Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “another sensor” of claims 12 and 17; “a spool” of claims 3 and 6 (drawings show a roll of material held on a shaft, but no spool is shown); “and the first exterior portion and the second exterior portion have outer diameters greater than an outer diameter of the spool” of claim 6, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Regarding claim 6, for the purpose of examination, Examiner assumes applicant intends to mean “and the first exterior portion and the second exterior portion have outer diameters greater than an inner diameter of the spool” as is consistent with applicant’s invention represented by the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “the assembly” in line 4 is vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether applicant intends to refer to the “an assembly” of Claim 1, or one of the assemblies recited in claim 9, the “an upper guide assembly” or “the top block assembly”.
Claims 10-11 are rejected because they depend from rejected claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “the assembly” in line 2 is vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether applicant intends to refer to the “an assembly” of claim 1, or one of the assemblies recited in claims 9 or 10: “an upper guide assembly”; “a top block assembly”, or “a bottom block assembly”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Butler, US5139206.
Regarding independent claim 1, Butler discloses a dynamic tension control system (35, 45, Fig. 10), the system comprising: an assembly (35, Fig. 3) for receiving a material (72, Fig. 2) from a roll of the material held on a shaft (70, held on shaft 101, Fig. 5), wherein the shaft is driven by a motor (98, Fig. 5); a sensor configured to: detect whether the assembly is proximate the sensor (50, Fig. 3; Column 4, line 66 - Column 5, line 2); transmit, based on detecting that the assembly is not proximate the sensor, a signal (Column 4, line 66- Column 5, line 2); and stop transmitting, based on detecting that the assembly is proximate the sensor, the signal (Column 4, lines 61-66); and a controller (127, Fig. 7), wherein the controller is configured to: command, based on receiving the signal from the sensor, the motor to accelerate (Column 2, lines 15-19); and command, based on stopping receiving the signal from the sensor, the motor to decelerate (Column 2, lines 6-9, 26-29).
Regarding claim 2, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 1 (from which this claim depends) and a frame (97, 10, 130 Fig. 7) configured for positioning and supporting the shaft (101, Fig. 5), the motor (98, Fig. 5), the assembly (35, Fig. 3), the sensor (50, Fig. 3), and the controller (127, Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 3, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 1 (from which claim 3 depends), and a non-drive-side tube insert (112, Fig. 5) to position a spool of the roll (70, Fig. 5) such that the shaft passes through a center of the spool (101 passes through center of spool 70, Fig. 5); and a drive-side tube insert (111, 110, Fig. 5) to position the spool of the roll such that the shaft passes through the center of the spool (101 passes through 70, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 3 (from which claim 4 depends), and wherein: the non-drive-side tube insert (112, Fig. 5) comprises a first attachment mechanism for attaching the non-drive-side tube insert to the shaft to prevent the non-drive-side tube insert and the roll from sliding off the shaft (116, Fig. 5); and the drive-side tube insert comprises a second attachment mechanism for attaching the drive-side tube insert to the shaft to prevent the drive-side tube insert and the roll from sliding off the shaft (108, 109, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 3 (from which claim 5 depends), and wherein: the non-drive-side tube insert comprises a first conical portion (114, 115, Fig. 5), a first intermediate portion (114, in contact with spool 70, Fig. 5), and a first exterior portion (113, outside of reel 70, Fig. 5); and the drive-side tube insert comprises a second conical portion (111, Fig. 5), a second intermediate portion (portion of 111 in contact with reel 70, Fig. 5), and a second exterior portion (110, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 5 (from which claim 6 depends) and the first conical portion (114, Fig. 5) and the second conical portion (111, Fig. 5) have lengthwise increasing outer diameters for receiving the spool (114, 111, are tapered, Fig. 5); the first intermediate portion and the second intermediate portion have outer diameters equal to or less than an inner diameter of the spool (intermediate portions of 114, 111 have diameters less than or equal to spool 70 for which they are in contact with, Fig. 5); and the first exterior portion and the second exterior portion have outer diameters greater than an inner diameter of the spool (113, 110 have diameters greater than the inner diameter of the spool, just as shown in applicant's drawings Fig. 5; See claim interpretation above in the section titled Drawings).
Regarding claim 7, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 1 (from which claim 7 depends) and one or more dancer tension control guides (73, Fig. 10) for receiving the material from the roll (70, Fig. 7) and providing the material to the assembly (35, Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 8, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 1 (from which claim 8 depends) and a user input device(132, Fig. 3) for controlling deceleration of the motor (Column 9, lines 41-44; emergency stop decelerates motor).
Regarding claim 9, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 1 (from which claim 9 depends) and a top block assembly (13, 18, 42, Fig. 3); and an upper guide assembly extending outward from the top block assembly (45, Fig. 3), wherein the material passes through the assembly (35, Fig. 3) and then through the upper guide assembly (45, Fig. 3, although material passes over upper guide assembly first, it is wound between the assembly and upper guide assembly multiple times, and thus the material passes through the assembly and then through the upper guide assembly as claimed).
Regarding claim 10, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 9 (from which claim 10 depends) and comprising a bottom block assembly (bottom of 13, 15, Fig. 3), wherein the sensor (50, Fig. 3) is positioned on the bottom block assembly (50 is on bottom block assembly of 10, 13, 15, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 10 (from which claim 11 depends) and comprising guide rods (20, 21, Fig. 3) extending between the bottom block assembly (bottom of 13, 15, Fig. 3) and the top block assembly (18, Fig. 1; Column 4, lines 5-10), wherein the assembly moves along the guide rods (Column 4, lines 11-22).
Regarding claim 12, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 1 (from which claim 12 depends) and a dynamic tension control system.
Butler does not teach another assembly for receiving the material from another roll of the material held on another shaft, wherein the other shaft is driven by another motor; another sensor configured to: detect whether the other assembly is proximate the other sensor; transmit, based on detecting that the other assembly is not proximate the other sensor, another signal; and stop transmitting, based on detecting that the other assembly is proximate the other sensor, the other signal; wherein the dynamic tension control system is configured to: command, based on receiving the other signal from the other sensor, the other motor to accelerate; and command, based on stopping receiving the other signal from the other sensor, the other motor to decelerate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have another assembly, roll, shaft, motor and sensor, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to double product output.
Regarding independent claim 18, Butler discloses a dynamic tension control system (35, 45, Fig. 10), the system comprising: an assembly (35, Fig. 10) for receiving a material (72, Fig. 10) from a roll of the material (70, Fig. 5, 7) held on a shaft (101, Fig. 5), wherein the shaft is driven by a motor (98, Fig. 5); a sensor (50, Fig. 3) configured to detect whether the assembly is proximate the sensor (Column 4, lines 61 - Column 5, line 2); and a controller (127, Fig. 7), wherein the controller is configured to: command, based on detecting that the assembly is not proximate the sensor, the motor to accelerate (Column 2, lines 15-19); and command, based on detecting that the assembly is proximate the sensor, the motor to decelerate (Column 2, lines 6-9, 26-29).
Regarding claim 19, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 18 (from which claim 19 depends) and comprising one or more dancer tension control guides (73, Fig. 10) for receiving the material from the roll (70, Fig. 7) and providing the material to the assembly (35, Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 20, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 19 (from which claim 20 depends) and comprising a user input device(132, Fig. 3) for controlling deceleration of the motor (Column 9, lines 41-44; emergency stop decelerates motor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butler, US5139206 in view of Mercuri, Foreign Patent Document, WO2022099386.
Regarding independent claim 13, Butler discloses a method of controlling tension in a linear material (Column 2, lines 6-30), the method comprising: receiving, with an assembly (Column 2, lines 6-30), a linear material (72, Fig. 3) from a roll of the linear material (70, Fig. 5) held on a shaft (101, Fig. 5), wherein the shaft is driven by a motor (98, Fig. 5); a signal (50, Fig. 3; Column 4, line 66 - Column 5, line 2); transmitting, with the sensor and based on detecting with a sensor that the assembly is not proximate the sensor, a signal (Column 4, line 66- Column 5, line 2); stopping transmitting, with the sensor and based on detecting that the assembly is proximate the sensor, the signal (Column 4, lines 61-66); causing in response to the sensor transmitting the signal, the motor to accelerate (Column 2, lines 15-19); and causing, in response to the sensor stopping transmitting the signal, the motor to decelerate (Column 2, lines 6-9, 26-29).
Butler does not disclose the linear material is a linear fabric material;
Mercuri teaches a method of controlling tension where the linear material is a fabric linear material (Paragraph [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Butler and Mercuri to use the dynamic tension control system with linear fabric material as taught by Mercuri because "it is desirable to dispense the elastic cord for ear loops in a controlled manner" (Paragraph [0007], lines 1-3; Mercuri).
Regarding claim 14, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 13 (from which claim 14 depends) and receiving, with one or more dancer tension control guides (73, Fig. 10), the linear material from the roll (73 receives material 72 from roll 70, Fig. 10); and providing, with the one or more dancer tension control guides, the linear fabric material to the assembly (providing material 72 to assembly 35, Fig. 10).
Butler does not disclose the linear material is a linear fabric material.
Mercuri teaches a method of controlling tension where the linear material is a fabric linear material (Paragraph [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Butler and Mercuri to use the dynamic tension control system with linear fabric material as taught by Mercuri because "it is desirable to dispense the elastic cord for ear loops in a controlled manner" (Paragraph [0007], lines 1-3; Mercuri).
Regarding claim 15, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 13 (from which claim 15 depends) and receiving, with a user input device (132, Fig. 3), a control for the motor, wherein the control comprises deceleration of the motor (Column 9, lines 41-44; emergency stop decelerates motor); and controlling the motor based on the received control (Column 9, lines 41-44; emergency stop 132, Fig. 3 controls motor to decelerate).
Regarding claim 16, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 13 (from which claim 16 depends) and guiding, using guide rods (20, 21, Fig. 3), movement of the assembly (Column 4, lines 11-22).
Regarding claim 17, modified Butler teaches the limitations of claim 13 (from which claim 17 depends) and a method for controlling tension in a linear fabric material.
However, Butler does not disclose receiving, with another assembly, another linear fabric material from another roll held on another shaft, wherein the other shaft is driven by another motor; detecting, with another sensor, whether the other assembly is proximate the other sensor; transmitting, with the other sensor and based on detecting that the other assembly is not proximate the other sensor, another signal; stopping transmitting, with the other sensor and based on detecting that the other assembly is proximate the other sensor, the other signal; causing, in response to the other sensor transmitting the other signal, the other motor to accelerate; and causing, in response to the other sensor stopping transmitting the other signal, the other motor to decelerate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the same method of claim 13 with another assembly, roll, shaft, motor and sensor, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to double product output.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12162716. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences amount to minor rewording of claim limitations and the patent claims are narrower in scope than the instant claims. As such, the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant claims with some additional limitations. Therefore, the patent claims encompass the instant claims and render the instant claims unpatentable under anticipatory obvious type double patenting.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/K.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619