DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bruneau (US 7,465,128).
As to claim 1, Bruneau discloses a rock bolt which includes an elongate member 12, a tube 18 which is made from a first material and which has a bore 18c, an inner surface opposing the bore and an outer surface, and a barrel 20 which is fixed to the elongate member and which is located at least partly in the bore, wherein the barrel is made from a second material which is harder than the first material and includes yield formations (20a,b,c) configured to engage with the inner surface of the tube and to deform the first material in response to a tensile force exerted on the elongate member which forces the barrel 20 further into the bore 18c. The tube 18 is made from a first material that is flexible and expandable. Furthermore, the barrel is designed to deform the sleeve and thus inherently is a harder material as it does not deform during this action.
As to claim 2, Bruneau discloses wherein the tube 18 has a first end and a second end, and the barrel 20 enters the bore of the tube at the first end and the elongate member 12 extends from the second end of the tube.
As to claim 4, Bruneau discloses an anchor 16 for engaging with a wall of a borehole and wherein the tube 18 and the barrel 20 are in use positioned inside the borehole.
As to claim 5, Bruneau discloses anchor 16 which in use is located inside a borehole into which the elongate member 12 extends and which fixes the elongate member to the wall of the borehole, or which fixes the tube18 to the wall of the borehole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 10, and 12 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruneau (US 7,465,128) in view of Simmons et al (US 6,935,811).
As to claims 6, 10 and 12, Bruneau discloses all that is claimed except for the first material being aluminum. Simmons discloses a frictional type mining bolt wherein a tube 18 is made from aluminum (see col. 3, lines 55-58). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a tube made from aluminum as disclosed by Simmons et al, since doing so provides the expected benefit of providing an easily deformable material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7-9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest an anchor for engaging with a wall of a borehole and wherein the tube and the barrel are in use positioned outside the borehole.
As to claim 7, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest wherein the yield formations comprise ribs on a surface of the barrel which opposes the inner surface of the tube and a respective valley is formed between each adjacent pair of the ribs.
Conclusion
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678