DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. FR1905178, filed on 5/17/2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ina et al. (US 20160339875 A1) (hereinafter Ina).
Regarding claim 1, Ina discloses:
A mounting assembly for mounting an optical system on a body element of a vehicle, [See Ina, Fig. 18 element 107; See Ina, ¶ 0129 discloses an on-vehicle optical sensor unit 103 includes an on-vehicle camera 105, which functions as an on-vehicle optical sensor, a nozzle unit 106, which functions as an on-vehicle optical sensor cleaning device, and an on-vehicle optical sensor attachment bracket 107.] the optical system comprising an image-capturing device [See Ina, ¶ 0129, Fig. 18 element 105] and a device for projecting a fluid for cleaning the image-capturing device, the image-capturing device comprising a case retaining an optic, the assembly comprising: [See Ina, ¶ 0129-0133 discloses an on-vehicle optical sensor unit 103 includes an on-vehicle camera 105, which functions as an on-vehicle optical sensor, a nozzle unit 106, which functions as an on-vehicle optical sensor cleaning device; See Ina, Fig. 18 illustrates element 105a which is a “cuboid body” which accommodates an image capturing element and a lens which is located on one surface of the body 105a.]
- a housing element for retaining the image-capturing device in a mounting position; [See Ina, Fig. 5 illustrates element 5; See Ina, ¶ 0045-0046 the on-vehicle optical sensor attachment bracket 7 is integrally formed by a sensor receptacle 7a, which accommodates the on-vehicle camera 5.]
- an element for holding the fluid-projection device and placing the fluid-projection device in a functional position with respect to the image-capturing device when the image-capturing device is disposed in the mounting position; and [See Ina, Fig. 9c element 31; See Ina, ¶ 0063 discloses a tubular outer fitting portion 31a, a basal flow passage 31b, an inner extension 31c, and a tubular inlet 31d. The outer fitting portion 31a is fitted onto the basal portion of the cylinder housing 21. The basal part of the outer fitting portion 31a of the inlet member 31 includes the fastening portions 13 (refer to FIG. 5), which are fastened to the on-vehicle optical sensor attachment bracket 7 by the screws 14.]
- an element for fastening the housing element and the holding element to the body element of the vehicle. [See Ina, Fig. 6 elements 7c, 7r; See Ina, ¶ 0054 discloses that the vehicle fastening portion 7c is provided with fastening holes 7r and fastened to the vehicle 1 by fastening pins (not shown) when inserted through the fastening holes 7r.]
Regarding claim 9, Ina discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Ina discloses:
wherein the fastening element and the holding element are carried by an intermediate part reversibly fastened to the housing element. [See Ina, ¶ 0056, Figs. 7-8, 9a-9d illustrates an elastic ring (R). Further, that a tubular elastic member R is fitted onto the outer circumference of the cylinder housing 21. When accommodated in the nozzle receptacle 7b, the cylinder housing 21 is in press contact with an inner surface of the nozzle receptacle 7b with the elastic member R located in between.]
Regarding claim 10, Ina discloses all the limitations of claim 9.
Ina discloses:
wherein the intermediate part is irreversibly fastened to the body element. [See Ina, ¶ 0048 discloses a nozzle unit 6, which is accommodated in the nozzle receptacle 7b, includes fastening portions 13 that project out of the nozzle receptacle 7b. The fastening portions 13 are fastened to the on-vehicle optical sensor attachment bracket 7 by screws 14. This prevents removal of the nozzle unit 6 from the nozzle receptacle 7b.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ina et al. (US 20160339875 A1) (hereinafter Ina) in view of Hart et al. (US 20210370843 A1) (hereinafter Hart).
Regarding claim 2, Ina discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Ina does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein the housing element has a side wall in which is arranged at least one flexible tab having a free end bearing a notch, the flexible tab being able to deform to allow the introduction of the optical image-capturing device in the housing element and to close the notch thereon when the image-capturing device is disposed in the mounting position.
However, Hart discloses:
wherein the housing element has a side wall in which is arranged at least one flexible tab having a free end bearing a notch, the flexible tab being able to deform to allow the introduction of the optical image-capturing device in the housing element and to close the notch thereon when the image-capturing device is disposed in the mounting position. [See Hart, Fig. 2 elements 20, 22; See Hart, ¶ 0026 discloses first and second tabs 20, 22 on the housing 12 slide into the first and second channels 30, 32 on the bracket 14 to connect the housing to the bracket. The forward tabs 20 on the housing 12 may slide along guide members or ribs 48 on the bracket to guide the forward tabs into the forward channels 30. The flexible members 40 move upward when the rearward tabs 22 engage the detents 42 upon insertion of the rearward tabs into the rearward channels 32. The tabs 20,22 on the housing 12 are slid into the bracket 14 until the rearward tabs 22 slide past the detents 42. The rearward tabs 22 snap into the rearward channels 32 so that the detents 42 retain the rearward tabs in the rearward channels to connect the housing 12 to the bracket 14. The flexible members 40 help dampen motion of the camera housing 12 during operation of the vehicle. It is contemplated that at least one of the forward channels 30 may be defined by a flexible member with a detent so that the forward tabs 20 snap into the forward channels.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Ina to add the teachings of Hart in order to fasten an optical image capturing device using flexible tabs and notches with predictable results. One would be motivated to use such a flexible detent method because it would have been apparent to one of ordinary skill that any of a variety of fastening methods and devices could have been used to attach the image-capturing device to the housing. Accordingly, using flexible tabs/notches or a detent mechanism to attach the image-capturing device would have amounted to simple substitution of one known technique for another with predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Ina in view of Hart discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Ina discloses:
wherein the housing element and the holding element are part of a same main body. [See Ina, Fig. 18 illustrates elements 103, 107, and 131, forming a main body portion.]
Regarding claim 4, Ina in view of Hart discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Hart discloses:
wherein the fastening element comprises a plurality of flexible tabs disposed on the main body and configured to snap onto the body element. [See Hart, Fig. 2 illustrates element 20, 22; See Hart, ¶ 0026 discloses first and second tabs on a housing sliding into channels of a bracket to connect a housing to a bracket. Further, flexible members 40 help dampen motion of the camera housing 12 during operation of the vehicle. It is contemplated that at least one of the forward channels 30 may be defined by a flexible member with a detent so that the forward tabs 20 snap into the forward channels.]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Ina in view of Hart discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
Hart discloses:
wherein the fastening element comprises a plurality of snap-on feet disposed on the main body and configured to enter openings arranged on the body element. [See Hart, Fig. 2 illustrates element 20, 22; See Hart, ¶ 0026 discloses first and second tabs on a housing sliding into channels of a bracket to connect a housing to a bracket. Further, flexible members 40 help dampen motion of the camera housing 12 during operation of the vehicle. It is contemplated that at least one of the forward channels 30 may be defined by a flexible member with a detent so that the forward tabs 20 snap into the forward channels. It is noted that Hart’s tabs may be construed as “snap-on feet”.]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, Ina in view of Hart discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
Ina discloses:
further comprising a locking element selectively movable between an unlocked position in which the snap-on feet can be removed from the openings of the body element and a locking position in which the snap-on feet cannot be removed from the openings of the body element. [See Ina, ¶ 0053-0056, Figs. 8, 9a-9d discloses a rotation restricted portion 16 being a groove that engages with a projected rotation restricted portion 15 in a circumferential direction.]
Regarding claim 7, Ina in view of Hart discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Ina discloses:
wherein the fastening element is carried by an intermediate part reversibly fastened to the main body. [See Ina, Figs. 8, 9c illustrates an intermediate portion (21) secured to a main body 7 (per Figs. 7 and 8).]
Regarding claim 8, Ina in view of Hart discloses all the limitations of claim 7.
Ina discloses:
wherein the intermediate part comprises two parts connected by a connecting ring, each part of the two parts being configured to slide in an assembly rail arranged on the main body. [See Ina, Fig. 8 and ¶ 0049-0050, 0053, 0056 discloses a nozzle receptacle 7b (assembly rail) on a main body (7); See Ina, Figs. 9c-9d illustrate a connecting ring (R) and an intermediate part constituted by elements 21 and 22.]
Regarding claim 12, Ina in view of Hart discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
Hart discloses:
wherein the fastening element comprises an adhesive material disposed on the intermediate part. [See Hart, ¶ 0024 discloses mounting a mounting bracket of a vehicle camera housing with an adhesive material.]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, Ina in view of Hart discloses all the limitations of claim 9.
Ina discloses:
wherein the intermediate part comprises elements for adjusting the angular position of the housing element. [See Ina, ¶ 0149 discloses adjusting an angle of a housing element.]
Regarding claim 14, Ina discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Hart discloses:
wherein the fastening element comprises a plurality of snap-on feet disposed on the main body and configured to enter openings arranged on the body element. [See Hart, Fig. 2 elements 20, 22; See Hart, ¶ 0026 discloses first and second tabs 20, 22 on the housing 12 slide into the first and second channels 30, 32 on the bracket 14 to connect the housing to the bracket. The forward tabs 20 on the housing 12 may slide along guide members or ribs 48 on the bracket to guide the forward tabs into the forward channels 30. The flexible members 40 move upward when the rearward tabs 22 engage the detents 42 upon insertion of the rearward tabs into the rearward channels 32. The tabs 20,22 on the housing 12 are slid into the bracket 14 until the rearward tabs 22 slide past the detents 42. The rearward tabs 22 snap into the rearward channels 32 so that the detents 42 retain the rearward tabs in the rearward channels to connect the housing 12 to the bracket 14. The flexible members 40 help dampen motion of the camera housing 12 during operation of the vehicle. It is contemplated that at least one of the forward channels 30 may be defined by a flexible member with a detent so that the forward tabs 20 snap into the forward channels.]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 2.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ina in view of Kasarla et al. (US 20190351840 A1) (hereinafter Kasarla).
Regarding claim 11, Ina discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
Ina does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein the fastening element comprises a plurality of metal clips configured to cooperate with retaining elements provided on the body element of the vehicle.
However, Kasarla discloses:
wherein the fastening element comprises a plurality of metal clips configured to cooperate with retaining elements provided on the body element of the vehicle. [See Kasarla, Fig. 2 illustrates element 225; See Kasarla, ¶ 0036-0037 discloses a bracket 215 comprises a plurality of clips each defining a slot for receiving a coupling member therein, such as a coupling member of a camera and/or camera housing.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Ina in view of Hart to add the teachings of Kasarla in order to enable coupling of a camera to a camera mount via a snap-fit, alleviating the need for tools in making an attachment/connection.
Conclusion
/PATRICK E DEMOSKY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486