DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al.(US 2012/0288182).
Considering Claim 1 Lee discloses a binary-pixel optical communication system, comprising: a binary-pixel display comprising binary display pixels operable to display a binary image(See abstract, Paragraph 39,40,148, fig. 1,9 i.e. a binary-pixel display(mobile device) comprising binary display pixels operable to display a binary image(S110 of fig. 1)); and a binary-pixel camera comprising binary camera pixels disposed to optically receive the binary image and operable to record the binary image(See abstract, Paragraph 148, fig. 9 i.e. the mobile device(900) has a camera(910) comprising binary camera pixels disposed to optically receive the binary image and operable to record the binary image in a memory(920)).
Considering claim 4 Lee discloses the binary-pixel optical communication system of claim 1, wherein each of the binary display pixels is optically imaged to a different one of the binary camera pixels(See Paragraph 92,93, fig. 3b,3c i.e. each of the binary display pixels(301) is optically imaged to a different one of the binary camera pixels(302)).
Considering claim 5 Lee discloses the binary-pixel optical communication system of claim 1, wherein, for at least one of the binary display pixels, the binary display pixel is optically imaged to at least one group of multiple, adjacent binary camera pixels(See Paragraph 92,93, fig. 3b,3c i.e. wherein, for at least one of the binary display pixels(301), the binary display pixel(301) is optically imaged to at least one group of multiple, adjacent binary camera pixels(302)).
Considering claim 6 Lee discloses the binary-pixel optical communication system of claim 5, wherein the multiple, adjacent binary camera pixels form a two-dimensional array(See Paragraph 92,93, fig. 3b,3c i.e. the multiple, adjacent binary camera pixels form a two-dimensional array(301,302)).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong et al.(US 2015/0123987 )
Considering Claim 1 Hong discloses a binary-pixel optical communication system, comprising: a binary-pixel display comprising binary display pixels operable to display a binary image(See Paragraph 67,68,81, fig. 3 i.e. a binary-pixel display(120) comprising binary display pixels operable to display a binary image(image code)); and a binary-pixel camera comprising binary camera pixels disposed to optically receive the binary image and operable to record the binary image(See Paragraph 88,84,109, fig. 3 i.e. a binary-pixel camera (130) comprising binary camera pixels disposed to optically receive the binary image(image code) via camera(131) and operable to record the binary image using a decoding table(133)).
Claims 9,12,15,18,21,22,24,25,27,28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Rotzell et al.(US 2018/0197471).
Considering claim 9 Rotzell discloses a display, comprising: an array of single-bit storage circuits, each single-bit storage circuit operable to store a single bit of information corresponding to a binary image pixel of a binary image and output the stored single bit of information(See Paragraph 98-100, fig. 4 i.e. an array of single-bit storage circuits(72A), each single-bit storage circuit(72A) operable to store a single bit of information corresponding to a binary image pixel of a binary image and output the stored single bit of information ); and an array of light emitters, wherein for each of the light emitters, the light emitter is connected to a single-bit storage circuit of the single-bit storage circuits and operable to emit light corresponding to the output from the single-bit storage circuit(See Paragraph 75,98, fig. 4 i.e. an array of light emitters(22), wherein for each of the light emitters, the light emitter is connected to a single-bit storage circuit(72a) of the single-bit storage circuits(72a) and operable to emit light corresponding to the output from the single-bit storage circuit(72a)).
Considering claim 12 Rotzell discloses the display of claim 9, comprising binary display pixels each comprising one of the light emitters and one of the single-bit storage circuits(See Paragraph 99, fig. 4 i.e. binary display pixels(20) each comprising one of the light emitters(22) and one of the single-bit storage circuits(40)).
Considering claim 15 Rotzell discloses the display of claim 9, comprising binary display pixels each comprising only one of the light emitters and only one of the single-bit storage circuits(See Paragraph 82, fig. 10 i.e. binary display pixels(20) each comprising only one of the light emitters(22) and only one of the single-bit storage circuits(24)).
Considering claim 18 Rotzell discloses the display of claim 9, wherein each light emitter in the array of light emitters is separately connected to a corresponding single-bit storage circuit of the single-bit storage circuits(See Paragraph 99, fig. 2 i.e. wherein each light emitter(22) in the array of light emitters is separately connected to a corresponding single-bit storage circuit(24) of the single-bit storage circuits).
Considering claim 21 Rotzell discloses the display of claim 9, comprising a display controller, wherein the single-bit storage circuits are separately connected to the display controller(See Paragraph 96,141, fig. 4 i.e. a display controller(36), wherein the single-bit storage circuits(72a) are separately connected to the display controller(36)).
Considering claim 22 Rotzell discloses the binary-pixel display of claim 9, comprising a display substrate comprising a semiconductor, wherein (i) the array of single-bit storage circuits is native to the display substrate and (ii) the array of light emitters is disposed on and non-native to the display substrate(See Paragraph 81,98,99, fig. 4 i.e. display substrate(50) comprising a semiconductor, wherein (i) the array of single-bit storage circuits(72a) is native to the display substrate(50) and (ii) the array of light emitters(22) is disposed on and non-native to the display substrate(50)).
Considering claim 24 Rotzell discloses the binary-pixel display of claim 9, comprising a display substrate comprising a semiconductor, wherein (i) the array of single-bit storage circuits is native to the display substrate and (ii) the array of light emitters is formed in or on and is native to the display substrate(See Paragraph 81,98,99, fig. 4 i.e. a display substrate(50) comprising a semiconductor, wherein (i) the array of single-bit storage circuits(72a) is native to the display substrate and (ii) the array of light emitters(22) is formed in or on and is native to the display substrate(50)).
Considering claim 25 Rotzell discloses the binary-pixel display of claim 9, comprising a display substrate and wherein (i) the array of single-bit storage circuits is disposed on and is non-native to the display substrate and (ii) the array of light emitters is disposed on and non-native to the display substrate(See Paragraph 91, fig. 10,11 i.e. a display substrate(50) and wherein (i) the array of single-bit storage circuits(24) is disposed on and is non-native to the display substrate(50) and (ii) the array of light emitters(22) is disposed on and non-native to the display substrate(50)).
Considering claim 27 Rotzell discloses the binary-pixel display of claim 9, wherein one or more of the single-bit storage circuits in the array of single-bit storage circuits comprise a micro-integrated circuit comprising a fractured or separated tether(See Paragraph 82, fig. 10 i.e. one or more of the single-bit storage circuits(72a) in the array of single-bit storage circuits(72a) comprise a micro-integrated circuit comprising a fractured or separated tether(46)).
Claim 28 is rejected for the same reason as in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al.(US 2015/0123987 ) In view of Kim(KR 20230122914 A).
Considering claim 2 Hong does not explicitly disclose the binary-pixel optical communication system of claim 1, wherein a number or a spatial resolution of the binary display pixels is spatially matched to a number or spatial resolution of the binary camera pixels, respectively.
Kim teaches the binary-pixel optical communication system of claim 1, wherein a number or a spatial resolution of the binary display pixels is spatially matched to a number or spatial resolution of the binary camera pixels, respectively(See Paragraph 37,47, 54,fig. 3,4,6 i.e. wherein a number or a spatial resolution of the binary display pixels(304) is spatially matched to a number or spatial resolution of the binary camera pixels(300), respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Hong, and have a number or a spatial resolution of the binary display pixels to be spatially matched to a number or spatial resolution of the binary camera pixels, respectively, as taught by Kim, thus improving transmission signal quality by optimizing precision and minimizing distortion using a distortion correction device, as discussed by Kim (Abstract, Paragraph 37,47) , as discussed by Kim (Abstract, Paragraph 37,47).
Considering claim 3 Hong does not explicitly disclose the binary-pixel optical communication system of claim 1, wherein spatial resolution of the binary display pixels is geometrically similar to spatial resolution of the binary camera pixels.
Kim teaches the binary-pixel optical communication system of claim 1, wherein spatial resolution of the binary display pixels is geometrically similar to spatial resolution of the binary camera pixels(See Paragraph 37,47, 54,fig. 3,4,6 i.e. spatial resolution of the binary display pixels (304) is geometrically similar to spatial resolution of the binary camera pixels (300)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Hong, and have spatial resolution of the binary display pixels to be geometrically similar to spatial resolution of the binary camera pixels, respectively, as taught by Kim, thus improving transmission signal quality by optimizing precision and minimizing distortion using a distortion correction device, as discussed by Kim (Abstract, Paragraph 37,47).
Claims 23,26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al.(US 2015/0123987 ) In view of Cok et al.(US 11,386,826).
Considering claim 23 Rotzell does not explicitly disclose the binary-pixel display of claim 22, wherein one or more of the single-bit storage circuits is disposed in an area over the display substrate defined by a convex hull of the array of light emitters.
Cok teaches the binary-pixel display of claim 22, wherein one or more of the single-bit storage circuits is disposed in an area over the display substrate defined by a convex hull of the array of light emitters(See Col. 17 lines 67-Col. 18 lines 3, Col. 18 lines 35-43 , fig. 4b,9b i.e. one or more of the single-bit storage circuits(24) is disposed in an area over the display substrate(10) defined by a convex hull of the array of light emitters(50)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Rotzell, and have one or more of the single-bit storage circuits to be disposed in an area over the display substrate defined by a convex hull of the array of light emitters, respectively, as taught by Kim, thus improving transmission signal quality by optimizing the distribution of control signals with large substrate and number of pixels using a display control defined by a convex hull, as discussed by Kim (Col. 4 lines 35-39, Col. 7 lines 35-37).
Claim 26 is rejected for the same reason as in claim 23.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7,8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HIBRET A WOLDEKIDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635