DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the gap recited in Claims 2, 6-8, 15, and 19-20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification does not provide antecedent basis for the gap recited in Claims 2, 6-8, 15, and 19-20.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the cover layer” which should be revised to “the covering layer”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein the adherent layer wherein an innermost portion of the adherent layer” which requires revision. For the purpose of compact prosecution, this limitation is interpreted as “wherein an innermost portion of the adherent layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merckel et al (US 2022/0062059) in view of Bishop et al (US 2021/0196525).
Regarding Claim 1, Merckel discloses a wound dressing (10, Fig. 2) defining a first direction that is a stacking direction (up and down direction, Fig. 2) of the wound dressing (10, Fig. 2) and a second direction (left and right direction, Fig. 2) perpendicular to the first direction (up and down direction, Fig. 2), the wound dressing (10, Fig. 2) comprising:
a covering layer (backing layer 11, Fig. 2);
a sheath (envelope 14, Fig. 2) on the wound facing side of the covering layer (1, Fig. 2);
an absorbent core (15, Fig. 2) within the sheath (14, Fig. 2); and
an adherent layer (wound contact layer 13, Fig. 2) on the wound facing side of the sheath (14, Fig. 2);
wherein the sheath (14, Fig. 2) comprises:
a proximal sheath layer (14a, Fig. 2) on the proximal side of the absorbent core (15, Fig. 2), and
a distal sheath layer (14b, Fig. 2) on the distal side of the absorbent core (15, Fig. 2),
wherein the adherent layer (13, Fig. 2) comprises an opening (centermost aperture 13c, Fig. 2),
wherein the adherent layer (13, Fig. 2) comprises:
a wound facing proximal side (skin-friendly silicone adhesive 13b, Fig. 2) adapted to adhere to a body part (¶ [0075]), and
a distal side (perforated sheet material 13a, Fig. 2) adhering to an outer rim (border area 17, Fig. 2) of the covering layer (11, Fig. 2).
Merckel is silent whether the sheath comprises an adhesive sheath layer, wherein the proximal sheath layer is on the proximal side of the adhesive sheath layer, wherein the distal sheath layer is on the distal side of the adhesive sheath layer, and wherein the adhesive sheath layer is between the absorbent core and the distal sheath layer.
Bishop teaches a wound dressing, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with a sheath comprising an adhesive sheath layer (bonding layer 240, Fig. 5) and an absorbent core (210, Fig. 5) within the sheath, wherein the proximal sheath layer (250, Fig. 5) is on the proximal sides of the absorbent core (210, Fig. 5) and the adhesive sheath layer (240, Fig. 5), wherein the distal sheath layer (220, Fig. 5) is on the distal sides of the absorbent core (210, Fig. 5) and the adhesive sheath layer (240, Fig. 5), and wherein the adhesive sheath layer (240, Fig. 5) is between the absorbent core (210, Fig. 5) and the distal sheath layer (250, Fig. 5). Bonding the absorbent core to the overlying sheath layer, rather than simply bonding the peripheral edges of the sheath together, improves the structural integrity of the dressing (¶ [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sheath of Merckel to include an adhesive sheath layer, where the proximal sheath layer is on the proximal side of the adhesive sheath layer, wherein the distal sheath layer is on the distal side of the adhesive sheath layer, and wherein the adhesive sheath layer is between the absorbent core and the distal sheath layer, as taught by Bishop. This improves the structural integrity of the dressing compared to just bonding the edges of the sheath together (as motivated by Bishop ¶ [0079]).
Regarding Claim 14, Merckel discloses a method of forming a wound dressing (10, Fig. 2) defining a first direction (up and down direction, Fig. 2) that is a stacking direction of the wound dressing (10, Fig. 2) and a second direction (left and right direction, Fig. 2) perpendicular to the first direction (up and down direction, Fig. 2), the method comprising:
arranging a sheath (envelope 14, Fig. 2) on the wound facing side of a covering layer (backing layer 11, Fig. 2);
arranging an absorbent core (15, Fig. 2) within the sheath (14, Fig. 2); and
arranging an adherent layer (wound contact layer 13, Fig. 2) on the wound facing side of the sheath (14, Fig. 2),
wherein the sheath (14, Fig. 2) comprises:
a proximal sheath layer (14a, Fig. 2) on the proximal side of the absorbent core (15, Fig. 2), and
a distal sheath layer (14b, Fig. 2) on the distal side of the absorbent core (15, Fig. 2),
wherein the adherent layer (13, Fig. 2) comprises an opening (centermost aperture 13c, Fig. 2),
wherein the adherent layer (13, Fig. 2) comprises:
a wound facing proximal side (skin-friendly silicone adhesive 13b, Fig. 2) adapted to adhere to a body part (¶ [0075]), and
a distal side (perforated sheet material 13a, Fig. 2) adhering to an outer rim (border area 17, Fig. 2) of the covering layer (11, Fig. 2).
Merckel is silent whether the sheath comprises an adhesive sheath layer, wherein the proximal sheath layer is on the proximal side of the adhesive sheath layer, wherein the distal sheath layer is on the distal side of the adhesive sheath layer, and wherein the adhesive sheath layer is between the absorbent core and the distal sheath layer.
Bishop teaches a wound dressing, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with a sheath comprising an adhesive sheath layer (bonding layer 240, Fig. 5) and an absorbent core (210, Fig. 5) within the sheath, wherein the proximal sheath layer (250, Fig. 5) is on the proximal sides of the absorbent core (210, Fig. 5) and the adhesive sheath layer (240, Fig. 5), wherein the distal sheath layer (220, Fig. 5) is on the distal sides of the absorbent core (210, Fig. 5) and the adhesive sheath layer (240, Fig. 5), and wherein the adhesive sheath layer (240, Fig. 5) is between the absorbent core (210, Fig. 5) and the distal sheath layer (250, Fig. 5). Bonding the absorbent core to the overlying sheath layer, rather than simply bonding the peripheral edges of the sheath together, improves the structural integrity of the dressing (¶ [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the sheath of Merckel to include an adhesive sheath layer, where the proximal sheath layer is on the proximal side of the adhesive sheath layer, wherein the distal sheath layer is on the distal side of the adhesive sheath layer, and wherein the adhesive sheath layer is between the absorbent core and the distal sheath layer, as taught by Bishop. This improves the structural integrity of the dressing compared to just bonding the edges of the sheath together (as motivated by Bishop ¶ [0079]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 15, Merckel/Bishop further discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claims 1 or 14.
The combination of Merckel/Bishop further discloses a gap is formed between the adhesive sheath layer and the absorbent core along the second direction, as there will be a gap in the left and right direction between the adhesive sheath layer and the absorbent core where the distal sheath layer/adhesive sheath layer is arranged diagonally as seen in Fig. 2 of Merckel.
Regarding Claims 3 and 16, Merckel further discloses the opening (centermost aperture 13c, Fig. 2) is smaller than the absorbent core (15, Fig. 2) along the second direction (left and right direction, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claims 5 and 18, Merckel further discloses the proximal sheath layer (14a, Fig. 2) and the distal sheath layer (14b, Fig. 2) comprises a non-woven material (¶ [0075]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 19, Merckel further discloses a gap is formed between a portion of the distal sheath layer (14b, Fig. 2) and the covering layer (11, Fig. 2) along the first direction (up and down direction, Fig. 2; there is a gap between 11 and 14b along the diagonal edges as seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claims 7 and 20, Merckel further discloses a gap is formed between a portion of the distal sheath layer (14b, Fig. 2) and the covering layer (11, Fig. 2) along the second direction (left and right direction, Fig. 2; there is a gap between 11 and 14b along the diagonal edges as seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Merckel discloses a gap is formed between an entirety of the distal sheath layer (14b, Fig. 2) and the covering layer (11, Fig. 2) along the second direction (left and right direction, Fig. 2; ¶ [0075] indicates the covering layer is coated with a layer of adhesive, and this layer of adhesive fills the gap between the distal sheath layer and the covering layer).
Regarding Claim 9, Merckel further discloses the proximal sheath layer (14a, Fig. 2) is formed as a flat sheet (as seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Merckel further discloses the proximal sheath layer (14a, Fig. 2) has a flat portion that is larger than the absorbent core (15, Fig. 1) along the second direction (left and right direction, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Merckel further discloses the covering layer (11, Fig. 2) has a flat portion that is larger than the opening (centermost aperture 13c, Fig. 2) along the second direction (left and right direction, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Merckel further discloses the covering layer (11, Fig. 2) has a height along the first direction (up and down direction, Fig. 2) that is greater than a height of the sheath (14, Fig. 2) along the first direction (up and down direction, Fig. 2; as seen in Fig. 2, the covering layer is above the sheath, and therefore has a greater height than the sheath).
Regarding Claim 13, Merkel/Bishop discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 1.
Merckel/Bishop further discloses an innermost portion of the adherent layer (Merckel 13, Fig. 2) along the first direction (Merckel up and down direction, Fig. 2) overlaps a portion of the proximal sheath layer (Merckel 14a, Fig. 2) that is not in contact with the adhesive sheath layer (since the combination of Merckel/Bishop has the adhesive sheath layer on the distal sheath layer, the innermost portion of the adherent layer along the first direction will overlap a portion of the proximal sheath layer that isn’t in contact with the adhesive sheath layer, because at that point the proximal sheath layer is in contact with the absorbent core instead of the adhesive sheath layer).
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merckel et al (US 2022/0062059) in view of Bishop et al (US 2021/0196525) further in view of Cotton (US 2016/0067107).
Regarding Claims 4 and 17, Merckel further discloses the adherent layer (13, Fig. 2) comprises a first adhesive (13b, Fig. 2) comprising silicone (¶ [0075]) on the wound facing proximal side (13b, Fig. 2).
Merckel/Bishop is silent whether the adherent layer comprises a second adhesive comprising an acrylic adhesive on the distal side.
Cotton teaches a wound dressing, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with an adherent layer (skin contact layer 16, Fig. 2) comprising a first silicone adhesive on its proximal side and a second acrylic adhesive on its distal side (¶ [0063]). The second acrylic adhesive allows the skin contact layer to securely attach to the backing layer (¶ [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the adherent layer of Merckel/Bishop to include a second acrylic adhesive on its distal side, as taught by Cotton, to ensure the adherent layer is able to securely attach to the backing layer to improve the integrity of the wound dressing (as motivated by Cotton ¶ [0063]).
Conclusion
/JESSICA ARBLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781