DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to claims 1 - 15 in this application Ko, U.S. Patent Application No. 18/888,408, (Filed September 18, 2024) Claiming priority to KR10-2024-0057096 (filed 4/29/2024).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to for the following informality: “and operably connected to the vehicle” appears to be a typo. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. §103
Claim 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0300233 (Published September 21, 2023, filed February 10, 2023) (“Honda”) in view of Pradhan et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0256249 (Published August 1, 2024, filed January 30, 2023) (“Pradhan”), Maeda et al., United States Application Publication No. 2021/0232635 (Published July 29, 2021, filed January 26, 2021) (“Maeda”), and Ross et al., United States Application Publication No. 2013/0046592 (Published February 21, 2013, filed August 17, 2011) (“Ross”).
Claims 1, 5, and 11
With respect to claims 1, 5, and 11 Honda teaches the invention as claimed including a vehicle comprising:
a vehicle terminal comprising: a communicator configured to receive, from a first server, a software for performing updates; and a processor configured to transmit, … configured to communicate with a user terminal, … corresponding to the software for performing updates, … and operably connected to the vehicle. {Updated software is transmitted from a server to a vehicle which then transmits an update message back to the server which then prompts the server to send a different update message to a user terminal which displays the different update message containing the information that was transmitted from the vehicle. Honda at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0037, 0041, 0042, 0046; id. at fig. 6.}
However, Honda doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation:
to a second server … from the second server, {Pradhan does teach this limitation. Pradhan teaches that sending a message from a server to a vehicle to a server to a mobile device, as taught in Honda, may include where the mobile device 110 may be remotely connected to a vehicle 102 via an IoT broker 114 messaging service that communicates through the internet cloud 124 thus using a plurality of different servers of the internet which allows the mobile device to send commands to the vehicle and receive confirmation/updates from the vehicle including of software updates. Pradhan at ¶¶ 0026 – 0028, 0035, 0036, 0074 (remote communication with vehicle); id. at ¶ 0031 & 0032 (cloud-based communication between vehicle and mobile device); id. at ¶ 0046 (commands may be for a vehicle software update may be sent from OEM server to vehicle).
Honda and Pradhan are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of network communication, and both are trying to solve the problem of how to communication between vehicles and server.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sending a message from a server to a vehicle to a server to a mobile device, as taught in Honda with using a plurality of different intermediary network server, as taught in Pradhan. Pradhan teaches that using an internet based IoT messaging broker allows for simple communication of messages between various clients. Id. at ¶ 0038. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine sending a message from a server to a vehicle to a server to a mobile device, as taught in Honda with using a plurality of different intermediary network server, as taught in Pradhan, for the purpose of using a known protocol for easily exchanging messages between a user terminal and vehicle with a method that requires exchanging messages between a user terminal and vehicle.}
However, Honda and Pradhan doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation:
address information of a website providing a manual … the address information {Maeda does teach this limitation. Maeda teaches that information exchanged between a terminals, servers, and vehicles, as taught in Honda and Pradhan, may include where the information is a request for a vehicle manual that is received from user via a terminal, and the request is sent to agent server 16 via HMI server 14. Maeda at ¶¶ 0045 & 0046. A URL for the manual is sent from agent server 16 to HMI server 14 and then to terminal. Id. at ¶¶ 0047. The URL may be selected to initiate download of manual from OM server 18 and the manual is display on terminal. Id. at ¶ 0071.
Honda, Pradhan, and Maeda are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of network communication, and both are trying to solve the problem of how to communication between vehicles and server.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine messaging between servers, vehicle, and user terminal, as taught in Honda and Pradhan with where the messages are for a vehicle manual, as taught in Maeda. Maeda teaches that users may need to request an updated vehicle manual. Id. at ¶ 0004. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine messaging between servers, vehicle, and user terminal, as taught in Honda and Pradhan with where the messages are for a vehicle manual, as taught in Maeda, for the purpose of using a known method for messaging exchange between a vehicle, servers, and terminal with a method that requires exchanging vehicle, server, and terminal messages to obtain a manual.}
However, Honda, Pradhan, and Maeda don’t explicitly teach the limitation:
…the user terminal being configured to receive, {Ross does teach this limitation. Ross teaches that exchanging vehicle manual information between terminals, servers, and vehicles, as taught in Honda, Pradhan, and Maeda, may include where the link for the updated manual is sent to a phone and the manual may be displayed on the phone. Ross at Abstract; id. at ¶ 0024.
Honda, Pradhan, Maeda, and Ross are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of network communication, and both are trying to solve the problem of how to communication vehicle information.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine exchanging vehicle manual information between terminals, servers, and vehicles, as taught in Honda, Pradhan, and Maeda with where the updated vehicle manual is displayed on a mobile user terminal, as taught in Ross. Maeda teaches that users may need to request an updated vehicle manual. Id. at ¶ 0004. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine exchanging vehicle manual information between terminals, servers, and vehicles, as taught in Honda, Pradhan, and Maeda with where the updated vehicle manual is displayed on a mobile user terminal, as taught in Ross, for the purpose of using a known method requesting updated vehicle manual information with a method that requires obtaining updated vehicle manual information.}
Claim 2
With respect to claim 2 Honda, Pradhan, Maeda, and Ross teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the address information is provided, from the first server, separately from the software for performing updates. {The information is a request for a vehicle manual that is received from user via a terminal, and the request is sent to agent server 16 via HMI server 14. Maeda at ¶¶ 0045 & 0046. A URL for the manual is sent from agent server 16 to HMI server 14 and then to terminal. Id. at ¶¶ 0047. The URL may be selected to initiate download of manual from OM server 18 and the manual is display on terminal. Id. at ¶ 0071.}
Claim 3
With respect to claim 3 Honda, Pradhan, Maeda, and Ross teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the processor is configured to, based on installation of the software being performed, … from the software to the second server. {The mobile device 110 may be remotely connected to a vehicle 102 via an IoT broker 114 messaging service that communicates through the internet cloud 124 thus using a plurality of different servers of the internet which allows the mobile device to send commands to the vehicle and receive confirmation/updates from the vehicle including of software updates. Pradhan at ¶¶ 0026 – 0028, 0035, 0036, 0074 (remote communication with vehicle); id. at ¶ 0031 & 0032 (cloud-based communication between vehicle and mobile device); id. at ¶ 0046 (commands may be for a vehicle software update may be sent from OEM server to vehicle).}
transmit the address information {The information is a request for a vehicle manual that is received from user via a terminal, and the request is sent to agent server 16 via HMI server 14. Maeda at ¶¶ 0045 & 0046. A URL for the manual is sent from agent server 16 to HMI server 14 and then to terminal. Id. at ¶¶ 0047. The URL may be selected to initiate download of manual from OM server 18 and the manual is display on terminal. Id. at ¶ 0071.}
Claims 4 and 9
With respect to claims 4 and 9 Honda, Pradhan, Maeda, and Ross teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the vehicle terminal is an infotainment terminal. {Maeda at ¶ 0035.}
Claims 6 and 12
With respect to claims 6 and 12 Honda, Pradhan, Maeda, and Ross teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the first server is configured to provide …information to the vehicle terminal, wherein the vehicle terminal is configured to transmit the vehicle terminal information provided from the first server to the second server. {The mobile device 110 may be remotely connected to a vehicle 102 via an IoT broker 114 messaging service that communicates through the internet cloud 124 thus using a plurality of different servers of the internet which allows the mobile device to send commands to the vehicle and receive confirmation/updates from the vehicle including of software updates. Pradhan at ¶¶ 0026 – 0028, 0035, 0036, 0074 (remote communication with vehicle); id. at ¶ 0031 & 0032 (cloud-based communication between vehicle and mobile device); id. at ¶ 0046 (commands may be for a vehicle software update may be sent from OEM server to vehicle).}
the vehicle terminal manual website… manual website {The information is a request for a vehicle manual that is received from user via a terminal, and the request is sent to agent server 16 via HMI server 14. Maeda at ¶¶ 0045 & 0046. A URL for the manual is sent from agent server 16 to HMI server 14 and then to terminal. Id. at ¶¶ 0047. The URL may be selected to initiate download of manual from OM server 18 and the manual is display on terminal. Id. at ¶ 0071.}
Claims 7 and 13
With respect to claims 7 and 13 Honda, Pradhan, Maeda, and Ross teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the first server is configured to, based on a request for software update being transmitted, transmit the vehicle terminal … information. {The mobile device 110 may be remotely connected to a vehicle 102 via an IoT broker 114 messaging service that communicates through the internet cloud 124 thus using a plurality of different servers of the internet which allows the mobile device to send commands to the vehicle and receive confirmation/updates from the vehicle including of software updates. Pradhan at ¶¶ 0026 – 0028, 0035, 0036, 0074 (remote communication with vehicle); id. at ¶ 0031 & 0032 (cloud-based communication between vehicle and mobile device); id. at ¶ 0046 (commands may be for a vehicle software update may be sent from OEM server to vehicle).}
manual website {The information is a request for a vehicle manual that is received from user via a terminal, and the request is sent to agent server 16 via HMI server 14. Maeda at ¶¶ 0045 & 0046. A URL for the manual is sent from agent server 16 to HMI server 14 and then to terminal. Id. at ¶¶ 0047. The URL may be selected to initiate download of manual from OM server 18 and the manual is display on terminal. Id. at ¶ 0071.}
Claims 8 and 14
With respect to claims 8 and 14 Honda, Pradhan, Maeda, and Ross teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the user terminal is configured to: output the vehicle terminal manual website information through a user interface, access, based on the vehicle terminal manual website information being selected, the website, and receive the manual for the vehicle terminal. {The website link for the updated manual is sent to a phone and the manual may be displayed on the phone. Ross at Abstract; id. at ¶ 0024.}
Claim 10
With respect to claim 10 Honda, Pradhan, Maeda, and Ross teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the vehicle terminal manual website information comprises a [link] to a vehicle terminal manual website. {The website link for the updated manual is sent to a phone and the manual may be displayed on the phone. Ross at Abstract; id. at ¶ 0024.}
link {The information is a request for a vehicle manual that is received from user via a terminal, and the request is sent to agent server 16 via HMI server 14. Maeda at ¶¶ 0045 & 0046. A URL for the manual is sent from agent server 16 to HMI server 14 and then to terminal. Id. at ¶¶ 0047. The URL may be selected to initiate download of manual from OM server 18 and the manual is display on terminal. Id. at ¶ 0071.}
Claim 15
With respect to claim 10 Honda, Pradhan, Maeda, and Ross teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the vehicle terminal manual website information comprises a [link] to a vehicle terminal manual website, and wherein receiving a manual for the vehicle terminal from the website comprises accessing the website associated with the [link] to receive the manual for the vehicle terminal. {The website link for the updated manual is sent to a phone and the manual may be displayed on the phone. Ross at Abstract; id. at ¶ 0024.}
link {The information is a request for a vehicle manual that is received from user via a terminal, and the request is sent to agent server 16 via HMI server 14. Maeda at ¶¶ 0045 & 0046. A URL for the manual is sent from agent server 16 to HMI server 14 and then to terminal. Id. at ¶¶ 0047. The URL may be selected to initiate download of manual from OM server 18 and the manual is display on terminal. Id. at ¶ 0071.}
Conclusion
//T.H./ September 19, 2026
Examiner, Art Unit 2199
/LEWIS A BULLOCK JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2199