DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Qisheng et al (CN 109096525 A).
With respect to claims 1 and 7, Qisheng teaches a biodegradable material formed from a combination of polymers (resin material) which can be employed in the field of water treatment and functions as a microbial carrier [n0001-n0005; n0007-n0008]. The material includes polymer resins in a foamed state and further includes a metal additive at the surface to enhance microbial attachment [n0046-n0048], where the metal additive may be an iron additive and may be present in a range of 0.1%-1% by weight [n0046], and may be e.g. a ferric hydroxide [n0051]. Qisheng is silent to the presence of any phosphorus.
As such the claimed material and a water treatment process employing such material are anticipated by the teachings of Qisheng given the broadest reasonable interpretation. Examiner notes that the instant claimed water treatment process does not require any particular steps beyond use of the material in a water treatment process. Alternatively, if Qisheng is not considered sufficiently specific regarding the iron content in such embodiments, at minimum the teachings of Qisheng are sufficient to render the instant claimed invention obvious due to the teaching of the appropriate range for the metal additive and the teaching that the metal additive may be an iron species. See MPEP 2144.05 II.A; "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 3, as above Qisheng teaches or at minimum suggests trivalent iron (via iron hydroxide which is produced using ferric i.e. trivalent iron [n0051]).
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Qisheng teaches or at least suggest the use of polyesters which may be derived from multiple dicarboxylic acid to form the overall resin, including various copolymers formed from polybutylene succinate, polyhexane adipate, and the like [n0014] as well as other components such as polylactic acid and polyhydroxyalkanoate.
With respect to claim 6, the material is designed to provide a carbon source for denitrifying bacteria which would biodegrade the source [n0056]; provision of such bacteria in treatment applications is implicit or at minimum obvious over such teachings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art regarding biodegradable carriers is taught by Qisheng as above, which teaches suitable polyester materials, additives, and use in water treatment for carrying denitrifying bacteria. Qisheng is silent to the use of phosphorus as a nutrient additive in the carrier material, or to any relationship between phosphorus concentration and iron concentration.
The closest prior art regarding the use of phosphorus in microbial carriers is represented by Hsu et al (US PGPub 2021/0380449 A1), disclosed by applicant on an IDS. Hsu teaches sewage treatment with a biological carrier [Abs] and suggests that phosphorus is a material for which microorganisms have high demand [0097] and that phosphorus and iron represent dry matter which may be present in the microbial material [0026]. There is no teaching or suggestion of producing a carrier material which contains phosphorus but not iron, nor is there any teaching or suggestion of producing a carrier which contains the two in select proportion as required by the claims.
The prior art as a whole would not lead one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a carrier with phosphorus in the absence of iron, or with phosphorus and iron in select proportions so as to arrive at the claimed invention. The inventions of claims 2 and 8 are therefore free from the prior art.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776