DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 1/1/2026 is acknowledged.
In light of the applicant’s amendments and remarks, the claim objection and 112 rejections set forth in the previous office action have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-11 remain pending in the current application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the optical to electrical conversion module, the electrical to optical conversion module, and projection device in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ueda (US 20170168124 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ueda teaches an imaging apparatus for a magnetic resonance device ([0045] a medical image diagnostic apparatus includes an image providing apparatus and control circuitry; [0047] It is possible to view the image through the mirror mounted to the head coil during MR imaging)
having an examination table (13) ([0045] a subject placed on a couch top)
and a magnetic resonance chamber ([0082] an examination room 300 in which the MR imaging is performed)
an image broadcast apparatus located in a first space ([0083] projector 100, and the projector control apparatus 200 are installed in the control room 400)
an optical-to-electrical conversion module, which is connected to the image broadcast apparatus using an optical fiber, and is configured to convert an image broadcast by the image broadcast apparatus into electrical signals ([0050] a projector 100, and a projector control apparatus 200 which are connected in a wired or wireless manner to be capable of communicating with each other; [0052] The projector control apparatus 200 is a computer apparatus that controls the projector 100. The projector control apparatus 200 supplies data relating to the image as a projection target to the projector 100; [0213] The first optical fiber 83 is an optical waveguide which guides light from the first objective lens 81)
an electrical-to-optical conversion module, which is connected to the optical-to-electrical conversion module and is configured to convert the electrical signals into the image ([0054] the imaging control unit 17 reconstructs a medical image relating to the patient P based on raw data collected by the gantry 11 in the medical imaging. Incidentally, the imaging control unit 17 may be configured to be capable of controlling the projector 100 via the projector control apparatus 200. In addition, the imaging control unit 17 may supply data relating to an image as a projection target to the projector 100. In this case, the projector 100 projects the image corresponding to the data supplied from the imaging control unit 17 on the screen of the movable screen apparatus 15)
and a projection device (15), which is connected to the electrical-to-optical conversion module using an image transmission assembly, and is configured to project the image to a top wall of the magnetic resonance chamber ([0050] a movable screen apparatus (video projection apparatus) 15; [0054] projector 100 projects the image corresponding to the data supplied from the imaging control unit 17 on the screen of the movable screen apparatus 15)
wherein the image transmission assembly comprises an image transmission lens group or an image transmission optical fiber bundle ([0209] the first camera 80 includes a first objective lens 81, a first optical fiber 83)
wherein the magnetic resonance device, the optical-to-electrical conversion module, the electrical/optical conversion module, and the projection device are located in a second space, and the first space and the second space are electromagnetically shielded from each other (see configuration in Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 2, Ueda teaches the electrical-to-optical conversion module is a Digital Light Processing (DLP) optical engine ([0052] a digital light processing (DLP) system)
Regarding claim 3, Ueda teaches the projection device is arranged at an end of a table body of the examination table that is adjacent to the magnetic resonance chamber (configuration of movable screen apparatus 15 and couch 13 in fig. 3)
Regarding claim 4, Ueda teaches an electromagnetic shielding box, which is mounted inside a base of the examination table, wherein the optical-to-electrical conversion module and the electrical-to-optical conversion module are arranged inside the electromagnetic shielding box ([0083] The examination room 300 is a shielded room that can shield a leaked magnetic field from the gantry 11, an electromagnetic field from the outside, and the like. A door D1, configured to allow entrance and exit, is provided in the examination room 300. In addition, a door D2, configured to allow coming and going between the examination room 300 and the control room 400, is provided between the examination room 300 and the control room 400. The console 27, the projector 100, and the projector control apparatus 200 are installed in the control room 400. The projector 100 is installed at the rear side of the gantry 11 being spaced apart from a wall 500 between the examination room 300 and the control room 400)
Regarding claim 5, Ueda teaches wherein the image transmission lens group is mounted inside a base of the examination table or on a table body of the examination table ([0210] The first objective lens 81 is provided at the end of the reflecting plate 67 on the couch 13 side so as to be capable of photographing the face of the patient P placed on the couch top 131 in the reflecting plate 67 arranged at the first angle)
Regarding claim 6, Ueda teaches the image transmission assembly comprises an image transmission lens group and an image transmission optical fiber bundle, and two ends of the image transmission optical fiber bundle are respectively connected to the image transmission lens group and the projection device ([0209] the first camera 80 includes a first objective lens 81, a first optical fiber 83; [0210] The first objective lens 81 is provided at the end of the reflecting plate 67 on the couch 13 side so as to be capable of photographing the face of the patient P placed on the couch top 131 in the reflecting plate 67 arranged at the first angle)
Regarding claim 7, Ueda teaches the projection device comprises a support ([0058] the gantry 11)
and an image projection lens group ([0060] an exterior illuminator 56)
the support being mounted at an end of a table body of the examination table that is adjacent to the magnetic resonance chamber, and the image projection lens group is fixed on the support (observe configurations of couch top 13, external illuminator 56, and gantry 11 in fig. 3)
Regarding claim 8, Ueda teaches wherein the support comprises an optical fiber bundle fixing structure, and an end of the image transmission optical fiber bundle that is remote from the image transmission lens group is fixed on the optical fiber bundle fixing structure ([0213] The first optical fiber 83 is an optical waveguide which guides light from the first objective lens 81. The first optical fiber 83 connects the first objective lens 81 and the first CCD so as to guide the light from the first objective lens 81 to the first CCD provided at the outside of the gantry 11)
Regarding claim 9, Ueda teaches an axis of an end of the image transmission optical fiber bundle that is fixed on the optical fiber bundle fixing structure is collinear with an axis of the image projection lens group ([0209] the first camera 80 includes a first objective lens 81, a first optical fiber 83; both of these features have a transmission trajectory in the Y axis as illustrated in Fig. 30)
Regarding claim 10, Ueda teaches the support is detachably mounted on the table body, and the support comprises a support base and a mounting frame, the support base being detachably mounted on the table body, and the mounting frame being rotatably connected to the support base ([0108] the support arm 65 may support the reflecting plate 67 in a detachable manner)
Regarding claim 11, Ueda teaches a projection film arranged on a top wall of the magnetic resonance chamber, wherein the image is projectable to the projection film ([0113] The film 672 is installed at the back of the beam splitter 671. The film 672 transmits light 6731 generated by the light guide plate 673. A predetermined image is provided in the film 672. Incidentally, the predetermined image may be printed on the film 672 or may be pasted thereto)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant appears to be interpreting their claim language as more narrowly than it is written. The optical to electrical and electrical to optical conversion modules are recited with a high level of generality. Applicant describes perceived differences between the pending claim and the teachings of Ueda, specifically alleging that the camera system components as interpreted by the examiner are not analogous to the optical to electrical or the electrical to optical components as laid out in the pending application. Applicant is reminded that the modules as listed in the claims are recited with a large level of generality. In order to anticipate an optical to electrical module, a reference needs to have the capability to capture a photo and store it digitally on an electrically powered device, which Ueda does, and in order to teach an electrical to optical conversion module a reference would have to display images digitally on a screen, which Ueda also does. Seeing as Ueda captures an image that is stored electrically and then displayed digitally it is understood that under broadest reasonable interpretation Ueda teaches both an optical to electrical module as well as an electrical to optical module as these features are drafted currently. In order to overcome the pending rejection, applicant is advised to amend the independent claim to provide more detail into the constructional details of the optical to electrical and electrical to optical conversion modules.
Applicant alleges that Ueda does not teach an "electrical-to-optical conversion module" that converts electrical signals back into an image for projection as recited by claim 1. However, seeing as the display in Ueda receives image information stored as electrical signals and displays an image optically to a user, it is interpreted as an electrical-to-optical conversion module.
Applicant further argues that claim 1 requires an optical-to-electrical conversion module connected to the image broadcast apparatus via optical fiber that converts a broadcast image into electrical signals, and an electrical-to-optical conversion module that converts those electrical signals back into an image for projection. However, as is explained above, since the camera in Ueda captures a visual scene and stores image information as electrical signals, it is interpreted as an optical-to-electrical conversion module.
Applicant also argues that the limitations of dependent claim 4 are not taught by the prior art, specifically the limitation regarding the electromagnetic shielding box. As currently drafted, seeing as the entire examination room is electromagnetically shielded and the conversion modules are implicitly located inside this room, the room as a whole can be interpreted as an electromagnetic shielding box under broadest reasonable interpretation. As with the aforementioned limitations regarding the conversion modules, applicant is advised to add more detail to broadly drafted limitations in order to distinguish the limitations from the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GABRIEL VICTOR POPESCU/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/SERKAN AKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797