claim 1 include only liposomes of higher stability, which have smaller amounts of degradation of DSPC to Lyso-PC.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2007/0116753 A1).
Hong et al. (hereafter referred to as Hong) is drawn to a liposome, as of Hong, title and abstract. The liposomes of Hong include distearoyl phosphatidylcholine (DSPC), cholesterol, and methoxy-terminated PEG2000-DSPE, as of Hong, paragraphs 0151 and 0162, along with CPT-11 as the active agent and sucrose octasulfate (abbreviated as SOS), Example 11, as of pages 20-21, paragraphs 0161-0162. The PEG from the PEG-DSPE has a molecular weight of 2000 Daltons, as of Hong, paragraph 0151. The examiner notes that CPT-11 is an alternate name for irinotecan.
As to claim 1, the claim requires a specific pH range prior to storage. Hong teaches a pH of about 6.0 to about 7.5 in paragraph 0115. This overlaps with the claimed pH range of 7.00 to 7.50. While the prior art does not disclose the exact claimed values, but does overlap: in such instances even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05(I). With that being said, this range is understood to be insufficiently specific to result in a prima facie case of anticipation.
As to claim 1, the claim requires that the ratio of irinotecan to total phospholipids be in a specific range of 500 ± 10% grams per total mol of phospholipid. Hong teaches the following on page 23, Table 9, reproduced below.
An amount of e.g. 579 mg irinotecan per mmol phospholipid is understood to be the same as 500 grams of irinotecan per mol of phospholipid. As such, the amounts taught by Hong as of the above-reproduced table are actually higher than the claimed amount. However, elsewhere in the reference, Hong teaches about 346 mg active agent per mmol phospholipid (i.e. 346 grams active agent per mol phospholipid) on page 29, Table 17. This is lower than the claimed amount. As such, the amount of irinotecan per mol phospholipid taught by Hong appears to overlap with the claimed amounts. While the prior art does not disclose the exact claimed values, but does overlap: in such instances even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
As to claim 1, the claim requires 4.3 mg of irinotecan per mL of the liposomal irinotecan composition. Hong appears to teach 5 mg/mL of irinotecan as of paragraph 0157, in which Hong refers to irinotecan as CPT-11. This appears to be slightly different from the claimed requirement. Nevertheless, generally, differences in concentration between the claimed invention and the prior art will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, no evidence of criticality appears to have been provided. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of a liposome comprising irinotecan, sucrose octasulfate, DSPC, cholesterol, and Pegylated lipid have been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges of these ingredients via routine experimentation.
As to claim 1, the claim requires that less than 20 mol% lysophosphatidylcholine is present after the first 6 months of storage at 4°C. Hong is silent as to this. Nevertheless, the teachings of Hong indicate that the composition is storage stable, as of at least paragraph 0112 of Hong. As such, there would have been a reasonable expectation that the lipids making up composition of Hong would have resisted degradation to lysophosphatidylcholine in the manner required by the instant claims. Something which is old (e.g. the liposome of Hong) does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property (that there is a particular level of degradation to lysophosphatidylcholine after storage), and this feature need not have been recognized at the time of the invention. See MPEP 2112(I & II).
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 10,456,360. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The instant claim is drawn to a liposome comprising irinotecan, sucrose octasulfate, and the lipids of DSPC, cholesterol, and DSPE2000-PEG in specific amounts. This liposome forms less than 20 mol% lyso-phosphatidylcholine in the first six months of storage at 4°C.
Conflicting claim 1 is drawn to a liposomal irinotecan comprising sucrose octasulfate along with irinotecan. The liposome comprises DSPC, cholesterol, and DSPE2000-PEG. Conflicting claim 1 recites 500 ± 10 mg of irinotecan per total liposome phospholipid, and conflicting claim 4 recites 4.3 mg/mL irinotecan free base. Conflicting claim 1 recites a pH of from about 7.25 to about 7.50.
The instant and conflicting claims differ because the conflicting claims recite a product-by-process requirement not recited by the instant claims. Nevertheless, the subject matter of conflicting claim 4 is within the scope of that of the instant claims, thereby effectively anticipating instant claim 1. This results in a prima facie case of anticipatory-type non-statutory double patenting.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-36 of U.S. Patent No. 10,993,914. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The instant claim is drawn to a liposome comprising irinotecan, sucrose octasulfate, and the lipids of DSPC, cholesterol, and DSPE2000-PEG in specific amounts. This liposome forms less than 20 mol% lyso-phosphatidylcholine in the first six months of storage at 4°C.
Conflicting claim 1 is drawn to a liposomal irinotecan comprising sucrose octasulfate along with irinotecan. The liposome comprises DSPC, cholesterol, and DSPE2000-PEG, which is specified by conflicting claims 8 and 9. Conflicting claim 1 recites 500 ± 10 mg of irinotecan per total liposome phospholipid. Conflicting claim 3 recites 4.3 mg/mL irinotecan free base. Conflicting claim 1 recites a pH of from about 7.25 to about 7.50. Conflicting claim 1 recites less than 20 mol% lysophosphatidylcholine after 6 months of storage at 2-8°C.
The instant and conflicting claims differ because the conflicting claims recite a product-by-process requirement not recited by the instant claims. Also, the conflicting claims, while reciting the features of the instant claims, appear to recite these features in separate dependent claims. Conflicting claim 3 recites 4.3 mg/mL of irinotecan, and conflicting claims 8-9 recite the required PEG-lipid. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to have combined the features of conflicting claims 3 and conflicting claims 8-9. The combination of these features would have resulted in the instantly claimed invention. This would have rendered the instantly claimed invention prima facie obvious, thereby resulting in a prima facie case of obviousness-type non-statutory double patenting.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-51 of U.S. Patent No. 12,059,497. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The instant claim is drawn to a liposome comprising irinotecan, sucrose octasulfate, and the lipids of DSPC, cholesterol, and DSPE2000-PEG in specific amounts. This liposome forms less than 20 mol% lyso-phosphatidylcholine in the first six months of storage at 4°C.
Conflicting claim 1 is drawn to a storage-stabilized liposomal irinotecan composition comprising sucrose octasulfate along with irinotecan. Conflicting claim 1 recites a pH of about 7.25 to about 7.5. Conflicting claim 1 recites that the liposome forms less than 20 mol% lyso-phosphatidylcholine in the first six months of storage at 4°C. Conflicting claim 4 recites N-methoxy-terminated polyethylene glycol (MW 2000)-distearoylphosphatidyl ethanolamine and conflicting claim 5 recites DSPC and cholesterol. Conflicting claim 1 recites 500 grams±10% by weight irinotecan moiety per mol of total phospholipids (this is the same as 500±10% irinotecan per mmol of total phospholipid).
The instant and conflicting claims differ because the instant claims recite 4.3 mg irinotecan moiety per mL of the liposomal irinotecan composition. The conflicting claims do not appear to recite this. Nevertheless, the concentration of irinotecan, as measured in terms of mass of irinotecan moiety per mol of total phospholipids, appears to be the same in the conflicting claims as what is required by the instant claims. As such, the skilled artisan would have expected that the amount of irinotecan per mL of the liposomal irinotecan composition in the conflicting claims would have been the same as that required by the instant claims. This would have effectively anticipated the claimed subject matter, thereby resulting in a prima facie case of anticipatory-type non-statutory double patenting.
In the alternative, the examiner notes that generally, differences in concentration between the prior art (or in this case, conflicting claims) and the instantly claimed invention will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art (or in this case, conflicting claims) unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, no evidence of criticality appears to have bene provided. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (or in this case, conflicting claims), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of a liposomal composition having irinotecan, sucrose octasulfate, DSPC, cholesterol, and DSPE-PEG has been recited by the copending claims. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have determined the optimum or workable ranges of the amount of irinotecan by routine experimentation. This results in a prima facie case of obviousness-type non-statutory double patenting.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24-58 of copending Application No. 18/737,163 (reference application – currently allowed but not yet issued). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The instant claim is drawn to a liposome comprising irinotecan, sucrose octasulfate, and the lipids of DSPC, cholesterol, and DSPE2000-PEG in specific amounts. This liposome forms less than 20 mol% lyso-phosphatidylcholine in the first six months of storage at 4°C.
Copending claim 24 is drawn to a storage-stabilized liposomal irinotecan composition comprising sucrose octasulfate along with irinotecan. Copending claim 24 recites a pH of between 7.0 and 7.5 at room temperature. Copending claim 24 recites that the liposome forms less than 20 mol% lyso-phosphatidylcholine in the first six months of storage at 4°C. Copending claim 27 recites N-methoxy-terminated polyethylene glycol (MW 2000)-distearoylphosphatidyl ethanolamine and copending claim 28 recites DSPC and cholesterol. Copending claim 1 recites 500 grams±10% by weight irinotecan moiety per mol of total phospholipids (this is the same as 500±10% irinotecan per mmol of total phospholipid).
The instant and copending claims differ because the instant claims recite 4.3 mg irinotecan moiety per mL of the liposomal irinotecan composition. The copending claims do not appear to recite this. Nevertheless, the instant claim is prima facie obvious over the claims of application 18/737,163 for essentially the same reason that the instant claim is prima facie obvious over the claims of US Patent 12,059,497. This results in a prima facie case of obviousness-type non-statutory double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
ISAAC . SHOMER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1612
/ISAAC SHOMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612